DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued
examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the
finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's
submission filed on 03/13/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 03/13/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-20, 22-26 and 29-33 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the
new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any
teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-20, 22-26 and 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0281588 A1), hereinafter "ZHANG" in view of Bagheri et al. (US 2022/0312440 A1), hereinafter “BAGHERI” in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0028843 A1), hereinafter “ZHOU”.
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication at a scheduled entity, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0182], FIG. 10 shows a process 1000 for generating and transmitting an SRS according to various embodiments. Process 1000 may be performed by the UE 101):
‘receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) from a network,’ (Paragraph [0182], At operation 1010, the UE 101 receives a MAC CE message (e.g., MAC CE 900 of FIG. 9)),
‘The MAC CE comprising information for activating or deactivating one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources included in at least one SRS resource set,’ (Paragraph [0151], the NW (e.g., a RAN node 111) may update, activate or deactivate beams or BWPs of one or more configured SRS resource sets by sending a suitable MAC CE),
‘and transmitting the SRS communication using the one or more SRS resources included in the at least one SRS resource set based on the information of the MAC CE,’ (Paragraph [0182], At operation 1020, the UE 101 generates and transmit a PUSCH transmission or an SRS in the SRS resource indicated by the DCI),
‘wherein the MAC CE further comprises: an SRS resource set field configured to indicate the at least one SRS resource set;’ (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID… which is to be activated or deactivated);
‘and an SRS resource field that is different from the SRS resource set field, the SRS resource
field being configured to indicate the one or more SRS resources included in the at least one SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0157], The Resource IDi, field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, Resource IDi to the second one, and so forth).
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but BAGHERI teaches, ‘the MAC CE comprising a SRS slot offset field that indicates a number of slots between a triggering downlink control information (DCI) and a transmission of an SRS communication,’ (BAGHERI - Paragraph [0367], slot-offset parameter can indicate the number of slots between the sounding reference signal request and the corresponding sounding reference signal transmission),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BAGHERI with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BAGHERI into ZHANG is that BAGHERI provides receiving for a particular bandwidth part of a cell a configuration for a set of one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values. A default minimum scheduling offset for the particular bandwidth part of the cell, that is selected from the one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values of the received configuration is determined. The method further
includes switching to the particular bandwidth part from another bandwidth part. (See paragraph [0006], BAGHERI)
ZHANG and BAGHERI do not explicitly teach but ZHOU teaches, ‘and a content field configured to indicate alternative values represented by the SRS slot offset field according to a value of the content field;’ (ZHOU - Paragraph [0484], C may indicate whether the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) are present. If this field is set to 1, the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) may be present, otherwise they may not be present. Paragraph [0386], For periodic and semi-persistent CSI Resource Settings, the configured periodicity and slot offset may be given in the numerology of its associated DL BWP, as given by BWP-id [Note: C field that selectively provides a BWP ID and BWP IDs dictate the numerology used to calculate slot offsets]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of ZHOU with ZHANG and BAGHERI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of ZHOU into ZHANG and BAGHERI is that ZHOU provides that the time domain behavior of the CSI-ReportConfig may be indicated by the higher layer parameter reportConfigType
and may be set to 'aperiodic', 'semiPersistentOnPUCCH', 'semiPersistentOnPUSCH', or 'periodic'. For
periodic and semiPersistentOnPUCCH/semiPersistentOnPUSCH CSI reporting, the configured periodicity and slot offset may apply in the numerology of the UL BWP in which the CSI report is configured to be transmitted on. The higher layer parameter reportQuantity may indicate the CSI-related or L1-RSRP-related quantities to report. (See paragraph [0384], ZHOU)
Regarding claims 4 and 29, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE further comprises:’ (Paragraph [0151], NW (e.g., a RAN node 111) may update, activate or deactivate beams or BWPs of one or more configured SRS resource sets by sending a suitable MAC CE):
‘a channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) field’ (Paragraph [0156], this field is set to 1 to indicate NZP CSI-RS resource index is used)
‘configured to indicate a CSI-RS associated with the at least one SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0156], This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set indicated with periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set ID field).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the SRS resource field is configured to activate or deactivate the one or more SRS resources’ (Paragraph [0151], instance(s) of MAC 720 may also activate or deactivate individual beams of configured SRS resource(s))
‘according to a plurality of DCI codepoints’ (Paragraph [0049], at least one state of the DCI field
