CTFR 17/912,045 CTFR 92956 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to amendments The amendments filed 01/29/2026 have overcome the 35 USC § 101 rejection, claims 1-5,7-9 and 11-20 remain pending. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant firstly argues (page 8-9): “Claims 1-10 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(al) as being anticipated by Mukin (NPL).This rejection, insofar as it may pertain to the presently pending Claims, is traversed, in light of the present amendment. Applicant respectfully submits the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the limitations of independent Claims 1 and 8. Mukin discloses an analytical temperature model for predicting wire melting distance in wire-feed laser deposition to avoid defects (pages Mukin does not disclose or suggest actively correcting a "machining reference point" (defined as the intersection of the beam centerline and wire travel direction; see [0051] and FIG. 3) based on the calculated tip position to adjust head positioning in real-time during stacking. Mukin's model is theoretical/offline for process optimization, not integrated into apparatus control for dynamic reference point correction (contrast [0073] and [0120]). Amendments to independent claims 1 and 8 incorporate this distinguishing core feature (from original claim 6), rendering them allowable. Dependents 2-7 and 9-1( are similarly distinguished and amended for antecedent basis. For the reasons set forth above, Mukin fails to teach or suggest the limitations of independent Claims 1 and 8. Further, no reference relied upon remedies the deficiencies of Mukin. Accordingly, it is submitted that independent Claims 1 and S and each of the Claims depending therefrom are allowable. Further, it is submitted the additional rejections noted in the Office Action have also been overcome as the Claims rejected therein are dependent Claims and the additionally applied references also do not teach or suggest the newly claimed combination of features.” However Examiner respectfully disagrees because the Applicants present claims do not provide for the correction to be based on detection of wire position, while the feed rate of the wire of Mukin as variable to laser beam axis relative to tip of wire is anticipated to vary based on different needs of the material processing between even heating and speed “It is established that at a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis. The shape of the melting surface also depends on the feed rate. At a slow feed rate, a more uniform heating of the wire over the cross section occurs.” (last paragraph page 436) because the wire length able to be melted is limited to the finite laser beam width, it would be obvious to Routine Optimization between the features of speed and even heating, to include a range where the axis of the laser aligns with tip of the wire melted (see MPEP 2144.05 II. B). The control of wire tip/deposition position in additive manufacturing is the means of additively forming a part relative to previous layers. Examiner additionally notes that specifying specific reference points of substrate, wire and laser are arbitrary choices not necessitating physical relation change to/between said substrate, wire and laser. Additionally newly cited reference Lin applied in response to presently amended features not previously provided, obviates varying position of laser at least to at wire tip, with focus to include directing to heating substrate, see current rejection of claims 1 and 8 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-5, 7-9, 13-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukin (NPL). And in further view of Lin (US 2015/0158118) . Regarding claim 1 , Mukin discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus that manufactures a shaped object by stacking a bead that is a solidified product of a filler metal caused to be melted, the additive manufacturing apparatus comprising: a feeder (feed system of additive laser wire filler “Additive technologies, in particular, wire-feed laser deposition” (abstract)) to feed the filler metal to a workpiece (nature of additive systems): a beam source (source of laser of the additive laser wire filler system) to output a beam for melting the filler metal that is fed (nature of laser wire filler system (abstract)): a processor (processor responsible for computational determination of filler wire heat in view of feed speed and laser parameters, emphasis added “The practical effectiveness of the functional-analytical methods with respect to computational time is several orders of magnitude higher than numerical ones. Obtained analytical solution made it possible to determine the temperature field for heat flux arbitrarily distributed on the filler wire surface. It is established that at a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis.” (abstract)): and a memory to store a program (memory/program of heating models “The aim of the work is to develop an analytical model of heating and melting of the filler wire during wirefeed laser deposition.” (abstract)) which, when executed by the processor, performs processes of calculating a tip position of the filler metal (position of tip of filler wire relative to origin thereof during additive processing “where xj = jx+(j–1)(h’+w(t–t’)), h’ – the distance from the origin of the coordinate system of the source to the tip of the wire at time t’ (see Fig. 2).” (first paragraph, page 434)), the tip position being a position where a temperature reaches a melting point of the filler metal by irradiation N with the beam, on a basis of a feeding speed of the filler metal to be fed to the workpiece and beam power from the beam source (tip of