DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 are no longer rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph or under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as a result of filed amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botticella (WO 2019/025633) and Ling et al. (US 2016/0369811).
Regarding claim 1, Botticella (B) discloses a heating apparatus, for recreational vehicles, comprising: a heating unit (1) and two separate heat exchanging units (6,6A, Figure 1), the heat exchanging units are coupled to the heating unit in parallel with each other; wherein the heating unit comprises one burner (2, 2A) for each heat exchanging unit and wherein the burners are configured to burn fuel gas or liquid supplied to each of the burners together with the combustion air received from the combustion air fan unit to achieve hot exhaust gasses (Pg. 6,Par.7), wherein the heat exchanging units are configured to receive the hot exhaust gasses from the burners and to transfer heat from the hot exhaust gasses to fluids to be heated (Pg.15, Par. 9), provided within the heat exchanging units.
Botticella (B) does not disclose one common single combustion air fan unit, wherein the single combustion air fan unit has only one single combustion fan for generating the flow of combustion air, and wherein the single combustion air fan comprises only one single fan wheel in the form of an impeller, the single combustion air fan unit further comprises two housing elements, wherein the housing elements are coupled to each other to form a combustion air flow path from one combustion air inlet opening provided in one of the two housing elements, via one single combustion air fan chamber enclosed by the two housing elements and containing the single combustion air fan, to two combustion air outlet openings provided in the housing elements, and wherein each of the combustion air outlet openings is coupled to one of the burners.
However, Ling (L) discloses a centrifugal fan with two outlets (Abstract) that can function as one common single combustion air fan unit, wherein the single combustion air fan unit has only one single combustion fan (2, Figure 2A) for generating the flow of combustion air, and wherein the single combustion air fan comprises only one single fan wheel in the form of an impeller (2), the single combustion air fan unit further comprises two housing elements (1,3), wherein the housing elements are coupled to each other to form a combustion air flow path (D1, Figure 1) from one combustion air inlet opening provided in one of the two housing elements, via one single combustion air fan chamber enclosed by the two housing elements and containing the single combustion air fan, to two combustion air outlet openings (D2, Figure 2A) provided in the housing elements, and wherein each of the combustion air outlet openings is capable of being coupled to one of the burners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a singular fan to route combustion air to two separate burner because this would reduce the number of fans needed and therefore reduce the cost of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first heat exchanging unit is configured to transfer heat from the hot exhaust gasses to a liquid to be heated, in particular water for sanitary or cooking purposes (B-Pg.3,Par.2), and/or the second heat exchanging unit is configured to transfer heat from the hot exhaust gasses to a gas to be heated, in particular ventilation air from the interior of the recreational vehicle
Regarding claim 3, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 2, wherein the burners (B-2,2A) are configured to operate the burners independently of each other to heat the fluids provided in the heat exchanging units independently of each other (B-Pg.13,Par. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 3, wherein the burners (B-2,2A) are coupled to the single combustion air fan unit (F, Figure 1, The fan would replace B-10, 7,7A in Figure 1) in parallel with each other such that a flow of combustion air generated by the single combustion air fan unit is split between the burners.
Regarding claim 7, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 4, wherein the single combustion air fan unit further comprises a combustion air fan driving unit coupled to the single combustion air fan and configured to drive the combustion air fan (2),wherein the combustion air fan driving unit is provided on an outer surface of one of the housing elements and is coupled to the combustion air fan via a driving rod lead through a driving rod through hole provided in the housing element on which the combustion air fan driving unit is provided [0034].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botticella (WO 2019/025633), Ling et al. (US 2016/0369811), and Sabin (US 4,752,211).
Regarding claim 8, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 7, but not wherein the single combustion air fan unit further comprises two combustion air valves and wherein each of the combustion air valves is configured to close a section of the combustion air flow path from the single combustion air fan chamber to one of the combustion air outlet openings.
However, Sabin (S) discloses a flow proportioning system wherein the single combustion air fan unit could further comprise two combustion air valves and wherein each of the combustion air valves is configured to close a section of the combustion air flow path from the single combustion air fan chamber to one of the combustion air outlet openings (5,C2,L46-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a valve system for the combustion air to control the combustion rate, which is well known in the art, because the single fan would not be able to provide different flow rates to the individual burners; Botticella varies the fans speeds to accomplish the proper mixture of combustion air.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botticella (WO 2019/025633), Ling et al. (US 2016/0369811), and Takubo et al, (US 6,041,743).
Regarding claim 9, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 1, but not that at least one of the burners comprises two nozzles configured to supply fuel gas or liquid to a combustion area in which the fuel gas or liquid is to be burned with the combustion air, and wherein each of the nozzles is coupled to its own fuel gas or liquid valve to control the fuel gas or liquid supply for each of the nozzles independently of each other.
