Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 112b rejection of claim 1 (page 4) have been fully considered and – in light of the amendment - are persuasive, therefore the related objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejection of claim 1 (pages 4-5) have been fully considered and – in light of the amendment - are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of ASAKURA. See the 103 rejection of claim 1 below.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Appropriate correction is required.
Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
“It is thought that providing such devisal facilities a steering apparatus to maintain the performance under a freezing-temperature environment.” (page 3, lines 5- 7) which is grammatically incorrect.
“and which becomes thin as coming close to the coupled portion” (page 11, lines 3- 4) which is grammatically incorrect (see the related claim objection below).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “and which becomes thin as coming close to a coupled portion” is grammatically incorrect. For the purpose of examination it will be interpreted as “and which becomes thin {as it comes close to} a coupled portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOJO (US-20140291062-A1) in view of ASAKURA (US-20180162439-A1; note: cited as “prior art not relied on” in the Non-Final Office Action dated May 20, 2025) (note: the underlined portions below relate to the latest amendment, for the convenience of the applicant) (note that the MS Word version of the Office Action shows annotated figures in color, as opposed to in grayscale as printed in the PDF version of the same document).
Regarding claim 1, TOJO teaches a steering apparatus (Power Steering System 1, Fig. 1) comprising:
a turning shaft (Rack Shaft 14, Fig. 1) movable in a vehicle widthwise direction (Para. [0019] teaches the Rack Shaft moving in a longitudinal direction, which is understood as the width direction of a vehicle in view of Fig. 1);
a pinion shaft (Pinion Shaft 13, Fig. 1) meshed with the turning shaft (Para. [0019] teaches the Rack Shaft 14 moving in response to the rotation of the Pinion Shaft 13 and Fig. 1 illustrates Pinion Shaft 13 and Rack Shaft 14 being joined by Pinion Gear 13A and Rack Gear Teeth 14C such that they are understood to be meshed together);
a first housing (First Housing 21, Fig. 1) that retains therein the turning shaft (14) and the pinion shaft (13) (First Housing 21 being disposed around Rack Shaft 14 and Pinion Shaft 13 as illustrated in Fig. 1);
a ball screw (Ball Screw Mechanism 60, Fig. 1) that transmits drive force generated by a drive source (Electric Motor 40, Fig. 1) to the turning shaft (Para. [0024] teaches that the Ball Screw Mechanism 60 supplies a force from Electric Motor 40 to Rack Shaft 14); and
a second housing (Second Housing 22, Fig. 1) that retains therein the ball screw (Second Housing 22 being dispose around Ball Screw Mechanism 60 as illustrated in Fig. 1),
wherein a retaining portion (Drainage Device 100, Figs. 1-4) capable of storing water (Para. [0045] teaches that the Drainage Device 100 has a “valve closed state” in which water is retained in the Drainage Device 100) is provided at an inner circumferential surface (the inner surface of Second Housing 22 as illustrated in Fig. 1) of the second housing (Drainage Device 100 being located along at an inner surface of Second Housing 22 as illustrated in Fig. 1),
wherein a lower end surface (the bottom of Drainage Device 100 as illustrated in Fig. 1) of the retaining portion (100) is located below at least a lower end surface (the bottom of Ball Screw Mechanism 60 as illustrated in Fig. 1) of the ball screw (the bottom surface of Drainage Device 100 being lower than the bottom surface of Ball Screw Mechanism 60 as illustrated in Fig. 1),
wherein a first end portion (“E1”, Fig. 2 Annotated) of the retaining portion (100) in an axial direction (left and right in Figs. 1-2) of the turning shaft (14) is located between a belt member (Transmission Belt 53, Fig. 2) that links the ball screw (60) with the drive source (40) and a rack end stopper (“S-L”, Fig. 1 Annotated, considered a rack end stopper in that it is a feature in the Rack Shaft 14 that would stop its movement when it reached the Ball Screw Mechanism 60) at a drive-source side (the drive-source side being considered the left side of the Power Steering System 1 as illustrated in Figs 1-4 and indicated by direction “DS” in Figs. 1 & 2 Annotated) (First End Portion E1 of Drainage Device 100 being axially disposed between Transmission Belt 53 and Rack End Stopper S-L as illustrated in Figs. 1 & 2 Annotated),
wherein a second end portion (“E2-3”, Fig. 2 Annotated) of the retaining portion (100) located at a belt-member side (BS) relative to the first end portion (E1) in the axial direction (left and right) of the turning shaft (Second End Portion E2-3 being aligned to the right- i.e. on the Belt-Member Side BS- of First End Portion E1 of Drainage Device 100 along the length of Rack Shaft 14 as illustrated in Fig. 2 Annotated) has a same position in an axial direction of the turning shaft (14) as a position of a side face (“SF2”, Fig. 2 Annotated) of the belt member (53) at a pinion-shaft side (Second End Portion E2-3 being aligned in a left to right direction along the length of Rack Shaft 14 with the right side- i.e. pinion-shaft side- of Side Face SF2 of Transmission Belt 53 as illustrated in Fig. 2 Annotated),
wherein the first housing (21) comprises an inclined portion (“IP”, Fig. 1 Annotated) which is formed at an inner circumferential surface (the surface formed on the inside of First Housing 21 and indicated by Inner Space 23, Fig. 1) and which becomes thin {as it comes close to} (see the corresponding claim objection above) a coupled portion (the joint between First and Second Housings 21 & 22, Fig. 1; see also the corresponding 112b rejection above) between the first housing (21) and the second housing (Inclined Portion IP being formed in Inner Space 23 and becoming smaller- i.e. thinner- as it extends from First Housing 21 towards Second Housing 22; to the right in Fig. 1 Annotated).
TOJO does not teach a groove.
ASAKURA teaches, in another steering apparatus (Abstract), a groove portion (Drain Passage 200, Figs. 5 & 6) which has an open upper end (the upper side of Drain Passage 200 in Figs. 5 & 6 being open to Hole 88 above it) and a lower end (the upper side of Drain Passage 200 in Figs. 5 & 6 having a closed face).
ASAKURA further teaches that Drain Passage 200 is provided to advantageously drain water in a Ball Screw Chamber 56 (Para. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of TOJO and ASAKURA in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TOJO’s steering apparatus to include a groove as suggested by ASAKURA. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a feature to drain a ball screw chamber as taught by ASAKURA and discussed above that would beneficially make a steering apparatus that is more resistant to adverse weather conditions such as rain and standing water.
Conclusion
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611