DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the second to last line recites: “…the projection is equal to or large…”; this should read larger Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sodeyama (US20200091469A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sodeyama discloses the cylindrical battery [0032, fig. 1, Sodeyama, Sodeyama], comprising: an electrode assembly (20) in which a positive electrode (21) and a negative electrode (22) are wound with a separator (23) interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0045, fig. 1];an electrolyte [0045, Sodeyama]; a bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can (11) that houses the electrode assembly and the electrolyte [0045-0047, fig. 1, Sodeyama]; a sealing assembly (14 and 31) that seals an opening of the exterior housing can [0197-0198, fig. 1, Sodeyama]; and an annular gasket (15) that is interposed between the exterior housing can and the sealing assembly [0198, fig. 1, Sodeyama], the sealing assembly being fixed by crimping to an opening end of the exterior housing can with the gasket interposed between the sealing assembly and the exterior housing can [0198, fig. 1, Sodeyama], wherein a projection projecting outward in a radial direction is formed on an outer peripheral face of the gasket [0075-0076, fig. 3 and 8, Sodeyama], the projection is formed below an upper face of the sealing assembly [fig. 3, Sodeyama], comes into abutment with an inner peripheral face of the opening end of the exterior housing can [fig. 8, Sodeyama], and the maximum diameter of the projection is equal to or large than an inner diameter of the exterior housing can [fig. 8, Sodeyama depicts the protrusion in abutment with the inner surface of the case. This reads on the claimed limitation].
Annotated figure 8, Sodeyama showing the gasket (15) having a protrusion in abutment with the exterior can.
Sodeyama discloses that the applied pressing force (F) is solely applied to the tip of the lid or top of the battery case and gasket (annotated fig. 3 below – F vector away from protrusion circled). As such, Sodeyama depicts a situation where only the top of the lid and gasket have pressure being applied to them while the protrusion remains untouched (“not compressed”) during crimping.
The examiner notes that the following claim limitation is a product-by-process claim limitation
Specifically the limitation of “and is not compressed when the sealing assembly is crimped to the exterior housing can” is a product-by-process claim (emphasis added). That is to say the claim does not bar compression after crimping takes place or before crimping takes place. The claim does not necessarily require a final product without compression.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.", see MPEP 2113.
Crimping the exterior housing to the sealing assembly results in a final sealed/closed product capable of stable sealing and preventing the leakage of electrolyte and deterioration of electrochemical performance. The present art teaches of a final sealed/closed product capable of stable sealing and preventing the leakage of electrolyte and deterioration of electrochemical performance.
Finally, in an effort to expedite prosecution, should Sodeyama be interpreted so as not to teach that the protrusion is not compressed at all during crimping; it would have been obvious at the time of filing to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure that during the crimping process absolutely no compression is applied to the protrusion because doing so allows for the battery lid and the gasket to be sealed to a higher effect; maintaining DT that is a difference between T1 and T2 where T1 is directly related to the protrusion size/lack of compression [0100, fig. 3 Sodeyama].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US20080268336A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon discloses a cylindrical battery [0033-0034, fig. 1], comprising: an electrode assembly in which a positive electrode (113) and a negative electrode (112) are wound with a separator (114) interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0031, fig. 1]; an electrolyte [0031]; a bottomed cylindrical (“open top”) exterior housing can (120) that houses the electrode assembly and the electrolyte [0031, fig. 1]; a sealing assembly (140) that seals an opening of the exterior housing can [0031, fig. 1]; and an annular gasket (160) that is interposed between the exterior housing can (120) and the sealing assembly (140) [0040, fig. 1], the sealing assembly being fixed by crimping (“clamping”) to an opening end of the exterior housing can with the gasket interposed between the sealing assembly and the exterior housing can [0011-0012], wherein a projection (165) projecting outward in a radial direction is formed on an outer peripheral face of the gasket [0042, fig. 2], the projection comes into abutment with an inner peripheral face of the opening end of the exterior housing can [0040-0041], and the maximum diameter of the projection is equal to an inner diameter of the exterior housing can (fig 2) [0040, 0051, Jeon describes how the protrusions contact the inner wall of the casing and that this contact allows for the rotation of the gasket to be prevented. This description of the protrusion being in contact with the casing and preventing rotation reads on the applicant’s claim language of the maximum diameter of the projection being equal to an inner diameter of the exterior housing can. If it wasn’t then the gasket would be free to rotate].
Jeon is explicitly silent to 1) the projection is formed below an upper face of the sealing assembly. 2) the projection is not compressed when the sealing assembly is crimped to the exterior housing can.
In regards to 1), Jeon depicts the protrusion on the side edge of the gasket [0040, fig. 2] but since drawings are not necessarily to scale or a true representation; Jeon does not explicitly state the projection is formed below an upper face of the sealing assembly.
However, because Jeon depicts the protrusion in the center of the side edge. One of ordinary skill would appreciate this suggests that when combined with Jeon’s figure 1 it would be obvious for the sealing assembly of the cylindrical battery wherein an upper surface of the sealing assembly is above the center of the gasket where the protrusion would be located.
Annotated fig. 1 showing that the center of the gasket (and protrusion) is lower than an upper surface of the sealing assembly.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill within the art would find it obvious to try and have the protrusion be below the upper surface of the sealing cap as one of a finite number of options (above upper surface, equal in height to upper surface, or below upper surface) with a reasonable expectation of similar results i.e. a protrusion in which a large contact pressure is applied to during the clamping (“crimping”) process allowing for improved sealing [0041], see MPEP 2143.I.E. barring evidence of criticality and unexpected results.
In regards to 2), the examiner notes that the following claim limitation is a product-by-process claim limitation
Specifically the limitation of “and is not compressed when the sealing assembly is crimped to the exterior housing can” is a product-by-process claim.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.", see MPEP 2113.
Crimping the exterior housing to the sealing assembly results in a final sealed/closed product capable of stable sealing and preventing the leakage of electrolyte and deterioration of electrochemical performance. The present art teaches of a final sealed/closed product capable of stable sealing and preventing the leakage of electrolyte and deterioration of electrochemical performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for additional details.
In response to the inclusion of claim 2 into claim 1 the examiner has removed the 102 rejection however, a 103 rejection still remains.
Applicant argues allowability in response to the amendment of the protrusion not experiencing compression during crimping. However, as noted in the rejection of claim 1, this is a product-by-process limitation. Furthermore, newly introduced Sodeyama does not disclose a force being applied to the projection during crimping.
Applicant then argues allowability due to the fact that their sealing performance is not deteriorated. However, applicant only alleges this and does not provide data/results to support this allegation.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
No other arguments are presented, the examiner maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US4442184A discloses a gasket with a protrusion/flange (4) with a diameter larger than the interior of the sealing lid .
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724