DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed 12/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 11-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-19 and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0057995 (Kim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a clothes dryer (¶ 2) that discloses a cabinet (Cabinet 10 in Figure 1); a container located in the cabinet (Container 20), the container including a front surface having an opening (Opening at 15 in Figure 1) and an inlet port spaced from the opening (Figures 3 and 4 with the inlet after 211 leading to the drum), a rear surface having an exhaust port (Figures 3 with the arrow leading towards 103), and a body extending between the front surface and the rear surface (Evident of Figures 1, 3, and 4); a drum rotatably supported in the container (Drum 30); an induction heater arranged at an outer surface of the body of the container, the induction heater being configured to heat the drum (Induction heater 70 per ¶ 25 and 26); a supply duct arranged at an outer side of the container, the supply duct extending along the body of the container (Supply duct 80/81 per ¶ 42 and Figure 5), the supply duct including an outlet portion in communication with the inlet port of the container (Outlet from 81 in Figures 5/6), the outlet portion having an exit portion extending rearward and connected to the inlet port of the container (Figures 5 and 6); and an exhaust duct connected to the supply duct, the exhaust duct being in communication with the exhaust port (Exhaust duct in Figures 7 and 8 at 822).
Regarding claim 12, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 11 where Kim further discloses that the inlet port of the container is located above the opening of the container (Evident form Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 12 where Kim further discloses that the induction heater is located at an upper side of the body of the container (Evident form Figure 5).
Regarding claim 14, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 11 where Kim further discloses that the drum comprises: a drum body (Body of 30 in Figure 1, 2, and 5); at least one hole formed in the drum body (Central hole for door 15 and penetrating holes 33); and a drum front portion extending from a front end of the drum body, the drum front portion having a drum opening (Front of drum 30 in Figure 2 for clothing to be entered through).
Regarding claim 15, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 14 where Kim further discloses that the inlet port of the container faces the drum front portion (Evident from Figures 1, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 16, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 15 where Kim further discloses that the drum front portion comprises an inclined surface extending downward and forward from the drum body at a position corresponding to the inlet port of the container (Figure 1 shows the incline of the drum 30 at the clothes inlet side).
Regarding claim 17, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 14 where Kim further discloses that the drum front portion comprises an extending portion extending forward from the drum body to provide the drum opening (Extension of the drum body seen in Figure 1), and wherein the inlet port of the container is located rearward of the drum opening (Figures 1 and 5 each show the same structure as Figure 1 of the Applicant).
Regarding claim 18, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 11 where Kim further discloses that the exhaust port of the container is located at a lower side of the rear surface of the container, and wherein the exhaust duct extends upward from the exhaust port (Figures 3/6/7/8).
Regarding claim 19, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 18 where Kim further discloses a heat exchange portion arranged in the exhaust duct, the heat exchange portion being configured to absorb heat from air discharged from the container (Heat exchanger 823 per Figures 5-8 with ¶ 49 and 68-70).
Regarding claim 22, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 18 where Kim further discloses a ventilation portion configured to generate air flow from the exhaust duct toward the supply duct (Ventilation of 825 per ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches a clothes dryer (¶ 2) that discloses a cabinet (Cabinet 10 in Figure 1); a container located in the cabinet (Container 20), the container including a front surface having an opening (Opening at 15 in Figure 1) and an inlet port spaced from the opening (Figures 3 and 4 with the inlet after 211 leading to the drum), a rear surface having an exhaust port (Figures 3 with the arrow leading towards 103), and a body extending between the front surface and the rear surface (Evident of Figures 1, 3, and 4); a drum rotatably supported in the container (Drum 30); an induction heater arranged at an outer surface of the body of the container, the induction heater being configured to heat the drum (Induction heater 70 per ¶ 25 and 26), the induction heater having a heater cover (Cover 72 in Figure 2) and a connector (Connector being the mounting legs of 70 to 25); a supply duct arranged at an outer side of the container, the supply duct extending along the body of the container (Supply duct 80/81 per ¶ 42 and Figure 5), the supply duct including an outlet portion in communication with the inlet port of the container (Outlet from 81 in Figures 5/6), an exhaust duct connected to the supply duct, the exhaust duct being in communication with the exhaust port (Exhaust duct in Figures 7 and 8 at 822); and a ventilation portion connecting the exhaust duct to the supply duct and the connector of the inductor heater cover (Ventilation of 825 per ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 24, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses a heat exchange portion arranged in the exhaust duct, the heat exchange portion being configured to absorb heat from air discharged from the container (Heat exchanger 823 per Figures 5-8 with ¶ 49 and 68-70).