is used to select at least one out of the configured SRS resource set(s))
‘for triggering aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS resources’ (Paragraph [0049], Time domain behaviour of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resource Type, which can be periodic, semipersistent, aperiodic SRS transmission)
‘included in the at least one SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID… which is to be activated or deactivated).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, ‘The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE comprises:’ (Paragraph [0037], the RAN node 111 signals/transmits a MAC CE to update, reconfigure, or otherwise indicate a subset of the RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraph [0151], When the MAC 720 entity receives the MAC CE on a Serving Cell, the MAC 720 entity indicates, to lower layers, the information regarding the SRS beam activation/deactivation
as indicated by the MAC CE):
‘an SRS resource set bitmap comprising a plurality of bits, each bit configured to indicate activation or deactivation of a corresponding SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set;’ (FIG. 9, Paragraphs [0153]-[0154], The A/D field has a length of 1 bit and indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. The field is set to 1 to indicate activation, otherwise it indicates deactivation… The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is to be activated or deactivated. [Note: FIG. 9 depicts the bit structure layout of the SRS Beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE for Octet 1 and Octet 2]),
‘and an SRS resource field configured to indicate the one or more SRS resources included in an activated SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set based on the SRS resource set bitmap.’ (FIG. 9, Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, F1 to the second one and so on… The Resource IDi field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, Resource ID1 to the second one, and so forth. [Note: FIG. 9 maps Octet 3-Octet N-M]).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 7, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the SRS resource field is configured to activate or deactivate the one or more SRS resources’ (Paragraph [0151], instance(s) of MAC 720 may also activate or deactivate individual beams
of configured SRS resource(s). In these embodiments, the NW (e.g., a RAN node 111) may update, activate or deactivate beams or BWPs of one or more configured SRS resource sets by sending a suitable MAC CE. Paragraph [0205], wherein, when the transmission is the SRS, the
MAC CE is to further indicate an SRS resource set ID of an individual SRS resource set of the one or more SRS resource sets, and spatial relation information for each SRS resource)
‘according to a plurality of DCI codepoints for triggering’ (Paragraph [0034], and an SRS request having 2 bits and is defined by table 7.3.1.1.2-24 of 3GPP TS 38.212… 3 bits for UEs 101 configured with supplementaryUplink. Paragraph [0058], The 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1, 1_1 indicates the triggered SRS resource set, and the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 2_3 indicates the triggered SRS resource set. [Note: Table 1 maps out “Value of SRS request field” codepoints (01, 10, 11) directly to triggered baseline actions and underlying operational states])
‘aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS resources included in the activated SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0049], Time domain behaviour of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resource Type, which can be periodic, semipersistent, aperiodic SRS transmission. Paragraphs [0152]-[0153], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900… has a variable size with following fields… indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. Paragraph [0156], This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set
indicated with periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set ID field).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE comprises: a DCI codepoint bitmap configured to indicate one or more activated DCI codepoints for triggering aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS;’ (Paragraph [0058], The 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1, 1_1 indicates the triggered SRS resource set. Paragraph [0152], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900 is identified by a MAC subheader with a suitable LCD value and has a variable size with following fields. [Note: Table 1 maps the specific DCI codepoint “Value of SRS request field” directly to the underlying activation states]);
‘the SRS resource set field, associated with the DCI codepoint bitmap, configured to indicate an SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set; (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is to be activated or deactivated. Paragraph [0205], the MAC CE is to further indicate an SRS resource set ID of an individual SRS resource set of the one or more SRS resource sets);
‘and the SRS resource field configured to indicate the one or more SRS resources included in the SRS resource set, wherein the SRS resource field is configured to activate or deactivate the one or more SRS resources according to the one or more activated DCI codepoints.’ (Paragraph [0151], instance(s) of
MAC 720 may also activate or deactivate individual beams of configured SRS resource(s). Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set… The Resource IDi field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set. Paragraph [0038], In other words, the SRS resource ID included in the DCI is used to indicate the Tx beam for PUSCH).
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE comprises: the SRS resource set field configured to indicate an SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set;’ (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is to be activated or deactivated. Paragraph [0205], MAC CE is to further indicate an SRS resource set ID of an individual SRS resource set of the one or more SRS resource sets).
