DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on May 21, 2026.
Claims 7, 8, 15, and 18 – 20 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claim 2 has been cancelled previously.
Claims 1 and 3 – 21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 21, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 7, 8, and 18 – 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention as set forth in the office action filed April 8, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 21, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 15 – 18, 20 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon as set forth in the office action filed April 8, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Dopant 56 of Yoon does not read on claim 15 as currently amended. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown below, previously cited Compound 167 of Yoon reads on the compounds of claim 15 as currently amended.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 – 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 contain Formula A-2, which shows substituent R as (R)n. However, in the claims, n is not defined. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how many R groups are allowed or whether R groups are required or not.
Claims 3 – 14 and 16 – 19 are rejected as being dependent on claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon (WO2020138874A1).
As per claim 15, Yoon teaches:
A polycyclic aromatic compound represented by the following Formula A-1
(Yoon teaches compound 167
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein X is B; Y is O; Z is CR6 wherein one R6 are hydrogen and Q1 and Q2 are both a substituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon ring.)
As per claims 16 and 17, Yoon teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, an organic layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises at least one of an electron injection layer, an electron transport layer, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a hole blocking layer, and a light emitting layer, wherein at least one of the layer comprises the polycyclic aromatic compound (Yoon teaches the fabrication of exemplary OLEDS in [291 – 294] and describes that an anode is formed and then sequentially a HIL, HTL, EBL, EML, HBL, EIL and a cathode were formed. In Example 13, Dopant 167 is used in the light emitting layer.)
As per claims 18 and 19, Yoon teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer comprises an anthracene derivative represented by Formula C as a host compound
(In Example 4, as described in paragraph [297 – 298], Dopant 167 is used with Host 1
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein R21 to R28 are hydrogen; Ar9 is a substituted C10 aryl group, namely a group represented by Formula C-1
wherein R32 and R31 are bonded to form an aromatic polycyclic ring; Ar10 is a C10 arylene group; L13 is a single bond; k is an integer of 1.)
Claims 15 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seda (US20190214579A1).
As per claim 15, Seda teaches:
A polycyclic aromatic compound represented by the following Formula A-1
(Seda teaches compound 1
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein X is B; Y is S; Z is CR6 wherein R6 are hydrogen and Q1 and Q2 are both a substituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon ring.)
As per claims 16 and 17, Seda teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, an organic layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises at least one of an electron injection layer, an electron transport layer, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a hole blocking layer, and a light emitting layer, wherein at least one of the layer comprises the polycyclic aromatic compound (Seda teaches the fabrication of exemplary OLEDS in [0391 – 0396] and describes that an anode is formed and then sequentially a HIL, HTL1, HTL2, EML, ETL, EIL and a cathode were formed. In Example 1, Compound 1 is used in the light emitting layer.)
As per claims 18 and 19, Seda teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer comprises an anthracene derivative represented by Formula C as a host compound
(In Example 1, as described in paragraph [0391 – 0396], Compound 1 is used with host material BH-1
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein R21 to R28 are hydrogen; Ar9 is a substituted C10 aryl group, namely a group represented by Formula C-1
wherein R32 and R31 are bonded to form an aromatic polycyclic ring; Ar10 is a C10 arylene group; L13 is a C6 arylene group; k is an integer of 1.)
As per claim 20, Seda teaches:
A polycyclic aromatic compound represented by [Formula A-1]
(Seda teaches compound 1
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein X is B; Y is S; Z is CR6 wherein one R6 is a C12 heteroaryl group and the remaining R6 are hydrogen and Q1 is a substituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon ring.)
As per claim 21, Seda teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, an organic layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises the polycyclic aromatic compound (Seda teaches the fabrication of exemplary OLEDS in [0391 – 0396] and describes that an anode is formed and then sequentially a HIL, HTL1, HTL2, EML, ETL, EIL and a cathode were formed. In Example 1, Compound 1 is used in the light emitting layer.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, and 3 – 14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claim 1, the closest prior art is considered to be Kim (US20230114182A1), cited previously. Kim teaches fused polycyclic boron-containing compounds with extended fused ring groups. However, Kim does not teach or suggest that the extended fused group contains a five-membered ring fused to a phenyl fused to a five or six member ring with a double bond on the far side of the ring as required by the Q1 group in claim 1 as amended.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789