Regarding claim 25, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the outlet portion comprises an exit portion extending rearward and connected to the inlet port of the container (Figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 26, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the inlet port of the container is located above the opening of the container (Figures 1, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 27, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the induction heater is located at an upper side of the body of the container (Figures 1, 2, and 5).
Regarding claim 28, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the drum comprises: a drum body (Body of 30 in Figure 1, 2, and 5); at least one hole formed in the drum body (Central hole for door 15 and penetrating holes 33); and a drum front portion extending from a front end of the drum body, the drum front portion having a drum opening (Front of drum 30 in Figure 2 for clothing to be entered through).
Regarding claim 29, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 23 where Kim further discloses that the exhaust port of the container is located at a lower side of the rear surface of the container, and wherein the exhaust duct extends upward from the exhaust port (Figures 3/6/7/8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0057995 (Kim) in view of US 2005/0066538 (Goldberg hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 19 but are silent with respect to a drain portion configured to drain water discharged from the container and condensate formed by the heat exchange portion.
However, Goldberg teaches a dryer that discloses a drain portion configured to drain water discharged from the container and condensate formed by the heat exchange portion (Drain pump 1022 from 22 in Figure 36 per ¶ 347).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dryer of Kim with the drain system of Goldberg to allow for excess water to leave the dryer and not cause damage.
Regarding claim 21, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 20 where the combination of Kim and Goldberg would further disclose that the drain portion includes: a drain pump (Pump 102 in Figure 36 of Goldberg); a first drain pipe connected between the drain pump and the container (Pipe between 22 and 1022 of Goldberg Figure 36); and a second drain pipe connected between the drain pump and an exterior of the cabinet (¶ 347 with the pipe from 1022 to “drain” of Figure 36 of Goldberg).
Regarding claim 30, Kim’s teachings are described above in claim 19 but are silent with respect to
However, Goldberg teaches a dryer that discloses a drain portion configured to drain water discharged from the container and condensate formed by the heat exchange portion (Drain pump 1022 from 22 in Figure 36 per ¶ 347).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dryer of Kim with the drain system of Goldberg to allow for excess water to leave the dryer and not cause damage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s initial argument regarding claim 11 is directed towards the limitation of “a supply duct arranged at an outer side of the container, the supply duct extending along the body of the container, the supply duct including an outlet portion in communication with the inlet port of the container, the outlet portion having an exit portion extending rearward and connected to the inlet port of the container” has been reviewed but is not found to be persuasive. As previously noted, the supply duct of Kim spans from 82-81 and then into the drum 20 as seen in Figures 5 and 6. Kim in ¶ 42 and 43 expand on this airflow structure. Applicant then focuses on the limitation of “the outlet portion having an exit portion extending rearward and connected to the inlet port of the container”. The Examiner is of the point of view that outlet of 81 leading into 20 will have at least a portion that is extending/leading backwards into the drum 20 at the inlet port 22/15. Applicant shows their Figure 4 which has significant structure available for the Applicant to amend the independent claim 11 to overcome the Kim reference. However, at this time, independent claim 11 and dependent claims 12-22 are not found to be allowable.
Applicant’s next argument is directed towards claim 23 and the limitations of “an induction heater arranged at an outer surface of the body of the container, the induction heater being configured to heat the drum, the induction heater having a heater cover and a connector” and “a ventilation portion connecting the exhaust duct to the supply duct and the connector of the inductor heater cover.” A review of the Kim reference was conducted and Applicant’s arguments were not found to be persuasive. Kim in Figure 5 shows the induction heater 70 mounted to heat the drum 20 (¶ 25-26). The induction heater has the cover 72 and the broadly interpreted connector being the leg portions shown in Figure 2. The ventilation ducting of 825 per ¶ 86 is taught by Kim. The final clause of the ventilation portion connecting to the connector of the induction heater is broad and allows for the Examiner to show that the induction heater is connected to the ventilation duct is a physical manner as seen in Figures 2. Applicant is advised to clarify this connection feature to overcome the rejection of record. However, at this time, claims 23-30 are not found to be allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762