DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 12/17/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-19 are pending.
Claims 1, 10 and 11 have been amended.
Claim 7 and 17 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument(s) filed on 12/17/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulsian (US 20210019131 A1) in view of Lu (US 20020156877 A1) in view of Guntupalli (US 20230289193 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, a method for automated configuration of a node in a server cluster, the method comprising:
Tulsian teaches acquiring, by a processor, for a first computing device intended for deployment as a node of a selected role in the server cluster, a hardware description of the first computing device internally stored by the first computing device; (Tulsian, [0006], a server such as a fabric management server may select a software image from a variety of candidate software images by matching the features provided by the software images and the hardware supported by the software images to the hardware configurations and roles of the network devices. Thus, new network devices may be deployed and provisioned to data center in a standardized and automated way. [0037], a fabric management server 140 can discover network devices (e.g., switches, routers, servers etc.) and determine appropriate software images to be provisioned on the network devices based on the hardware configurations and roles assigned to the network devices.)
and registering, by the processor, the first computing device in the server cluster as a node having the selected role; (Tulsian, [0041], UI device 129 can be used (e.g., by an administrator 24) to assign roles 144 to the switches, routers, and servers in a data center 10A. The assigned roles 144 may be maintained in configuration database 142. For example, a user interface available in UI device 129 can provide identifiers for the network devices and hardware discovered in data center 10A. Further, the user interface can provide labels for roles that may be applied to the discovered network devices.)
Tulsian does not teach based on validation of the hardware description of the first computing device, selectively configuring, by the processor, the first computing device, the device hardware description being validated for use as the node of the selected role by comparing to another device hardware description of a second computing device previously configured as a node of the selected role in the server cluster, the selective configuring of the first computing device including selectively installing an operating system image to the first computing device, the operating system image being an image of an operating system installed to the second computing device and copied from the second computing device; wherein the selective configuring of the first computing device is further based on results of a validation testing of the functionality of the first computing device, the validation testing comprising: installing a test operating application on the first computing device, the test operating application being a reduced version of the operating system image; and testing an operation of the test operating application in a reduced operating environment.
Lu however in the same field of computer networking teaches based on validation of the hardware description of the first computing device, selectively configuring, by the processor, the first computing device, the device hardware description being validated for use as the node of the selected role by comparing to another device hardware description of a second computing device previously configured as a node of the selected role in the server cluster, (Lu, [0033], the user selects the image, as well as one or more Receiving Nodes that are to receive the image, and directs the IPS to deploy the image to the Receiving Nodes. At each Receiving Node, the IIS compiles a list of all target computers known to the Receiving Node that are hardware compatible with the source computer system and sends this list to the IPS for display on the deployment console. [0077], a target computer system is considered available if it is not in the process of installing software from an imaging area. The IIS determines that a target computer system is compatible by comparing certain components that make up the hardware configuration of the source computer to the equivalent components on the target computer. If the compared components are equal, the target computer is said to be compatible to the source computer. The components on the source computer that are compared to the equivalent components on the target computer include, but are not limited to, the central processor type, the type of hard disks, the type hard disk controllers and all other peripheral devices and their controllers that are attached to the source computer. [examiner notes: Tulsian teaches: assigned roles to the network devices at [0006], [0037])
the selective configuring of the first computing device including selectively installing an operating system image to the first computing device, the operating system image being an image of an operating system installed to the second computing device and copied from the second computing device; (Lu, [0033], the user selects the image, as well as one or more Receiving Nodes that are to receive the image, and directs the IPS to deploy the image to the Receiving Nodes. At each Receiving Node, the IIS compiles a list of all target computers known to the Receiving Node that are hardware compatible with the source computer system and sends this list to the IPS for display on the deployment console. [0056], the overall duplication process can be broken down into four main steps. First, an image of the software system on the source computer system is created and stored at the Sending Node. Second, the user selects the target computer systems that are to receive a copy of the source computer system's software system. Third, each installation engine associated with each target computer system receives a copy of the source computer's software image and recreates the software system at the installation engine. Fourth, each installation engine directs each selected target system associated with the installation engine to install the recreated software system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Tulsian by incorporating the teachings of Lu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to enable accurate and rapid configuration and provisioning of the physical switches and servers in a data center with software images that are automatically selected based on the hardware configuration and roles assigned to the switches and servers (Lu, [0008]).
Tulsian does not teach wherein the selective configuring of the first computing device is further based on results of a validation testing of the functionality of the first computing device, the validation testing comprising: installing a test operating application on the first computing device, the test operating application being a reduced version of the operating system image; and testing an operation of the test operating application in a reduced operating environment.