‘and a plurality of SRS resource trigger state fields, associated with the SRS resource set, the plurality of SRS resource trigger state fields configured to indicate a plurality of SRS resource trigger states’ (Paragraph [0049], For aperiodic SRS at least one state of the DCI field is used to select at least one out of the configured SRS resource set(s). Paragraphs [0156]- [0157], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set indicated with periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set ID field. F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, F1 to the second one and so on… The Resource ID, field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, Resource ID1 to the second one, and so forth)
‘that are preconfigured by radio resource control signaling.’ (Paragraph [0035], The UE 101 may be configured with one or more SRS resource sets as configured by the higher layer parameter SRS-ResourceSet. Paragraph [0037], Procedure 200 begins at operation 205 where an RRC(re)configuration is performed between a RAN node 111 and UE 101 for all SRS resources… the SRS resources include a set of beams 250 for all RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraph [0182], Process 1000 begins at operation 1005 where the UE 101 receives an RRC message including an SRS resource configuration. The SRS resource configuration indicates one or more configured SRS resource sets).
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 11, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the plurality of SRS resource trigger state fields respectively correspond to a plurality of DCI codepoints’ (Paragraph [0058], The 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1, 1_1 indicates the
triggered SRS resource set, and the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 2_3 indicates the triggered SRS resource set. Paragraph [0152], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900… has a variable size with following fields. [Note: Table 1 maps out the “Value of SRS request field” codepoints (01, 10, 11) directly to triggered actions and state instances]).
‘for triggering aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS resources included in the SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0049], Time domain behaviour of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resource Type, which can be periodic, semipersistent, aperiodic SRS transmission. Paragraph [0153], indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or
aperiodic SRS resource set. Paragraph [0156], This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates
the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set indicated with periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set ID field).
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 11, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein each of the plurality of SRS resource trigger states indicates activation or deactivation’ (Paragraphs [0152]- [0153], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900 is identified by a MAC subheader with a suitable LCD value and has a variable size with following fields. The A/D field has a length of 1 bit and indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. The field is set to 1 to indicate activation, otherwise it indicates deactivation)
‘of each of the one or more SRS resources for the SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0151], According to various embodiments, instance(s) of MAC 720 may also activate or deactivate individual beams of configured SRS resource(s). Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, F1 to the second one and so on… The Resource IDi field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, Resource ID1 to the second one, and so forth).
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE comprises: the SRS resource set field configured to indicate an SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set; (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a
length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is
to be activated or deactivated);
‘and an SRS trigger state bitmap with each bit indicating activation or deactivation of a corresponding SRS trigger state of the SRS resource set among a plurality of SRS trigger states that are preconfigured by radio resource control signaling, ‘ (Paragraph [0037], Procedure 200 begins at operation 205 where an RRC (re)configuration is performed between a RAN node 111 and UE 101 for all SRS resources… the SRS resources include a set of beams 250 for all RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraph [0153], The A/D field has a length of 1 bit and indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. The field is set to 1 to indicate activation, otherwise it indicates deactivation. Paragraph [0151], When the MAC 720 entity receives the MAC CE on a Serving Cell, the MAC 720 entity indicates, to lower layers, the information regarding the SRS beam activation/deactivation as indicated by the MAC CE. Paragraph [0182], Process 1000 begins at operation 1005 where the UE 101 receives an RRC message including an SRS resource configuration. The SRS resource configuration indicates one or more configured SRS resource sets),
‘wherein the activated SRS trigger states correspond to a plurality of DCI codepoints for triggering aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS resources included in the SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0058], The 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1, 1_1 indicates the triggered SRS resource set, and the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 2_3 indicates the triggered SRS resource set. Paragraph [0049], Time domain behaviour of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resource Type, which can be periodic, semipersistent, aperiodic SRS transmission. Paragraphs [0152]-[0153], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900… indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set [Note: Table 1 maps the physical layer “Value of SRS request field” codepoint (01, 10, 11) directly to operational trigger state mappings]).
