DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 2/20/2026 has been entered. Newly amended Claims 1-3, 14, 21-23, 29, 51-52, 55, 68, and 80-87. are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every statutory rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/27/2025.
Claim 68 remains withdrawn as belonging to Group II. New claims 85-87 are examined as belonging to Group I.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 55 recites “wherein m is 1”. No m is recited in Claim 1 following amendment.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 87 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathnayake (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 2020 63 (20), 11945-11963).
Although the cited reference was published on 9/18/2020 after both provisional applications filed in April and May of the same year, neither provisional applications teach the entire list of compounds introduced in the PCT application filed in 2021, the following year. The effective filing date for Claim 87 is the PCT filing date of 3/17/2021. Therefore, Rathnayake constitutes prior art under 102(a)(1).
Rathnayake teaches Compound 5r
in Table 5 of Page 11949, which differs from claimed Compound C45 in that the aryl and cyclopentyl are not distanced by a methylene. The norovirus protease inhibitor compounds of Rathnayke may have the aryl and carboxamide be distanced by one or two carbons (11947-11949). Further, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
Therefore, one of skill in the art seeking to form a norovirus inhibitor would find it obvious to form a homologue of the Rathnayake compound before the instant filing date of Claim 87 and expect success given Rathnayake teaches methylene variability for forming norovirus medicaments and the addition of a methylene group is a known modification in the art.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
Claims 1-3, 14, 21-23, 29, 39, 51-52, 55, and 80-87 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of anticipatory nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4, 7, 17-20, 24, 39-40, 43, 49-52, 61, 63, and 65 of copending Application No. 18292989 (hereinafter referred to as Jacobson).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to overlapping genera of norovirus inhibitors, which both teach applicant’s elected compound: C252 (left) or A79 in Jacobson (right).
vs.
Since both applications teach the same compounds, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Jacobson.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Applicant’s arguments:
The above NSDP rejection stands because it is not “the only remaining rejection” in the application.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627