DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 21-31, 33-41 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25, 27-28, 30-31, 33, 35-36, 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mihara (US 20040201902; of record) in view of Hayashi US 20050057822 (hereinafter “Hayashi”; of record) and Bittner et. al US 20040027687 (hereinafter “Bittner”).
Regarding claim 21, Mihara teaches a zoom lens (Mihara fig. 4), comprising:
a first lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G1 "first lens group");
a second lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G2 "second lens group"); and
a third lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G3 "third lens group"), wherein the first lens group (G1), the second lens group (G2) and the third lens group (G3) that are arranged along an axis extending from the object side to an image side (Mihara fig. 4);
wherein the first lens group (G1) is a fixed lens group (Mihara para. 0414) with positive focal power (Mihara para. 0408) and is nearest the object side (Mihara fig. 4);
wherein the second lens group (G2) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Mihara para. 0411);
wherein the third lens group (G3) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Mihara para. 0412) and is nearest the image side (Mihara fig. 4); and
wherein the second lens group (G2) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Mihara para. 0414), and the wherein third lens group (G3) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Mihara para. 0414); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1), the second lens group (G2), and the third lens group (G3) meets: 6≤N≤11 (not counting the prism element in Mihara fig. 4, G1 has one lens L1, G2 has two lenses L21 and L22, and G3 has three lenses L31, L32, and L33 for a total of six lenses).
Mihara does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Mihara and Hayashi do not specify a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Mihara and Hayashi in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claims 23, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Mihara further teaches wherein a ratio of a total track length (TTL ≈ 45.07 as calculated) of the zoom lens, from a surface closest to the object side to an image plane, to a focal length f1 of the first lens group meets:
0.7≤TTL/f1≤3.2 (Mihara numerical data 1, where f1 ≈ 16.4 as calculated, so TTL/f1 ≈ 2.7);
wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f2 of the second lens group meets:
−7≤TTL/f2≤−3 (Mihara numerical data 1, where f2 ≈ -10.0 as calculated, so TTL/f2 ≈ -4.5); and
Mihara further teaches f3 ≈ 9.0 as calculated, so TTL/f3 ≈ 5.0 which lies just outside the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5 wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f3 of the third lens group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 24, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Mihara further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L1 of the second lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L1/TTL|≤0.3 (Mihara numerical data 1 paras. 0429-0436 for L1 and 0421-0466 for TTL, where L1 ≈ 5.72 and TTL ≈ 45.07 as calculated with variable d4, so |L1/TTL| ≈ 0.13 ≈ 0.1).
Regarding claim 25, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Mihara further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L2 of the third lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L2/TTL|≤0.3 (Mihara numerical data 1 paras. 0439-0448 for L2 and 0421-0466 for TTL, where L2 ≈ -4E-5 and TTL ≈ 45.07 as calculated with variable d16, so |L2/TTL| ≈ 8.9E-7).
Regarding claim 27, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Mihara further teaches a ratio of the focal length F max at the long-focal end of the zoom lens to a focal length F min at the short-focal end of the zoom lens meets:
F max/F min≤5.0 (Mihara para. 0493, Fmax/Fmin
≈
2.7).
Regarding claim 28, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 27.
Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner do not teach wherein the maximum aperture diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meets: d≤10 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the maximum effective diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meeting d≤10 mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Regarding claim 30, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Mihara further teaches wherein a working F-number of the zoom lens meets:
2.0≤working F-number≤6.5 (Mihara para. 0493, working F-number ≈ 4.4).
Regarding claim 31, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21.
Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner do not teach a maximum aperture diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meets: d≤6.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the maximum effective diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meeting d≤6.5 mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Regarding claim 33, Mihara teaches a camera module (Mihara figs. 60-62, element 40 “digital camera” and para. 1794), comprising:
an image sensor (Mihara fig. 62, element 49 “CCD”); and
a zoom lens (Mihara fig. 62, element 41 “photographing optical system”; see also para. 1793), wherein rays can pass through the zoom lens (41) and illuminate the image sensor (49);
wherein the zoom lens (Mihara fig. 4) comprises:
a first lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G1 "first lens group");
a second lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G2 "second lens group"); and
a third lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G3 "third lens group"), wherein the first lens group (G1), the second lens group (G2) and the third lens group (G3) that are arranged along an axis extending from the object side to an image side (Mihara fig. 4);
wherein the first lens group (G1) is a fixed lens group (Mihara para. 0414) with positive focal power (Mihara para. 0408) and is nearest the object side (Mihara fig. 4);
wherein the second lens group (G2) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Mihara para. 0411);
wherein the third lens group (G3) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Mihara para. 0412) and is nearest the image side (Mihara fig. 4); and
wherein the second lens group (G2) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Mihara para. 0414), and the wherein third lens group (G3) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Mihara para. 0414); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1), the second lens group (G2), and the third lens group (G3) meets: 6≤N≤11 (not counting the prism element in Mihara fig. 4, G1 has one lens L1, G2 has two lenses L21 and L22, and G3 has three lenses L31, L32, and L33 for a total of six lenses).
Mihara does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Mihara and Hayashi do not specify wherein each lens in the zoom lens is provided with a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Mihara and Hayashi in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claims 35, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 33, and Mihara further teaches wherein a ratio of a total track length (TTL ≈ 45.07 as calculated) of the zoom lens, from a surface closest to the object side to an image plane, to a focal length f1 of the first lens group meets:
0.7≤TTL/f1≤3.2 (Mihara numerical data 1, where f1 ≈ 16.4 as calculated, so TTL/f1 ≈ 2.7);
wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f2 of the second lens group meets:
−7≤TTL/f2≤−3 (Mihara numerical data 1, where f2 ≈ -10.0 as calculated, so TTL/f2 ≈ -4.5); and
Mihara further teaches f3 ≈ 9.0 as calculated, so TTL/f3 ≈ 5.0 which lies just outside the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5 wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f3 of the third lens group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 36, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the camera module according to claim 33, and Mihara further teaches the camera module (40) further comprises at least one of a prism or a mirror (Mihara fig. 4, element R1 “reflecting optical element”; see also para. 0408), and wherein the prism or the mirror is located on an object side of the zoom lens (Mihara figs. 4 and 62), and is configured to deflect rays to the zoom lens.
Regarding claim 41, Mihara, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and they further teach wherein at least one lens in the first lens group (Mihara G1), second lens group (Mihara G2), or third lens group (Mihara G3) is a lens with an aspherical surface (Mihara para. 0029 and 0418) defined by the formula:
z
=
c
r
2
1
+
1
-
K
c
2
r
2
+
A
2
r
4
+
A
3
r
6
+
A
4
r
8
+
A
5
r
10
+
A
6
r
12
wherein z is a vector height of an aspherical surface, r is a radial coordinate of the aspherical surface, c is a spherical curvature of a vertex of the aspherical surface, K is a quadratic surface constant, and a value of K in this embodiment is 0.
A
2
,
A
3
,
A
4
,
A
5
,
a
n
d
A
6
are aspheric coefficients, and
wherein the lens effective area being an area used for refracting rays and defined with a first diameter, the lens ineffective area being an area not used for refracting rays and defined with a second diameter greater than the first diameter, the lens ineffective area being located between the first diameter and the second diameter and having a different cross-section from a cross-section of the lens effective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, the lens ineffective area, the first diameter, and the second diameter, where the lens ineffective area has a different cross-section from the lens effective area).
Claims 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mihara (US 20040201902; of record) in view of Hayashi US 20050057822 (hereinafter “Hayashi”; of record), Lohmann (Scaling laws for lens systems; pages 4996-4998; of record)1, and Bittner et. al US 20040027687 (hereinafter “Bittner”).
