DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The amendment filed on 2/13/2023 to the Non-Final office action of 8/13/2025 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1-6, 11-12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22-24, 26-28, 30, 31-33 and 35 are currently pending. Claims 26-28, 30, 31-33 and 35 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non
elected invention.
In the response to the species requirement, Applicants elected the following species:
which reads on claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-12 and 22. The examiner expanded the election to encompass structurally similar compounds found in the prior art as set forth below. According, 1-6, 11-12, 14 and 22-24 are currently under consideration, where claims 16, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected/expanded species.
Rejections Maintained:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-12, 14 and 22-24 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (WO2019/014429A1, 2019-01-17, IDS) referred to herein as Dana in view of Higuchi et al. (US2015/0239878A1, 2015-08-27, IDS).
Dana teaches compounds of Formula I: T-L-E, wherein T is a tau protein binding moiety, E is an E3 ubiquitin binding moiety and L is a substituted or unsubstituted alkylene, substituted or unsubstituted alkenylene, substituted or unsubstituted alkynylene, substituted or unsubstituted arylene, substituted or unsubstituted heterocyclylene, substituted or unsubstituted arylene, substituted or unsubstituted heteroarylene, substituted or unsubstituted heteroalkylene, a bond or a variety of substituted heteroatoms (paragraph 00121). With regards to T, the WO document teaches that T includes, but is not limited to,
which reads on the instantly claimed Tau targeting ligand (page 66). Moreover, the WO document teaches that compounds having the following formulas wherein T is a tau targeting moiety and q is 1-6 or 1-4:
,
,
,
,
,
which read on the instantly claimed Linker and Degron (claims 46-53 of the WO document). Moreover, the WO document teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (claim 57 of the WO document). With regards to the pharmaceutical composition, the WO document teaches that the pharmaceutical composition is in the form of a solid or a liquid (paragraph 00373).
While Dana contemplates targeting moieties having the structure
, Dana does not specifically select a targeting moiety having said structures. Nor does Dana teach wherein q is as recited in claim 22 of the instant application.
Higuchi et al. teach compounds that can specifically bind to Tau aggregates having the formula
, wherein ring A is a benzene ring or pyridine and ring B has the formula
(paragraphs 0012-0017). In particular, the PG Publication teaches specific compounds encompassed by formula I including, but not limited to, a compound referred to as PBB3 having the structure:
which bound strongly with NFT’s in the AD patient’s hippocampus (paragraph 0083, Table 1, and paragraph 0428).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify compound taught by Dana to include a Tau targeting compound having the formula
in view of the teachings of Higuchi et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Higuchi et al. teach a structurally similar compound having high affinity for NFT’s in AD patient’s hippocampus.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the linker within the compound taught by Dana to include 2, 3, 4 or 5 methylene or methoxy groups. One would have been motivated to do so because compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Accordingly, it would appear that the specific compounds claimed in claim 22 of the instant application are obvious over the combination for the reasons set forth above.
In response to this rejection, Applicants contend that Dana-Farber fails to disclose any molecules with a tau targeting ligand further comprising an alkylene-amide or PEG amide linker. Moreover, Applicants contend that in order to arrive at the claims as amended, Dana-Farber would have to select a specific tau targeting ligand from over two dozen, a linker that was an alkylene-amide linker or PEG-amide linker out of a near infinite number of linkers, wherein there is no motivation or suggestion that these linkers are superior to any other linkers especially with the specific tau targeting ligand described by the examiner. Applicants further contend that Huguchi does not remedy the deficiencies of Dana-Farber. Lastly, Applicants contend that the results shown by compounds within the scope of the claims as amended are unexpected, as shown in Example 7, wherein the compounds within the scope of the claims are useful for degrading tau protein in cultured human differentiated frontotemporal dementia neurons. By contrast, Applicants contend that neither Dana-Farber nor Higuchi provide evidence that compounds falling within the scope of the claims would be effective at degrading tau protein.
These arguments have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In response to Applicants arguments pertaining to the teachings of Dana-Farber, the Examiner acknowledges that the WO document does not specifically provide an example of a tau targeting ligand further comprising an alkylene-amide or PEG amide linker. However, the examiner recognizes that Dana-Faber does contemplate a Tau targeting ligand such as
, as well as, provides a number of compounds having an alkylene-amide linker linked to the degrader such as
, wherein T is the targeting ligand (see for example, claim 51 of the WO document). Specific selection of the T comes from the teachings of Huguchi as described above. Regarding Applicants assertion of unexpected results, the Examiner has reviewed example 7 of the specification and cannot find any specific recitation of “surprising” or “unexpected” and Applicants have not specifically pointed out how or why the results of Example 7 are truly unexpected. "[A]ppellants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness." Ex parte Ishizaka, 24 USPQ2d 1621, 1624 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP 716.02 (b). Application are reminded that [A]rguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Examples of statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 12 and 23 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 74-79 and 91 of copending Application No. 18/200,950 in view of Higuchi et al. (US2015/0239878A1, 2015-08-27, IDS).
Copending Application No. 18/200,950 claims a compound of formula I: T-L-E, wherein T is a tau protein binding moiety having the structure:
, R3 is
, L is
and E is
(claim 1). The copending application further claims specific compounds including, but not limited to,
. The copending application further claims a pharmaceutical composition.
The copending application does not claim wherein T is
.
Higuchi et al. teach compounds that can specifically bind to Tau aggregates having the formula
, wherein ring A is a benzene ring or pyridine and ring B has the formula
(paragraphs 0012-0017). In particular, the PG Publication teaches specific compounds encompassed by formula I including, but not limited to, a compound referred to as PBB3 having the structure:
which bound strongly with NFT’s in the AD patient’s hippocampus (paragraph 0083, Table 1, and paragraph 0428).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify compound claimed by the copending application to include a Tau targeting compound having the formula
in view of the teachings of Higuchi et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Higuchi et al. teach a structurally similar compound having high affinity for NFT’s in AD patient’s hippocampus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
In response to this rejection, Applicant request that the provisional NSDP rejection be held in abeyance until resolution of the other rejections.
As such, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626