DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-17, claims 1-19, 24 and 25, in the reply filed on October 20, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 20, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12 (line 1) “of claim 10” should recite –of claim 11--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 7-8) recites “an unlock operating member connected to the lock pin and configured to drive the lock pin to disengage from the first joint or/and the second joint, so as to unlock the first joint and the second joint”.
Claim 1 fails to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine what structural features define such “unlock operating member” such to provide for “driving of the lock pin to disengage from the first joint or/and the second joint”. Furthermore, it is unclear as to how such structural features defining the unlock operating member are actuated to “”drive the lock pin to disengage from the first joint or/and the second joint”. Claims 2-19, 24 and 25 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Claims 5 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships which render the claims indefinite are as follows:
Claim 5 recites “wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a plurality of linking members evenly arranged around a pivot axis of the first joint and the second joint”.
Claim 5 fails to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine how each of the toothed plurality of linking members structurally engage the gear teeth of each of the first and second joints. It is unclear as to what structural features define each of the first and second joints such to provide for such engagement with each of the plurality of linking members.
Examiner notes that claim 5 must include the limitations of claim 4 in order to overcome such 35 USC 112 rejection.
Claim 17 (lines 4-5) recites “when the first joint and the second joint pivot with respect to each other, the sliding block is driven to slide”.
Claim 17 fails to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine how the sliding block structurally engages the first or second joint such that the sliding block is slid when the first and second joints are pivoted. It is unclear as to what structural features define the engagement between the sliding block and the first or second joint such to provide for such sliding movement as a result of the pivoting movement between the joints. Claims 18 and 19 depend from claim 17 and likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Examiner notes that claim 17 must include the limitations of claim 18 in order to overcome such 35 USC 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 9,187,113).
As to claim 1, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism comprising:
a first joint 40”;
a second joint 40’ pivotally connected to the first joint;
a lock pin 52 movably disposed between the first joint and the second joint and configured to lock or unlock the first joint and the second joint;
an unlock operating member 50 connected to the lock pin and configured to drive the lock pin to disengage from the first joint or/and the second joint, so as to unlock the first joint and the second joint; and
a stationary base 42 connected to the first joint or the second joint and configured to be detachably connected to a baby carriage (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 2, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a linking member 44 connected to the first joint 40” and the second joint 40’; when one of the first joint and the second joint receives force, the other one of the first joint and the second joint is driven to pivot by the linking member (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 3, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the linking member 44 is pivotally connected between the first joint 40” and the second joint 40’ and has a plurality of protruding teeth 44x,44y, the first joint has a plurality of first gear teeth 39” meshing with the protruding teeth, the second joint has a plurality of second gear teeth 39’ meshing with the protruding teeth, and the first joint and the second joint pivot with respect to each other by an interaction between the first gear teeth, the protruding teeth and the second gear teeth (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 4, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism wherein a connecting base 36” is disposed at and protruded from one side of the first joint 40”, the first gear teeth 39” are disposed at an outer wall of the connecting base, the second joint 40’ is circular, and the second gear teeth 39’ are disposed at an inner wall 36’ of the second joint (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 6, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism wherein one of the first joint 40” and the second joint 40’ has a lock hole 38”,38’, and the lock pin 52 is slidably connected to the other one of the first joint and the second joint and detachably engaged in the lock hole (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 7, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism wherein one of the first joint 40” and the second joint 40’ with the lock hole 38”,38’ further has a restraining groove; when the first joint and the second joint pivot with respect to each other, the lock pin 52 slides within the restraining groove (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 8, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the restraining groove 38”,38’ is arc-shaped and arranged concentrically with a pivot axis of the first joint 40” and the second joint 40’ (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 16, Cheng discloses a connecting mechanism wherein a connecting shaft 42b,45 is protruded from and configured on the stationary base 42, one of the first joint 40” and the second joint 40’ is pivotally connected to the connecting shaft, and the other one of the first joint and the second joint is sandwiched in between the other two (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 24, Cheng discloses an adapter device comprising a first support member 12, a second support member 20 and the connecting mechanism, the first support member being connected to one of the first joint 40” and the second joint 40’, the second support member being connected to the other one of the first joint and the second joint (Figures 2-11).