Regarding claim 37, Mihara teaches a mobile terminal (Mihara figs. 60-62, element 40 “digital camera” and figs. 63-65, element 300 “personal computer”; see also paras. 1794 and 1803), comprising:
an image processor (Mihara para. 1803); and
a camera module (Mihara fig. 64, element 303 “photographing optical system”; para. 1805-1806), wherein the image processor and the camera module (303) are in a communication connection, and wherein the image processor is configured to obtain image data from the camera module (303) and process the image data (Mihara para. 1808);
wherein the camera module (303) comprises an image sensor (Mihara fig. 64, element 162 “imaging element chip”; see also para. 1806) and a zoom lens (Mihara fig. 64, element 112 “objective lens”; see also para. 1806), wherein the image sensor (162) and the zoom lens (112) are arranged such that rays pass through the zoom lens (112) and illuminate the image sensor (see Mihara fig. 64);
wherein the zoom lens (112; see also Mihara fig. 4) comprises:
a first lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G1 "first lens group");
a second lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G2 "second lens group"); and
a third lens group (Mihara fig. 4, element G3 "third lens group"), wherein the first lens group (G1), the second lens group (G2) and the third lens group (G3) that are arranged along an axis extending from the object side to an image side (Mihara fig. 4);
wherein the first lens group (G1) is a fixed lens group (Mihara para. 0414) with positive focal power (Mihara para. 0408) and is nearest the object side (Mihara fig. 4);
wherein the second lens group (G2) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Mihara para. 0411);
wherein the third lens group (G3) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Mihara para. 0412) and is nearest the image side (Mihara fig. 4); and
wherein the second lens group (G2) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Mihara para. 0414), and the wherein third lens group (G3) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Mihara para. 0414); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1), the second lens group (G2), and the third lens group (G3) meets: 6≤N≤11 (not counting the prism element in Mihara fig. 4, G1 has one lens L1, G2 has two lenses L21 and L22, and G3 has three lenses L31, L32, and L33 for a total of six lenses);
and a ratio of an effective height h of each lens in the zoom lens to a maximum aperture diameter d meets: h/d ≥ 0.45 (Mihara teaches circular lenses for which the effective height h and maximum aperture diameter d would be equivalent h = d, therefore h/d = 1).
Mihara does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Mihara and Hayashi do not teach an effective height h of each lens in the zoom lens meets h ≤ 6.5 mm, however an effective height h represents a scalable value for a lens. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to satisfy h ≤ 6.5 mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Further, as taught by Lohmann, scaling optical systems is trivial (Lohman pg. 4996, Section II). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to scale the zoom lens of Mihara and Hayashi in order to increase utility with smaller cameras and image sensors.
Finally, Mihara, Hayashi, and Lohmann do not specify a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Mihara, Hayashi, and Lohmann in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claim 38, Mihara, Hayashi, Lohmann, and Bittner teach the camera module according to claim 33, and both embodiments further teach the camera module (40) further comprises at least one of a prism or a mirror (Mihara fig. 4, element R1 “reflecting optical element”; see also para. 0408), and wherein the prism or the mirror is located on an object side of the zoom lens (Mihara figs. 4 and 62), and is configured to deflect rays to the zoom lens.
Regarding claims 39, Mihara, Hayashi, Lohmann, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 37, and Mihara further teaches wherein a ratio of a total track length (TTL ≈ 45.07 as calculated) of the zoom lens, from a surface closest to the object side to an image plane, to a focal length f1 of the first lens group meets:
0.7≤TTL/f1≤3.2 (Mihara numerical data 1, where f1 ≈ 16.4 as calculated, so TTL/f1 ≈ 2.7);
wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f2 of the second lens group meets:
−7≤TTL/f2≤−3 (Mihara numerical data 1, where f2 ≈ -10.0 as calculated, so TTL/f2 ≈ -4.5); and
Mihara further teaches f3 ≈ 9.0 as calculated, so TTL/f3 ≈ 5.0 which lies just outside the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5 wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f3 of the third lens group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 40, Mihara, Hayashi, Lohmann, and Bittner teach the mobile terminal according to claim 37, and they further teach the camera module (303) further comprises at least one of a prism or a mirror (Mihara fig. 4, element R1 “reflecting optical element”; see also para. 0408), and wherein the prism or the mirror is located on an object side of the zoom lens (Mihara figs. 4 and 64), and is configured to deflect rays to the zoom lens.
Claims 21-22, 24-25, 27-28, 30-31, 33-34, 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sudo (US 20180164557; of record) in view of Hayashi US 20050057822 (hereinafter “Hayashi”; of record) and Bittner et. al US 20040027687 (hereinafter “Bittner”).
