Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a main component “in claims 1-8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a main component” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not define that what ratio of the mass of the potassium sodium niobate-based perovskite type complex oxide represented by compositional formula ABO3 to the mass of the piezoelectric ceramic composition is considered as a main component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Thermally-induced phase transformations in KNNS-BNKZ lead-free piezoceramics" Tangsritrakul et al.
Regarding claim 1, Tangsritrakul et al. discloses a piezoelectric ceramic composition, a perovskite phase composite oxide comprising the main constituent composition formula (K, Na, Sb) NbO3-(Bi, Na, K) ZrO3( (Bi. Na, K) ZrO3 as the main constituent, and the A-site comprising Bi and the B-site comprising Zr). Tangsritrakul et al. discloses that the piezoelectric composition comprises region 2, which is read on segregation part within crystal grains, and at least one of Zr and Bi is distributed in the region 2. See Figures 2 and 3.1 Microstructure section.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, segregation parts containing higher concentrations of Bi and Zr, thus lower mass% of Bi and Zr at the grain boundary.
Regarding claim 5, Figure 2 shows the plurality of segregation portions located within one or more grains comprises a first segregation portion having an equivalent circle diameter of 0.05 µm or more.
Regarding claim 6, Figure 2 shows a plurality of first segregating portions at more than one ratio per 5 µm2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 7 -8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Thermally-induced phase transformations in KNNS-BNKZ lead-free piezoceramics" Tangsritrakul et al.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 7-8, Tangsritrakul et al. disclose a piezoelectric ceramic composition, a perovskite phase composite oxide comprising the main constituent composition formula (K, Na, Sb) NbO3-(Bi, Na, K) ZrO3 ((Bi. Na, K) ZrO3 as the main constituent, and the A-site comprising Bi and the B-site comprising Zr). Tangsritrakul et al. discloses that the piezoelectric composition comprises region 2, which is read on segregation part within grains, and at least one of Zr and Bi is distributed in the region 2. See Figures 2 and 3.1 Microstructure section.
Although Tangsritrakul et al. do not measure the mass of the Zr or Bi in the grain boundary, they do teach a piezoelectric ceramic composition made by calcinating under 1140°C for 3h. See 2. Experimental methods, first paragraph. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731