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE comprises: an SRS resource set bitmap comprising a plurality of bits, each bit configured to indicate activation or deactivation of a corresponding SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set;’ (Paragraphs [0153]- [0154], The A/D field has a length of 1 bit and indicates
whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. The field is set to 1 to indicate activation, otherwise it indicates deactivation… The SRS Resource Set ID field has a
length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is to be activated or deactivated. Paragraph [0043], the MAC CE can include one or more of the following information/parameters: CC index; BWP ID.. and/or SRS resource ID);
‘and a plurality of SRS resource trigger state fields, associated with the corresponding SRS resource set, the plurality of SRS resource trigger state fields configured to indicate a plurality of SRS resource trigger states’ (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates
the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, F1 to the second one and so on… The Resource ID, field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, Resource ID1 to the second one, and so forth).
‘that are preconfigured by radio resource control signaling.’ (Paragraph [0035], The UE 101 may be configured with one or more SRS resource sets as configured by the higher layer parameter
SRS-ResourceSet. Paragraph [0037], Procedure 200 begins at operation 205 where an RRC (re)configuration is performed between a RAN node 111 and UE 101 for all SRS resources… the SRS resources include a set of beams 250 for all RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraph [0163], According to various embodiments, RRC 755 is used to configure the UE 101 with specific parameters, such as specific PUSCH parameters. Paragraph [0182], Process 1000 begins at operation 1005 where the UE 101 receives an RRC message including an SRS resource configuration. The SRS resource configuration indicates one or more configured SRS resource sets).
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 16, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the plurality of SRS resource trigger state fields respectively correspond to a plurality of DCI codepoints’ (Paragraph [0058], The 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1, 1_1 indicates the
triggered SRS resource set, and the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 2_3 indicates the triggered SRS resource set. Paragraph [0152], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900 has a variable size with following fields. [Note: Table 1 maps out the “Value of SRS request field” codepoints (01, 10, 11) directly to triggered actions and state instances]).
‘for triggering aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS sources included in the corresponding activated SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0049], Time domain behaviour of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resource Type, which can be periodic, semipersistent,
aperiodic SRS transmission. Paragraph [0153], indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. Paragraph [0156], This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set indicated with periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set ID field).
Regarding claim 18, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE comprises: an SRS resource set bitmap comprising a plurality of bits, each bit configured to indicate activation or deactivation of a corresponding SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set;’ (Paragraphs [0153]-[0154], The A/D field has a length of 1 bit and indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. The field is set to 1 to indicate activation, otherwise it indicates deactivation… The SRS Resource Set ID field has a
length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is
to be activated or deactivated. Paragraph [0043], the MAC CE can include one or more of the following information/parameters: CC index; BWP ID… and/or SRS resource ID);
‘and an SRS trigger state bitmap with each bit indicating activation or deactivation of a corresponding SRS trigger state of the corresponding SRS resource set’ (Paragraph [0151], According to various embodiments, instance(s) of MAC 720 may also activate or deactivate individual beams
of configured SRS resource(s). Paragraph [0156], This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates
the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, F1 to the second one and so on).
‘among a plurality of SRS trigger states that are preconfigured by radio resource control signaling.’ (Paragraph [0035], The UE 101 may be configured with one or more SRS resource sets as configured by the higher layer parameter SRS-ResourceSet. Paragraph [0037], Procedure 200 begins at operation 205 where an RRC (re)configuration is performed between a RAN node 111 and UE 101 for all SRS resources… the SRS resources include a set of beams 250 for all RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraph [0163], According to various embodiments, RRC 755 is used to configure the UE 101 with specific parameters, such as specific PUSCH parameters. Paragraph [0182], Process 1000 begins at operation 1005 where the UE 101 receives an RRC message including an SRS resource configuration. The SRS resource configuration indicates one or more configured SRS resource sets).
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 18, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the activated SRS trigger states correspond to a plurality of DCI codepoints’ (Paragraph [0058], The 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1, 1_1 indicates the triggered SRS resource set, and the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 2_3 indicates the triggered SRS resource set. Paragraph [0152], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900 is identified by a MAC subheader with a suitable LCD value and has a variable size with following fields. [Note: Table 1 maps the physical layer “Value of SRS request field” codepoints (01, 10, 11) directly to operational trigger state behaviors]).
‘for triggering aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS resources’ (Paragraph [0049], Time domain behaviour of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resource Type, which can be periodic, semipersistent, aperiodic SRS transmission. Paragraph [0153], indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. Paragraph [0156], This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set indicated with periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set ID field)
‘included in the corresponding activated SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is to be activated or deactivated. Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, F 1 to the second one and so on… Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, Resource ID1 to the second one, and so forth).
