DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim and Specification Objections
At least claim 1 and Specification (throughout) are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “principal” is found throughout the application and claims referring to a surface. However, the term should be “principle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111183316 to Mi in view of KR 2015/0139431 to Matsuishi et al and JP 2018-163353 to Myaska et al.
Mi recites a glass sheet (Figure 1A) comprising a first principle surface (101) and a second principle surface (102) opposed to each other and an end surface connecting the first principle surface to the second principle surface to each other, wherein the glass sheet has an uneven structure (106) that functions as a diffraction grating on at least one of the first or second principle surfaces, the uneven structure being formed in a region where incident light enters and the incident light having entered inside the glass sheet comprises a first light guided (112) while repeating total reflection between the first principle surface and the second principle surface and the second light (110) emitted in a direction being a different direction, outside.
But Mi fails to expressly recite wherein the glass sheet has a refractive index (nd) from 1.6-2.2 and has an R shape in at least part of the end surface, the end surface has a surface roughness Ra of 100nm or less and the second light emitted in the direction of the end surface. However, Matsuishi teaches a glass sheet (section entitled “Technical field” says “the present invention relates to a glass sheet production method and a glass sheet production apparatus”), comprising a first principal surface (figure 11, 10b) and a second principal surface opposed to each other (10a) and an end surface connecting the first principal surface and the second principal surface to each other (11) and has an R shape in at least part of the end surface (calls it an R shape and is the same as applicant’s figure 1), and the end surface has a surface roughness Ra of 100 nm or less (when discussing forming the end 11, Matsuishi say, “In the present modified example, the end face of the glass plate 10, 11 and 12, resin-bonded diamond wheel, and chamfering processed by the wheel, or may be further polished by a pair of grinding wheels. By polishing the end face (11, 12) by a grinding wheel, of the end face (11, 12)It is possible to reduce the surface roughness. In addition, the end surface polished by the abrasive wheel (11, 12) has an arithmetic average roughness Ra of not more than 100 preferably, and more preferably 80 nm” Matsuishi further teaches the surface roughening to be done by etching). Since Mi teaches the light extraction features (106) to be formed by etching the surface and Matsuishi also teaches etching to form a surface roughness, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided an R shape in at least part of the end surface and a surface roughness of 100nm or less in order to produce the desired light extraction features.
Furthermore, although Mi in view of Matsuishi do not specify that the glass sheet has a refractive index of from 1.6 to 2.2, see Myaska teach who teach a glass substrate comprising a first principal surface (142) and a second principal surface (141) opposed to each other and an end surface (14) connecting the first principal surface and the second principal surface to each other, wherein the glass sheet has a refractive index of from 1.6 to 2.2 (they say, “Further, the refractive index of the light guide substrate 14 at the temperature T may be in the range of 1.4 ≦ n ≦ 2.2. A high refractive index of the light guide substrate 14 is preferable in that the viewing angle becomes large, but generally a material having a high refractive index causes a decrease in transmittance. For this reason, the refractive index n of the light guide substrate 14 is preferably 1.5 ≦ n ≦ 2.0, and more preferably 1.6 ≦ n ≦ 1.9.”)
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to utilize a glass panel with an R shaped end for the purpose of outputting a signal that has a refractive index between 1.6 and 2.2 as taught by Myaska in the system of Mi in view of Matsuishi since Myaska teach that this is well known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In regard to claim 2, Matsuishi teach wherein the glass sheet has an R shape in an entirety of the end surface.
In regard to claim 5, see paragraph 19 which teaches a thickens of between 0.2mm-0.8 mm.
In regard to claim 6, see paragraphs 21 and 23.
In regard to claim 8, Mi teaches a light guiding plate comprising a glass sheet.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111183316 to Mi in view of KR 2015/0139431 to Matsuishi et al and JP 2018-163353 to Myaska et al as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of U.S. Patent 10,442,729 to Katayama et al.
In regard to claim 3, although modified Mi do not specifically teach that their thickness variation is 5 microns or less, Katayama teach that this is well known. See column 4, lines 26-40.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide thickness variation of 5 microns or less as taught by Katayama in the system of modified Mi since Katayama teach that this is well known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In regard to claim 4, although modified Mi do not specifically teach wherein the first principal surface and the second principal surface each have a surface roughness Ra of 10 nm or less, see claim 1 of Katayama. They teach these surfaces have a roughness of 10nm or less.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide a glass sheet with an R shaped end of a glass sheet that has a surface roughness of 10nm or less as taught by Katayama in the system of modified Mi since Katayama teach that this is well known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as currently applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874