Response to Amendment
Amendment to claims filed on 12/17/2025 is hereby acknowledged.
Objections to claims for informalities and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) are obviated in view of the amendment.
No claim has been canceled and no new claim has been added. Therefore, claims 1-12 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/20025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Klofta describes combining two colorants to mix their colors. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would employ Klofta to make the correspondence between the first particle and the humidity the same as the correspondence between the second particle and the humidity, so as to be able to control the consistency of the mixed color, rather than a different correspondence between the respective particles and the humidity (as claimed).” See Remarks, page 9, 2nd paragraph). The argument is not found persuasive because Klofta explicitly teaches each colorant is stabilized to maintain its first color sate until triggered to its second state (see page [0018]).
Applicant argues the Examiner’s reliance on paragraph [0022] of Klofta “does not describe transition ranges for color according to moisture much less that ‘the second humidity controlling liquid includes a second indicator of a color of which changes, in a transition range different from a transition range of the first indicator, according to an amount of moisture contained in the second humidity controlling liquid” as recited in claim 1. See Remarks, page 10, 4th paragraph. The argument is not found persuasive because: (1) in [0014] Klofta explicitly discloses “a colorant that is a pH indicator … changes color when a pH change occurs. This mechanism of color change where the pH controls the hue of the color is called halochromism.” This would mean that if two different colorants are used then there would be a difference in transition range between the first and the second indicator. (2) in [0022] Klofta explicitly discloses “a wetness indicator may comprise a first and second colorant” each having a stabilizer with different pKa. Again, this is interpreted as there would be a difference in transition range between the first and the second indicator.
Applicant further argues none of the references relied upon in rejecting claim 1 in the previous Office action discloses or suggests a newly added limitation to claim 1: “a correspondence relationship between a color of the second particle and humidity of an environment in which the humidity controlling material is placed differs from a correspondence relationship between a color of the first particle and the humidity” and as such “allowing the color of the first indicator and the color of the second indicator to be visually recognized independently.” See Remarks, page 10, 5th and 6th paragraphs. It is noted the newly added limitation does not require a different color for each particle, i.e., they may be the same color but have different amount of absorption. Klofta explicitly discloses providing wetness indicator having more than one colorant where each color is maintained until triggered by wetness (see [0018].
The rejection is maintained with a slight modification to address the newly added limitation to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH0478415A (hereinafter "JPl" with page and para references to Espacenet translation obtained 7/30/2025) and JPH11319468A (hereinafter "JP2" with page and para references to Espacenet translation obtained 7/30/2025) in view of JP2000033224A (hereinafter "JP3" with page and para references to Espacenet
translation obtained 7/30/2025), and Klofta (US 20170003257 Al).
Regarding claim 1, JPl teaches a solid hygroscopic composition intended to dehumidify and dry gases such as air (i.e., a humidity controlling material)(pg. 1 lines 1-2), comprising:
water-absorbent resin particles(i.e., a first particle capable of absorbing or discharging moisture in air) (4 lines from bottom of pg. 5);
wherein the first particle includes: an aqueous calcium chloride solution(i.e., a first humidity controlling liquid)(pg. 3 line 13) which is widely used as a dehumidifying agent (i.e., containing a hygroscopic substance)(pg. 1 line 3); and
a cationic superabsorbent polymer (i.e., a first holding portion formed of a polymeric material); it is possible to combine calcium chloride and a cationic superabsorbent polymer by pre-impregnating the cationic superabsorbent polymer with an aqueous calcium chloride solution (i.e., the first holding portion holding the first humidity controlling liquid)(pg. 3 lines 11-13). Impregnating the cationic superabsorbent polymer(i.e., holding portion) with an aqueous calcium chloride solution (i.e., first humidity controlling liquid) is equivalent to the cationic superabsorbent polymer holding the calcium chloride solution.
JPl is silent on the first humidity controlling liquid includes a first indicator,
a color of which changes according to an amount of moisture contained in the first humidity controlling liquid.
JP2 is directed to dehumidifying or desiccating agents [0001]. JP2 teaches a dehumidifying or desiccant agent is prepared by blending powder and/or granules of the deliquescent inorganic salt (A) with a gelling agent (B) [0021]. In addition to the deliquescent inorganic salt (A) and the gelling agent (B), the dehumidifying or drying agent contains a colorant (C) that changes color and/or color tone upon moisture absorption (i.e., a first indicator a color of which changes according to an amount of moisture contained in the first humidity controlling liquid). The colorant may be acid-base indicator (phenolphthalein, thymol blue, bromothymol blue, methyl orange, methyl red, etc.) [0022].