wire is melted at varied position relative to laser axis on basis of speed into laser melt source “The lower the wire feed rate, the longer time takes to melt the wire. At a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis. This can lead to the partially melted tip of the wire stuck into the substrate, leading to the occurrence of defects and stopping the process.” (last paragraph of page 435)). and correcting a position of a machining reference point (position of tip calculated in relation to additive manufacturing/welding operations “The lower the wire feed rate, the longer time takes to melt the wire. At a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis. This can lead to the partially melted tip of the wire stuck into the substrate, leading to the occurrence of defects and stopping the process.” (last paragraph of page 435)) in a stacking direction (stacking as disclosed above, direction as known to additive wire deposition creating stack/layer as disclosed above (introduction, page 431)) in which the bead is stacked, the machining reference point being an intersection between a centerline of the beam (axis of laser referencing disclosed below, last paragraph page 435) directed toward the workpiece and a traveling direction (feed of filler metal/wire, see figure 1 wire movement w) of the filler metal directed toward the workpiece from the feeder (axis of laser providing reference to wire tip position melted thereby as disclosed above last paragraph page 435), on a basis of a calculation result of the tip position, Mukin is silent regarding where the correction maintains contact between the tip position and molten pool on the workpiece during stacking. However Lin teaches where the correction maintains contact between the tip position and molten pool on the workpiece during stacking (laser is targeted to both tip and substrate producing the melt pool thereat, see figure 1, “The laser 30 can then produce a laser beam 32 directed onto at least a portion of the tip 22 such that it causes both the metal shell 26 and the metal-filled core 27 of the metal-filled wire to melt onto the surface 41 of the substrate 42. The molten pool 47 created by the melted metal shell 26 and the metal-filled core 27 can subsequently bond with and solidify on or with the surface 41 to produce the cladding layer 45 on the substrate 40. This process can continue in the cladding direction 11 by continually advancing the metal-filled wire 25 (such as via a wire feed device 20) and the laser 30 relative to a stationary substrate 40, by moving the substrate 40 relative to a stationary metal-filled wire 25 and laser 30, or combinations thereof.” [0029]). The advantage of where the correction maintains contact between the tip position and molten pool on the workpiece during stacking, is to enhance acceptance of weld wire into substrate by focusing heat to both wire and substrate together “the laser 30 can produce either a continuous or a pulsed laser beam 32 may be focused or defocused on the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25” [0025] “Such embodiments may distribute the concentration of energy across a larger area of surface 41 of the substrate 40 and the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25.” [0026]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mukin and Lin before him or her, to modify the additive laser wire system of Mukin to include the substrate inclusive laser heating of Lin because providing the laser heating the wire to also heat the substrate enhances the wires ability to join the substrate. Regarding claim 2 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, Mukin as already modified further teaches wherein the processor calculates the tip position on a basis of a physical property value of the filler metal, a parameter indicating a direction of the filler metal fed to the workpiece, the feeding speed, and the beam power (heating of filler wire with result to a known tip position in view of melting is analytically known, such that any variable effecting heating must be in consideration to include the variables of a physical property value of the filler metal, a parameter indicating a direction of the filler metal fed to the workpiece, the feeding speed, and the beam power -“Temperature field in filler wire during wire-feed laser deposition was calculated using functional-analytical method.” (conclusion, page 436) note the formulas page 432-435 making use of said variables). Regarding claim 3 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor calculates the tip position by calculation using a command value of the feeding speed and a command value of the beam power (tip of wire at varied position in view of melting is known “The lower the wire feed rate, the longer time takes to melt the wire. At a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis. This can lead to the partially melted tip of the wire stuck into the substrate, leading to the occurrence of defects and stopping the process.” (last paragraph of page 435), the known position of the wire tip being of result to analytical modeling that must include feed speed and beam power of the wire fed laser heated additive system “Temperature field in filler wire during wire-feed laser deposition was calculated using functional-analytical method.” (conclusion, page 436)). Regarding claim 4 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor calculates the tip position by calculation using a feedback value of the feeding speed and a feedback value of the beam power (in practical or example of operation, the output of feed speed and beam power are computed in determining tip position as necessitated “Example Consider the process of heating the filler wire