DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 9 September 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 2 and 4-8 have been amended, claims 1, 3, and 9 have been canceled, and claims 2 and 4-8 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2019/295553 A1), in view of Lim et al. (US 2014/0134498; hereinafter “Lim”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a solid electrolyte-containing layer (Hybrid Solid State Electrolyte, see Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6) comprising:
a solid electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte (solid state electrolyte, see p. 22-25; Figs. 1, 2, 5, and 6 – labeled as SSE); and
a resin layer consisting essentially of a heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer) having ion conductivity (see p. 26-27).
the solid electrolyte layer and the resin layer are adjacent to each other (see Figs. 1, 2, 5, and 6),
the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide (polymer film of anode interface layer
the heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer) has ion conductivity in itself (see p. 26-27) and the heat-resistant resin is not a mixture of a heat-resistant resin which does not have ion conductivity and an ion-conductive material (see p. 26-27).
Zhang is silent to wherein the heat-resistant resin has a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C, the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide which contains a functional group having an anion, and the heat-resistant resin has a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C.
Lim teaches a separator medium for electrochemical cells that contains at least one nonwoven sheet of polymeric fibers. The sheet may be sulfonated to a level of 0.67% and demonstrates superior tensile properties after sulfonation and relative to previously known separators (see abstract). Lim further teaches that the polymeric fibers may be polyamide (see [0006], [0023], [0024]).
In view of Lim’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the heat-resistant resin of Zhang to include a polyamide which contains a functional group having an anion, such as the sulfonated polyamide as taught by Lim, because it provides superior tensile properties to the separator.
Furthermore, as the heat-resistant resin of the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches a sulfonated polyamide that is indistinguishable from that of Applicant’s material (see [0016]-[0022] of Applicant’s Specification), it must follow that if Applicant’s heat-resistant resin has a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C and a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C, then the heat-resistant resin (i.e., sulfonated polyamide) of the combination of Zhang and Lim must also possess a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C and a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches wherein the solid electrolyte is an inorganic solid electrolyte (Zhang: see p. 22).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches an all-solid-state secondary battery comprising:
a positive electrode (Zhang: cathode current collector, see Fig. 2);
the solid electrolyte-containing layer according to claim 1 (Zhang: see Fig. 2 – combination of anode interface layer (Zhang: labeled IL in Fig. 2) and the solid state electrolyte (Zhang: labeled SSE in Fig. 2); and
a negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches a method for producing an all-solid-state secondary battery, the method comprising the step of
disposing, between a positive electrode (Zhang: cathode current collector, see Fig. 2) and a negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2), the solid electrolyte-containing layer according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1 above and Zhang’s Fig. 2 – combination of IL and SSE layers).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches a short circuit prevention layer (polymer film of anode interface layerfor an all-solid-state secondary battery, the short circuit prevention layer consisting essentially of a heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer having ion conductivity (see p. 26-27), wherein
the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide (polymer film of anode interface layer
the heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer) has ion conductivity in itself (see p. 26-27) and the heat-resistant resin is not a mixture of a heat-resistant resin which does not have ion conductivity and an ion-conductive material (see p. 26-27).
Zhang is silent to wherein the heat-resistant resin has a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C, the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide which contains a functional group having an anion, and the heat-resistant resin has a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C.
Lim teaches a separator medium for electrochemical cells that contains at least one nonwoven sheet of polymeric fibers. The sheet may be sulfonated to a level of 0.67% and demonstrates superior tensile properties after sulfonation and relative to previously known separators (see abstract). Lim further teaches that the polymeric fibers may be polyamide (see [0006], [0023], [0024]).
In view of Lim’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the heat-resistant resin of Zhang to include a polyamide which contains a functional group having an anion, such as the sulfonated polyamide as taught by Lim, because it provides superior tensile properties to the separator.
Furthermore, as the heat-resistant resin of the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches a sulfonated polyamide that is indistinguishable from that of Applicant’s material (see [0016]-[0022] of Applicant’s Specification), it must follow that if Applicant’s heat-resistant resin has a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C and a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C, then the heat-resistant resin (i.e., sulfonated polyamide) of the combination of Zhang and Lim must also possess a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C and a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches a method for preventing a short circuit in an all-solid-state secondary battery, the method comprising
disposing, between a positive electrode (Zhang: cathode current collector, see Fig. 2) and a negative electrode (Zhang: anode current collector, see Fig. 2), the solid electrolyte- containing layer according to claim 2 (Zhang: see rejection for claim 2 above and Fig. 2 – combination of IL and SSE layers).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-6 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to amended claim 1, that Zhang does not disclose the claimed resin layer consisting essentially of a heat-resistant resin having ion conductivity. Applicant argues that Zhang fails to disclose the claimed resin properties including a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C, a polyamide structure having a functional group having an anion, inherent ion conductivity in the resin molecule itself, and lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C. Furthermore, Applicant argues that there are unexpected advantages of the claimed resin layer.
The Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive as the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches the claimed heat-resistant resin having ion conductivity of amended claim 1. Zhang teaches a solid electrolyte-containing layer (Hybrid Solid State Electrolyte, see Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6) comprising:
a solid electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte (solid state electrolyte, see p. 22-25; Figs. 1, 2, 5, and 6 – labeled as SSE); and
a resin layer consisting essentially of a heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer) having ion conductivity (see p. 26-27).
the solid electrolyte layer and the resin layer are adjacent to each other (see Figs. 1, 2, 5, and 6),
the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide (polymer film of anode interface layer
the heat-resistant resin (polymer film of anode interface layer) has ion conductivity in itself (see p. 26-27) and the heat-resistant resin is not a mixture of a heat-resistant resin which does not have ion conductivity and an ion-conductive material (see p. 26-27).
Zhang is silent to wherein the heat-resistant resin has a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C, the heat-resistant resin is a polyamide which contains a functional group having an anion, and the heat-resistant resin has a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C.
Lim teaches a separator medium for electrochemical cells that contains at least one nonwoven sheet of polymeric fibers. The sheet may be sulfonated to a level of 0.67% and demonstrates superior tensile properties after sulfonation and relative to previously known separators (see abstract). Lim further teaches that the polymeric fibers may be polyamide (see [0006], [0023], [0024]).
In view of Lim’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the heat-resistant resin of Zhang to include a polyamide which contains a functional group having an anion, such as the sulfonated polyamide as taught by Lim, because it provides superior tensile properties to the separator.
Furthermore, as the heat-resistant resin of the combination of Zhang and Lim teaches a sulfonated polyamide that is indistinguishable from that of Applicant’s material (see [0016]-[0022] of Applicant’s Specification), it must follow that if Applicant’s heat-resistant resin has a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C and a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C, then the heat-resistant resin (i.e., sulfonated polyamide) of the combination of Zhang and Lim must also possess a glass-transition temperature of not less than 200° C and a lithium ion conductivity of not less than 1 x 10-10 S/cm at 80° C. Additionally, as the resin layer of the combination of Zhang and Lim is materially indistinguishable from that of the claimed invention, any unexpected advantages of the claimed resin layer must also be present in the resin layer of the combination of Zhang and Lim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 12 December 2025
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735