DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 02/26/26 is herein amended due to the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 02/26/26 is NOT overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of
foreign document publication JP 2014-096572 A (herein referred to as “Ebisawa et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Ebisawa et al. discloses the following compound for use as light-emitting dopant (in the light-emitting layer) of an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (Abstract):
(page 21 of Ebisawa et al.) such that n = 0, R3-4 = unsubstituted aryl group (phenyl), R5-10 = hydrogen, R1 = hydrogen, and R2 = Applicant’s Chemical Formula A (with l1 = 1, L1 = unsubstituted heteroarylene group (pyridinylene), and m = 1) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 1 and 1-1; x = 0 of Applicant’s Chemical Formula A-3. Ebisawa et al. disclose an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising the following layers: substrate (2), anode (3), hole-injecting layer (4), hole-transporting layer (5), light-emitting layer (6), electron-transporting layer (7), electron-injecting layer (8), and cathode (9) (Fig. 1). The light-emitting layer comprises a host and dopant materials ([0007]). Ebisawa et al. discloses that the electron-transporting layer (7) and the electron-injecting layer (8) can be collapsed into a single layer (i.e., an electron-injecting/transporting layer) which can “fulfill the function of both layers” ([0075]). Ebisawa et al. discloses that its inventive compounds comprise the light-emitting layer (Abstract; [0066]).
Notice that the upper portion of the light-emitting layer closer to the cathode is inherently electron-injecting/transporting to the portion of the light-emitting layer beneath it (as light is emitted via electron-hole recombination throughout the light-emitting layer (6)), and hence that upper portion can be defined as an “electron injection and transfer layer”); the cathode (“second electrode”) can be defined as a bilayer comprising the collapsed electron-injecting/transporting layer and layer 9 (as a cathode can be broadly defined as a “layer” that is merely a source of electrons). This interpretation would read on the construction as recited in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of
foreign document publication JP 2014-096572 A (herein referred to as “Ebisawa et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Ebisawa et al. discloses the compound of Claim 1 as shown above in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection. Ebisawa et al. discloses that its inventive compounds are encompassed by the following formula:
(page 12) where A = any one of the following (among others) ([0012]):
(page 13) and Xn = any one of X1-18 which is linked to L. Other embodiments are disclosed, including:
(page 21). However, Ebisawa et al. does not explicitly disclose any of the compounds as recited in the claim. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify compound A-11-1 as disclosed by Ebisawa et al. (above) to produce the following compound:
. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves change in the bonding position of the CN-substituted phenylene on the core condensed polycyclic group, producing a positional isomer that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties; further motivation exists, including the fact that the production merely involves selection from a highly finite list of possibilities (in regards to the bonding position of the CN-substituted phenylene) as envisioned from the scope of Ebisawa et al.’s general formula, thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Ebisawa et al. further discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising the following layers: substrate (2), anode (3), hole-injecting layer (4), hole-transporting layer (5), light-emitting layer (6), electron-transporting layer (7), electron-injecting layer (8), and cathode (9) (Fig. 1); its inventive compounds comprise the light-emitting layer (Abstract; [0066]).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments on pages 19-23 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the amended rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786