Guntupalli however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the selective configuring of the first computing device is further based on results of a validation testing of the functionality of the first computing device, the validation testing comprising: installing a test operating application on the first computing device, the test operating application being a reduced version of the operating system image; and (Guntupalli, [0014], upon installing the server device, an automated connectivity validation process may be initiated to ensure that the server device is correctly installed. An automation server may generate a customized ISO image with site-specific configurations (e.g., an IP address, a virtual local area network (vLAN) configuration, and/or an address of a gateway device, among other examples) built into the ISO image. The ISO image may be small relative to a size of the virtualization platform software, thereby reducing an amount of data to be downloaded to the server device. The reduction in the amount of data to be downloaded to the server device may result in reducing an amount of time required to install the server device (e.g., about 15 minutes to download the ISO image compared to several hours required to download the virtualization software platform). [0015], the automation server may boot up the server device with the ISO image via an application program interface (API). The server device may run a lightweight operating system that boots up from remote virtual media or the like. The lightweight operating system may automatically configure the server device with site-specific networking information included in the ISO image. The automation server may perform a test to check the network connectivity based on the server device being configured with the site-specific networking information. If the test is successful (e.g., network connectivity has been established), the automation server may re-boot the server device to run the virtualization platform software utilizing the site-specific networking information configured by the lightweight operating system. If the test is unsuccessful, a notification may be provided to a user device associated with the technician installing the server device to allow the technician to correct any installation errors and/or misconfigurations that may have occurred. [0055], the image includes a lightweight operating system. A lightweight operating system may be an operating system having a size within a range of 70 MB through 100 MB (rather than a size of a full operating system of about 2.5 GB). The lightweight operating system may run only from a random access memory (RAM) of the cell site server 220 (e.g., rather than from a hard drive of the cell site server 220). Running the lightweight operating system from the RAM may enable the lightweight operating system to quickly boot-up and perform the connectivity validation process (e.g., in less than 10 minutes). In some implementations, running the lightweight operating system from the RANI may enable the lightweight operating system to perform the connectivity validation process in a non-intrusive manner (e.g., without affecting any existing operating system and/or services installed on the cell site server 220).)
testing an operation of the test operating application in a reduced operating
environment. (Guntupalli, [0052], after installing the cell site server 220 at the cellular site, the user may access the application via the user device 305. In some implementations, the application may authenticate the user based on the user accessing the application. For example, the application may require the user to input a valid set of credentials (e.g., a username and password) associated with the user. The application may provide a user interface via a display of the user device 305. The user interface may include a field, a selectable display element, and/or a drop-down window that enables the user to input information requesting performance of the automated connectivity validation process based on successfully authenticating the user. The user may input the information requesting performance of the automated connectivity validation process via the user interface. [0055], the image includes a lightweight operating system. A lightweight operating system may be an operating system having a size within a range of 70 MB through 100 MB (rather than a size of a full operating system of about 2.5 GB). The lightweight operating system may run only from a random access memory (RAM) of the cell site server 220 (e.g., rather than from a hard drive of the cell site server 220). Running the lightweight operating system from the RAM may enable the lightweight operating system to quickly boot-up and perform the connectivity validation process (e.g., in less than 10 minutes). In some implementations, running the lightweight operating system from the RANI may enable the lightweight operating system to perform the connectivity validation process in a non-intrusive manner (e.g., without affecting any existing operating system and/or services installed on the cell site server 220).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Tulsian by incorporating the teachings of Guntupalli. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to to reduce the amount of time needed to deploy the virtualization platform to the server devices installed at each independent CaaS cluster, each server device may be pre-loaded with a majority of the virtualization platform at a central facility and in a generic manner before the server devices are transported to the independent CaaS clusters (Guntupalli, [0013]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 8, the method of Claim 1,
Tulsian-Lu-Guntupalli teach wherein the registering of the first computing device includes flagging the first computing device as approved for re-installation of the role- approved operating system image. (Tulsian, [0037], data center 10A can have thousands of chassis switches 18 and TOR switches 16, and hundreds of servers 12. The example illustrated in FIG. 1 represents a fully configured data center 10A. When the data center 10A is first being set up, these network devices require configuration and software provisioning. Further, it may be desirable to ensure the devices are using a known and/or standard version of an operating system, both during an initial setup and during ongoing operation of the data center 10A. In some aspects, a fabric management server 140 can discover network devices (e.g., switches, routers, servers etc.) and determine appropriate software images to be provisioned on the network devices based on the hardware configurations and roles assigned to the network devices. [examiner notes: the examiner interprets the limitation as “determine the role of the first computing device, and determine appropriate OS/software images to be provisioned to the first computing device based on the role.])
Claim(s) 18 is/are substantially similar to claim 8, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
2. Claim(s) 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulsian in view of Lu in view of Guntupalli further in view of Yeh (US 20150381769 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 2, the method of Claim 1,
Tulsian-Lu-Guntupalli do not teach wherein the hardware description is a Field Replaceable Unit (FRU) inventory.