Regarding claim 20, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 1, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the MAC CE comprises: a DCI codepoint bitmap configured to indicate one or more activated DCI codepoints for triggering aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic SRS;’ (Paragraphs [0058], The 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 0_1, 1_1 indicates the triggered SRS resource set, and the 2-bit SRS request field in DCI format 2_3 indicates the triggered SRS resource set. Paragraph [0152], The SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900…has a variable size with following fields. [Note: Table 1 maps the physical layer “Value of SRS request field” codepoints (01, 10, 11) directly to operational trigger state behaviors]);
‘the SRS resource set field, associated with the DCI codepoint bitmap, configured to indicate an SRS resource set of the at least one SRS resource set;’ (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is
to be activated or deactivated. Paragraph [0205], the MAC CE is to further indicate an SRS resource set ID of an individual SRS resource set of the one or more SRS resource sets);
‘and one or more SRS resource trigger state fields, associated with the SRS resource set, each SRS resource trigger state field configured to indicate a resource trigger state that is preconfigured by radio resource control signaling,’ (Paragraph [0037], Procedure 200 begins at operation 205 where an RRC(re)configuration is performed between a RAN node 111 and UE 101 for all SRS resources… the SRS resources include a set of beams 250 for all RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, F1 to the second one and so on… The Resource IDi field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set, Resource ID1 to the second one, and so forth),
‘wherein each of the one or more SRS resource trigger state fields corresponds to one of the activated DCI codepoints.’ (Paragraph [0038], In other words, the SRS resource ID included in the DCI is used to indicate the Tx beam for PUSCH. Paragraphs [0182]-[0183], (attempts to decode) DCI, which indicates an SRS resource in the subset of the configured SRS resources… the MAC CE further indicates an SRS resource ID for each SRS resource in the subset of the configured SRS resources and spatial relation information for each SRS resource).
Regarding claim 22, ZHANG teaches, A method of wireless communication at a scheduled entity, comprising: receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) from a network, the MAC CE comprising:’ (Paragraph [0151], When the MAC 720 entity receives the MAC CE on a Serving Cell, the MAC 720 entity indicates, to lower layers, the information regarding the SRS beam activation/ deactivation as indicated by the MAC CE. Paragraph [0182], At operation 1010, the UE 101 receives a MAC CE message (e.g., MAC CE 900 of FIG. 9), which indicates a subset of the configured SRS resources):
‘a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set field configured to indicate an SRS resource set for SRS communication;’ (FIG. 9, Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is to be activated or deactivated. [Note: FIG. 9 (Octet 2) manifests as a 4-bit block identifying a specific set]);
‘an SRS resource field that is different from the SRS resource set field, the SRS resource field being configured to indicate one or more SRS resources included in the SRS resource set;’ (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set… The Resource IDi field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set);
‘a channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) field configured to indicate a CSI-RS
resource for receiving a CSI-RS signal from network;’ (Paragraph [0156], this field is set to 1 to indicate NZP CSI-RS resource index is used. Paragraph [0205], the MAC CE is to further indicate an SRS resource set ID… spatial relation information for each SRS resource in the individual SRS resource set. Paragraph [0209], when the transmission is the PUSCH transmission, the spatial relation information is based on a synchronization signal block (SSB), a Chanel State Information Reference Signal (CSIRS), or the SRS);
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but BAGHERI teaches, ‘a SRS slot offset field that indicates a number of slots between a triggering downlink control information (DCI) and a transmission of an SRS communication;’ (BAGHERI - Paragraph [0367], slot-offset parameter can indicate the number of slots between the sounding reference signal request and the corresponding sounding reference signal transmission),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BAGHERI with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BAGHERI into ZHANG is that BAGHERI provides receiving for a particular bandwidth part of a cell a configuration for a set of one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values. A default minimum scheduling offset for the particular bandwidth part of the cell, that is selected from the one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values of the received configuration is determined. The method further