Regarding claim 21, Sudo teaches a zoom lens (Sudo fig. 1), comprising:
a first lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L1 "first lens unit");
a second lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L2 "second lens unit"); and
a third lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L3 "third lens unit"), wherein the first lens group (L1), the second lens group (L2) and the third lens group (L3) that are arranged along an axis extending from an object side to an image side (Sudo fig. 1);
wherein the first lens group (L1) is a fixed lens group (Sudo para. 0049; see also abstract) with positive focal power (Sudo abstract) and is nearest the object side (Sudo fig. 1);
wherein the second lens group (L2) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Sudo abstract);
wherein the third lens group (L3) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Sudo abstract) and is nearest the image side (Sudo fig. 1); and
wherein the second lens group (L2) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Sudo para. 0049), and the wherein the third lens group (L3) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Sudo para. 0049); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (L1), the second lens group (L2), and the third lens group (L3) meets: 6≤N≤11 (Sudo fig. 1 – the number of lenses when counting the cemented lenses as one lens each is 7 in total, and counting them separately gives 9 lenses).
Sudo does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Further, Sudo and Hayashi do not specify a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Sudo and Hayashi in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claim 22, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sudo further teaches the first lens group (L1) comprises at least one lens that has a positive focal power and at least one lens that has a negative focal power (Sudo fig. 1 for both lenses), and wherein a lens that is in the first lens group (L1) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (see Sudo fig. 1);
wherein the second lens group (L2) comprises at least one lens (Sudo fig. 1), and wherein a lens that is in the second lens group (L2) and that is closest to the object side has a negative focal power (Sudo fig. 1); and
wherein the third lens group (L3) comprises at least three lenses (Sudo fig. 1), and wherein a lens that is in the third lens group (L3) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (Sudo fig. 1 – the lens closest to the object side of L3).
Regarding claim 24, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sudo further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L1 of the second lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L1/TTL|≤0.3 (Sudo numerical example 1, where L1 ≈ 9.68 as calculated with variable d3 and TTL = 36.62 from the other data, so |L1/TTL| ≈ 0.26 ≈ 0.3).
Regarding claim 25, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sudo further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L2 of the third lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L2/TTL|≤0.3 (Sudo numerical example 1, where L2 ≈ 3.94 as calculated with variable d17 and TTL = 36.62 from the other data, so |L2/TTL| ≈ 0.11 ≈ 0.1).
Regarding claim 27, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sudo further teaches a ratio of the focal length F max at the long-focal end of the zoom lens to a focal length F min at the short-focal end of the zoom lens meets: Fmax/Fmin ≈ 5.4, which lies just outside the claimed range of F max/F min≤5.0.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed range of F max/F min≤5.0, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 28, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 27.
Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner do not teach wherein the maximum aperture diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meets: d≤10 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the maximum effective diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meeting d≤10 mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Regarding claim 30, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sudo further teaches wherein a working F-number of the zoom lens meets:
2.0≤working F-number≤6.5 (Sudo numerical example 1 other data table, working F-number ≈ 2.6).
Regarding claim 31, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner the zoom lens according to claim 21.
Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner do not teach a maximum aperture diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meets: d≤6.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the maximum effective diameter d of each lens in the zoom lens meeting d≤6.5 mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Regarding claim 33, Sudo teaches a camera module (Sudo fig. 27, element 10 “camera body”; see also para. 0119), comprising:
an image sensor (Sudo fig. 27, element 12 “solid-state image pickup device”; see also para. 0119); and
a zoom lens (Sudo fig. 27, element 11 “imaging optical system”; see also fig. 1), wherein rays can pass through the zoom lens and illuminate the image sensor (Sudo para. 0119);
wherein the zoom lens (Sudo fig. 1), comprising:
a first lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L1 "first lens unit");
a second lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L2 "second lens unit"); and
a third lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L3 "third lens unit"), wherein the first lens group (L1), the second lens group (L2) and the third lens group (L3) that are arranged along an axis extending from an object side to an image side (Sudo fig. 1);
wherein the first lens group (L1) is a fixed lens group (Sudo para. 0049; see also abstract) with positive focal power (Sudo abstract) and is nearest the object side (Sudo fig. 1);
wherein the second lens group (L2) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Sudo abstract);
wherein the third lens group (L3) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Sudo abstract) and is nearest the image side (Sudo fig. 1); and
wherein the second lens group (L2) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Sudo para. 0049), and the wherein the third lens group (L3) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Sudo para. 0049); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (L1), the second lens group (L2), and the third lens group (L3) meets: 6≤N≤11 (Sudo fig. 1 – the number of lenses when counting the cemented lenses as one lens is 7 in total, and counting them separately gives 9 lenses).
