DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed February 20, 2026, which amends claims 1, 4, 5, cancels claim 6, and adds claims 10-15. Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed February 20, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2017/0213969) in view of Kim et al. (KR 2053569) as set forth in the Office action mailed November 26, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee et al. (WO 2015/041428) (hereafter “Hee”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, in view of Kim et al. (KR 2053569), where Kim et al. (US 2022/0352473) (hereafter “Kim”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 10-15, Hee teaches an electroluminescent device comprising, an anode, a light auxiliary layer (applicant’s hole transporting layer), a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode (page 114 of the machine translation). Hee teaches that the light auxiliary layer (applicant’s hole transporting layer), can be composed of the following compound,
is an examples (paragraphs 11, 12, and 114 of the machine translation). Hee does not limit the material used in the light emitting layer and teaches that the material can emit blue light (page 114 of the machine translation). Hee teaches that the hole transporting layer and the light emitting layer are made using vapor deposition (page 114 of the machine translation). Hee teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in a full color display that can be used to produce full-color images (pages 1, 7, 8, and 14 of the machine translation).
Hee does not teach where the dopant meets applicant’s formula 2.
Kim teaches blue dopants for use in electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [1118]-[1122]). Kim teaches that the dopants can have the following structure,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0259] and [1118]-[1122]). Kim teaches that using these dopants leads to electroluminescent devices that emit blue light with high efficiency, low voltage, and a long lifetime (paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shin so the light emitting dopant was one of the compounds taught by Kim,
,
,
, or
. The motivation would have been to make a blue emitting device that has a high efficiency, low voltage, and a long lifetime.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or make obvious electroluminescent device where the light emitting layer comprises a compound that meet applicant’s formula D. The closest prior art of Kim et al. (KR 2053569), where Kim et al. (US 2022/0352473) (hereafter “Kim”) is used as the English equivalent, teaches blue dopants for use in electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [1118]-[1122]). Kim teaches that the dopants can have the following structure,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0259] and [1118]-[1122]). Kim nor the prior art make obvious compounds that meet applicant’s formula D. Given the lack of teachings in the prior art claims 1-5 and 7-9 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759