Claims 1, 2, 6-11, 15, 16, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 8,985,616).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism comprising:
a first joint 12;
a second joint 14 pivotally connected to the first joint;
a lock pin 5,53 movably disposed between the first joint and the second joint and configured to lock or unlock the first joint and the second joint;
an unlock operating member 6 connected to the lock pin and configured to drive the lock pin to disengage from the first joint or/and the second joint, so as to unlock the first joint and the second joint; and
a stationary base 4,11 connected to the first joint or the second joint and configured to be detachably connected to a baby carriage (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 2, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a linking member 13 connected to the first joint 12 and the second joint 14; when one of the first joint and the second joint receives force, the other one of the first joint and the second joint is driven to pivot by the linking member (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 6, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14 has a lock hole 121,141, and the lock pin 5,53 is slidably connected to the other one of the first joint and the second joint and detachably engaged in the lock hole (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 7, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 12 with the lock hole 121,141 further has a restraining groove; when the first joint and the second joint pivot with respect to each other, the lock pin 5,53 slides within the restraining groove (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 8, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the restraining groove 121,141 is arc-shaped and arranged concentrically with a pivot axis of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14 (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 9, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the lock pin 5,53 comprises a lock rod 53 and a connecting head 5 disposed at an end of the lock rod, the connecting head is pivotally connected to the unlock operating member 6, and another end of the lock rod away from the connecting head is detachably engaged with the lock hole 121,141 (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 10, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the unlock operating member 6 comprises a pivot portion and an operating portion, and the pivot portion is pivotally connected to the first joint 12 or the second joint 14 (operating member 6 is indirectly pivotally connected to joint 12 via stationary base 4,11; Figure ); when the operating portion receives force, the unlock operating member pivots to drive the lock pin 5,53 to slide and unlock (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 11, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a return member 52, and the return member abuts against the unlock operating member 6 and has a tendency to return the unlock operating member to an initial position (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 15, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein the unlock operating member 6 has a through hole for receiving a pulling member 64 (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 16, Chen discloses a connecting mechanism wherein a connecting shaft 114 is protruded from and configured on the stationary base 4,11, one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14 is pivotally connected to the connecting shaft, and the other one of the first joint and the second joint is sandwiched in between the other two (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 24, Chen discloses an adapter device comprising a first support member 2, a second support member 3 and the connecting mechanism, the first support member being connected to one of the first joint 12 and the second joint 14, the second support member being connected to the other one of the first joint and the second joint (Figures 2-11).
As to claim 25, Chen discloses an adapter device wherein the first support member 2 and the second support member 3 are substantially U-shaped, the first support member and the second support member are connected to each other by two connecting mechanisms, and the unlock operating members of the two connecting mechanisms are connected to each other by a pulling member 64 (Figures 2-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12-14 and 17-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5 as best understood, Cheng discloses the claimed connecting mechanism with the exception of wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a plurality of linking members evenly arranged around a pivot axis of the first joint and the second joint.
As to claim 12, Chen discloses the claimed connecting mechanism with the exception of wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a fixing member, the fixing member is disposed on and through the unlock operating member and fixed to the first joint or the second joint, and the return member abuts against the unlock operating member and the fixing member; when the unlock operating member receives force, the return member deforms.
As to claim 14, Chen discloses the claimed connecting mechanism with the exception of wherein an end of the unlock operating member has a first protruding pillar, the first joint or the second joint has a second protruding pillar corresponding to the first protruding pillar, and opposite ends of the return member are sleeved on the first protruding pillar and the second protruding pillar, respectively.
As to claim 17 as best understood, Chen discloses the claimed connecting mechanism with the exception of wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a sliding block, and the sliding block is slidably connected to the stationary base and pivotally connected to the first joint or the second joint; when the first joint and the second joint pivot with respect to each other, the sliding block is driven to slide.
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting mechanism disclosed by Cheng or Chen to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Conclusion
11/29/25
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619