Sudo does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Further, Sudo and Hayashi do not specify a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Sudo and Hayashi in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claim 34, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the terminal device according to claim 37, and Sudo further teaches the first lens group (L1) comprises at least one lens that has a positive focal power and at least one lens that has a negative focal power (Sudo fig. 1 – cemented lens has a positive and a negative lens), and wherein a lens that is in the first lens group (L1) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (see Sudo fig. 1 – the positive lens is closest to the object side);
wherein the second lens group (L2) comprises at least one lens (Sudo fig. 1 – L2 has three lenses), and wherein a lens that is in the second lens group (L2) and that is closest to the object side has a negative focal power (Sudo fig. 1 – the first lens of L2 is negative and the closest of the group to the object side); and
wherein the third lens group (L3) comprises at least three lenses (Sudo fig. 1), and wherein a lens that is in the third lens group (L3) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (Sudo fig. 1 – the first lens of L3 is positive and closest of the group to the object side).
Regarding claim 41, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and they further teach wherein at least one lens in the first lens group (Sudo L1), second lens group (Sudo L2), or third lens group (Sudo L3) is a lens with an aspherical surface (Sudo para. 0103-0106) defined by the formula:
z
=
c
r
2
1
+
1
-
K
c
2
r
2
+
A
2
r
4
+
A
3
r
6
+
A
4
r
8
+
A
5
r
10
+
A
6
r
12
wherein z is a vector height of an aspherical surface, r is a radial coordinate of the aspherical surface, c is a spherical curvature of a vertex of the aspherical surface, K is a quadratic surface constant, and a value of K in this embodiment is 0.
A
2
,
A
3
,
A
4
,
A
5
,
a
n
d
A
6
are aspheric coefficients, and
wherein the lens effective area being an area used for refracting rays and defined with a first diameter, the lens ineffective area being an area not used for refracting rays and defined with a second diameter greater than the first diameter, the lens ineffective area being located between the first diameter and the second diameter and having a different cross-section from a cross-section of the lens effective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, the lens ineffective area, the first diameter, and the second diameter, where the lens ineffective area has a different cross-section from the lens effective area).
Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sudo (US 20180164557; of record) in view of Hayashi US 20050057822 (hereinafter “Hayashi”; of record), Lohmann (Scaling laws for lens systems; pages 4996-4998; of record)2, and Bittner et. al US 20040027687 (hereinafter “Bittner”).
Regarding claim 37, Sudo teaches a mobile terminal (Sudo fig. 27; see also para. 0119), comprising:
an image processor (Sudo fig. 27, element 13 “memory”); and
a camera module (Sudo fig. 27, element 11 “imaging optical system”; see also para. 0119), wherein the image processor (13) and the camera module (11) are in a communication connection, and wherein the image processor (13) is configured to obtain image data from the camera module (11) and process the image data (Sudo para. 0119);
the camera module (11), comprises an image sensor (Sudo fig. 27, element 12 “solid-state image pickup device”; see also para. 0119) and a zoom lens (Sudo fig. 1), wherein the image sensor (12) and the zoom lens (Sudo fig. 1) are arranged such that rays can pass through the zoom lens (Sudo fig. 1) and illuminate the image sensor (Sudo para. 0119);
wherein the zoom lens (Sudo fig. 1), comprising:
a first lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L1 "first lens unit");
a second lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L2 "second lens unit"); and
a third lens group (Sudo fig. 1, element L3 "third lens unit"), wherein the first lens group (L1), the second lens group (L2) and the third lens group (L3) that are arranged along an axis extending from an object side to an image side (Sudo fig. 1);
wherein the first lens group (L1) is a fixed lens group (Sudo para. 0049; see also abstract) with positive focal power (Sudo abstract) and is nearest the object side (Sudo fig. 1);
wherein the second lens group (L2) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Sudo abstract);
wherein the third lens group (L3) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Sudo abstract) and is nearest the image side (Sudo fig. 1); and
wherein the second lens group (L2) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Sudo para. 0049), and the wherein the third lens group (L3) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Sudo para. 0049); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (L1), the second lens group (L2), and the third lens group (L3) meets: 6≤N≤11 (Sudo fig. 1 – the number of lenses when counting the cemented lenses as one lens is 7 in total, and counting them separately gives 9 lenses);
and a ratio of an effective height h of each lens in the zoom lens to a maximum aperture diameter d meets: h/d ≥ 0.45 (Sudo teaches circular lenses for which the effective height h and maximum aperture diameter d would be equivalent h = d, therefore h/d = 1).