JPl and JP2 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of humidity controlling materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of the particle taught by JPl to include a colorant (i.e., an indicator) because it will change color to indicate moisture absorption and to determine when the desiccant needs to be replaced, as taught by JP2 [0004].
JPl is silent on the second particle, which has the same composition as the
first particle, with the only difference between the first and second particle being the properties of the indicator.
JP3 is directed to a humidity adjusting material [0001]. JP3 teaches the humidity adjusting material can be used by mixing two or more types of microcapsules(i.e., a first and second particle) having different moisture absorption properties in any ratio depending on the intended use and environment of use [0019].
JPl and JP3 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of humidity controlling materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material taught by JPl to include a second particle because when two types of microcapsules are used, moisture absorption and desorption performance is exhibited depending on the moisture absorption performance of these two types of microcapsules. For example, by combining a first microcapsule that absorbs and releases moisture at a high humidity of, say, about 60% RH with a second microcapsule that absorbs and releases moisture at a low humidity of, say, about 40% RH, during high temperature and humidity periods such as summer, the first microcapsules will mainly absorb large amounts of moisture due to the high humidity, whereas during low temperature and dry periods such as winter, the humidity is low and the amount of saturated water vapor is low, so the second microcapsules can quickly supply moisture, as taught by JP3 [0019].
JPl is silent on (1) the second humidity controlling liquid includes a second indicator a color of which changes, in a transition range different from a transition range of the first indicator, according to an amount of moisture contained in the second humidity controlling liquid and (2) a correspondence relationship between a color of the second particle and humidity of an environment in which the humidity controlling material is place differs from a correspondence relationship between a color of the first particle and humidity.
Klofta is directed to a wetness indicator for use with an absorbent [0002].
Klofta teaches that many wetness indicators comprise a colorant that is a pH indicator, that is, a material that changes color when a pH change occurs. This mechanism of color change where the pH controls the hue of the color is called halochromism. For such materials, the negative logarithm of its acid dissociation constant, or pKa, can be a way to measure or predict at what pH the material's color will change when contacted by an aqueous fluid [0014]. The dry and wet state colors can be formulated if two pH colorants(i.e., a first indicator and a second indicator) are combined into a single formulation. For example, a wetness indicator may comprise a first and second colorant and also a first and second stabilizer, where the first colorant and the first stabilizer have similar pKa's and the second colorant and second stabilizer have similar pKa's (i.e., the transition range of the first indicator is different from a transition range of the second indicator) [0022].
JPl and Klofta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of moisture absorption and indicators of wetness/moisture absorption. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the two particles taught by JPl and JP3 to include wetness indicators in the first and second particles having 2 different transition ranges because while known wetness indicators may function sufficiently, the color options that are available in such systems are limited due to cost, formulation stability and processability, consumer color preferences, and safety constraints Thus, there is a continuing need for wetness indicators with a variety of color options for both the first and second color states [0017], as taught by Klofta. Additionally, with respect to point (2), using different colors taught by Klofta would enable one to easily visualize when each color indicator is wet. Furthermore, it is noted this limitation directed to a correspondence relationship does not require a different color for each particle, i.e., they may be the same color but have different amount of absorption.
Regarding claim 2, JP2 teaches the powder and/or granules of deliquescent inorganic salts include powder and/or granules of calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, magnesium sulfate, calcium sulfate, and the like. These may be anhydrous salts or salts containing water of crystallization. In addition, several of
these can be used in combination (i.e., two or more kinds of the hygroscopic
substances) [0006].
Regarding claim 3, JP2 teaches the two or more hygroscopic substances contain deliquescent inorganic salts [0006] and polyvinyl alcohol [0007].
Regarding claim 4, JPl teaches a cationic superabsorbent polymer (i.e., the first and second holding portion is a water-absorbing polymer)(4 lines from end of pg. 2).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, JPl teaches a cationic superabsorbent polymer (i.e., the first and second holding portion is a water-absorbing polymer)(4 lines from end of pg. 2) and all limitations as set forth above, but is silent on wherein the first particle has a core-shell structure including: a core containing the first humidity controlling liquid; and the first holding portion formed of the polymeric material and shaped into a shell, and the second particle has a core-shell structure including: a core containing the second humidity controlling liquid; and the second holding portion formed of the polymeric material and shaped into a shell.
Since the core-shell structure of the first and second particles have identical recitations, the following teaching will be used to modify both structures.
JP3 is directed to a humidity adjusting material [0001]. JP3 teaches
microcapsules(i.e., particles) have a structure in which an outer shell layer 2 (i.e., holding portion shaped into a shell) having micropores 3 is formed on the surface of a deliquescent inorganic salt (or a solution thereof) (i.e., a core containing a humidity controlling liquid).
