DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 07/13/2026
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sutherland (US 5,551,566).
Claim 9. Sutherland discloses an article carrier for packaging one or more articles C, the article carrier comprising an engaging panel 20 comprising a first upper ply 12 and a second lower ply 14 secured together in face contacting arrangement (fig. 2-3),
the upper ply including at least one upper aperture 24 having an annular series of upper ply tabs 16 formed around the at least one upper aperture, the upper ply tabs each having a base @26 and an inner edge @24 opposite said base,
wherein the upper ply tabs are folded upwardly with respect to the engaging panel when a portion of at least one article is received in the at least one upper aperture (fig. 4),
the lower ply 14 includes at least one lower aperture 30 substantially coaxial with the at least one upper aperture, the at least one lower aperture has an annular series of lower ply tabs 32 formed around the at least one lower aperture (fig. 2),
wherein the lower ply tabs each has a base @36 and an inner edge @32 opposite said base of each lower ply tab,
the at least one lower aperture has a notional lower outer circle 34 defined by the bases of lower ply tabs, the notional lower outer circle has a lower outer circle diameter,
wherein the upper ply tabs each has a base and an inner edge opposite said base of each upper ply tab, the at least one upper aperture has a notional upper outer circle 26 defined by the bases of the upper ply tabs (fig. 2);
wherein the upper outer circle diameter is equal to or less than the lower outer circle diameter (col. 2, ll. 52-67; fig. 4-5).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galbierz (US 6,059,099).
Claim 9. Galbierz discloses an article carrier for packaging one or more articles BB, the article carrier comprising an engaging panel 41 comprising a first upper ply 9 and a second lower ply 11 secured together in face contacting arrangement (fig. 4),
the upper ply 9 including at least one upper aperture 15 having an annular series of upper ply tabs 19 formed around the at least one upper aperture, the upper ply tabs each having a base and an inner edge opposite said base (col. 4, ll. 24-34),
wherein the upper ply tabs are folded upwardly with respect to the engaging panel when a portion of at least one article is received in the at least one upper aperture (fig. 4),
the lower ply 11 includes at least one lower aperture substantially coaxial with the at least one upper aperture, the at least one lower aperture has an annular series of lower ply tabs formed around the at least one lower aperture (col. 4, ll. 35-53),
wherein the lower ply tabs each has a base and an inner edge opposite said base of each lower ply tab,
the at least one lower aperture has a notional lower outer circle defined by the bases of lower ply tabs, the notional lower outer circle has a lower outer circle diameter (fig. 3),
wherein the upper ply tabs each has a base and an inner edge opposite said base of each upper ply tab, the at least one upper aperture has a notional upper outer circle defined by the bases of the upper ply tabs (fig. 2);
wherein the upper outer circle diameter is equal to or less than the lower outer circle diameter (col. 4, ll. 34-67; fig. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galbierz (US 6,059,099).
Claim 10. Galbierz discloses an article carrier according to claim 9 wherein the at least one lower aperture has a notional lower inner circle defined by the inner edges of the lower ply tabs, the notional lower inner circle has a lower inner circle diameter, wherein the at least one upper aperture has a notional upper inner circle defined by the inner edges of the upper ply tabs, the notional upper inner circle has an upper inner circle diameter (see annotated figure below).
Galbierz discloses the claimed invention except for the recesses being formed on the upper ply panel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the recess and tabs on the upper ply panel in order to further reinforce the placement the held product. Sutherland performs the same function whether located on the bottom or top panel. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutherland (US 5,551,566).
Claim 11. Sutherland discloses an article carrier according to claim 9 wherein each of the ply tabs 32 is spaced apart from an adjacent one of the ply tabs by a recess @30 and wherein at least some of the recesses each is aligned with a respective one of the lower ply tabs (col. 2, ll. 52-67; fig. 4-5).
Sutherland discloses the claimed invention except for the recesses being formed on the upper ply panel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the recess and tabs on the upper ply panel in order to further reinforce the placement the held product. Sutherland performs the same function whether located on the bottom or top panel. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are allowed.
Claims 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered, the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735