DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-13, filed 09/02/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Itoh (US 9567694)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 16, dependent on method claim 15, recites wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber exhibits a normalized recovery force, expressed as the recovery power at 200% elongation of the 5th unload cycle, of at least 0.023 centinewtons per decitex. However, because claim 15 is dependent on claim 1, which already recites this limitation, claim 16 appears redundant and does not further limit the subject matter.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 11-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (US 20110174317) in view of Itoh (US 9567694).
Regarding claim 1, Martin discloses an elasticized nonwoven laminate (paragraph 0076 describes a laminate structure of two nonwoven substrates sandwiching spandex elastomeric fibers recovering from extensions as great as 350%, paragraph 0076) comprising a high recovery power elastic fiber (paragraph 0076 describes the spandex in complete recovery) and a nonwoven laminate (paragraph 0076 describes two outer layers of nonwovens and an inner layer of the elastic),
wherein the fiber is adhesively bonded to the nonwoven laminate using a hot melt adhesive (paragraph 0078 of Martin teaches the adhesion of the fiber to the laminate via hot melt adhesive)
but fails to teach an elasticized nonwoven laminate comprises said high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber, wherein the polyurethane elastic fiber is prepared from a polyol, an organic diisocyanate compound, and a diamine compound, wherein the polyol has a minimum number average molecular weight of 450 and a maximum of 1600 g/mol, wherein a molar ratio of the organic diisocyanate compound to the polyol is greater than 1 but less than 1.7, wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber exhibits a normalized recovery force, expressed as the recovery power at 200% elongation of the 5th unload cycle of at least 0.023 centinewtons per decitex.
However, Itoh teaches a polyurethane elastic fiber prepared from a polyol, an organic diisocyanate compound, and a diamine compound (col. 2, lines 36-44), wherein the polyol has a minimum number average molecular weight of 450-1600 g/mol (col. 2, lines 36-44), wherein a molar ratio of the organic diisocyanate compound to the polyol is greater than 1.4 but less than 1.6 (col. 4, lines 30-31). Moreover, an example given as example 1 has a 5 cycle 200% recovery at 5.0 cN, which given the Fineness of 44 or 33 dTex would give a result of 0.11 cN/decitex or 0.15 cN/decitex, respectively (see pg. 9, table 1 Ex 1, 5 cycle 200% recovery in cN is 5.0, and describes fineness as 44 dTex, also see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing the creation of a 33 DTEX 4 filament yarn).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Martin such that the elasticized nonwoven laminate uses a high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber, wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber comprises a polyol, an organic diisocyanate compound, and a diamine compound, wherein a molar ratio of the organic diisocyanate compound to the polyol is greater than 1.4 but less than 1.6, wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber exhibits a normalized recovery force, expressed as the recovery power at 200% elongation of the 5th unload cycle, or at least 0.023 centinewtons per decitex, as taught by Itoh, for the purpose of providing an elastic fabric with a comfortable wear and fit even in thin and light fabric (see Itoh, abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Martin, as modified by Itoh, discloses wherein the elastic fiber has a decitex of 540-1880 (paragraph 0063), does not teach wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 30-1500.
However, Itoh grants example fineness of the elastic fibers at 44 and 33 dtex (see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing creating a 33 DTEX 4 filament yarn, and col. 9, Table 1 showing a 44 dtex yarn)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Martin such that the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 30-1500, as taught by Itoh, for the purpose of providing an elastic fabric with a comfortable wear and fit even in thin and light fabric (see Itoh, abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Martin, as modified by Itoh, discloses wherein the elastic fiber has a decitex of 540-1880 (paragraph 0063), does not teach wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 33-1100.
However, Itoh grants example fineness of the elastic fibers at 44 and 33 dtex (see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing creating a 33 DTEX 4 filament yarn, and col. 9, Table 1 showing a 44 dtex yarn)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Martin such that the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 33-1100, as taught by Itoh, for the purpose of providing an elastic fabric with a comfortable wear and fit even in thin and light fabric (see Itoh, abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Martin, as modified by Itoh, discloses an article of manufacture, at least of portion of which comprises the elasticized nonwoven laminate of claim 1 (Paragraph 0002 of Martin teaches the use of the composite structure as a whole in disposable hygiene products such as diapers, and Martin in view of Yoshioka discloses the nonwoven laminate of claim 1 in the analysis of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Martin discloses the article of manufacture which is a disposable hygiene product, disposable diaper, training pant or adult incontinence device or product; a catamenial device, garments or product; a bandage, wound dressing, surgical drape, surgical gown, surgical or other hygienic protective mask, hygienic gloves, head covering, head band, ostomy bag, bed pad or bed sheet (paragraph 0002 of Martin describes the use in diapers).
Regarding claim 13, Martin discloses the article which is a disposable diaper or training pant (paragraph 0002 of Martin describes the use in diapers).
Regarding claim 14, Martin discloses wherein the elasticized nonwoven laminate is positioned at a front panel, back panel, side panel, leg cuff, leg hole, belly band and/or waist band of the diaper or training pant (paragraph 0039 of Martin, “Such elements can include, for example, front, back and side panels, leg cuffs, and/or waist bands of diapers or training pants)
Regarding claim 15, Martin, as modified by Itoh, discloses said method comprising adhering a high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber to with the nonwoven laminate (Itoh discloses the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber, and Martin discloses where the elastic fiber is juxtaposed with the nonwoven laminate in paragraph 0076)
Regarding claim 16, Martin is silent to wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber exhibits a normalized recovery force, expressed as the recovery power at 200% elongation of the 5th unload cycle, or at least 0.023 centinewtons per decitex.
