Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2 recite “determine a number
Q
'
S
C
I
2
of coded modulation symbols for second stage Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmitted in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) based on a plurality of parameters which includes
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) and excludes
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l).” Applicant’s original Specification does not appear to disclose excluding
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) from calculating
Q
'
S
C
I
2
.
Applicant’s published Specification discloses, for example in paragraph [0168], the a number of coded modulation symbols of second stage SCI
Q
'
S
C
I
2
is determined according several listed parameters, using the terminology “and/or” between each listed parameter. Paragraphs [0169]-[0170] further disclose the formula for calculating
Q
'
S
C
I
2
based on the number
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
of subcarriers for SCI2, and then the formula for calculating
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
, where the number
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
is equal to the number of
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) of subcarriers in OFDM symbol l that carry a PSCCH minus the total numbers of subcarriers carrying DMRS, CSI-RS, PT-RS and PSCCH in symbol l. In other words, the number
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
of subcarriers for SCI2 is equal to the number
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) of subcarriers in symbol l that are left available for SCI2 after numbers of subcarriers are used/subtracted for DMRS, CSI-RS, PT-RS and PSCCH (see, for example, the formula for
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
in paragraph [0170] of Applicant’s published Specification, which is well known in the art and disclosed in all of the Examiner’s cited references).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would have understood that, the terminology “and/or” in paragraph [0168] indicates that, in some symbols, no subcarriers would be allocated for DMRS because no DMRS would be present, and the value of
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) for that symbol would be zero. That is not the same as “excludes
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l)” from the parameters on which the determination of
Q
'
S
C
I
2
is based. The term “excludes
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l)” means that subcarriers would be allocated for DMRS in a symbol l and that those DMRS symbols are not subtracted from the number of symbols available for SCI2. The is further supported by the formula disclosed in paragraph [0170].
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 1-2 recite “determine a number
Q
'
S
C
I
2
of coded modulation symbols for second stage Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmitted in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) based on a plurality of parameters which includes
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) and excludes
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l).” Further, Applicant’s Specification discloses calculating a number
Q
'
S
C
I
2
of coded modulation symbols for second stage SCI transmitted in a PSSCH based on the number
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
of subcarriers for SCI2, where the number
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
of subcarriers for SCI2 is equal to the number of
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) of subcarriers in OFDM symbol l that carry a PSCCH minus the total numbers of subcarriers carrying DMRS, CSI-RS, PT-RS and PSCCH in symbol l. In other words, the number
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
of subcarriers for SCI2 is equal to the number
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) of subcarriers in symbol l that are left available for SCI2 after numbers of subcarriers are used for DMRS, CSI-RS, PT-RS and PSCCH (see, for example, the formula for
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
in paragraph [0170] of Applicant’s published Specification, which is well known in the art and disclosed in all of the Examiner’s cited references).
However, Applicant’s amended claims recite that there is a number
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) of subcarriers carrying DMRS in symbol l and that
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) is excluded from the calculation of
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
. Accordingly, Applicant’s claimed calculation for
Q
'
S
C
I
2
incorrectly calculates the number
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
of subcarriers available for SCI2 in symbol l. Therefore, more subcarriers would be allocated to SCI2 than are available. Applicant’s Specification does not explain how this conflicting allocation of subcarriers in symbol l would be resolved, and does not enable how Applicant’s invention would function with a conflict caused by the allocation conflict for subcarriers in symbol l.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei et al., "Remaining details of sidelink physical layer structure", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #100-e, R1-2000181, February 24 - March 6, 2020, 26 pages (cited in Applicant’s IDS file on September 16, 2022) (Hereafter, R1-2000181) in view of Guo et al. (US 2022/0377707) (and priority document CN2020/074039 filed on January 23, 2020), and further in view of Yeo et al. (US 2020/0351856).
Regarding Claim 1, R1-2000181 discloses a User equipment (R1-2000181, page 1, section 2.1, UE), comprising:
determine a number
Q
'
S
C
I
2
of coded modulation symbols for second stage Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmitted in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) based on at least a plurality of parameters which includes
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) and excludes
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l), wherein
the
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) is the number of subcarriers in Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol l that carry a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) and the PSCCH carries first stage SCI,
l = 0, 1, 2 …,
N
s
y
m
b
o
l
P
S
S
C
H
– 1,
the
N
s
y
m
b
o
l
P
S
S
C
H
represents a number of OFDM symbols occupied in PSSCH transmission, and
the
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) is a number of subcarriers carrying a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) corresponding to the PSSCH on the OFDM symbol l.