during wire-feed laser deposition of IN625. The process parameters is the following: beam power 1800 kW; beam radius 1.5 mm; feed rate 6.67 and 16.67 mm s-1; wire radius 0.6 mm; tilt angle 58o. Calculated thermal cycles at the points on the tip of the wire is shown in Fig. 3.” (last paragraph, page 435) processor responsible for calculated determination of filler wire, emphasis added “The practical effectiveness of the functional-analytical methods with respect to computational time is several orders of magnitude higher than numerical ones. Obtained analytical solution made it possible to determine the temperature field for heat flux arbitrarily distributed on the filler wire surface. It is established that at a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis.” (abstract)). Regarding claim 5 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor calculates the tip position by obtaining an input heat amount in each of a plurality of minute-regions of the filler metal. positions of the minute-regions being different from each other in a traveling direction of the filler metal directed toward the workpiece from the feeder, on a basis of the feeding speed and the beam power, and estimating a temperature of each of the minute-regions on a basis of the input heat amount (variables of the wire fed laser melt additive system are processed -“Temperature field in filler wire during wire-feed laser deposition was calculated using functional-analytical method.” (conclusion, page 436), the equations of solving heat along the filler wire provide infinitesimal regions “Any heat source distributed over the cylindrical surface can be divided into infinitesimal sources acting on the surface of area dx Rdθ with heat input” (page 434, Solution for distributed heat source)). Regarding claim 6 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim1, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor further corrects a position of a machining reference point in a stacking direction (additive/stacking manufacturing anticipated to welding operations, where directing placing of additive material is inherent “Additive technologies, in particular, wire-feed laser deposition, can significantly reduce the production cycle of manufacturing large-sized parts or parts of complex shape due to partial or complete elimination of technological operations such as casting, machining and welding” (introduction, page 431)) in which the bead is stacked, the machining reference point being an intersection between a centerline of the beam directed toward the workpiece and a traveling direction of the filler metal directed toward the workpiece from the feeder, wherein the processor corrects the position of the machining reference point on a basis of a calculation result of the tip position (position of tip calculated in relation to additive manufacturing/welding operations “The lower the wire feed rate, the longer time takes to melt the wire. At a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis. This can lead to the partially melted tip of the wire stuck into the substrate, leading to the occurrence of defects and stopping the process.” (last paragraph of page 435)). Regarding claim 7 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 6, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor adjusts a correction amount for correcting the position of the machining reference point, on a basis of a moving direction of the machining reference point in a plane perpendicular to the stacking direction and a height of the bead in the stacking direction (x y z axis (x and y perpendicular to z) anticipated to controlled positioning of layer deposition in view of additive manufacturing “Additive technologies, in particular, wire-feed laser deposition, can significantly reduce the production cycle of manufacturing large-sized parts or parts of complex shape due to partial or complete elimination of technological operations such as casting, machining and welding” (introduction, page 431)). Regarding claim 8 , Mukin discloses an additive manufacturing method in which an additive manufacturing apparatus manufactures a shaped object by stacking a bead that is a solidified product of a filler metal caused to be melted (“Additive technologies, in particular, wire-feed laser deposition, can significantly reduce the production cycle of manufacturing large-sized parts or parts of complex shape due to partial or complete elimination of technological operations such as casting, machining and welding” (introduction, page 431)), the additive manufacturing method comprising: feeding the filler metal to a workpiece (feed system of additive laser wire filler “Additive technologies, in particular, wire-feed laser deposition” (abstract)); outputting a beam (source of laser of the additive laser wire filler system “Additive technologies, in particular, wire-feed laser deposition” (abstract)) for melting the filler metal that is fed (nature of filler wire (see abstract above)); and calculating a tip position of the filler metal (position of tip of filler wire relative to origin thereof during additive processing “where xj = jx+(j–1)(h’+w(t–t’)), h’ – the distance from the origin of the coordinate system of the source to the tip of the wire at time t’ (see Fig. 2).” (first paragraph, page 434)), the tip position being a position where a temperature reaches a melting point of the filler metal by irradiation with the beam (tip of wire is melted at varied position relative to laser axis on basis of speed into specific power of laser melt source “The lower the wire feed rate, the longer time takes to melt the wire. At a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis. This can lead to the partially melted