Sudo does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Sudo and Hayashi do not teach an effective height h of each lens in the zoom lens meets h ≤ 6.5 mm, however an effective height h represents a scalable value for a lens. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to satisfy h ≤ 6.5 mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Further, as taught by Lohmann, scaling optical systems is trivial (Lohman pg. 4996, Section II). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to scale the zoom lens of Sudo and Hayashi in order to increase utility with smaller cameras and image sensors.
Finally, Sudo, Hayashi, and Lohmann do not specify a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Sudo, Hayashi, and Lohmann in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claim 38, Sudo, Hayashi, Lohmann, and Bittner teach the terminal device according to claim 37, and Sudo further teaches the first lens group (L1) comprises at least one lens that has a positive focal power and at least one lens that has a negative focal power (Sudo fig. 1 – cemented lens has a positive and a negative lens), and wherein a lens that is in the first lens group (L1) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (see Sudo fig. 1 – the positive lens is closest to the object side);
wherein the second lens group (L2) comprises at least one lens (Sudo fig. 1 – L2 has three lenses), and wherein a lens that is in the second lens group (L2) and that is closest to the object side has a negative focal power (Sudo fig. 1 – the first lens of L2 is negative and the closest of the group to the object side); and
wherein the third lens group (L3) comprises at least three lenses (Sudo fig. 1), and wherein a lens that is in the third lens group (L3) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (Sudo fig. 1 – the first lens of L3 is positive and closest of the group to the object side).
Claims 21-27, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sugawara US Patent 6,226,122 (hereinafter “Sugawara”; of record) in view of Hayashi US 20050057822 (hereinafter “Hayashi”; of record) and Bittner et. al US 20040027687 (hereinafter “Bittner”).
Regarding claim 21, Sugawara teaches a zoom lens (Sugawara fig. 1), comprising:
a first lens group (Sugawara fig. 1 - 1);
a second lens group (Sugawara fig. 1 - 2); and
a third lens group (Sugawara fig. 1 - 3), wherein the first lens group (1), the second lens group (2) and the third lens group (3) that are arranged along an axis extending from the object side to an image side (Sugawara fig. 1);
wherein the first lens group (1) is a fixed lens group (Sugawara fig. 1, see also abstract) with positive focal power (Sugawara abstract) and is nearest the object side (Sugawara fig. 1, see also abstract);
wherein the second lens group (2) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Sugawara abstract);
wherein the third lens group (3) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Sugawara abstract) and is nearest the image side (Sugawara fig. 1); and
wherein the second lens group (2) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Sugawara fig. 1 – see arrow below 2), and the wherein third lens group (3) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Sugawara fig. 1 – see arrow below 3); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (1), the second lens group (2), and the third lens group (3) meets: 6≤N≤11 (Sugawara fig. 1 has 7 lenses).
Sugawara does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Further, Sugawara and Hayashi do not specify a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Sugawara and Hayashi in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claim 22, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sugawara further teaches the first lens group (1) comprises at least one lens that has a positive focal power and at least one lens that has a negative focal power (Sugawara fig. 1 for both lenses), and wherein a lens that is in the first lens group (1) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (see Sugawara fig. 1, the positive lens is on the object side);
wherein the second lens group (2) comprises at least one lens (Sugawara fig. 1 – 2 two lenses cemented), and wherein a lens that is in the second lens group (2) and that is closest to the object side has a negative focal power (Sugawara fig. 1, the negative lens is on the object side); and
wherein the third lens group (3) comprises at least three lenses (Sugawara fig. 1 – 3 has three lenses), and wherein a lens that is in the third lens group (3) and that is closest to the object side has positive focal power (Sugawara fig. 1 – the lens closest to the object side of 3 is positive).
