DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on April 23, 2026.
Status of Claims
Amendment of claim 17 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 17-24 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1-9 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 4, 2025.
Claims 17-24 are presently under examination.
The following species, elected by Applicant in the response dated September 4, 2025: MLN4924, as the NLPR1 inflammasome inhibitor, is under examination.
Priority
Rejections and/or Objections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Rejections and/or Objections) or newly applied (New Rejections and/or Objections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Rejections and/or Objections not Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Responses to Applicant’s arguments have been addressed immediately after the corresponding rejections, or in the section: Withdrawn Rejections and/or Objections, if the rejection was withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Modified Rejection Necessitated by Amendment).
Claim(s) 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et. al. (Am. J. Physiol. Lung Cell Mol. Physiol. (March 20, 2019) 316: L1070-L1080, cited by Applicant) as evidenced by Anthes et. al. (US 2005/0090527).
All references were cited in prior office action.
NOTE: since the specification does not disclose any example of “airway inflammation triggered by Enterovirus 3C protease-activated NLRP1”, for prior art purposes, any airway inflammation is going to be considered to be an “airway inflammation triggered by Enterovirus 3C protease-activated NLRP1”.
For claims 17-18, 22 and 24, Hao teaches a method of treating pulmonary inflammation (an airway inflammation as evidenced by Anthes, see [0011]) comprising the administration of a composition comprising the compound MLN4924, to a subject suffering from pulmonary inflammation (Male C57Bl/6 mice model of pulmonary inflammation). (See title; abstract; page L1071, left column, first sentence of second paragraph, Under Methods after animals and animal procedures; page L1077, left column, first and second sentences; and page L1078, right column, first sentence of second paragraph).
The prior art is silent regarding MLN4924 being an inhibitor of NLRP1 inflammasome activity. However, “inhibitor of NLRP1 inflammasome activity” is an inherent property of the compound MLN4924 as evidenced by the specification (see for example, page 2, first paragraph under Summary of the Invention, and page 3, lines 17-20).
MPEP 2112 I recites: “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
MPEP 2112 III recites: “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim, but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product, apparatus, and process claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims.”
The prior art is also silent regarding pulmonary inflammation (I.e. an airway inflammation) being triggered by Enterovirus 3C protease-activated NLRP1, wherein the 3C protease is from a virus species selected from the group consisting of HEV-A, HEV-B, HEV-C, HEV-D, HRV-A, HRV-B and HRV-C (see claims 17-18).
However, it seems like “pulmonary inflammation” is the same regardless of what triggered the disease. The prior art does not make distinctions, when treating pulmonary inflammation, among the different origins or causes of the disease.
Apparently, Applicant discovered a new mechanism of action that causes or triggers pulmonary inflammation (Enterovirus 3C protease-activated NLRP1).
The office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed to establish that the “pulmonary inflammation disease” disclosed by Han does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the “pulmonary inflammation” claimed in the instant application. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that “pulmonary inflammation” in the claimed method is different from the “pulmonary inflammation” taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
The statement in claim 19: “wherein said compound (MLN4924) inhibits N-glycine decron pathway ubiquitination and degradation of NLRP1 cleavage products”, does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process anticipated by the prior art: “a method of treating pulmonary inflammation comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising the compound MLN4924".
MPEP 2114.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “said compound (MLN4924) inhibits N-glycine decron pathway ubiquitination and degradation of NLRP1 cleavage products” appears to be the result of the process anticipated by the prior art: “a method of treating pulmonary inflammation comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising the compound MLN4924", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
As such, this limitation in the instantly claimed method has not been given any weight.
For claim 20, Hao teaches that the compound MLN4924 inhibits cullin (see page L1078, right column, middle of first paragraph).
For claim 21, Hao teaches that the compound MLN4924 is an inhibitor of NEDD8 (see page L10171, left column, first sentence of second paragraph).
The statement in claim 23: “wherein a subject administered said prophylaxis or treatment will have reduced IL-1 secretion, ASC oligomerization and/or lytic cell death in the airway compared to untreated subject”, does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process anticipated by the prior art: “a method of treating pulmonary inflammation comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising the compound MLN4924".
MPEP 2114.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “wherein a subject administered said prophylaxis or treatment will have reduced IL-1 secretion, ASC oligomerization and/or lytic cell death in the airway compared to untreated subject” appears to be the result of the process anticipated by the prior art: “a method of treating pulmonary inflammation comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising the compound MLN4924", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
As such, this limitation in the instantly claimed method has not been given any weight.
Response to Applicant’s arguments related to the above rejection
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Examiner’s response:
First, the fact that Hao teaches a different mechanism of action (IL-17A-mediated) than Applicant (enterovirus-triggered) is irrelevant, because apparently both: Hao and the instant claims are treating the same disease: pulmonary inflammation (an airway inflammation). The fact that Applicant discovered a new mechanism of action of a treatment previously disclosed in the prior art is not justification for allowance.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new mechanism of action (enterovirus-triggered) of a known invention (administering MLN4924 to a subject suffering from airway inflammation). The explanation of an effect or mechanism of action obtained when using a compound, cannot confer novelty on a known process (administering MLN4924 to a subject suffering from airway inflammation) if the skilled artisan was already aware of the occurrence of the desired therapeutic effect. Though new properties of a compound or their mechanism of action are no doubt important contributions to scientific and pharmaceutical development, the assessment of patentability is based upon the therapeutic applications and effects of the compounds, not the mechanism or properties by which they exert such a therapeutic effect.
MPEP 2145 states: “Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render non-obvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991)”.
Second, Applicant states:
“The present claims pertain to the use of MLN4924 to treat enterovirus-triggered
inflammasome activation in human airway epithelial cells, which do not express IL-17A.”
The instant claims recite a “subject” without specifying that the subject is human.
Double Patenting (Maintained Rejection).
Claims 17-24 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 and 1-2 of copending Application No.18/547,670 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications recite the treatment of airway inflammatory diseases comprising the administration of a composition comprising a compound like MLN4924. The specification teaches that airway inflammation is considered an inflammatory pathology triggered by ribosome stalling and/or ribosome collisions (see page 3, first paragraph and page 15, line 28 through page 16, line 2).
MPEP 804 II. B. 1 states:
“The court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
April 29, 2026.