includes switching to the particular bandwidth part from another bandwidth part. (See paragraph [0006], BAGHERI)
ZHANG and BAGHERI do not explicitly teach but ZHOU teaches, ‘and a content field configured to indicate alternative values represented by the SRS slot offset field according to a value of the content field.’ (ZHOU - Paragraph [0484], C may indicate whether the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) are present. If this field is set to 1, the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) may be present, otherwise they may not be present. Paragraph [0386], For periodic and semi-persistent CSI Resource Settings, the configured periodicity and slot offset may be given in the numerology of its associated DL BWP, as given by BWP-id [Note: C field that selectively provides a BWP ID and BWP IDs dictate the numerology used to calculate slot offsets]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of ZHOU with ZHANG and BAGHERI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of ZHOU into ZHANG and BAGHERI is that ZHOU provides that the time domain behavior of the CSI-ReportConfig may be indicated by the higher layer parameter reportConfigType
and may be set to 'aperiodic', 'semiPersistentOnPUCCH', 'semiPersistentOnPUSCH', or 'periodic'. For
periodic and semiPersistentOnPUCCH/semiPersistentOnPUSCH CSI reporting, the configured periodicity and slot offset may apply in the numerology of the UL BWP in which the CSI report is configured to be transmitted on. The higher layer parameter reportQuantity may indicate the CSI-related or L1-RSRP-related quantities to report. (See paragraph [0384], ZHOU)
Regarding claims 23 and 31, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 22, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the CSI-RS resource is associated with the SRS resource set.’ (Paragraphs [0067]-[0069], Only one SRS resource set can be configured with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to 'nonCodebook'… For non-codebook based transmission, the UE 101 can calculate the precoder used for the transmission of SRS based on measurement of an associated NZP CSI-RS
resource. The UE 101 can be configured with only one NZP CSI-RS resource for the SRS resource set with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to 'nonCodebook' if configured. If aperiodic SRS resource set is configured, the associated NZP-CSI-RS is indicated via SRS request field in DCI format 0_1 and 1_1… triggered SRS resource(s) srs-ResourceSetId, csi-RS indicating the associated NZP-CSI-RS-Resourceid are higher layer configured in SRS-ResourceSet. Paragraph [0034], This bit field
may also indicate the associated CSI-RS according to subclause 6.1.1.2 of 3GPP TS 38.214 v 15.1.0 (April 2018). Table 7: csi-RS: ID of CSI-RS resource associated with this SRS resource set).
Regarding claims 24 and 32, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 22, ZHANG further teaches, ‘wherein the SRS resource set field is configured to indicate a periodic SRS resource set, a semi-persistent SRS resource set, or aperiodic SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0156], This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set indicated with periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set ID field. Paragraph [0153], The field is set to 1 to indicate activation, otherwise it indicates deactivation… to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set. Paragraph [0049], Time domain behaviour of SRS resource configuration as indicated by the higher layer parameter resource Type, which can be periodic, semipersistent, aperiodic SRS transmission. Paragraph [0166], For UL codebook based transmissions, if the SRS-Resource IE has a resource Type parameter configured with a value "semipersistent," the UE 101 expects the SRS resource(s) indicated by the SRS-Resource IE to be activated.
Regarding claim 25 and 33, ZHANG, BAGHERI and ZHOU teach, The method of claim 22, ZHANG further teaches, The method of claim 22, ‘wherein the CSI-RS field is configured to indicate the CSI-RS’ (Paragraph [0034], This bit field may also indicate the associated CSI-RS according to subclause 6.1.1.2 of 3GPP TS 38.214 v l5.1.0 (April 2018). Paragraph [0156], The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… As an example, this field is set to 1 to indicate NZP CSI-RS resource index is used)
‘from a non-zero-power CSI-RS resource space.’ (Paragraphs [0068]-[0069], For non-codebook based transmission, the UE 101 can calculate the precoder used for the transmission of SRS based on measurement of an associated NZP CSI-RS resource. The UE 101 can be configured with only one NZP
CSI-RS resource for the SRS resource set… csi-RS indicating the associated NZP-CSI-RS-Resourceid are higher layer configured in SRS-ResourceSet. Paragraph [0071], If periodic or semi-persistent SRS resource set is configured, the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceConfigID for measurement is indicated via higher layer parameter associated CSI-RS in SRS-ResourceSet. Paragraph [0156], As an example, this field is set to 1 to indicate NZP CSI-RS resource index is used. Table 6: associatedCSI-RS
ID of CSI-RS resource associated with this SRS resource set in non-codebook based operation).
