DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The previous claim rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Meadows et al. (US 20030099711 A1) in view of Allphine et al. (US 20180318222 A1) as indicated in the Office action dated March 2, 2026, has been withdrawn and modified to address the new limitation to claim 1, which requires the solvation coating and the one or more functional barrier coatings involve the use of hydroalcoholic solution.
All remaining claim rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been maintained for reasons of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadows et al. (U 20030099711 A1, published on May 29, 2003) (“Meadows” hereunder) in view of Allphine et al. (US 20180318222 A1, published on November 8, 2018) (“Allphine” hereunder).
The amended claim 1 is directed to an extended-release suspension composition comprising:
a) polymeric coated active ingredient-ion exchange resin complex comprising:
(i) active ingredient particulate matrix comprising active ingredient-ion exchange resin complex, the active ingredient being a pharmaceutically acceptable active ingredient,
(ii) solvation coating on the active ingredient-ion exchange resin complex to generate a pre-coated active ingredient-ion exchange resin complex,
(iii) one or more functional barrier coatings on the pre-coated active ingredient—ion exchange resin complex, wherein said one or more functional barrier coatings provide modified release profile to said pharmaceutically acceptable active ingredient, and
b) pharmaceutically acceptable excipients,
wherein said extended-release suspension composition is devoid of uncoated active ingredient-ion exchange resin complex portion and polyvinyl acetate, and
wherein said one or more functional barrier coatings comprise hypromellose and/or talc, and
wherein the solvation coating and the one or more functional barrier coatings are based on hydroalcoholic solution.
Meadows teaches an oral pharmaceutical preparation sustained release comprising a pharmaceutically active drug bound to small particles of an ion-exchange resin, which is coated with an aqueous based diffusion barrier comprising a water-permeable, film forming polymer such as ethyl cellulose, which provides a controlled sustained release of drug under conditions encountered in the gastrointestinal tract. See abstract; the present claim (i) and (iii). The reference further teaches, “at least some of the barrier coated drug-resin particles may be coated with an enteric coating to provide a tailored release profile”. See Id; reference claim 14. The enteric coating also meets the one or more functional barrier coating limitation of (iii).
As for the present claim 1 (ii), Meadows further teaches that the drug-resin particles are treated with a solvating or impregnation agent by adding in the complexation step or preferably coated with it after complexing. See [0037]. The effective solvating agents include polyethylene glycol, povidone (polyvinylpyrrolidone), hypromellose (hydropropylmethylcellulose), propylene glycol, etc. The reference teaches, “[t]his treatment helps particles retain their geometry, and enables the effective application of diffusion barrier coatings to such particles”. See Id.
Example 1 discloses a formulation comprising (i) phenylpropanolamine complexed with polystyrene (ion resin), (ii) treated with a solvating agent, PEG, and (iii) coated with an aqueous dispersion of ethylcellulose. The barrier coated drug-resin complex was used in making six different formulations, each with different amounts of Opadry and/or different amounts of a second barrier coating material (Surelease, ethylcellulose). There is no indication that any of the drug-ion exchange resin complex is uncoated.
The reference teaches formulating the composition in the form of suspensions reconstituted from non-effervescent granules, containing excipients such as suitable solvents, preservatives, emulsifying agents, suspending agents, diluents, sweeteners, coloring agents and flavoring agents. See [0055-0056]. Following such teaching to make a sustained release suspension comprising phenylpropanolamine would have been prima facie obvious. See present claim 1.
Meadows teach that film forming polymers can be mixed pigments or with other substances to alter the characteristics of the coating. The reference teaches that, while the major components of the coating should be insoluble in and permeable to water, pharmaceutically acceptable polymers such as hydropropylmethylcellulose (Hypromellose), ethylcellulose, etc. can be used. See [0040].
As for talc, Allphin teaches that talc is an anti-tack agent and a filler which are added to functional coating composition to make the film crushable during the transition of the composition in the GI. The reference teaches that the duration or extent of the drug delivered by varying the filler levels in the film. See [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the teachings of Meadows and incorporate talc in the film coating composition of Meadows as Allphin suggests that duration or extent of the drug release can be further adjusted by such addition and adjusting the filler level in the film. Since Meadows teaches incorporating substances to alter the properties of the coating, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully producing a sustained release pharmaceutical composition with a targeted release property.
Regarding the new limitation which requires that the solvation coating and the one or more functional barrier coatings be based on hydroalcoholic solution, it is viewed that such limitation defines a product by process claim. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.) See also MPEP 2113. In this case, although Meadows fails to teach using hydroalcoholic solution in the solvation coating or the functional barrier coatings, the solution used in the present product does not remain on the end product of claim1 i), as the solution is expected to evaporate during the process of making the product, leaving the polymeric coated active ingredient-ion exchange resin complex non-distinct from the product of the Meadows/Allphine references. In the remarks filed on May 1, 2026, applicant argues that “[i[n contract, hydroalcoholic solutions, as set forth in claim 1, provide faster drying and better, more uniform film formation since the polymer is completely dissolved.” The fact that the present hydroalcoholic solution method provides faster drying is directed to the process of making. Regarding the statement that “better, more uniform film formation” is obtained, it is noted that Meadows teaches in paragraph [0052],
Optionally, after coating the coated drug-resin complex may be cured at a suitable temperature and for a suitable amount of time. Curing is intended to heat the coating polymer such that the polymer achieves a low energy configuration and lays flat over the surface to improve coating properties.
Such disclosure suggests that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to produce smooth, uniform film over the drug-resin complex or particle. Thus, no patentable distinction is seen between the product of the Meadow and the present claim 1 (i).