Regarding claim 23, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sugawara further teaches wherein a ratio of a total track length (TTL ≈ 210.3 as calculated from numerical example 1) of the zoom lens, from a surface closest to the object side to an image plane, to a focal length f1 of the first lens group meets:
0.7≤TTL/f1≤3.2 (Sugawara numerical example 1, where f1 ≈ 192.6 as calculated, so TTL/f1 ≈ 1);
wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f2 of the second lens group meets:
−7≤TTL/f2≤−3 (Sugawara numerical example 1, where f2 ≈ -58.9 as calculated, so TTL/f2 ≈ -3.6); and
wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f3 of the third lens group meets:
1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5 (Sugawara numerical example 1, where f3 ≈ -56.6 as calculated, so TTL/f3≈ 3.7).
Regarding claim 24, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sugawara further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L1 of the second lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L1/TTL|≤0.3 (Sugawara table 1, where L1 ≈ 51.1 as calculated with variable d3 and TTL ≈ 210.3 as calculated, so |L1/TTL| ≈ 0.2).
Regarding claim 25, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sugawara further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L2 of the third lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L2/TTL|≤0.3 (Sugawara table 1, where L2 ≈ 12.75 as calculated with variable d11 and TTL ≈ 210.3 as calculated, so |L2/TTL| ≈ 0.06 ≈ 0.1).
Regarding claim 26, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sugawara further teaches wherein a ratio of a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane, to a focal length F max at the long-focal end meets:
|TTL/F max|≤2.0 (Sugawara numerical example 1, where TTL ≈ 210.24 as calculated, so |TTL/F max| ≈ 1.2).
Regarding claim 27, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sugawara further teaches a ratio of the focal length F max at the long-focal end of the zoom lens to a focal length F min at the short-focal end of the zoom lens meets:
F max/F min≤5.0 (Sugawara numerical example 1, Fmax/Fmin
≈
2.8).
Regarding claim 30, Sudo, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Sugawara further teaches wherein a working F-number of the zoom lens meets:
2.0≤working F-number≤6.5 (Sugawara numerical example 1, working F-number ≈ 4.6).
Claims 21, 23-25, 27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ozaki US Patent 5,912,771 (hereinafter “Ozaki”; of record) in view of Hayashi US 20050057822 (hereinafter “Hayashi”; of record) and Bittner et. al US 20040027687 (hereinafter “Bittner”).
Regarding claim 21, Ozaki teaches a zoom lens (Ozaki fig. 1-2), comprising:
a first lens group (Ozaki fig. 1-2 - 10);
a second lens group (Ozaki fig. 1-2 - 20); and
a third lens group (Ozaki fig. 1-2 - 30), wherein the first lens group (10), the second lens group (20) and the third lens group (30) that are arranged along an axis extending from the object side to an image side (Ozaki fig. 1-2);
wherein the first lens group (10) is a fixed lens group (Ozaki fig. 1, see also abstract) with positive focal power (Ozaki abstract) and is nearest the object side (Ozaki fig. 1, see also abstract);
wherein the second lens group (20) is a zoom lens group with negative focal power (Ozaki abstract);
wherein the third lens group (30) is a compensative lens group with positive focal power (Ozaki abstract) and is nearest the image side (Ozaki fig. 1-2); and
wherein the second lens group (20) is configured to move, in a zooming process of the zoom lens from a short-focal end to a long-focal end, toward the image side along an optical axis (Ozaki fig. 1 – see arrow below 20), and the wherein third lens group (30) is configured to move, in the zooming process, toward the object side along the optical axis (Ozaki fig. 1 – see arrow below 30); and
a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (10), the second lens group (20), and the third lens group (30) meets: 6≤N≤11 (Ozaki fig. 2 has 10 lenses).
