DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 01/09/2025. Claims 1-2, 9-15, and 17-21 are pending in the application. Claims 18-20 have been withdrawn and claims 1-2, 9-15, 17, and 21 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
4. The rejections of claims 1 under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
All remaining rejections from the previous office action are maintained.
Response to Arguments
5. In the arguments presented on p.9-11 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Kobayashi fails to teach the amended claim 1 limitations because:
a) the first barrier and germicidal source is free to rotate, to any angle, unrestricted by the position(s) of the rest of the device;
b) the second barrier provides a different purpose than the fixed door of Kobayashi;
c) the germicidal sources are mounted such that they rotate with the first barrier (including reflector), which increases germicidal light output and simplifies the rotation mechanism to just the first barrier;
d) Kobayashi does not teach changing the direction of germicidal emission;
e) the system as described in the current invention is more complex;
f) Kobayashi’s system does not teach autonomous navigation nor detection of objects/persons causing the controller to react accordingly.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments a) and e), these features are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding argument b), per MPEP 2114,II, claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding argument c), Kobayashi teaches the germicidal sources being mounted such that they rotate with the first barrier and reflector (each UV light source 3 is fixed to doors 2b and 2c having reflectors that rotatably hinge off of door 2a, Fig. 3).
Regarding argument d), Kobayashi teaches changing the direction of germicidal emission (fully closed in Fig. 2 to fully open in Fig. 4).
Regarding argument f), while it is true that Kobayashi does not teach autonomous navigation nor detection of objects/persons causing the controller to react accordingly, secondary reference Lloyd does.
In the arguments presented on p.12 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Kobayashi fails to teach two barriers which cooperate to define emitted germicidal radiation.
This argument is not persuasive. When the first barrier and germicidal source is rotated (doors 2b and 2c, each having UV light source 3, Fig. 3), the relative position of the first and second barriers (door 2a, Fig. 3) control the angle (and thus, direction) of irradiation.
In the arguments presented on p.13 and 16 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Kobayashi’s device is not capable of the claim 21 limitations because it lacks a powered base and required sensing components.
This argument is not persuasive. A motorized base is not required, because a user could manually move the device with its wheels (Fig. 3), where the intended use software could compute this optimal trajectory (including when and where it will stop) that the user can carry out, including “irradiating surfaces from different perspectives as appropriate to disinfect the space”. Furthermore, there is no mention of what “optimal” means, which could include just disinfecting every surface without any mention of what areas are noted as “safe” or “appropriate” (which does not require any sensing component).
In the arguments presented on p.15 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Lloyd’s Fig. 6 teaching of controlling the direction of emitted germicidal radiation is different than the instant application’s approach (as recited in claim 2 and 15).
This argument is not persuasive. The rejections of claims 2 and 15 is in view of Kobayashi in view of Lloyd, not Lloyd in view of Kobayashi. The teachings of Lloyd’s controller features of scanning of “safe” areas and subsequently controlling directional angles of germicidal radiation is applied onto Kobayashi’s device structure, not Lloyd’s. Kobayashi still teaches a first and second barrier, the first being rotatable and the second being fixed, so one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to combine such features to positionally angle the device into noted “safe” areas.
Furthermore, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim Objections
6. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 19 of the claim, “such that to the germicidal light source” is grammatically incorrect and is likely that the Applicant intended “such that the germicidal light source”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 9, 11-12, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US 6897460 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a disinfection apparatus (ultraviolet pasteurizer 1, Fig. 1-4) comprising: a germicidal light source (ultraviolet lamps 3, Fig. 1-4);
a controller for controlling emission of germicidal light from the germicidal light source (“the main case 5 also houses therein a controller 15 for controlling operating conditions for the ultraviolet pasteurizer 1”, col.4, lines 61-63); and a moveable support to which the germicidal light source is attached (base 4, Fig. 1-4) which is moveable across a surface (wheels 10, Fig. 1),
a germicidal light blocker (light shield doors 2a, 2b, 2c, Fig. 3); and
a control system (“the controller 15 detects the full opening of the light shield doors 2b, 2c… when an operation switch (not shown) on the control panel 14 is turned on with the light shield doors 2a, 2b, 2c being fully open, an operation start timer is actuated”, col.5, lines 3-11, and “the door closing detecting switches 12 are turned on, allowing the controller 15 to detect the fully closure of the light shield doors 2b, 2c, col.5, lines 29-33) so as to selectively block light emitted from the germicidal light source in selected directions (doors 2b and 2c being closed/partially open/fully open in Fig. 1-4 selectively blocks light emitted in selected directions).
