DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 2,993,395, previously presented) in view of Goldstein (2019/0368655) and Okubu (US 4,461,463, previously presented).
Regarding Claim 1, Bohn teaches an arrangement (Fig. 1) comprising:
a fixture device (Fig. 2) for removably holding components ([Col. 1, Line 7-10]), said fixture device comprising:
a holding device (Ref. 14 & 26, Fig. 1) comprising a first holding element (Ref. 14, Fig. 1) having a first contact surface (Ref. 14, inner left wall, Fig. 1 annotated below) and a second holding element (Ref. 22,24&26, Fig. 1) having a second contact surface (Ref. 24, Fig. 1), wherein the first holding element and the second holding element are movable relative to each other between an open position (fig. 1) and a holding position ([col. 2, Line 38-39] describes the holding position fastened to workpiece in a predetermined position);
a ball (Ref. 12, Fig. 1);
a socket (Ref. 28, 32, & 36, Fig. 1-2) comprising a magnet (Ref. 40, Fig. 1-2), wherein the socket comprises a first side (See annotated Fig. 1 below) configured to receive at least part of the ball (Fig. 1) such that the ball can slide in relation to the socket (Fig. 1, [Col. 3, Line 31-38]), and
at least a section of the ball is made of a ferromagnetic material ([Col. 2, Line 22-24] describes the ball as steel which is made of iron that is a ferromagnetic material) such that the ball is maintained in a selected position in relation to the socket by frictional resistance generated by magnetic attraction between the ball and the magnet (Fig. 1, [Col.3, line 27-30]); and
a support (Ref. 10, Fig. 1) comprising a plate formed of a magnetic material ([Col. 2, Line 16-17] describes a the surface being steel or iron), wherein the socket of the fixture device comprises a second side (See annotated Fig. 1 below) opposite the first side (fig .1), and the second side is arranged to be removably attached to the support by magnetic attraction between the magnet and the support (Fig. 1), and the socket is movable along a surface of the support ([Col. 2, Line 22-24 & Col.3, line 27-30]).
Bohn teaches that the holding device may be any desired vise structure for holding a piece of work material in a position ([Col. 2, Lines 20-24]). Bohn fails to explicitly teach a rod extending along a rod axis and rigidly connecting the first holding element to the ball and a biasing member extending parallel to the rod axis and arranged to be compressed along the rod axis to generate a restoring force directed parallel to the rod axis to bias the second contact surface towards the first contact surface, from the open position towards the holding position. Goldstein teaches a fixture device with a holding element connected to a ball and socket and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor of fixture device. Goldstein teaches An arrangement (Fig. 1) comprising:
a fixture device (Fig. 1) for removably holding components ([0021]), said fixture device comprising:
a holding device (Ref. 100, Fig. 1) comprising a first holding element (Ref. 110, Fig. 1) having a first contact surface (Ref. 110, Fig. 1 annotated below) and a second holding element (Ref. 105, Fig. 1) having a second contact surface (Ref. 105, Fig. 1 annotated below), wherein the first holding element and the second holding element are movable relative to each other between an open position and a holding position (Fig. 4A, [0030] describes moving between an opening position and a tensioned position);
a ball (Ref. 225, Fig. 1);
a rod (ref. 120, Fig. 1) extending along a rod axis (Fig. 1 annotated below) and rigidly connecting the first holding element to the ball ([0022], Fig. 4A);
a biasing member (Ref. 125, Fig. 1) extending parallel to the rod axis (Fig. 1) and arranged to be compressed along the rod axis to generate a restoring force directed parallel to the rod axis to bias the second contact surface (105) towards the first contact surface (Fig. 5, [0022]), from the open position towards the holding position ([0022] describes "…The spring structure in this embodiment is a tension/extension spring structure that maintains the rear support wall 105 and front support wall 110 in tension against one another so that a structure…"). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the holding device, as taught by Bohn, with the holding device, biasing element, and rod, as taught by Goldstein, by simple substitution and since such a modification would yield the predictable result of holding a material.
