DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 07/20/26.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 05/04/26 is herein amended due to the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 05/04/26 is NOT overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of
foreign document publication JP 2014-096572 A (herein referred to as “Ebisawa et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Ebisawa et al. discloses the following compound for use as light-emitting dopant (in the light-emitting layer) of an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (Abstract):
(page 21 of Ebisawa et al.) such that n = 0, R3-4 = unsubstituted aryl group (phenyl), R5-10 = hydrogen, R1 = hydrogen, and R2 = Applicant’s Chemical Formula A (with l1 = 1, L1 = unsubstituted heteroarylene group (pyridinylene), and m = 1) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 1 and 1-1; x = 0 of Applicant’s Chemical Formula A-3. Ebisawa et al. disclose an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising the following layers: substrate (2), anode (3), hole-injecting layer (4), hole-transporting layer (5), light-emitting layer (6), electron-transporting layer (7), electron-injecting layer (8), and cathode (9) (Fig. 1 of Ebisawa et al.). The light-emitting layer comprises a host and dopant materials ([0007]). Ebisawa et al. discloses that the electron-transporting layer (7) and the electron-injecting layer (8) can be collapsed into a single layer (i.e., an electron-injecting/transporting layer) which can “fulfill the function of both layers” ([0075]); the cathode comprises a bilayer comprising LiF and Al (in this order) ([0118]). Ebisawa et al. discloses that its inventive compounds comprise the light-emitting layer (Abstract; [0066]).
Notice that the upper portion of the light-emitting layer closer to the cathode is inherently electron-injecting/transporting to the portion of the light-emitting layer beneath it (as light is emitted via electron-hole recombination throughout the light-emitting layer (6)), and hence that upper portion in combination with the collapsed electron-transporting and electron-injecting layers (7 and 8) can be defined as an “electron injection and transfer layer” (which comprises the Applicant’s compound of Chemical Formula 1). This interpretation would read on the construction as recited in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of
foreign document publication JP 2014-096572 A (herein referred to as “Ebisawa et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Ebisawa et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (organic light emitting device) of Claim 1 as shown above. Ebisawa et al. discloses that its inventive compounds are encompassed by the following formula:
(page 12 of Ebisawa et al.) where L = arylene or heteroarylene (only) ([0027]), and A = any one of the following (among others) ([0012]):
(page 13) and Xn = any one of X1-18 (hydrogen, aryl, etc.) which is linked to L. Other embodiments are disclosed, including:
(page 21 of Ebisawa et al.). However, Ebisawa et al. does not explicitly disclose any of the compounds as recited in the claim. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify compound A-11-1 as disclosed by Ebisawa et al. (above) to produce the following compound:
. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves change in the bonding position of the CN-substituted phenylene on the core condensed polycyclic group, producing a positional isomer that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties; further motivation exists, including the fact that the production merely involves selection from a highly finite list of possibilities (in regards to the bonding position of the CN-substituted phenylene) as envisioned from the scope of Ebisawa et al.’s general formula, thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A) in view of Park et al. (US 2014/0174538 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of
foreign document publication JP 2014-096572 A (herein referred to as “Ebisawa et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Ebisawa et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (organic light emitting device) of Claim 1 as shown above. Ebisawa et al. discloses that the electron-injecting layer comprises materials such as an organometallic complex having an 8-quinolinol (or a derivative) as a ligand, among others ([0075]). However, Ebisawa et al. does not explicitly disclose the further presence of lithium quinolate (LiQ).
Park et al. discloses a composition comprising a 1:1 mixture of lithium quinolate (LiQ) and electron-transporting compound ET-A as viable material comprising the electron-injecting and electron-transporting layer (top of which lies a bilayer of Li/Al as cathode) ([0280]). It would have been obvious to incorporate such a composition into the electron-injecting and electron-transporting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Ebisawa et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Park et al. which is directed to a known and viable material for an electron-injecting and electron-transporting layer of an organic EL device, thus rendering the incorporation predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-096572 A) in view of Park et al. (US 2014/0174538 A1) in view of Miyashita et al. (US 2017/0012215 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of
foreign document publication JP 2014-096572 A (herein referred to as “Ebisawa et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Ebisawa et al. in view of Park et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (organic light emitting device) of Claim 10 as shown above. Ebisawa et al. in view of Park et al. discloses an electron-injecting and electron-transporting layer comprising a 1:1 mixture of lithium quinolate (LiQ) and electron-transporting compound ET-A. However, Ebisawa et al. in view of Park et al. does not explicitly disclose the recited ratio with respect to a compound of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1.
Miyashita et al. discloses the following compound “capable of easily performing electron injection”:
(page 37) such that n = 1, R3-4 = unsubstituted aryl group (phenyl), R7 = Applicant’s Chemical Formula A (with l1 = 1, L1 = direct bond, and m = 1), and R1-2, R5-6, and R8-11 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1. It would have been obvious to substitute compound E19 as disclosed by Miyashita et al. for compound ET-A in the electron-injecting and electron-transporting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Ebisawa et al. in view of Park et al. The motivation is provided by the fact that the substitution merely involves an exchange of one electron-transporting compound (compound ET-A) for a functional equivalent (compound E19) known to be capable of easily performing electron injection, thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of
foreign document publication JP 2014-096572 A (herein referred to as “Ebisawa et al.”) as then English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
The closest prior art is provided by Ebisawa et al. (JP 2014-09657 A), which discloses compounds of the following form:
(page 12 of Ebisawa et al.) where L = arylene or heteroarylene (only) ([0027]), and A = any one of the following (among others) ([0012]):
(page 13) and Xn = any one of X1-18 (hydrogen, aryl, etc.) which is linked to L. Embodiments are disclosed, including:
(page 21). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Ebisawa et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses any of the specific compounds as recited in the claim, particularly in regards to the nature of the substituent groups attached to the core condensed aromatic group.
Response to Arguments
13. The Applicant argues that Ebisawa et al.’s inventive compound A-1-1 serves as dopant material in the light-emitting layer, and that “the layer containing its dopant material is separated from the LiF layer of the cathode by a layer of compound B-7 and a layer of chemical compound 39” (page 23). Such a construction, the Applicant argues, would not read on the claims. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Notice that the sequence of organic layers in the organic electroluminescent (EL) device as disclosed by Ebisawa et al. is as follows: substrate (2), anode (3), hole-injecting layer (4), hole-transporting layer (5), light-emitting layer (6), electron-transporting layer (7), electron-injecting layer (8), and cathode (9) (Fig. 1). Ebisawa et al. discloses that the electron-transporting layer (7) and the electron-injecting layer (8) can be collapsed into a single layer (i.e., an electron-injecting/transporting layer) which can “fulfill the function of both layers” ([0075]); the cathode comprises a bilayer comprising LiF and Al (in this order) ([0118]). Although the inventive compounds of Ebisawa et al. is present in the light-emitting layer (6), notice that the upper portion of this light-emitting layer (of arbitrary thickness) closer to the cathode is inherently electron-injecting/transporting to the portion of the light-emitting layer beneath it (as light is emitted via electron-hole recombination throughout the light-emitting layer (6)), and is in direct contact with the collapsed electron-transporting and electron-injecting layers (7 and 8), the latter of which is in contact with the Li/Al cathode. The entirety of this layer (i.e., the upper portion of light-emitting layer (6) and the collapsed layer comprising electron-transporting and electron injecting layers (7 and 8)) can be defined as the “electron injection and transfer layer” (which comprises the Applicant’s compound of Chemical Formula 1). This interpretation would read on the construction as recited in Claim 1.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786