wherein the germicidal light blocker comprises a first barrier (doors 2b and 2c, Fig. 3) which is fixed in position with respect to the germicidal light source (the light source 3 mounted to doors 2b and 2c move as one, Fig. 3) which moves with the germicidal light source and has a reflecting surface (col.4, 2nd paragraph) which reflects germicidal light in a direction to and out from a second side of the germicidal light source (col.4, 2nd paragraph), the germicidal light source and first barrier being rotatable relative to the moveable support (second barrier being door 2a, which is fixed to the base 4, and doors 2b and 2c being rotatable with respect to base 4, Fig. 3);
the second barrier which is fixed relative to the moveable support (second barrier being door 2a, which is fixed to the base 4, Fig. 3), the second barrier providing an area fixed relative to the moveable support (second barrier door 2a is fixed to base 4 and does not move, Fig. 3) around the disinfection apparatus which is blocked from the germicidal light (area behind door 2a of Fig. 3),
wherein the first barrier and the second barrier (doors 2a-c, Fig. 3) are controlled by the control system (open/close switches 11 and 12, Fig. 1-4) such that the germicidal light source is completely encapsulated with respect to its surrounding environment (closed configuration of Fig. 2), eliminating an amount of the germicidal light emitted from the disinfection apparatus (closed doors 2a-c eliminates the angle/direction of emitted germicidal radiation in the door configurations of Fig. 3 or 4) by controlling a relative position of the first barrier and the second barrier (all three doors 2a-c working in conjunction to provide a specific angle/direction of emitted germicidal radiation, Fig. 2-4), and
wherein the germicidal light is directed into the surrounding environment (Fig. 2-4) in a direction determined by the relative position of the first barrier and the second barrier (all three doors 2a-c working in conjunction to provide a specific angle/direction of emitted germicidal radiation, Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi teaches a communication interface (control panel 14, Fig. 1) mounted on the second barrier (mounted to door 2a, Fig. 1 and 2) at a rear of the disinfection apparatus (behind door 2a, Fig. 2)in a radiation shielded region (RSR) such that an operator can stand in the RSR to operate a user interface without being exposed to radiation (when the doors 2a-c are partially open as shown in Fig. 3, there exists a radiation shielded region such that an operator can stand and operate a user interface without being exposed to radiation).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi teaches wherein the germicidal light source comprises a plurality of fixed light sources (UV lamps 3, Fig. 3) positioned on a support column (unlabeled bracket holding UV lamps 3, Fig. 3) and facing in multiple directions (doors 2a-c, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi teaches a robotic system (“the control panel 14 is turned on with the light shield doors 2a, 2b, 2c being fully open, an operation start timer is actuated, and the ultraviolet lamps 3 are then energized after elapse of 5 minutes”, Fig. 1-4 and col. 5, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi teaches wherein the moveable support comprises a moveable base (base 4 is moveable through wheels 10, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, the limitation of “wherein software is used to compute an optimal trajectory through a space in which the disinfection apparatus operates and where it will stop for periods of time, irradiating surfaces from different perspectives as appropriate to disinfect the space” is directed to the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Kobayashi and the apparatus of Kobayashi is capable of utilizing software to compute an optimal trajectory through a space and stopping durations. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the applicant' s invention (see MPEP §2114). NOTE: this is a recitation of intended use, and so long as the prior art structure reads on the instant claimed structure, this limitation would be met because the same structure would be capable of the same function; in this case, wherein said software is used and implemented on the controller of Kobayashi’s device, the apparatus is fully capable of computing an optimal trajectory, where it will stop for periods of time, and irradiating surfaces from different perspectives as appropriate to disinfect the space.
Per MPEP 2114,II, claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 2, 10, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 6897460 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lloyd (US 20170246329 A1, cited in prior office action).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi teaches a controller (14 and 15, Fig. 1), but fails to teach wherein the controller further comprises a detector which detects a presence of one or more of an object and a person in a vicinity of the disinfection apparatus, wherein the controller controls a direction of said germicidal light from the germicidal light source in response to the presence of said object and said person that is detected.