Regarding claim 26, ZHANG teaches, A method of wireless communication at a scheduling entity, comprising: transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to a user equipment (UE),’ (Paragraph [0037), At operation 210, the RAN node 111 signals/transmits a MAC CE to update, reconfigure, or otherwise indicate a subset of the RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraph [0211], Example 21 includes a method comprising… selecting or causing to select a subset of the one or more configured SRS resources; generating or causing to generate a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message to indicate the subset… transmitting or causing to transmit the MAC CE to the UE],
‘the MAC CE comprising information for activating or deactivating one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources included in at least one SRS resource set,’ (Paragraphs [0151]-[0153], According to various embodiments, instance(s) of MAC 720 may also activate or deactivate individual beams of configured SRS resource(s). In these embodiments, the NW (e.g., a RAN node 111) may update, activate or deactivate beams or BWPs of one or more configured SRS resource sets by sending a suitable MAC CE… FIG. 9 depicts an example SRS beam Activation/Deactivation MAC CE 900 according to various embodiments… indicates whether to activate or deactivate indicated periodic and/or aperiodic SRS resource set),
‘and receiving, from the UE, an SRS communication using the one or more SRS resources
included in the at least one SRS resource set based on the information of the MAC CE’ (Paragraph [0037], At operation 215, the RAN node 111 signals/transmits a DCI message to indicate a
selected SRS beam to be used for PUSCH transmission or SRS transmission. Paragraph [0211], Example 21 includes a method comprising… generating or causing to generate Downlink Control Information (DCI) to indicate the selected single SRS resource; and transmitting or causing to transmit the DCI to
the UE. [Note: The downstream physical layer receipt of the SRS transmission is the natural and intended technical outcome of this scheduler step])
‘wherein the MAC CE further comprises: an SRS resource set field configured to indicate an SRS resource set; and an SRS resource field that is different from the SRS resource set field, the SRS resource
field being configured to indicate the one or more SRS resources included in the at least one SRS resource set.’ (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… Paragraphs [0156]-0157), The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set… The Resource IDi field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set).
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but BAGHERI teaches, ‘the MAC CE comprising an SRS slot offset field that indicates a number of slots between a triggering downlink control information (DCI) and a transmission of an SRS communication,’ (BAGHERI - Paragraph [0367], slot-offset parameter can indicate the number of slots between the sounding reference signal request and the corresponding sounding reference signal transmission),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BAGHERI with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BAGHERI into ZHANG is that BAGHERI provides receiving for a particular bandwidth part of a cell a configuration for a set of one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values. A default minimum scheduling offset for the particular bandwidth part of the cell, that is selected from the one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values of the received configuration is determined. The method further
includes switching to the particular bandwidth part from another bandwidth part. (See paragraph [0006], BAGHERI)
ZHANG and BAGHERI do not explicitly teach but ZHOU teaches, ‘and a content field configured to indicate alternative values represented by the SRS slot offset field according to a value of the content field;’ (ZHOU - Paragraph [0484], C may indicate whether the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) are present. If this field is set to 1, the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) may be present, otherwise they may not be present. Paragraph [0386], For periodic and semi-persistent CSI Resource Settings, the configured periodicity and slot offset may be given in the numerology of its associated DL BWP, as given by BWP-id [Note: C field that selectively provides a BWP ID and BWP IDs dictate the numerology used to calculate slot offsets]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of ZHOU with ZHANG and BAGHERI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of ZHOU into ZHANG and BAGHERI is that ZHOU provides that the time domain behavior of the CSI-ReportConfig may be indicated by the higher layer parameter reportConfigType
and may be set to 'aperiodic', 'semiPersistentOnPUCCH', 'semiPersistentOnPUSCH', or 'periodic'. For
periodic and semiPersistentOnPUCCH/semiPersistentOnPUSCH CSI reporting, the configured periodicity and slot offset may apply in the numerology of the UL BWP in which the CSI report is configured to be transmitted on. The higher layer parameter reportQuantity may indicate the CSI-related or L1-RSRP-related quantities to report. (See paragraph [0384], ZHOU)
Regarding claim 30, ZHANG teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication at a scheduling
entity, comprising: transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) to a user equipment (UE), the MAC CE comprising:’ (Paragraph [0037], At operation 210, the RAN node 111 signals/transmits a MAC CE to update, reconfigure, or otherwise indicate a subset of the RRC configured SRS resources. Paragraph [0211], generating or causing to generate a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message to indicate the subset of the one or more configured SRS resources; transmitting or causing to transmit the MAC CE to the UE):
‘a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set field configured to indicate an SRS resource set for SRS communication;’ (Paragraph [0154], The SRS Resource Set ID field has a length of 4 bits and indicates the SRS Resource Set ID identified by SRS-ResourceSetId… which is to be activated or deactivated. FIG. 9 Octet 2 maps to a 4-bit block tracking a dedicated identifier);
‘an SRS resource field that is different from the SRS resource set field, the SRS resource field being configured to indicate one or more SRS resources included in the SRS resource set;’ (Paragraphs [0156]-0157), The Fi This field has a length of 1 bit and indicates the type of a resource used as a spatial relationship for SRS resource within periodic and/or aperiodic SRS Resource Set… F0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set… The Resource IDi field has a length of 7 bits and contains an identifier of the resource used for spatial relationship derivation for SRS resource i. Resource ID0 refers to the first SRS resource within the resource set).