Bohn further teaches wherein the ball comprises ferromagnetic material ([Col. 2, Line 22-24] describes the ball as steel which is a magnetic material). Bohn as modified fails to teach wherein the magnet comprises a permanent magnet. Okubo teaches a fixture device with a holding element connected to a ball and socket and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor of fixture device. Okubo teaches a permanent magnet (Ref. 17, Fig. 1) to that generates a magnetic field (Ref. 24, fig. 1) hold a ball (Ref. 21, Fig. 1) in axial position and hold a support (Ref. 14, fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the magnet, as taught by Bohn as modified, with a permanent magnet, as taught by Okubo, as a simple substitution of a known element to produce the result of holding a ball in a socket at a particular angle and attaching a socket to a support.
Regarding Claim 3, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, as described above, and Bohn further teaches wherein the socket is at least partly enclosing the ball (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, as described above, and Bohn further teaches wherein the socket comprises a friction member (Ref. 30, Fig. 1, [Col. 3, Line 65-68] describes the member (30) to have frictional resistance against rotational torque).
Regarding Claim 6, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Bohn further teaches Bohn wherein the fixture device (Fig. 2) is arranged for being in a tilted position ([Col. 1, Line 7-10] describes the work can be positioned into any desired manner and magnetically locked into place including a tilted position). Given the teaching of the holding device into Bohn, Goldstein further teaches wherein the holding device (100) comprises a protruding member (Ref. 115, Fig. 1) for being in contact with the support (Fig. 4A) and for aligning the fixture device with the support when in said tilted position (Examiner notes, as intended use, the protruding member would be capable of contacting the support when in a tilted position to help align the fixture device).
Regarding Claim 7, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Goldstein further teaches wherein at least part of the holding device (100) comprises a ferromagnetic material ([0022] describes a metal connectors 120) such that the magnet in the socket magnetizes the holding device and the protruding member of the holding device such that the holding device is intended to be removably attached to the support by the magnet when the fixture device is in said tilted position (Examiner notes, as intended use, the protruding member would be capable of magnetizing the holding device).
Regarding Claim 8, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teaching of the holding device of Goldstein, Bohn as modified teaches wherein the holding device comprises a top section comprising a ferromagnetic material ([0022] describes a metal connectors 120, Goldstein), and the holding device is reconfigurable between:
a first position (Fig. 1, Bohn) in which the ball contacts the socket and is maintained in the selected position in relation to the socket by frictional resistance generated by magnetic attraction between the ball and the magnet (Fig. 1, [Col.3, line 27-30], examiner interprets the limitation as intended use and Bohn would be capable of having the ball in a first position), and
a second position in which the top section contacts the socket and is maintained in contact with the socket by magnetic attraction between the top section and the magnet (examiner interprets the limitation as intended use and Bohn would be capable of having the ball in a second position of the socket maintained in contact with the socket by magnetic attraction, as the top section is ferromagnetic and would interact with the magnet).
Regarding Claim 9, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Goldstein further teaches wherein at least part of said biasing member is arranged encircling at least part of the rod (Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 10, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Bohn further teaches wherein the socket comprises a first section (Ref. 32, Fig. 1) and a second section (Ref. 28, fig. 2), wherein the first section comprises the magnet (Fig. 1) and the second section is arranged to at least partly enclose the ball (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Bohn further teaches wherein the socket comprises a spacer (Ref. 34, Fig. 1) for creating a distance (Ref. A, Fig. 1) between the socket and the support when said socket is fastened to said support ([Col. 3, Line 53-56]).
Regarding Claim 14, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Bohn further teaches wherein the rod axis intersects the ball (fig. 1, Bohn).
Regarding Claim 15, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teaching of the holder, rod, and biasing member of Goldstein into the arrangement of Bohn, Goldstein further teaches wherein the biasing member (125) comprises a helical coil spring (Fig. 1&4A) having a plurality of helical coils wrapped helically around a spring axis (Fig. 1 annotated below), wherein the spring axis is parallel to the rod axis (Fig. 1 annotated above).