JPl and JP3 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of humidity controlling materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material taught by JPl to include the core-shell structure because while deliquescent inorganic salts react quickly to humidity in the air, they become sticky and eventually dissolve if left as is. However, if these salts are encapsulated in microcapsules in the form of fine particles, they can repeatedly and quickly absorb and discharge moisture through the microcapsules, and can be used for a variety of purposes [0005], as taught by JP3.
Regarding claim 7, JPl teaches as a binder for molding, a water-soluble polymer such as polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol, starch, gum arabic, polymethacryloxyethyltrimethylammonium chloride, etc. may be blended, and
coloring agents, fragrances, etc. may also be blended (5 lines up from end of pg.
3). Thus, a fixed color particle may be created using a coloring agent.
Regarding claim 8, JPl teaches wherein the fixed color particle includes: an aqueous calcium chloride solution(i.e., a humidity controlling liquid)(pg. 3 line 13) calcium chloride is widely used as a dehumidifying agent (i.e., containing a hygroscopic substance)(pg. 1 line 3);
and a cationic superabsorbent polymer (i.e., a holding portion); it is
possible to combine calcium chloride and a cationic superabsorbent polymer by pre-impregnating the cationic superabsorbent polymer with an aqueous calcium chloride solution (i.e., the holding portion holding the humidity controlling liquid)(pg. 3 lines 11-13). Impregnating the cationic superabsorbent polymer(i.e., holding portion) with an aqueous calcium chloride solution (i.e., first humidity controlling liquid) is equivalent to the cationic superabsorbent polymer holding the calcium chloride solution.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2012239998A (hereinafter JP4 with page and para references to Espacenet translation obtained 7/30/2025) in view of JPl, JP2, JP3, and Klofta, as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, JP4 is directed to a dehumidifier and regenerator for
regenerating the same (title; abstract). JP4 teaches a dehumidifier 10 [0019] that is filled with silica gel (moisture absorbent) 22 [0021], wherein display windows 14, 15, 16 made of a light-transmitting material are formed on one wall of the display housings [0022]. JP4 teaches a moisture absorbent, but does not go into detail on its composition.
JPl, JP2, JP3, and Klofta teach the humidity controlling material according to claim 1, as described above.
JP4 and JPl are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of humidity control (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by JP4 to replace the absorbent with the humidity controlling material taught by JPl in view of JP2, JP3, and Klofta because it provides an inexpensive moisture absorbent that has a dehumidifying effect while maintaining a solid state without fluidity, as taught by JPl (6 lines up from end of pg. 2).
Regarding claim 10, JP4 teaches the moisture absorbent container 18 (i.e., a first housing portion) is filled with silica gel 22 (i.e., the first particle); and the display containers 19, 20, and 21 (i.e., a second housing portion) are filled with cobalt chloride-containing silica gel 26 (i.e., the second particle).
Regarding claim 11, JP4 teaches the regenerator 44 (i.e., a removing portion) includes a fan for blowing air, a heater for heating the air, and an air outlet 51 for blowing out the air. The dehumidifier 10 is detachably attached to the regenerator 44. The regenerator 44 is configured to send air through a plurality of air inlet holes 17 into the dehumidifier 10 to regenerate the silica gel 22, 26 inside the dehumidifier 10 [0023].
Regarding claim 12, JP4 teaches the regenerator (i.e., the removing portion) is disposed closer to the moisture absorbent container 18 (i.e., the first housing portion) than to the display containers 19, 20, and 21 (i.e., a second housing portion). This can be seen in Figs 1-2b below.
JP4 Figs. 1, 2a, 2b
Since the core-shell structure of the first and second particles have identical recitations, the following teaching will be used to modify both structures.
JP4 is silent on wherein the first particle has a core-shell structure including: a core containing the first humidity controlling liquid; and the first holding portion formed of the polymeric material and shaped into a shell, the second holding portion included in the second particle is a water-absorbing polymer.
JP3 is directed to a humidity adjusting material [0001]. JP3 teaches microcapsules(i.e., particles) have a structure in which an outer shell layer 2 (i.e., holding portion shaped into a shell) having micropores 3 is formed on the surface
of a deliquescent inorganic salt (or a solution thereof) (i.e., a core containing a
humidity controlling liquid).
JP4 and JP3 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of humidity controlling materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material taught by JP4 to include the core-shell structure because while deliquescent inorganic salts react quickly to humidity in the air, they become sticky and eventually dissolve if left as is. However, if these salts are encapsulated in microcapsules in the form of fine particles, they can repeatedly and quickly absorb and discharge moisture through the microcapsules, and can be used for a variety of purposes [0005], as taught by JP3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772