DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-19 and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0057995 (Kim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a clothes dryer (¶ 2) that discloses a cabinet (Cabinet 10 in Figure 1); a container located in the cabinet (Container 20), the container including a front surface having an opening (Opening at 15 in Figure 1) and an inlet port spaced from the opening (Figures 3 and 4 with the inlet after 211 leading to the drum), a rear surface having an exhaust port (Figures 3 with the arrow leading towards 103), and a body extending between the front surface and the rear surface (Evident of Figures 1, 3, and 4); a drum rotatably supported in the container (Drum 30); an induction heater arranged at an outer surface of the body of the container, the induction heater being configured to heat the drum (Induction heater 70 per ¶ 25 and 26); a supply duct arranged at an outer side of the container, the supply duct extending along the body of the container (Supply duct 80/81 per ¶ 42 and Figure 5), the supply duct including an outlet portion in communication with the inlet port of the container (Outlet from 81 in Figures 5/6), the outlet portion having an exit portion extending rearward and connected to the inlet port of the container (Figures 5 and 6), the exit portion being directed toward a space between the drum and the container (Space seen in Figure 7 with the exit at 811 appears to slightly curve rearward and directed towards the space between 20 and 30); and an exhaust duct connected to the supply duct, the exhaust duct being in communication with the exhaust port (Exhaust duct in Figures 7 and 8 at 822).
Regarding claim 12, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 11 where Kim further discloses that the inlet port of the container is located above the opening of the container (Evident form Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 12 where Kim further discloses that the induction heater is located at an upper side of the body of the container (Evident form Figure 5).
Regarding claim 14, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 11 where Kim further discloses that the drum comprises: a drum body (Body of 30 in Figure 1, 2, and 5); at least one hole formed in the drum body (Central hole for door 15 and penetrating holes 33); and a drum front portion extending from a front end of the drum body, the drum front portion having a drum opening (Front of drum 30 in Figure 2 for clothing to be entered through).
Regarding claim 15, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 14 where Kim further discloses that the inlet port of the container faces the drum front portion (Evident from Figures 1, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 16, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 15 where Kim further discloses that the drum front portion comprises an inclined surface extending downward and forward from the drum body at a position corresponding to the inlet port of the container (Figure 1 shows the incline of the drum 30 at the clothes inlet side).
Regarding claim 17, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 14 where Kim further discloses that the drum front portion comprises an extending portion extending forward from the drum body to provide the drum opening (Extension of the drum body seen in Figure 1), and wherein the inlet port of the container is located rearward of the drum opening (Figures 1 and 5 each show the same structure as Figure 1 of the Applicant).
Regarding claim 18, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 11 where Kim further discloses that the exhaust port of the container is located at a lower side of the rear surface of the container, and wherein the exhaust duct extends upward from the exhaust port (Figures 3/6/7/8).
Regarding claim 19, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 18 where Kim further discloses a heat exchange portion arranged in the exhaust duct, the heat exchange portion being configured to absorb heat from air discharged from the container (Heat exchanger 823 per Figures 5-8 with ¶ 49 and 68-70).
Regarding claim 22, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 18 where Kim further discloses a ventilation portion configured to generate air flow from the exhaust duct toward the supply duct (Ventilation of 825 per ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches a clothes dryer (¶ 2) that discloses a cabinet (Cabinet 10 in Figure 1); a container located in the cabinet (Container 20), the container including a front surface having an opening (Opening at 15 in Figure 1) and an inlet port spaced from the opening (Figures 3 and 4 with the inlet after 211 leading to the drum), a rear surface having an exhaust port (Figures 3 with the arrow leading towards 103), and a body extending between the front surface and the rear surface (Evident of Figures 1, 3, and 4); a drum rotatably supported in the container (Drum 30); an induction heater arranged at an outer surface of the body of the container, the induction heater being configured to heat the drum (Induction heater 70 per ¶ 25 and 26), the induction heater having a heater cover (Cover 72 in Figure 2) and a connector protruding from the heater cover (Connector being the mounting legs of 70 to 25); a supply duct arranged at an outer side of the container, the supply duct extending along the body of the container (Supply duct 80/81 per ¶ 42 and Figure 5), the supply duct including an outlet portion in communication with the inlet port of the container (Outlet from 81 in Figures 5/6), an exhaust duct connected to the supply duct, the exhaust duct being in communication with the exhaust port (Exhaust duct in Figures 7 and 8 at 822); and a ventilation portion connecting the exhaust duct to the supply duct and physically coupled to the connector of the heater cover (Ventilation of 825 per ¶ 86 and in Figures 5 and 6 shows ducting holding the ventilation portion being physically connected to the container 20 which is physically connected to the connector of the heater cover).