Regarding Claim 16, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and given the teaching of the holder, rod, and biasing member of Goldstein into the arrangement of Bohn, Goldstein further teaches wherein the plurality of helical coils surround the rod (fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 17, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and given the teaching of the holder, rod, and biasing member of Goldstein into the arrangement of Bohn, Goldstein further teaches wherein the first contact surface (110)and the second contact surface (105) are constrained to slide relative to each other in a single degree of freedom (Fig. 1&4A) throughout movement of the holding device between the open position and the holding position ([0022&0030], Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 18, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and given the teaching of the holder, rod, and biasing member of Goldstein into the arrangement of Bohn, Goldstein further teaches wherein:
the first holding element (110) extends from a first holding element base (Fig. 1 annotated below), that is rigidly secured to the rod (fig. 1&4A, [0020]), to the first contact surface (Fig. 1, [0027]), and the first contact surface is offset perpendicular to the rod axis (fig. 1); and
the second holding element (105) extends from a second holding element base (Ref. 115, Fig. 1) that is slidably mounted on the rod ([0029], Fig. 4A) to the second contact surface (Fig. 1), and the second contact surface is offset perpendicular to the rod axis (Fig. 1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn as modified as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richards (US 2018/0050407).
Regarding Claim 13, Bohn as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach multiple fixture device arranged on the surface of the support wherein each one of the more than one fixture device is configured to hold at least one component. Richards teaches a fixture device with a holding element connected a support magnetically and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor of fixture devices. Richard teaches more than one fixture device (Ref. 104, Fig. 1) arranged on the surface of the support (Ref. 102, Fig. 1), wherein each one of the more than one fixture device is configured to hold at least one component (Fig. 1&5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fixture device, as taught by Bohn as modified, to have more than one fixture device arranged on the surface of the support, as taught by Richard, by duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.) to hold and work on larger or multiple components and place the component in a desired position according to the size, shape, and weight of the object ([0022]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 19, Goldstein (presented above) the closest prior art of record teaches the limitations of claim 18, as described above, including a holder with a first holding element, second holding element, a rod, and a biased member, wherein the second holding element base is located between the first holding element base and the ball with respect to a direction of the rod axis but alone or in combination of the claim does not teach suggest or make obvious, the second holding element comprises a connecting member connecting the second holding element base to the second contact surface with the second contact surface offset from the second holding element base along the direction of the rod axis, such that the first contact surface is located between the second contact surface and the ball with respect to the direction of the rod axis, the biasing member is located between the first holding element base and the second holding element base with respect to the direction of the rod axis, and whereby the biasing member is configured to generate the restoring force to simultaneously bias the second holding element base away from the first holding element base and the second contact surface towards the first contact surface, as particularly required by the claim language, and in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Claims 20-24 are allowed due to being dependent upon an allowed claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 August, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments in regard to secondary considerations of Non-obviousness through commercial success have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The mere opinion of Joshua Bardwell on a YouTube video does not provide sufficient factual evidence to prove commercial success. Further, a formal Affidavit must be filed along with factual evidence to prove commercial success of the product, long-felt but unsolved needs, failure of others, and unexpected results.
Applicant has amended claim 1 thereby changing the scope of the claim necessitating a new grounds of rejection and reinterpretation of the prior art. Applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach the amended claim limitations have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, examiner has applied Goldstein to the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Given that Bohn teaches that the holding device may be any desired vise structure for holding a piece of work material in a position ([Col. 2, Lines 20-24]), Goldstein teaches a holding device (Ref. 100, Fig. 1) comprising a first holding element (Ref. 110, Fig. 1) having a first contact surface (Ref. 110, Fig. 1 annotated below) and a second holding element (Ref. 105, Fig. 1) having a second contact surface (Ref. 105, Fig. 1 annotated below), a ball (Ref. 225, Fig. 1), a rod (ref. 120, Fig. 1) extending along a rod axis (Fig. 1 annotated below) and rigidly connecting the first holding element to the ball ([0022], Fig. 4A), and a biasing member (Ref. 125, Fig. 1) extending parallel to the rod axis (Fig. 1) and arranged to be compressed along the rod axis to generate a restoring force directed parallel to the rod axis to bias the second contact surface (105) towards the first contact surface (Fig. 5, [0022]), from the open position towards the holding position ([0022] describes "…The spring structure in this embodiment is a tension/extension spring structure that maintains the rear support wall 105 and front support wall 110 in tension against one another so that a structure…"). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the holding device, as taught by Bohn, with the holding device, biasing element, and rod, as taught by Goldstein, by simple substitution and since such a modification would yield the predictable result of holding a material.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723