DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claim 10 and species: pTau181 in the reply filed 09/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-7 and new claim 13 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Election was made in the reply filed 09/17/2025.
Newly submitted claim 13 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claim recites “a computer-implemented method of determining a stage of a neurodegenerative disease or dementia in a subject”. The elected method pertains to “an in vitro method of determining a stage of a neurodegenerative disease or dementia”. As such, the claim introduces new method steps that were not originally present and are distinct from the elected invention.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 13 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim 10 is now under consideration in the instant Office Action.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter are hereby withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims.
Rejections of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mitsuhashi et al. (WO 2018/218090 A1, in IDS filed 09/16/2022) are hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims which have altered the scope.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 10 recites a table in the claim that refers to information that would help identify a disease state. Tables are not allowed in claims, as they are not self-containing and reference the subject matter not presented in the claims. MPEP 2173.05(s) states that “Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant's convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted)." Appropriate correction to specifically recite the subject matter intended to be circumscribed by reference to the table is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuhashi et al. (WO 2018/218090 A1, in IDS filed 09/16/2022), in view of Winston et al. (in instant PTO-892).
Mitsuhashi et al. teaches methods, compositions, and kits for detecting and quantifying biomarkers for the diagnosis of neurological disorders such as Alzheimer's disease (AD), see Abstract.
These biomarkers include neuron specific proteins or cytosolic proteins or membrane specific proteins such as tau, phosphorylated tau (T181), Aβ, Aβ-42, NEFL, neurogranin, synaptophysin, cathepsin-D (CTSD), TREM2, REST, CD274, synaptopodin, see abstract, claims 1, 6, 7, 13, 14 & 20-22, paragraphs 0011, 0023, 0030, 0033. Mitsuhashi et al. teach how said assay methods deploy capture agents such as antibodies that selectively bind to the biomarkers for measuring their expression levels, see claims 27-30, 33, 34 & 39 and paragraph 0034, and how the risk assessment/diagnosis of AD is carried out by comparing expression levels of biomarkers in subjects to the control levels, see claims 40, 42, 45, 49-56 & 61-63, paragraphs 0007, 0037, 0084, 00105, 00127, 00138, 00144, and Examples 5 & 6. Further, estimation of risk score to determine the risk of disease has no particular advantage as a difference in expression levels of biomarkers between subjects and controls per se itself is indicative of risk of disease condition.
However, Mitsuhashi et al. does not teach the use of an anti-L1CAM antibody in the assay. Winston et al. remedies this deficiency.
Winston et al. teaches “the loss of GHRH signaling in the brain may be mechanistically involved in AD pathogenesis. The consequent need to identify AD at an early and perhaps more treatable stage has fueled research into blood-based, exosome biomarkers. Plasma exosomes from participants enrolled in a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled 20-week trial of GHRH administration, were isolated, precipitated, and enriched by immuno-absorption with anti-L1CAM antibody (neural adhesion protein) from adults with MCI and age-matched, cognitively normal controls (CNC). Extracted protein cargo from neuronally-derived exosomes (NDEs) were assessed by ELISAs for protein levels implicated in AD neuropathology and for synaptic proteins altered by AD”, see Abstract.
It would be obvious at the time of the instant invention to use the method taught by Mitsuhashi et al., which teaches methods, compositions, and kits for detecting and quantifying biomarkers for the diagnosis of neurological disorders such as Alzheimer's disease (AD), with the teachings of Winston et al., which disclose that anti-L1CAM antibodies are frequently used in immunoassays to quantify proteins and study those that are implicated in particular disease states such as Alzheimer’s. One would be motivated to combine the immunoassay that detects the claimed biomarkers, with the anti-L1CAM antibody taught by Winston et al. with the expectation of measuring protein levels in a patient at risk of having Alzheimer’s disease and determining a disease state.
Therefore, claim 10 is rejected as obvious over Mitsuhashi et al. and Winston et al.
Modified Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 10 is directed to a natural correlation and an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims are drawn to a method of diagnosing a neurological disorder status, specifically Alzheimer’s disease, comprising the steps of determining the expression level of one of several biomarkers and performing the mental step of determining the status via risk level of an individual by comparison to a reference sample. This method of diagnosis is dependent on the natural correlation that exists between the expression of several biomarker levels that takes place in a neurological disorder such as Alzheimer’s disease (AD).
Guidance effective December 16, 2014 sets out a series of steps and factors for determining subject eligibility in light of recent court decisions including Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., and Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al.