‘a channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS) field configured to indicate a CSI-RS resource for transmitting a CSI-RS;’ (Paragraph [0156], As an example, this field is set to 1 to indicate NZP CSI-RS resource index is used. Paragraph [0214], and generate the MAC CE to indicate a CC index, a BWP ID, an SRS resource set ID of an individual SRS resource set of the one or more SRS resource sets, a PO and alpha set ID of a power control parameter set corresponding to the individual SRS resource set, a pathloss reference signal ID… and a closed-loop index. [Note: reference signal definitions for these loops include an SSB block or an explicit CS-RS index]);
‘and transmitting, to the UE, the CSI-RS using the CSI-RS resource.’ (Paragraph [0034], This bit field may also indicate the associated CSI-RS according to subclause 6.1.1.2 of 3GPP TS 38.214 v15.1.0 (April 2018). Paragraph [0070], If the UE 101 is configured with aperiodic SRS associated with aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource, the presence of the associated CSI-RS is indicated by the SRS request field… The CSI-RS is located in the same slot as the SRS request field).
ZHANG does not explicitly teach but BAGHERI teaches, ‘a SRS slot offset field that indicates a number of slots between a triggering downlink control information (DCI) and a transmission of an SRS communication;’ (BAGHERI - Paragraph [0367], slot-offset parameter can indicate the number of slots between the sounding reference signal request and the corresponding sounding reference signal transmission),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BAGHERI with ZHANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BAGHERI into ZHANG is that BAGHERI provides receiving for a particular bandwidth part of a cell a configuration for a set of one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values. A default minimum scheduling offset for the particular bandwidth part of the cell, that is selected from the one or more preconfigured minimum scheduling offset values of the received configuration is determined. The method further
includes switching to the particular bandwidth part from another bandwidth part. (See paragraph [0006], BAGHERI)
ZHANG and BAGHERI do not explicitly teach but ZHOU teaches, ‘and a content field configured to indicate alternative values represented by the SRS slot offset field according to a value of the content field;’ (ZHOU - Paragraph [0484], C may indicate whether the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) are present. If this field is set to 1, the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) may be present, otherwise they may not be present. Paragraph [0386], For periodic and semi-persistent CSI Resource Settings, the configured periodicity and slot offset may be given in the numerology of its associated DL BWP, as given by BWP-id [Note: C field that selectively provides a BWP ID and BWP IDs dictate the numerology used to calculate slot offsets]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of ZHOU with ZHANG and BAGHERI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of ZHOU into ZHANG and BAGHERI is that ZHOU provides that the time domain behavior of the CSI-ReportConfig may be indicated by the higher layer parameter reportConfigType
and may be set to 'aperiodic', 'semiPersistentOnPUCCH', 'semiPersistentOnPUSCH', or 'periodic'. For
periodic and semiPersistentOnPUCCH/semiPersistentOnPUSCH CSI reporting, the configured periodicity and slot offset may apply in the numerology of the UL BWP in which the CSI report is configured to be transmitted on. The higher layer parameter reportQuantity may indicate the CSI-related or L1-RSRP-related quantities to report. (See paragraph [0384], ZHOU)
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479