DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7-10,19-27,40,42. are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Belleschi et al (US 11711807 B2) hereinafter as Belleschi. in view of Ryu et al (US 20210212044 A1) hereinafter as Ryu.
Regarding claim(s) 1,19,40,42, Belleschi discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See Fig(s). 1 with UE 14), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (See Fig(s). 9 with memory 960 and processor 950) and configured to cause the first UE to:
determine, based on a communication status of the first UE, a first set of sidelink resources which comprises transmission slots (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 11-12, resource selection for D2D radio transmissions between radio devices are assisted by messages exchanged by the radio devices. …The set of radio resources may consist of one or more resources separated in the frequency domain, e.g., as frequency channels, in the time domain, e.g., as time slots);
wherein the communication status of the first UE comprises a transmitting status wherein the transmission slots are used for transmitting by the first UE in accordance with the transmitting status (See ¶ abstract,14, the first message indicating an intention of the further radio device to perform a D2D radio transmission on a set of radio resources; determine a status of the set of radio resources; and in response to the first message, send a second message comprising an indicator which indicates the determined status of the set of radio resources… See ¶ 30-31 whereby time slots are used for transmission).
Belleschi fails to disclose transmit, to a second UE, a signal indicating the first set of sidelink resources being unavailable for transmission by the second UE.
Ryu discloses transmit to a second UE, a signal indicating the first set of sidelink resources being unavailable for transmission by the second UE (See ¶ 11, the first control block allocated to the second UE and the sidelink request indicating that the first UE is a target UE of the sidelink request, and determining, based on the monitoring, whether to transmit a sidelink response to the second UE on a transmission beam over the first set of the control resources, the sidelink response including a positive sidelink response to the sidelink request or a negative sidelink response to the sidelink request, the positive sidelink response indicating that the set of the data resources are available and the negative sidelink response indicating that the set of the data resources are unavailable.). Providing indication of unavailable resources to another UE within the sidelink communications ensures that the second UE does not waste resources in evaluating possible resources for transmission and thus saving battery life.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Belleschi within Ryu, so as to enhance overall network performance and saving battery life for the UEs concerned without having to evaluate communication resources availability within sidelink transmissions.
Further with regards to claims 19,42, Belleschi discloses - select a third set of sidelink resources from a group of sidelink resources which includes the first set of sidelink resources and a second set of sidelink resources determined by the second UE (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 41, The second UE 30 uses the results of sensing to determine an availability status of the candidate sets of radio resources from the perspective of the second UE 30…See Fig(s). 4, See ¶ 67, . the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 detect the conflict of the first candidate set of resources and the second candidate set of resources based on the SA received with the SCI 405 received from the second UE 30 and will thus respectively proceed by selecting a different candidate resources for the intended D2D radio transmission…this is interpreted that a third set of resources is to be selected by the second UE.).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 24, 41, Belleschi discloses wherein the communication status comprises a transmitting status and a receiving status (See ¶ 1 11, first message indicates an intention of the radio device to perform a D2D radio transmission on a set Further, the radio device is configured to receive, in response to of radio resources the first message, a second message comprising an indicator which indicates a status of the set of radio resources the radio device is configured to control the D2D radio transmission by the radio device depending on the indicator.)
Regarding claim(s) 3, Belleschi discloses determine a sidelink resource is available when the sidelink resource is not indicated by a received Sidelink Control Information (SCI) (See ¶ 24).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Belleschi discloses determine a sidelink resource is available when the sidelink resource is indicated by a received Sidelink Control Information (SCI) and a value of a Sidelink Reference Signal Received Power (SL- RSRP) measurement is less than or equal to a threshold (See ¶ 22, 26, the first UE 20 may exclude resources for which the UE measures a received signal strength, e.g., in terms of RSRP or RSSI, is above a threshold. From the remaining resources, the first UE 20 may then select the candidate set of resources, e.g., by selecting the set of candidate resources with the lowest total RSSI.)
Regarding claim(s) 5, Belleschi discloses wherein the processor coupled to the transmitting circuitry is further configured to cause the apparatus to determine that a sidelink resource is determined unavailable when the sidelink resource is indicated by a received Sidelink Control Information (SCI) and a value of a Sidelink Reference Signal Received Power (SL-RSRP) measurement is greater than a threshold (See ¶ 35 the first UE 20 may exclude resources for which the UE measures a received signal strength, e.g., in terms of RSRP or RSSI, is above a threshold. From the remaining resources, the first UE 20 may then select the first candidate set of resources, e.g., by selecting the first set of candidate resources with the lowest total RSSI.)
Regarding claim(s) 7, Belleschi discloses apparatus to determine the threshold is determined by based at least in part on a priority level transmitted from the second UE (See Fig(s). 2, See 1 24, 29, the SCI 202 may indicate a priority of the intended D2D radio transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 8,21 Belleschi discloses wherein the first set of sidelink resources comprises sidelink resources in a time domain (See ¶ 11).
Regarding claim(s) 9,22 Belleschi discloses wherein the sidelink resources in the time domain comprise one or more time slots (See ¶ 11, 30-31).
Regarding claim(s) 10,25 Belleschi discloses wherein the signal indicating the first set of sidelink resources comprises a bitmap, and each bit in the bitmap indicates the communication status of the first UE on an associated sidelink resource (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 31, The second UE 30 may also determine the alternative set of resources in terms of a TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) pattern indicating time slots in which the candidate set of resources is available from the perspective of the second UE 30. Such TDM pattern could for example be indicated in terms of a bitmap.).
Regarding claim(s) 20, Belleschi discloses determine determining the second set of sidelink resources based on a sensing result of the second UE (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 25, The second UE 30 uses the results of sensing to determine an availability status of the candidate set of radio resources from the perspective of the second UE 30.).
Regarding claim(s) 23, Belleschi discloses a communication status of the first UE on each sidelink resource of the first set of sidelink resources based on the signal indicating the first set of sidelink resources (See ¶ abstract, 7-10, The radio device determines a status of the set of radio resources. In response to the first message, the radio device sends a second message comprising an indicator which indicates the determined status of the set of radio resources in terms of at least three levels.).
Regarding claim(s) 26, Belleschi discloses a first indicator indicating one or more sidelink resources in time domain (See 1 11), and second indicator indicating a same communication status of the first UE on the one or more sidelink resources (See ¶ 11- 12, The set of radio resources may consist of one or more resources separated in the frequency domain, e.g., as frequency channels, in the time domain, e.g., as time The feedback message includes a multi-level (ML) indicator, which indicates slots, the status of the set of radio resources in terms of at least three levels).
Regarding claim(s) 27, Belleschi discloses determine that the first UE is a receiving UE for the second UE; and select the third set of sidelink resources from intersection of the second set of sidelink resources and one or more sidelink resources relating to receiving status in the first set of sidelink resources (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 41, The second UE 30 uses the results of sensing to determine an availability status of the candidate sets of radio resources from the perspective of the second UE 30…See Fig(s). 4, See ¶ 67, . the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 detect the conflict of the first candidate set of resources and the second candidate set of resources based on the SA received with the SCI 405 received from the second UE 30 and will thus respectively proceed by selecting a different candidate resources for the intended D2D radio transmission…this is interpreted that a third set of resources is to be selected by the second UE.).
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411