Regarding claim 21, Meadows teaches that other suitable drugs for the formulation include methylphenidate hydrochloride, amphetamine, dextroamphetamine, etc. See [0030]; reference claim 13.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadows and Allphin as applied to claim 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Jain et al. (US 20110268808 A1, published on November 3, 2011) (“Jain” hereunder).
Jain teaches a dual release aqueous liquid suspension containing extended-release drug particles. The reference further teaches that suitable excipients for the composition include thickeners, preservatives, glidants (anti-tacking agents/lubricants), chelating agents, plasticizers (solvation coating agent), complexing agents (ion exchange resin), buffering agent, suspending agents, release modifiers (barrier coating polymers/entrapment polymer), wetting agents (surfactants), as well as flavoring agents (taste masking agent), sweeteners, etc. See [0055]. The reference also teaches, “certain excipients used in the present composition can serve more than one purpose.”
Meadows and Jain are both directed to oral suspensions comprising microparticles comprising drugs having modified release profiles and disclose pharmaceutical excipients suitable to formulate the composition. Combining art-recognized functional equivalents for same purposes is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.06. Thus, it follows that combining the excipients of Meadows and Jains to make a stable oral suspension would have been prima facie obvious.
Claims 22-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadows and Allphin and as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Mehta et al. (US 20130136797 A1, published May 30, 2013) (“Mehta” hereunder).
Regarding claim 22, Meadows teaches that suitable excipients for the suspension include suitable solvents, preservatives, emulsifying agents (surfactants), suspending agents, diluents, sweeteners and flavoring agents (taste masking). See [0055-0056]. The reference also teaches ion exchange resin, solvation coating agent, entrapment polymers and functional barrier coating polymers as discussed above. See also the present claim 27.
Although Meadows generally teaches suitable excipients for the extended-release suspension, the reference fails to teach all the excipients of the present claims.
Regarding claims 24, 33, 35-37, Mehta teaches a liquid suspension containing a coated drug-ion exchange resin complex. The reference further teaches and suggests that such composition may be formulated with conventional pharmaceutically acceptable excipients including: lubricants (magnesium or calcium stearate, talc, also anti-tacking agent); thickeners (xanthan gum, starch, etc); surfactants such as polysorbates; stabilizing agents such as preservatives such as methyl or ethyl parabens, chelating agents such as EDTA; sweeteners such as high fructose corn syrup, sucrose, xylitol, etc.; flavoring agents such as vanilla, fruit flavors, etc; buffers; plasticizers such as dibutyl sebacate, propylene glycol, etc. See [00640077-0088]
Meadows and Mehta are both directed to oral suspensions comprising microparticles comprising drugs having modified release profiles and disclose pharmaceutical excipients suitable to formulate the composition. Combining art-recognized functional equivalents for same purposes is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.06. Thus, it follows that combining the excipients of Meadows and Jains to make a stable oral suspension would have been prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 23, Meadows teaches that the ion resin used in the invention is sulfonated polystyrene.
Regarding claim 25, Meadows teaches that the effective solvating agents include polyethylene glycol, povidone (polyvinylpyrrolidone), hypromellose (hydropropylmethylcellulose), propylene glycol, etc.
Regarding claim 26, Meadows Example 1 discloses that ethylcellulose is used in treating the pre-coated drug-ion resins.
Regarding claim 28, Meadows teaches that plasticizers for ethylcellulose include dibutyl sebacate, triethyl citrate, etc. See [0041].
Regarding claim 29, Meadows teaches that guar gum is used as a suspending agent; using guar gum as a suspending agent would also provide a taste masking effect. See [0056].
Regarding claim 31, Mehta teaches citric acid used in an example suspension comprising dextromethorphan. See [0163].
Regarding claim 32, Meadows teaches that microcrystalline cellulose is used as a suspending agent. See [0056].
Regarding claim 34, Meadows teaches methyl propyl paraben, etc are used as preservatives. See [0060]. Mehta teaches that drug release rate can be modified by treating the drug-ion exchange complex with a release retardant prior to the application of the water-permeable diffusion barrier coating. See [0052]. Such release retardants include water-insoluble polymers including PVA, cellulose acetates, ethylcellulose, acrylic based polymers, etc. See [0053]. The reference further teaches that the retardants can be added after formation of the drug-ion exchange resin complex. See [0055].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meadows and Mehta as applied to claims 1, and 21-37 above, and further in view of Templeton et al. (CA2355829 A1, July 13, 2000) (“Templeton” hereunder).
Meadows fails to teach placebo granules.
Templeton teaches oral dosage form comprising a drug adsorbed to an ion exchange resin and a taste-masking agent, which may be reconstituted as a suspension. See abstract. The reference teaches placebo granulates comprising a flavoring agent inside and outside of the granule and combined with the drug-resin complex. See p. 9, lines 8-19.
Given the teachings of using flavoring agents in the formulations in Meadows, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been obviously motivated to look to prior art such as Templeton for teachings on providing flavor in in the suspension and combine placebo granules comprising flavoring agents with the oral suspension of Meadows. Since both references are directed suspension comprising drugs complexed with ion exchange resins, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully combining the teachings of the references and produce a stable suspension with improved taste.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on May 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in part in view of the new grounds of rejection as indicated above, and unpersuasive in part.
Applicant argues that Allphine does not apply in this case because the reference teaches immediate release and controlled release portions. However, it should be appreciated that Allphine was cited to show that using talc in film forming formulations is well known in the art. Similarly, the differences of other secondary references such as Jain and Mehta from applicant’s invention have been noted, but the references have been cited as evidence to show the relevant claimed limitations were old and well known in the art. As these references are all directed to oral suspensions comprising microparticles comprising drugs having modified release profiles and therefore analogous arts, the rejections are deemed proper.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617