Regarding claim 24, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses a heat exchange portion arranged in the exhaust duct, the heat exchange portion being configured to absorb heat from air discharged from the container (Heat exchanger 823 per Figures 5-8 with ¶ 49 and 68-70).
Regarding claim 25, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the outlet portion comprises an exit portion extending rearward and connected to the inlet port of the container (Figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 26, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the inlet port of the container is located above the opening of the container (Figures 1, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 27, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the induction heater is located at an upper side of the body of the container (Figures 1, 2, and 5).
Regarding claim 28, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the drum comprises: a drum body (Body of 30 in Figure 1, 2, and 5); at least one hole formed in the drum body (Central hole for door 15 and penetrating holes 33); and a drum front portion extending from a front end of the drum body, the drum front portion having a drum opening (Front of drum 30 in Figure 2 for clothing to be entered through).
Regarding claim 29, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the exhaust port of the container is located at a lower side of the rear surface of the container, and wherein the exhaust duct extends upward from the exhaust port (Figures 3/6/7/8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0057995 (Kim) in view of US 2005/0066538 (Goldberg hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 19 but are silent with respect to a drain portion configured to drain water discharged from the container and condensate formed by the heat exchange portion.
However, Goldberg teaches a dryer that discloses a drain portion configured to drain water discharged from the container and condensate formed by the heat exchange portion (Drain pump 1022 from 22 in Figure 36 per ¶ 347).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dryer of Kim with the drain system of Goldberg to allow for excess water to leave the dryer and not cause damage.
Regarding claim 21, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 20 where the combination of Kim and Goldberg would further disclose that the drain portion includes: a drain pump (Pump 102 in Figure 36 of Goldberg); a first drain pipe connected between the drain pump and the container (Pipe between 22 and 1022 of Goldberg Figure 36); and a second drain pipe connected between the drain pump and an exterior of the cabinet (¶ 347 with the pipe from 1022 to “drain” of Figure 36 of Goldberg).
Regarding claim 30, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 24 but are silent with respect to a drain portion configured to drain water discharged from the container and condensate formed by the heat exchange portion.
However, Goldberg teaches a dryer that discloses a drain portion configured to drain water discharged from the container and condensate formed by the heat exchange portion (Drain pump 1022 from 22 in Figure 36 per ¶ 347).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dryer of Kim with the drain system of Goldberg to allow for excess water to leave the dryer and not cause damage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 11 have been reviewed but are not found to be persuasive. The amendment to claim 1 requires “the exit portion being directed toward a space between the drum and the container.” Kim in Figures 7 and 8 appears to show the slight curve at 811 which is being seen as the exit portion being directed towards a space between the drum 30 and container 20 while being pointed towards a rear direction. Furthermore, US 2005/0229647 (Park) shows this feature as well in Figure 1 with exit at 20a. For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 11 are not found to be persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 23 have been reviewed but are not found to be persuasive. Applicant argues that the Kim reference fails to disclose that there is no connector protruding from the heater cover and a ventilation portion connecting the exhaust duct to the supply duct and physically coupled to the connector of the heater cover. However, the Examiner views that the protruding legs of 70 to 25 in Kim Figure 2 act as the claimed connector. Furthermore, the limitation of “a ventilation portion connecting the exhaust duct to the supply duct and physically coupled to the connector of the heater cover” has been broadly rejected above in claim 23. Applicant shows in their Figures 3 and 4 the desired direct connection between the supply duct and the heater cover. The Examiner advises the Applicant to clarify the connection relationship to overcome the interpretation used.
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762