Ozaki does not teach a first motor; and a second motor, wherein the second lens group is mounted on the first motor, and the first motor is configured to drive the second lens group to move along an optical axis; wherein the third lens group is mounted on the second motor, and the second motor is configured to drive the third lens group to move along the optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayashi teaches a first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 52 and 58, see also para. 0058); and
a second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 62, see also para. 0058);
wherein the second lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the first motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 51 is mounted on 52 and is driven by 58, see also para. 0044), and the first motor (58) is configured to drive the second lens group (51) to move along an optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044);
wherein the third lens group (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61, see also para. 0041) is mounted on the second motor (Hayashi fig. 2 – 61 is mounted on 62 and driven by 68), and the second motor (68) is configured to drive the third lens group (61) to move along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0044) for the purpose of allowing rotation or an advancing and retracting movement for the lens groups (Hayashi para. 0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor attached to each movable lens group in order to allow for movement along the optical axis (Hayashi para. 0056).
Ozaki and Hayashi do not specify a notch for reducing a height of the lens, and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area.
In the same field of endeavor, Bittner teaches a notch for reducing a height of the lens (Bittner fig. 9 – 100 has two notches on the top and bottom), and the notch of each lens included in the first lens group is partially located in a lens effective area, and partially located in a lens ineffective area (see annotated Bittner fig. 9 below for the lens effective area, lens ineffective area, and the notches) for the purpose of allowing a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a notch as taught by Bittner in the zoom lens of Ozaki and Hayashi in order to allow a lens to slide into a retainer (Bittner para. 0047).
Regarding claim 23, Ozaki, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Ozaki further teaches wherein a ratio of a total track length (TTL ≈ 41.5 as calculated from table 1) of the zoom lens, from a surface closest to the object side to an image plane, to a focal length f1 of the first lens group meets:
0.7≤TTL/f1≤3.2 (Ozaki numerical data 1, where f1 ≈ 43.3 as calculated, so TTL/f1 ≈ 1);
wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f2 of the second lens group meets:
−7≤TTL/f2≤−3 (Ozaki numerical data 1, where f2 ≈ -7.6 as calculated, so TTL/f2 ≈ -5.4); and
Ozaki further teaches f3 ≈ 8.3 as calculated, so TTL/f3 ≈ 5.0 which lies just outside the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5 wherein a ratio of the TTL, from the surface closest to the object side to the image plane, to a focal length f3 of the third lens group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed range of 1.7≤TTL/f3≤4.5, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 24, Ozaki, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Ozaki further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L1 of the second lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L1/TTL|≤0.3 (Ozaki table 1, where L1 ≈ 6.4 as calculated with variable 4 and TTL ≈ 41.5 as calculated, so |L1/TTL| ≈ 0.16 ≈ 0.2).
Regarding claim 25, Ozaki, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Ozaki further teaches wherein a ratio of a stroke L2 of the third lens group along the optical axis to a total track length (TTL) of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to an image plane meets:
|L2/TTL|≤0.3 (Ozaki table 1, where L2 ≈ 4.3 as calculated with variable 19 and TTL ≈ 41.5 as calculated, so |L2/TTL| ≈ 0.1).
Regarding claim 27, Ozaki, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Ozaki further teaches a ratio of the focal length F max at the long-focal end of the zoom lens to a focal length F min at the short-focal end of the zoom lens meets:
F max/F min≤5.0 (Ozaki table 1, Fmax/Fmin
≈
2.9).
Regarding claim 29, Ozaki, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Ozaki further teaches wherein the third lens group (30) comprises an aperture stop (Ozaki fig. 2, element S "stop"; see also para. 0061 and 0068), and wherein the third lens group (30) comprises a first lens and a second lens that are arranged along the axis from the object side to the image side (Ozaki fig. 2 – 30 has multiple lenses); and
wherein the aperture stop (S) is at least one of located on an object side of the first lens in the third lens group (Ozaki fig. 2 – S is on the object side of the first lens in 30), or located between the first lens and the second lens in the third lens group (30).
Regarding claim 30, Ozaki, Hayashi, and Bittner teach the zoom lens according to claim 21, and Ozaki further teaches wherein a working F-number of the zoom lens meets:
2.0≤working F-number≤6.5 (Ozaki table 1, working F-number ≈ 2.8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 Adolf W. Lohmann, Scaling laws for lens systems, 1 December 1989, APPLIED OPTICS, Vol. 28, 4996-4998
2 Adolf W. Lohmann, Scaling laws for lens systems, 1 December 1989, APPLIED OPTICS, Vol. 28, 4996-4998