DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-17, claims 1-19, 24 and 25, in the reply filed on October 20, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 20, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-11, 15, 16, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 8,985,616).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism comprising:
a first joint 12;
a second joint 14 pivotally connected to the first joint;
a lock pin 5,53 movably disposed between the first joint and the second joint and configured to lock or unlock the first joint and the second joint;
an unlock operating member 6 connected to the lock pin and comprising a pivot portion 62 pivotally connected to the first joint or the second joint (operating member 6 is indirectly pivotally connected to joint 12 via joint seat 11; Figure 4), wherein the unlock operating member is configured to pivot to drive the lock pin to disengage from the first joint or/and the second joint, so as to unlock the first joint and the second joint; and
a stationary base 11 connected to the first joint or the second joint and configured to be detachably connected to a baby carriage 4 (joint seat 11 is detachably fastened to baby carriage frame member 4; Figures 2-11).
As to claim 2, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a linking member 13 connected to the first joint 12 and the second joint 14; when one of the first joint and the second joint receives force, the other one of the first joint and the second joint is driven to pivot by the linking member (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 6, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14 has a lock hole 121,141, and the lock pin 5,53 is slidably connected to the other one of the first joint and the second joint and detachably engaged in the lock hole (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 7, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 12 with the lock hole 121,141 further has a restraining groove; when the first joint and the second joint pivot with respect to each other, the lock pin 5,53 slides within the restraining groove (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 8, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the restraining groove 121,141 is arc-shaped and arranged concentrically with a pivot axis of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14 (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 9, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the lock pin 5,53 comprises a lock rod 53 and a connecting head 5 disposed at an end of the lock rod, the connecting head is pivotally connected to the unlock operating member 6, and another end of the lock rod away from the connecting head is detachably engaged with the lock hole 121,141 (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 10, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the unlock operating member 6 comprises an operating portion, and when the operating portion receives force, the unlock operating member pivots to drive the lock pin 5,53 to slide and unlock (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 11, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a return member 52, and the return member abuts against the unlock operating member 6 and has a tendency to return the unlock operating member to an initial position (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 15, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the unlock operating member 6 has a through hole for receiving a pulling member 64 (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 16, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein a connecting shaft 114 is protruded from and configured on the stationary base 11, one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14 is pivotally connected to the connecting shaft, and the other one of the first joint and the second joint is sandwiched in between the other two (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 24, Chen discloses an adapter device comprising a first support member 2, a second support member 3 and the connecting mechanism, the first support member being connected to one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14, the second support member being connected to the other one of the first joint and the second joint (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 25, Chen discloses an adapter device wherein the first support member 2 and the second support member 3 are substantially U-shaped, the first support member and the second support member are connected to each other by two connecting mechanisms, and the unlock operating members of the two connecting mechanisms are connected to each other by a pulling member 64 (Figures 2-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 17-19 are allowed.
Claims 3, 4 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, Chen discloses the claimed connecting mechanism with the exception of wherein the linking member is pivotally connected between the first joint and the second joint and has a plurality of protruding teeth, the first joint has a plurality of first gear teeth meshing with the plurality of protruding teeth, the second joint has a plurality of second gear teeth meshing with the plurality of protruding teeth, and the first joint and the second joint pivot with respect to each other by an interaction between the plurality of first gear teeth, the plurality of protruding teeth and the plurality of second gear teeth.
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting mechanism disclosed by Chen to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 1, Attorney argues that:
Chen fails to disclose a connection mechanism comprising a stationary base connected to the first joint or the second joint and configured to be detachably connected to a baby carriage.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1, Chen discloses a connection mechanism comprising a stationary base 11 connected to the first joint 12 or the second joint 14 and configured to be detachably connected to a baby carriage 4 (joint seat 11 is detachably fastened to baby carriage frame member 4; Figures 2-11).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
06/11/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619