tip of the wire stuck into the substrate, leading to the occurrence of defects and stopping the process.” (last paragraph of page 435)), on a basis of a feeding speed of the filler metal in the feeding the filler metal and beam power in the beam outputting (as disclosed above (last paragraph of page 435)) and correcting a position of a machining reference point (position of tip calculated in relation to additive manufacturing/welding operations “The lower the wire feed rate, the longer time takes to melt the wire. At a higher feed rate, the wire tip is completely melted at a greater distance from the laser axis. This can lead to the partially melted tip of the wire stuck into the substrate, leading to the occurrence of defects and stopping the process.” (last paragraph of page 435)) in a stacking direction (stacking as disclosed above, direction as known to additive wire deposition creating stack/layer as disclosed above (introduction, page 431)) in which the bead is stacked, the machining reference point being an intersection between a centerline of the beam (axis of laser referencing disclosed below, last paragraph page 435) directed toward the workpiece and a traveling direction (feed of filler metal/wire, see figure 1 wire movement w) of the filler metal directed toward the workpiece from the feeder (axis of laser providing reference to wire tip position melted thereby as disclosed above last paragraph page 435), on a basis of a calculation result of the tip position, Mukin is silent regarding where the correction maintains contact between the tip position and molten pool on the workpiece during stacking. However Lin teaches where the correction maintains contact between the tip position and molten pool on the workpiece during stacking (laser is targeted to both tip and substrate producing the melt pool thereat, see figure 1, “The laser 30 can then produce a laser beam 32 directed onto at least a portion of the tip 22 such that it causes both the metal shell 26 and the metal-filled core 27 of the metal-filled wire to melt onto the surface 41 of the substrate 42. The molten pool 47 created by the melted metal shell 26 and the metal-filled core 27 can subsequently bond with and solidify on or with the surface 41 to produce the cladding layer 45 on the substrate 40. This process can continue in the cladding direction 11 by continually advancing the metal-filled wire 25 (such as via a wire feed device 20) and the laser 30 relative to a stationary substrate 40, by moving the substrate 40 relative to a stationary metal-filled wire 25 and laser 30, or combinations thereof.” [0029]). The advantage of where the correction maintains contact between the tip position and molten pool on the workpiece during stacking, is to enhance acceptance of weld wire into substrate by focusing heat to both wire and substrate together “the laser 30 can produce either a continuous or a pulsed laser beam 32 may be focused or defocused on the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25” [0025] “Such embodiments may distribute the concentration of energy across a larger area of surface 41 of the substrate 40 and the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25.” [0026]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mukin and Lin before him or her, to modify the additive laser wire system of Mukin to include the substrate inclusive laser heating of Lin because providing the laser heating the wire to also heat the substrate enhances the wires ability to join the substrate. Regarding claim 9 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing method according to claim 8, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein in the calculating, the tip position is calculated by calculation using values of the feeding speed and the beam power and a constant (heating of filler wire with result to a known tip position in view of melting is analytically known, such that any variable effecting heating must be in consideration to include the variables of a physical property value of the filler metal, a parameter indicating a direction of the filler metal fed to the workpiece, the feeding speed, and the beam power -“Temperature field in filler wire during wire-feed laser deposition was calculated using functional-analytical method.” (conclusion, page 436) note the formulas page 432-435 making use of said variables), and the constant is calculated on a basis of a relationship between a minimum value of the feeding speed and the beam power when the filler metal fed toward the beam passes through the beam without being melted (constants of equations for determining tip position are analytically modeled up to point at which filler wire feed melts off tip in laser heat source as disclosed above (conclusion, page 436), note the formulas page 432-435 making use of above said variables and having resulting constants representing to the formulas feed speed, laser power, material properties of absorption/heat transfer). Regarding claim 13 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor calculates the tip position using a feedback value of the feeding speed and a feedback value of the beam power during a transient response to a change in process parameters (modeling as already disclosed by Mukin is based to heat input to feed speed and material thermal dynamics (abstract), to include both specific heat capacity and thermal conductivity, “The physical properties of the filler wire material (specific heat capacity c, density ρ, thermal conductivity λ, thermal diffusivity a, coefficient of convectional and radiation heat transfer α) are temperature-independent (page 432, first paragraph), as such the time of reaching an equilibrium temperature state is varied to