However, Takubo (T) discloses a boiler and burner combination (Abstract) wherein at least one of the burners comprises two nozzles (27, Figure 3) configured to supply fuel gas or liquid to a combustion area in which the fuel gas or liquid is to be burned with the combustion air, and wherein each of the nozzles is coupled to its own fuel gas or liquid valve (20,21, Figure 1) to control the fuel gas or liquid supply for each of the nozzles independently of each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to provide an alternative burner system in a boiler system to accommodate different types of fuel, since it is common to have liquid or gaseous fuel sources in water heaters.
Regarding claim 12, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 1, but not that the heating unit further comprises a secondary air supply arrangement configured to provide a flow of secondary air to at least one, in particular both, of the burners.
However, Takubo (T) discloses a boiler and burner combination (Abstract) wherein the heating unit further comprises a secondary air supply arrangement (Figure 3) configured to provide a flow of secondary air to at least one, in particular both, of the burners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to provide an alternative burner using secondary air to provide for better combustion and less pollution.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botticella (WO 2019/025633), Ling et al. (US 2016/0369811), Takubo et al, (US 6,041,743), and Hein (US 3,601,310).
Regarding claim 10, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 9, but not that the fuel gas or liquid valves are monostopable valves being switchable between an opened operation state and a closed operation state.
However, Hein (H) disclose a water heater with a gas burner (Abstract) wherein the fuel gas or liquid valves are monostopable valves being switchable between an opened operation state and a closed operation state (3, Figure 1, C1, L62-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to provide an alternative valve system to control the fuel supply, on-off valves have the advantage of low cost and reliability and so would be an obvious choice if cost were a main concern.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botticella (WO 2019/025633), Ling et al. (US 2016/0369811), Takubo et al, (US 6,041,743), Hein (US 3,601,310), and Bode et al. (US 2013/0104554).
Regarding claim 11, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the heating apparatus of claim 10, but not that the nozzles of one burner differ from each other in cross section of its supply opening.
However, Bode (Bo) discloses a burner assembly (Abstract) wherein the nozzles of one burner (106,107, Figure 2, [0069]) differ from each other in cross section of its supply opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to provide varied nozzle diameters in order to vary the heat output of the burner because one heat exchanger may require more energy that the other to properly transfer the energy to the differing fluids.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botticella (WO 2019/025633), Ling et al. (US 2016/0369811), and Biggs (US 5,361,751).
Regarding claim 14, Botticella (B) discloses a method for heating two distinct fluids with a heating apparatus comprising the steps of: operating a single combustion air fan unit (10,7,7A, Figure 1) to generate a flow of combustion air from an external environment of the heating apparatus to each of two burners (2,2A); supplying fuel gas or liquid to each of the two burners; operating the two burners to burn a mixture of the combustion air with a fuel gas or liquid (Pg. 6, Par.7); supplying a first fluid to be heated to a first heat exchanging unit and supplying a second fluid to be heated (Pg. 13,Par. 2) different from the first fluid (Pg. 1,Par.2), to a second heat exchanging unit; guiding a first exhaust gasses of the combustion air within the first burner from the first burner to and through the first heat exchanging unit to transfer heat from the first exhaust gasses to the first fluid; and guiding a second exhaust gasses of the combustion air within the second burner form the second burner to and through the second heat exchanging unit to transfer heat from the second exhaust gasses to the second fluid heated (Pg.15, Par. 3&9), but does not disclose that the air fan unit has a single fan wheel in the form of an impeller and that after being guided through the heat exchanger units the exhaust gasses are used to preheat the combustion air.
However, Ling (L) discloses a single fan wheel in the form of an impeller (2, Abstract, Figure 1) that can function as one common single combustion air fan unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a singular fan to route combustion air to two separate burner because this would reduce the number of fans needed and therefore reduce the cost of the device.
Furthermore, Biggs (Bi) discloses a combination hot air and water heater (Abstract, Figure 1) wherein after being guided through the heat exchanging units the first and second exhaust gasses are used to preheat the combustion air (C7, L21-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to preheat the combustion air with exhaust air in order to increase the efficiency of combustion while utilizing waste heat in the process, thus increasing the heater's efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the single combustion air fan unit (L-F, Figure 1) is operated in such a manner that it can provide flow of combustion air to the burners simultaneously and in parallel with each other (L- D2, Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 16, Botticella (B), as modified, discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the burners (B- 2, 2A, Figure 1) are operated simultaneously such that the fluids are heated simultaneously (B-Pg.13, Par. 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762