Yeh however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the hardware description is a Field Replaceable Unit (FRU) inventory. (Yeh, [0015] the remote management computer 11 can send a get FRU inventory area info command to the BMC 133 by using a remote control management tool IPMI tool. Detailed descriptions of the get FRU inventory area info command are disclosed in IPMI V2.0. The get FRU inventory area info command comprises an FRU identification (ID).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Tulsian by incorporating the teachings of Yeh. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to manage several servers by operating a remote management computer which communicates with servers via an intelligent platform management interface (IPMI). (Yeh, [0005])
Regarding claim(s) 3, the method of Claim 1,
Tulsian-Lu-Guntupalli-Yeh teach wherein the hardware description is acquired by operating an in-built command line interface of the first computing device. (Yeh, [0015] the remote management computer 11 can send a get FRU inventory area info command to the BMC 133 by using a remote control management tool IPMI tool. Detailed descriptions of the get FRU inventory area info command are disclosed in IPMI V2.0. The get FRU inventory area info command comprises an FRU identification (ID).)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 2 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 4, the method of Claim 1,
Tulsian-Lu-Guntupalli-Yeh teach further comprising establishing a data connection with the first computing device, wherein the hardware description is acquired through the data connection. (Yeh, [0014], Referring to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of a server management system is shown. The server management system 1 comprises a remote management computer 11, an intelligent platform management interface (IPMI) 12 and a server 13. The server 13 comprises a field replaceable unit (FRU) memory 131, a storage device 132 and a baseboard management controller (BMC) 133. [0015] the remote management computer 11 can send a get FRU inventory area info command to the BMC 133 by using a remote control management tool IPMI tool. Detailed descriptions of the get FRU inventory area info command are disclosed in IPMI V2.0. The get FRU inventory area info command comprises an FRU identification (ID). [examiner notes: intelligent platform management interface (IPMI) 12 is the data connection.])
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 2 applies here
Claim(s) 12 is/are substantially similar to claim 2, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 13 is/are substantially similar to claim 3, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 14 is/are substantially similar to claim 4, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
3. Claim(s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulsian in view of Lu in view of Guntupalli in view of Yeh further in view of Wang (US 20230195671 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 5, the method of Claim 4,
Tulsian-Lu-Guntupalli-Yeh do not teach wherein the data connection is an out-of-band communication connection through a Baseboard Management Controller port.
Wang however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the data connection is an out-of-band communication connection through a Baseboard Management Controller port. (Wang, [0048] Specifically, when the BMC 13 operates in the out-of-band management mode, the internal connection between the expander 12 and the BMC 13 is established by connecting the second MAC port 131 of the BMC 13 to the first MDI port 111 of the network switch 11, and the external connection between the BMC 13 and the server 2 is established by connecting the third MAC port 132 of the BMC 13 to the second RGMII port 114 of the network switch 11.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Tulsian by incorporating the teachings of Wang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide a storage enclosure that may enable a user to choose freely between using one of an out-of-band management and an in-band management to perform remote management. (Wang, [0007])
Claim(s) 15 is/are substantially similar to claim 5, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
4. Claim(s) 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulsian in view of Lu in view of Guntupalli in view of Yeh further in view of Parthasarathi (US 20220417215 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 6, the method of Claim 4,
Tulsian-Lu-Guntupalli-Yeh do not teach method of Claim 4, wherein the data connection is established by Secure Shell Protocol.
Parthasarathi however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the data connection is established by Secure Shell Protocol. (Parthasarathi, [0023], once a web-socket connection is successfully created, the one or more cloud services establishes a secure connection, such as (without limitation) a secure shell protocol (SSH) connection to the device using a certification.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Tulsian by incorporating the teachings of Parthasarathi. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to able to initiate remote access sessions from the cloud services layer, irrespective of the state of any container or cluster orchestration system executing on the device. (Parthasarathi, [0025])
Claim(s) 16 is/are substantially similar to claim 6, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
5. Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulsian in view of Lu in view of Guntupalli further in view of Sato (US 20200097204 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 9, the method of Claim 1,
Tulsian-Lu-Guntupalli do not teach wherein the selected role is one of a worker node and a storage node.
Sato however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the selected role is one of a worker node and a storage node. (Sato, [0044], there is always one cluster control unit operating as a master role in a cluster, and other cluster control units operate as worker roles. A cluster control unit of master role and a cluster control unit of worker role perform alive monitoring with each other via communication between storage nodes, or the like. [examiner notes: all nodes are storage nodes.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system/method of Tulsian to specify wherein the selected role is one of a worker node and a storage node as taught by Sato. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide a low cost storage system and a storage control method while ensuring availability of a system. (Sato, [0009])
Claim(s) 19 is/are substantially similar to claim 9, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449