feedback regarding power and feed speed as modeled by Mukin, the startup of welding and positioning between layers requiring non-steady compensation to temperature changes in reaching equilibrium and therefore a modeled transient feedback response. Additionally as already modifying to the laser processing, Lin anticipates that varying to values and parameters of laser processing was known to those skilled in the art at the time of invention, feedback dependents to include use materials and speeds of processing features that would require transient response in maintaining steady additive manufacturing “Furthermore, although some specific embodiments have been described in detail in this disclosure, those skilled in the art should appreciate that alternative or additional modifications are possible including variations in sizes, dimensions, structures, shapes and proportions of the various elements, values of parameters, mounting arrangements, angles, use of materials, orientations, speeds, and the like.” [0028], Additionally because the processing of Mukin anticipates modeling thermal dynamics of the heated target, and processing of Lin as modifying includes wire and worksurface both heated interactively, the thermal modeling to be complete/effective would include the worksurface that varies dimensionally by region and layer during construction and therefore require a modeled transient response, see Mukin modeling dimensionally wire Fig-1). Regarding claim 14 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor calculates the tip position by dividing the filler metal into a plurality of minute- regions along a traveling direction and estimating a temperature for each minute-region based on heat input from the beam (size of regions just changing decimals of accuracy, as noted to infinitesimal intervals calculations “A moving source can be represented as a sequence of differential instantaneous sources, obtained by a differential subdivision of the operative time and operative distance. During an infinitesimal time interval dt’ the amount of heat released at point A1 at time t’ is 'dQ= qdt’.” (last paragraph, page 433)). Regarding claim 15 , the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the processor determines the tip position as a minute-region closest to the workpiece where the estimated temperature reaches the melting point (as already modified by Lin, the tip is in contact to the workpiece and laser provides both heat to tip and workpiece, see figure 1 of Lin. Mukin anticipates modeling the thermal dynamics of the variables affecting the wire to determine melt position of the additive process “The aim of the work is to develop an analytical model of heating and melting of the filler wire during wire-feed laser deposition.” (page 431, 3 rd paragraph)). Regarding claim 16 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the processor adjusts a correction amount for correcting the position of the machining reference point based on a height of a molten pool on the workpiece (modeling is inclusive to dimensions of wire “The physical properties of the filler wire material (specific heat capacity c, density ρ, thermal conductivity λ, thermal diffusivity a, coefficient of convectional and radiation heat transfer α) are temperature-independent (page 432, first paragraph), as already modifying Lin teaches the melt pool height as part of modeling heat “The laser 30 can be disposed at a laser height A away from the surface 41 of the substrate 40. In some embodiments, laser height A between the laser 30 and the surface 41 of the substrate 40 remains fixed. In some embodiments, laser height A varies. In some embodiments, the laser beam 32 produced by the laser 30 may focus directly on the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25 such that the laser spot 34 on the tip 22 is relatively small. However, in some embodiments, the laser beam 32 may be focused above or below the tip 22 such that the laser spot 34 is larger. For example, the laser beam 32 may be focused at a point above the surface 41 of the substrate having a height of approximately 5 millimeters to approximately 15 millimeters, or alternatively approximately 8 millimeters to approximately 13 millimeters, or alternatively approximately 10 millimeters to approximately 12 millimeters. Such embodiments may distribute the concentration of energy across a larger area of surface 41 of the substrate 40 and the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25.” [0026]). Regarding claim 19 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing method according to claim 8, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the calculating the tip position uses a feedback value of the feeding speed and a feedback value of the beam power during a transient response to a change in process parameters (modeling as already disclosed by Mukin is based to heat input to feed speed and material thermal dynamics (abstract), to include both specific heat capacity and thermal conductivity, “The physical properties of the filler wire material (specific heat capacity c, density ρ, thermal conductivity λ, thermal diffusivity a, coefficient of convectional and radiation heat transfer α) are temperature-independent (page 432, first paragraph), as such the time of reaching an equilibrium temperature state is varied to feedback regarding power and feed speed as modeled by Mukin, the startup of welding and positioning between layers requiring non-steady compensation to temperature changes in reaching equilibrium and therefore a modeled transient feedback response. Additionally as already modifying to the laser processing, Lin anticipates that varying to values and parameters of laser processing was known