DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, (drawn to a method for the treatment of ASD), in the reply filed on 07/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-16 (Group II and II) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected INVENTION, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is made Final.
Pending claims 1, 3 and 6-12 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
action.
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 7-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynn Durham (US 10,940,140B2) “Durham” in view of Ben-Ari Y, Trends Neurosci. 2017 Sep;40(9):536-554 “Ben-Ari”.
Regarding claim 1 and 7-9, Durham (abstract) teaches a method of treating patients suffering from autism spectrum disorder (ASD) phenotype 1 by administering an effective amount of a substance capable of raising intracellular cAMP levels. Durham (col. 3) teaches treatment of ASD with the following compounds:
Durham does not explicitly teach treating an ASD patient with either upregulation or downregulation.
However, Ben-Ari (page 538 and 541) teaches a patient with ASD has downregulation of KCC2 (encoded by SLC12a5) and once treated with bumetanide, patients displayed a significant improvement in symptoms.
Regrading repolarization of membrane, Ben-Ari (page 536-539, and 547) teaches that bumetanide can modulate transmembrane Cl- gradient and inhibit NKCC1, and that NKCC1 is an electroneutral neuronal Cl- importer and promote GABAergic mediated hyperpolarization. This indicates that treatment with bumetanide can induce repolarization of excitable cell membrane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to combine the teaching to of Durham and Ben-Ari to arrive at the claimed invention, because both references relate to treating ASD with bumetanide.
Regarding claim 12, Durham (col. 13) as applied to claim 1, teaches the following:
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 6, and 10-11 are objected as being dependent, directly or indirectly, on rejected claim 1.
Claims 3, 6, and 10-11 are free of the art of record. The closest prior art is Lynn Durham (US 10,940,140B2). While Durham teaches a method of treating patients suffering from autism spectrum disorder (ASD) phenotype 1 by administering an effective amount of a substance capable of raising intracellular cAMP, however Durham does not teach any of the claimed subject matter. The claim is not allowed because it relies on claim 1 that has been rejected. As a result, until this issue is remedied or resolved, the claim cannot be subject of allowance.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622