DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 20-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2 October 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 12-19, in the reply filed on 2 October 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the ISA considered the same prior art and did not determine the unity of invention to be lacking. However, this is not found persuasive because the ISA’s determinations of unity or lack of unity does not control the USPTO’s determination of unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 September 2022 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (WO 2018/220160, from the IDS filed 15 September 2022, hereinafter referred to as “Cao”).
As to Claim 12: Cao teaches a composite particle comprising a plurality of nanoparticles encapsulated in an inorganic material (Abstract).
Cao does not explicitly teach an example having all the recited features.
However, Cao teaches that the nanoparticles can selectively emit green light (Pg. 86, Lines 10-13). Cao further teaches that the nanoparticles can have a smallest size of about 1 nm (Pg. 93, Lines 1-2) and the nanoparticles can represent about 14% of the composite particles (Pg. 107, Lines 11-14). Cao further teaches that the inorganic matrix material can be 100% Al2O3 (Pg. 82, Lines 24-26). Additionally, Cao teaches that the composite particle can be functionalized with a specific-binding component (Pg. 137, Lines 19-20). Cao further teaches that the composite particles can have a size of 150 nm (Pg. 14, Lines 27-32). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select these features from the teachings of Cao because Cao teaches that each of these features are suitable for use in a composite particle comprising a plurality of nanoparticles encapsulated in an inorganic material (Abstract).
As to Claim 13: Cao teaches the composite particle according to claim 12 (supra). Cao further teaches that the nanoparticles can be metals or metallic alloys (Pg. 116, Lines 11-14) and that the nanoparticles is a plasmonic nanoparticle (Pg. 88, Line 2).
As to Claim 14: Cao teaches the composite particle according to claim 12 (supra). Cao further teaches that the nanoparticles are preferably luminescent semiconductor (i.e., inorganic) nanocrystals (Pg. 4, Lines 1-5).
As to Claim 15 and 16: Cao teaches the composite particle according to claim 12 (supra). Cao further teaches one dimension of the nanoparticles can be 3 nm (Pg. 93, Lines 1-2).
As to Claim 17: Cao teaches the composite particle according to claim 12 (supra). Cao further teaches the nanoparticles can be nanodisks (Pg. 125, Lines 4-5).
As to Claim 18: Cao teaches the composite particle according to claim 12 (supra). Cao further teaches that the composite particles can contain two different luminescent nanoparticles with different emission wavelengths (Pg. 103, Lines 12-13).
As to Claim 19: Cao teaches the composite particle according to claim 12 (supra). Cao further teaches that the matrix can be Al2O-3 (Pg. 82, Lines 24-26)
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767