to those skilled in the art at the time of invention, feedback dependents to include use materials and speeds of processing features that would require transient response in maintaining steady additive manufacturing “Furthermore, although some specific embodiments have been described in detail in this disclosure, those skilled in the art should appreciate that alternative or additional modifications are possible including variations in sizes, dimensions, structures, shapes and proportions of the various elements, values of parameters, mounting arrangements, angles, use of materials, orientations, speeds, and the like.” [0028], Additionally because the processing of Mukin anticipates modeling thermal dynamics of the heated target, and processing of Lin as modifying includes wire and worksurface both heated interactively, the thermal modeling to be complete/effective would include the worksurface that varies dimensionally by region and layer during construction and therefore require a modeled transient response, see Mukin modeling dimensionally wire Fig-1). Regarding claim 20 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing method according to claim 8, Mukin as already modified teaches wherein the correcting adjusts a correction amount for correcting the position of the machining reference point based on a height of a molten pool on the workpiece (modeling is inclusive to dimensions of wire “The physical properties of the filler wire material (specific heat capacity c, density ρ, thermal conductivity λ, thermal diffusivity a, coefficient of convectional and radiation heat transfer α) are temperature-independent (page 432, first paragraph), as already modifying Lin teaches the melt pool height as part of modeling heat “The laser 30 can be disposed at a laser height A away from the surface 41 of the substrate 40. In some embodiments, laser height A between the laser 30 and the surface 41 of the substrate 40 remains fixed. In some embodiments, laser height A varies. In some embodiments, the laser beam 32 produced by the laser 30 may focus directly on the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25 such that the laser spot 34 on the tip 22 is relatively small. However, in some embodiments, the laser beam 32 may be focused above or below the tip 22 such that the laser spot 34 is larger. For example, the laser beam 32 may be focused at a point above the surface 41 of the substrate having a height of approximately 5 millimeters to approximately 15 millimeters, or alternatively approximately 8 millimeters to approximately 13 millimeters, or alternatively approximately 10 millimeters to approximately 12 millimeters. Such embodiments may distribute the concentration of energy across a larger area of surface 41 of the substrate 40 and the tip 22 of the metal-filled wire 25.” [0026]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11, 12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukin in further view of Lin and in further view of Mochizuki (US 2020/0130107) . Regarding claim 11 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor calculates the tip position by calculation using a constant determined on a basis of a preliminary experiment in which the filler metal passes through the beam without melting (melting of a wire is not necessary in determining energy absorbed through the laser heating of surfaces (wire, substrate) “the following physical assumptions are made: - The physical properties of the filler wire material (specific heat capacity c, density ρ, thermal conductivity λ, thermal diffusivity a, coefficient of convectional and radiation heat transfer α) are temperature-independent. - Heat flux distribution of laser beam q2 [W mm-2] is presented as a surface normally distributed heat source.” (page 432, first paragraph)). Mukin is silent regarding experimentation providing data to modeling. However Mochizuki teaches experimentation providing data to modeling. (heating a workpiece not past melting point may provide data for modeling during manufacturing processes “As described above, the effect of irradiation of the workpiece 8 with a laser beam is approximated using only input energy of the laser beam to the workpiece 8, a spot diameter of the laser beam on the workpiece surface, reflectivity at a laser irradiated position on the workpiece 8, and a coefficient of absorption of the laser beam by the workpiece 8, while no consideration is given to phase transitions. By doing so, the non-stationary thermal fluid simulation can be conducted comparatively easily. Meanwhile, like physical property values about the workpiece 8 such as heat conductivity, specific heat, and density, a coefficient of absorption of a laser beam by the workpiece 8 and reflectivity at the workpiece 8 are changed by temperature increase or phase change at the workpiece 8 occurring in response to heat input. Hence, it is difficult to obtain accurate physical property values. In response to this, the following methods can be employed in the non-stationary thermal fluid simulation: a physical property value at the highest temperature available for a solid phase is used; if temperature dependence on the solid phase is known, a physical property value giving consideration to temperature dependence extrapolated to a higher temperature is used; trial laser machining is performed on an experimental workpiece having a simple shape, and a physical property value conforming to a result of the experiment is used.” [0118-0119]). The advantage of experimentation providing data to modeling, is to provide values for modeling thermal operations specific to material of use during manufacturing processes, see above [0118-0119]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mukin