However, Itoh teaches example 1 having a 5 cycle 200% recovery at 5.0 cN, which given the Fineness of 44 or 33 dTex would give a result of 0.11 cN/decitex or 0.15 cN/decitex, respectively (see pg. 9, table 1 Ex 1, 5 cycle 200% recovery in cN is 5.0, and describes fineness as 44 dTex, also see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing the creation of a 33 DTEX 4 filament yarn).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Martin such that the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber exhibits a normalized recovery force, expressed as the recovery power at 200% elongation of the 5th unload cycle, or at least 0.023 centinewtons per decitex, as taught by Itoh, for the purpose of providing an elastic fabric with a comfortable wear and fit even in thin and light fabric (see Itoh, abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Martin, as modified by Itoh, discloses wherein the elastic fiber has a decitex of 540-1880 (paragraph 0063), does not teach wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 30-1500.
However, Itoh grants example fineness of the elastic fibers at 44 and 33 dtex (see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing creating a 33 DTEX 4 filament yarn, and col. 9, Table 1 showing a 44 dtex yarn)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Martin such that the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 30-1500, as taught by Itoh, for the purpose of providing an elastic fabric with a comfortable wear and fit even in thin and light fabric (see Itoh, abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Martin, as modified by Itoh, discloses wherein the elastic fiber has a decitex of 540-1880 (paragraph 0063), does not teach wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 33-1100.
However, Itoh grants example fineness of the elastic fibers at 44 and 33 dtex (see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing creating a 33 DTEX 4 filament yarn, and col. 9, Table 1 showing a 44 dtex yarn)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Martin such that the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber has a decitex of 33-1100, as taught by Itoh, for the purpose of providing an elastic fabric with a comfortable wear and fit even in thin and light fabric (see Itoh, abstract).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Itoh and further in view of Bivigou-Koumba (WO 2015038977).
Regarding claim 24, Martin discloses an elasticized nonwoven laminate (paragraph 0076 describes a laminate structure of two nonwoven substrates sandwiching spandex elastomeric fibers recovering from extensions as great as 350%, paragraph 0076) comprising a high recovery power elastic fiber (paragraph 0076 describes the spandex in complete recovery) and a nonwoven laminate (paragraph 0076 describes two outer layers of nonwovens and an inner layer of the elastic),
wherein the fiber is adhesively bonded to the nonwoven laminate using a hot melt adhesive (paragraph 0078 of Martin teaches the adhesion of the fiber to the laminate via hot melt adhesive)
but fails to teach an elasticized nonwoven laminate comprises said high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber, wherein the polyurethane elastic fiber is prepared from a polyol, an organic diisocyanate compound, and a diamine compound, wherein the polyol has a minimum number average molecular weight of 450 and a maximum of 1800 g/mol, wherein a weight by weight ratio of the polyol to the organic diisocyanate is about 1.86:1.00 to about 3.66:1.00, wherein the high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber exhibits a normalized recovery force, expressed as the recovery power at 200% elongation of the 5th unload cycle of at least 0.023 centinewtons per decitex.
However, Itoh teaches a polyurethane elastic fiber prepared from a polyol, an organic diisocyanate compound, and a diamine compound (col. 2, lines 36-44), wherein the polyol has a minimum number average molecular weight of 450-1600 g/mol (col. 2, lines 36-44), wherein a molar ratio of the organic diisocyanate compound to the polyol is greater than 1.4 but less than 1.6 (col. 4, lines 30-31). Moreover, Example 1 shown in table 1 shows a molecular weight ratio between the polyol and the diisocyanate as 2.6 (col. 9, table 1, example 1, also see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing 390g of PTMEG with 151.12g of MDI, confirming a ratio of 2.58, or 2.6). Further, example 1 has a 5 cycle 200% recovery at 5.0 cN, which given the Fineness of 44 or 33 dTex would give a result of 0.11 cN/decitex or 0.15 cN/decitex, respectively (see pg 9, table 1 Ex 1, 5 cycle 200% recovery in cN is 5.0, and describes fineness as 44 dTex, also see col. 8, lines 40-67 describing the creation of a 33 DTEX 4 filament yarn).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Martin such that the elasticized nonwoven laminate comprises said high recovery power polyurethane elastic fiber, wherein the polyurethane elastic fiber is prepared from a polyol, an organic diisocyanate compound, and a diamine compound, wherein the polyol has a minimum number average molecular weight of 450 and a maximum of 1800 g/mol, wherein a weight by weight ratio of the polyol to the organic diisocyanate is about 1.86:1.00 to about 3.66:1.00, as taught by Itoh, for the purpose of providing an elastic fabric with a comfortable wear and fit even in thin and light fabric (see Itoh, abstract).
Martin discloses wherein the elastic fiber is entrapped within the nonwoven laminate (paragraph 0034), but is silent to wherein the elastic fiber is entrapped in or juxtaposed within the nonwoven laminate using ultrasonic or thermos-mechanical methods.
However, Bivigou-Koumba teaches wherein in a laminate structure, the elastic fiber may be adhered by ultrasonic bonding or thermal bonding (claim 4, also see pg. 1, 3rd paragraph that describes the elastomeric fiber laminated between two or more layers of nonwovens describing the fiber entrapped within the nonwoven laminate)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Martin such that the elastic fiber is entrapped in or juxtaposed within the nonwoven laminate using ultrasonic or thermos-mechanical methods, as taught by Bivigou-Koumba, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of forming a laminate with an elastic fiber known in the art.
Conclusion
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781