Lloyd teaches a UV disinfection system (Fig. 1), wherein the controller (processing circuitry 51, Fig. 5B) further comprises a detector (sensor 30, which is an imaging system, [0060]) which detects a presence of one or more of an object and a person in a vicinity of the disinfection apparatus (“where a person in the environment 100 is located and/or where the unprotected skin and head of a person in the environment is located”, [0060] and “objects in an environment that are not exposed to germicidal radiation at one point in time may be exposed to germicidal radiation at other times as a result of changing inputs and computer analyses”, [0059]), wherein the controller controls a direction of said germicidal light from the germicidal light source in response to the presence of said object and said person that is detected (“rapidly scan and decontaminate the “safe” areas with one or more of a direction, intensity, and shape controlled beam of germicidal radiation”, [0034]).
Kobayashi and Lloyd are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automatic disinfection systems via germicidal UV radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UV disinfection apparatus of Kobayashi by incorporating an imaging system as taught by Lloyd in order to detect an object and person within the room (Lloyd, [0059-0060]), and thus control a direction of emitted germicidal light to designated “safe” areas ([Lloyd, 0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi teaches wherein the germicidal light source comprises a plurality of UV lamps arranged on a support surface (two UV lamps 3 on a support bracket on doors 2a-c, Fig. 3), wherein the controller comprises a switch which controls operation of the plurality of lamps (operation switch, col. 5, 2nd paragraph), but fails to teach LEDs as the UV lamp.
Lloyd teaches a UV disinfection system (Fig. 1) having a germicidal radiation emitter (Fig. 4B) having UV LEDs (emitter 20, Fig. 4B and [0069]) and mounting the germicidal radiation emitter to a robot for movement to various places within the environment ([0085]).
Kobayashi and Lloyd are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automatic disinfection systems via germicidal UV radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the UV lamps of Kobayashi with UV LEDs as taught by Lloyd because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi teaches UV radiation emission to sterilize microorganisms in the environment (col.2, 1st paragraph) via lamps (UV lamps 3, Fig. 3), but fails to teach wherein the germicidal light source is UV light in a range of 200-300 nm.
Lloyd teaches a UV disinfection system (Fig. 1) having a germicidal radiation emitter (Fig. 4B) having UV LEDs (emitter 20, Fig. 4B and [0069]) producing “253.7 nm radiation” ([0069]).
Kobayashi and Lloyd are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automatic disinfection systems via germicidal UV radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UV lamps of Kobayashi by incorporating a feature of 253.7 nm UV radiation as the peak wavelength in order to provide “particularly effective germicidal disinfection” (Lloyd, [0069]).
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi fails to teach wherein the disinfection apparatus further comprises navigation sensors which detect presence of objects in a pathway of the disinfection apparatus.
Lloyd teaches a UV disinfection system (Fig. 1) having a germicidal radiation emitter (20, Fig. 4B) mounted to a robotic vehicle (60, Fig. 4B), wherein the disinfection apparatus further comprises navigation sensors (imaging system 30, Fig. 4B) which detect presence of objects in a pathway of the disinfection apparatus (“The floor plan could be programmed into the movement device 60, or it could have sensors that allow it to determine where in the room the obstacles are, technology similar to that employed in commercially available robotic floor cleaners”, [0085]).
Kobayashi and Lloyd are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automatic disinfection systems via germicidal UV radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UV disinfection apparatus of Kobayashi by incorporating an imaging system as taught by Lloyd in order to detect presence of objects in a pathway of the apparatus (Lloyd, [0085]).
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi teaches a germicidal light source (UV lamps 3, Fig. 3), but fails to explicitly teach wherein the germicidal light source comprises one or more of: a fluorescent lamp, LED or Xenon lamp.
Lloyd teaches a UV disinfection system (Fig. 1) having a germicidal radiation emitter (Fig. 10) having UV LEDs (emitter 20, Fig. 4B and [0069]) and mounting the germicidal radiation emitter to a robot for movement to various places within the environment ([0085]).
Kobayashi and Lloyd are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of automatic disinfection systems via germicidal UV radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the UV lamps of Kobayashi with UV LEDs as taught by Lloyd because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799