The claims are directed to a judicial exception which comprises detecting concentration levels of biomarkers to determine the AD status of an individual. There are no physical steps in the instant claim and the method only relies on an observation of a natural correlation. The instant claims are not sufficient to qualify as a patent-eligible practical application as the claims cover every substantial practical application of the judicial exception. The claims recite steps in addition to the judicial exceptions at a high level of generality such that substantially all practical applications of the judicial exceptions are covered. Furthermore, the prior art teaches obtaining concentration levels of biomarkers using commonly known methods to determine the expression levels and determine the subject status of a neurological disorder such as AD. The prior art teaches using protein expression levels of phosphorylated 181 Tau to determine the status of a subject as taught by prior art. For example, see Mitsuhashi et al., 2018 (IDS, 9/16/2022) as discussed below. Mitushashi et al. teaches measuring phosphorylated Tau181 using immunoassays to determine the correlation to AD (see Abstract and references as discussed below). Therefore, in addition to the judicial exception, the techniques are well-understood, purely conventional or routine in the relevant field and must be taken by others to apply the judicial exception.
There are no method steps that transform the laws of nature, here, the relationship between gene expression and disease, into a practical application of those laws. The dependent claims only describe the sample or type of assay used in obtaining the correlation but are not requiring a physical step in the instantly claimed invention. The limitations are no more than a field of use or merely involve insignificant extra solution activity; e.g., data gathering, as the concentration levels of naturally occurring proteins such as amyloid beta and tau are known to be present naturally in the body of the subject and one is only observing the naturally occurring protein expression in specific patient population. They serve the ends nature originally provided and act quite independently of any effort of the patentee.
Claim 10 recites the protein expression levels that should be used to achieve the natural correlation (which is an abstract idea) in determining the status of a subject that may or may not have a neurological disorder like Alzheimer’s disease. Instant claim 10 does not require one to perform any physical steps since the natural correlation may be obtained by just looking at data that has previously been obtained by another practitioner. The comparison step of claims 10a), 10b), and 10c) are an abstract idea and do not add significantly more to the claims. Therefore, the instant invention just calls for an observation and its interpretation, as in claims 10a), 10b), and 10c) which are all mental steps and not patent eligible under § 101. The claims are not explicit as to what test to use beyond commonly used assays and do not require an apparatus of any sort. The instant claims call for comparing the naturally occurring protein expression level in a potential subject with a reference level. Even obtaining a sample from a subject or requiring an immune-detection based assay (claim 10) does not remove the instant claims from an abstract idea since the recent Alice Corp. decision indicates that requiring no more than well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea are insufficient to qualify as “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself. Additionally, "conventional or obvious" "[pre]solution activity" is normally not sufficient to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such a law". Flook, 437 U. S., at 590; see also Bilski, 561 U. S., at __ (slip op., at 14) ("[T]he prohibition against patenting abstract ideas 'cannot be circumvented by'..., adding 'insignificant post-solution activity'" (quoting Diehr, supra, at 191-192)).
As discussed above, Mitsuhashi et al. teaches obtaining biological samples from a subject, determining the protein expression levels to reach a diagnosis. Therefore, in addition to the judicial exception, the claimed techniques are well-understood, purely conventional or routine in the relevant field and must be taken by others to apply the judicial exception. The limitations are no more than a field of use or merely involve insignificant extra solution activity; e.g., data gathering, as the genes are known to be present naturally in the body of the subject and will undergo natural processes in response to a stimulant/agent or disease. They serve the ends nature originally provided and act quite independently of any effort of the patentee. See Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2117.
Therefore, these claims do not contain patent eligible material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “even assuming, arguendo, that claim 10 recites a natural relationship between biomarker expression levels and a stage of a neurodegenerative disease or dementia, claim 10 is not directed to that correlation itself” and that the Examiner alleges “there are no physical steps in the instant claims”. This is not found persuasive.
As currently amended, instant claim 10 continues to comprise method steps to obtaining a biological sample, isolating neuronal exosome from said sample, and measuring the expression levels of certain biomarkers in said sample and comparing the expression levels against a panel. These recited steps do not an active method, as they are simply observing the levels of proteins in a patient at risk of having Alzheimer’s disease. Applicant has not disclosed an active step in which they have discovered something novel, used a novel antibody, or manipulated the sample for the sake of an invention. Instead, they are describing the well-known, well-understood, purely conventional or routine ways of studying a particular protein in a population.
Applicant argues “the claimed method therefore cannot be practiced merely by looking at data generated elsewhere” and that “a method that requires obtaining a sample, performing exosome-based isolation and biomarker measurement, constructing a defined multi-pathway matrix, and using that matrix to assign a disease stage is a practical application of any alleged correlation, not a mere mental process”. This is not found persuasive.
As argued above, claim 10 is directed to a natural correlation and an abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims are drawn to a method of diagnosing a neurological disorder status, specifically Alzheimer’s disease, comprising the steps of determining the expression level of one of several biomarkers and performing the mental step of determining the status via risk level of an individual by comparison to a reference sample. The Examiner does not argue that the data can be generated elsewhere, but rather that observing the expression levels in a sample does not distinguish the instant invention from observing a natural correlation. This method of diagnosis is dependent on the natural correlation that exists between the expression of several biomarker levels that takes place in a neurological disorder such as Alzheimer’s disease (AD). Applicant has not contributed more to the method than what would be sufficient in a simple observation.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SELAM BERHANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/AURORA M FONTAINHAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675