as already modified and Mochizuki before him or her, to modify the modeling assisted additive laser wire system of Mukin to include the experimental data applied to modeling of Mochizuki, because providing experimentation to gather material property data enables modeling of the materials used for additive manufacturing in modeling based manufacturing systems. Regarding claim 12 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 11, Mukin further teaches wherein the constant is a product of a specific heat, a density, and a cross-sectional area of the filler metal (constant as equation to natural laws regarding energy input to temperature, see specific heat, density and wire radius determining processing parameters in figure of first equation/paragraph of page 433 cited above). Regarding claim 17 , Mukin as modified teaches the additive manufacturing method according to claim 8, Mukin as already modifying teaches wherein the calculating the tip position uses a constant determined on a basis of a preliminary experiment in which the filler metal passes through the beam without melting (melting of a wire is not necessary in determining energy absorbed through the laser heating of surfaces (wire, substrate) “the following physical assumptions are made: - The physical properties of the filler wire material (specific heat capacity c, density ρ, thermal conductivity λ, thermal diffusivity a, coefficient of convectional and radiation heat transfer α) are temperature-independent. - Heat flux distribution of laser beam q2 [W mm-2] is presented as a surface normally distributed heat source.” (page 432, first paragraph)). Mukin is silent regarding experimentation providing data to modeling. However Mochizuki teaches experimentation providing data to modeling. (heating a workpiece not past melting point may provide data for modeling during manufacturing processes “As described above, the effect of irradiation of the workpiece 8 with a laser beam is approximated using only input energy of the laser beam to the workpiece 8, a spot diameter of the laser beam on the workpiece surface, reflectivity at a laser irradiated position on the workpiece 8, and a coefficient of absorption of the laser beam by the workpiece 8, while no consideration is given to phase transitions. By doing so, the non-stationary thermal fluid simulation can be conducted comparatively easily. Meanwhile, like physical property values about the workpiece 8 such as heat conductivity, specific heat, and density, a coefficient of absorption of a laser beam by the workpiece 8 and reflectivity at the workpiece 8 are changed by temperature increase or phase change at the workpiece 8 occurring in response to heat input. Hence, it is difficult to obtain accurate physical property values. In response to this, the following methods can be employed in the non-stationary thermal fluid simulation: a physical property value at the highest temperature available for a solid phase is used; if temperature dependence on the solid phase is known, a physical property value giving consideration to temperature dependence extrapolated to a higher temperature is used; trial laser machining is performed on an experimental workpiece having a simple shape, and a physical property value conforming to a result of the experiment is used.” [0118-0119]). The advantage of experimentation providing data to modeling, is to provide values for modeling thermal operations specific to material of use during manufacturing processes, see above [0118-0119]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mukin as already modified and Mochizuki before him or her, to modify the modeling assisted additive laser wire system of Mukin to include the experimental data applied to modeling of Mochizuki, because providing experimentation to gather material property data enables modeling of the materials used for additive manufacturing in modeling based manufacturing systems. Regarding claim 18 , the additive manufacturing method according to claim 17, wherein the constant is a product of a specific heat, a density, and a cross-sectional area of the filler metal (constant as equation to natural laws regarding energy input to temperature, see specific heat, density and wire radius determining processing parameters in figure of first equation/paragraph of page 433 cited above). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Spencer H Kirkwood whose telephone number is (469)295-9113. The examiner can normally be reached 12:00 am - 9:00 pm Eastern. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Crabb can be reached at 571-270-5059. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Spencer H. Kirkwood/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 8 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 9 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 10 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 11 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 12 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 13 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 14 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 15 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 16 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 17 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 18 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 19 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 20 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 21 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 22 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 23 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 24 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 17/912,045 Page 25 Art Unit: 3761