(R1-2000181, page 19, section 2.9 AGC, PSSCH DMRS (if present); pages 22-23, section 8.4.4, number of coded modulation symbols for 2nd stage SCI transmission Q’SCI2 is determined by the given equation based on
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
, expressed as a number of subcarriers,
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) is the number of subcarriers in OFDM symbol l that carries DMRS, in the PSSCH transmission, and
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
is determined by a given equation based on sets of subcarriers being excluded from
M
S
C
P
S
S
C
H
,
N
s
y
m
b
o
l
P
S
S
C
H
represents a number of OFDM symbols occupied in PSSCH transmission, l = 0, 1, 2 …,
N
s
y
m
b
o
l
P
S
S
C
H
; page 23, Conclusions section, Proposal 2: The number of REs for PSCCH are excluded from the number of REs for the lowest-index sub-channel of the allocated sub-channel(s) for the PSSCH, Proposal 3: TBS determination for allocated sub-channel(s) for PSSCH shall take into account all sidelink RSs (DMRS, CSI-RS and PTRS), 1st-stage SCI (PSCCH), 2nd-stage SCI)
R1-2000181 does not explicitly disclose a processor; and a memory storin instructions, wherein the instructions stored in the memory are executable.
Guo discloses a User equipment (Guo, paragraph [0006], terminal device), comprising:
a processor; and a memory storin instructions, wherein the instructions stored in the memory are executable (Guo, paragraph [0104], processor couple to a memory configured to execute instructions) to:
determine a number of coded modulation symbols for second stage Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmitted in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (Guo, paragraph [0199], eqn. 4; paragraph [0229], Noh_SCI2RE may be applied to determining a quantity of modulation symbols output based on an encoding rate of the second stage control information) based on a plurality of parameters which includes
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) and excludes
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l), wherein the
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) is the number of subcarriers in Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol l that carry a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) and the PSCCH carries first stage SCI,
l = 0, 1, 2 …,
N
s
y
m
b
o
l
P
S
S
C
H
– 1,
the
N
s
y
m
b
o
l
P
S
S
C
H
represents a number of OFDM symbols occupied in PSSCH transmission, and
the
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) is a number of subcarriers carrying a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) corresponding to the PSSCH on the OFDM symbol l.
(Guo, Fig. 3; paragraph [0199], eqn. 4; paragraphs [0206]-[0207], eqn. 4c; the claimed SCI2 is second-stage control information and the PSCCH is the “control channel” shown in Fig. 3, and, in symbols 1 and 2, the number of subcarriers of the second-stage control information is the total number of subcarriers minus the number of subcarriers of the “control channel”;
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) is the quantity of subcarriers occupied by the data channel pilot [DMRS] on symbol l; accordingly, if no symbols were occupied by the DMRS on symbol l, then
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) would be zero in the calculation of
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
) (CN2020/074039, Fig. 3, the claimed SCI2 is second-stage control information and the PSCCH is the “control channel” shown in Fig. 3, and, in symbols 1 and 2, the number of subcarriers of the second-stage control information is the total number of subcarriers minus the number of subcarriers of the “control channel”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a processor; and a memory storin instructions, wherein the instructions stored in the memory are executable to implement the invention of R1-2000181. The motivation to combine the references would have been to implement a UE according to known methods.
Although R1-2000181 and Guo disclose all of the claim limitations, the Examiner includes the Yeo reference in order to advance prosecution.
Yeo also discloses determine a number of coded modulation symbols for second stage Sidelink Control Information (SCI) transmitted in a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (Yeo, paragraph [0199], eqn. 2, second control information mapped onto PSSCH, the number Q’SCI2 of bits coded using channel coding calculated using equation 2, which is based on
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
) based on at least
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l), wherein the
M
S
C
P
S
C
C
H
(l) is the number of subcarriers in Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol l that carry a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) and the PSCCH carries first stage (Yeo, Figs. 24f, 24g, 26f, 26g, 28d, 30, in symbol 2 or 3, second control information is mapped to the remaining subcarriers after excluding the PSCCH subcarriers; paragraph [0391],
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
is the number of REs onto which the second control information can be mapped, and in the process of acquiring the number of REs, regions onto which at least one of the PSCCH, DMRS, or PT-RS is mapped may be excluded (from the number of REs); if no symbols were occupied by the DMRS on symbol l, then
M
S
C
D
M
R
S
(l) would be zero in the calculation of
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
).
Claim 2 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims are patentable because the cited references allegedly do not disclose that a DMRS is excluded from the calculation of the number of coded modulation symbols for second stage (SCI) Q’SCI2. However, Firstly, Applicant’s original Specification does not appear to disclose that limitation. Secondly, all of the cited references disclose that there may be no subcarriers that are used for DMRS on a particular symbol, in which case the calculation of the number of coded modulation symbols for second stage (SCI) Q’SCI2 would not subtract a number of subcarriers for DMRS. Further, Guo discloses, in paragraph [0391],
M
S
C
S
C
I
2
is the number of REs onto which the second control information can be mapped, and in the process of acquiring the number of REs, regions onto which at least one of the PSCCH, DMRS, or PT-RS is mapped may be excluded (from the number of REs).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419