DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 02/28/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1 and 15 have been amended. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1-3, 5-9, 11 and 13-20 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/28/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 15 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 20230371355 A1 - hereinafter Fang) in view of Kim et al. (US 20170237038 A1 - hereinafter Kim), Moon et al. (US 20190081117 A1 – hereinafter Moon), Hirase et al. (US 20230123636 A1 – hereinafter Hirase), Odaka et al. (US 20150076476 A1 – hereinafter Odaka), Zhang (US 20160254494 A1– hereinafter Zhang-494), and Choi et al. (US 20220052140 A1 – hereinafter Choi).
Regarding independent claim 1, Fang teaches:
(Currently amended) A display substrate (100 – Fig. 9 – [0028] –
“substrate 100”), comprising a pixel region (AA – Fig. 9 – [0027] – “display area AA”) and a stretch hole region (HA – Fig. 9 – [0027] – “hole area HA”), wherein the pixel region (AA) comprises at least one sub-pixel (Fig. 9 shows a pixel in region AA), and the stretch hole region (HA) comprises at least one hole region (Fig. 9 shows a hole in region HA) and a partition region (TA – Fig. 9 – [0027] – “transition area TA”) surrounding the hole region (Fig. 9 shows this); the display substrate (100) comprises a base substrate (600 – Fig. 9 – [0039] – “buffer layer 600” – this is the base layer), a structure layer (200 – Fig. 9 – [0031] – “pixel circuit layer 200”) disposed on the base substrate (100), and an encapsulation structure layer (800 – Fig. 9 – [0064] – “packaging layer 800 may include an organic layer, an inorganic layer, or a combination thereof” – this is an encapsulation layer) disposed on a side of the structure layer (200) away from the base substrate (100), the partition region (TA) comprises at least one partition structure, the partition structure (SR – Fig. 9 annotated, see below – [0028] – “partition ring SR”) surrounds the hole region (HA); the hole region (HA) comprises a base substrate hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘BH’) disposed on the base substrate (600) and a structure hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘SH’) penetrating through the structure layer (200), the base substrate hole (BH) is communicated with the structure hole (SH), at least a portion of an inner wall (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘IW’) of the structure hole is covered by at least one encapsulation material layer in the encapsulation structure layer,
and an inner wall of the base substrate hole comprises a base substrate material segment (Fig. 10, annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘BSM’) that is not covered by the encapsulation material layer (800 – Fig. 10 shows this);
wherein the encapsulation structure layer comprises a first encapsulation layer and a second encapsulation layer;
wherein an encapsulation hole is provided on the first encapsulation layer of the hole region, and the encapsulation hole is communicated with the structure hole;
wherein the encapsulation structure layer further comprises a third encapsulation layer as the encapsulation material layer; the third encapsulation layer is disposed on a side of the second encapsulation layer away from the base substrate, the third encapsulation layer covers inner walls of the structure hole and the encapsulation hole, and the third encapsulation layer does not cover the base substrate material segment (BSM) of the base substrate hole (BH); and
wherein an emitting block is provided on a side of the structure layer (200 – Fig. 9 – [0031] – “pixel circuit layer 200”) of the hole region (Fig. 9 shows a hole in region HA) away from the base substrate (600), an emitting block hole (Fig. 8 annotated, see below – this corresponds to an emitting block hole as there it lack the ability to emit – hereinafter ‘EBH’) is provided on the emitting block,
the emitting block hole (EBH) is communicated with the structure hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘SH’), and the third encapsulation layer covers an inner wall of the emitting block hole (EBH – Fig. 8 shows this);
wherein the partition structure comprises a first partition layer and a second partition layer disposed on a side of the first partition layer away from the base substrate, the first partition layer is provided with a first partition hole surrounding the hole region, the second partition layer is provided with a second partition hole surrounding the hole region, and the second partition hole is communicated with the first partition hole to form a partition groove;
wherein the second partition layer located around the second partition hole has a protruding part relative to a sidewall of the first partition hole, and the protruding part and the sidewall of the first partition hole form an inwardly recessed structure;
wherein in the partition groove, the protruding part of the second partition layer projects from the upper opening of the first partition hole to form an "eave" structure;
wherein the display substrate (100) further comprises a light emitting structure layer, the light emitting structure layer ( 520 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “luminescent structure layer 520 “) comprises a anode (510 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “first electrode layer 510” – this is an anode), organic light emitting layer (520 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “organic luminescent layer 521”) and a cathode (530 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “second electrode layer 530”);
wherein a cathode block (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘CB’) is disposed on a side of the emitting block (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EB’) of the hole region away (HA) from the base substrate (600); and
wherein an optical coupling layer is disposed on the cathode, and an optical coupling block is disposed on the cathode block (CB) and is disconnected at the "eave" structure and
wherein an orthographic projection of an end of the structure hole adjacent to the base substrate hole on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of an end of the base substrate hole adjacent to the structure hole on the base substrate; there is a spacing between a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the structure hole adjacent to the base substrate hole on the base substrate and a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the base substrate hole adjacent to the structure hole on the base substrate; the end of the structure hole adjacent to the substrate hole and the end of the base substrate hole adjacent to the structure hole form a step, and the step is covered by the encapsulation structure layer.
Fang does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
the structure hole (HA – Fig. 2 – [0038] – “hole area HA”) is covered by at least one encapsulation material layer (104 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 104”) in the encapsulation structure layer (112 – Fig. 2 – [0031] – “encapsulation (TFE) layer 112” – this is an encapsulation structure for around the hole area where as 632 is over the display structure), and an inner wall of the base substrate hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below, shows this, hereinafter ‘BSH’) comprises a base substrate material segment that is not covered by the encapsulation material layer;
wherein the encapsulation structure layer (104) comprises a first encapsulation layer (109 – Fig. 2 – [0033] – “108 may include a first inorganic film 109, a first organic film 110 on the first inorganic film 109, and a second inorganic film 111 on the first organic film 110”) and a second encapsulation layer (110 – Fig. 2 – [0033] – “108 may include a first inorganic film 109, a first organic film 110 on the first inorganic film 109, and a second inorganic film 111 on the first organic film 110”);
wherein an encapsulation hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EH’”) is provided on the first encapsulation layer (109) of the hole region, and the encapsulation hole (EH) is communicated with the structure hole (HA);
wherein the encapsulation structure layer (112) further comprises a third encapsulation layer (111 – Fig. 2 – [0033] – “108 may include a first inorganic film 109, a first organic film 110 on the first inorganic film 109, and a second inorganic film 111 on the first organic film 110”) as the encapsulation material layer (108); the third encapsulation layer (111) is disposed on a side of the second encapsulation (110) layer away from the base substrate (101), the third encapsulation layer (111) covers inner walls of the structure hole (HA – Fig. 2 – [0038] – “hole area HA”) and the encapsulation hole (EH), and the third encapsulation layer (111) does not cover the base substrate material segment of the base substrate hole;
the third encapsulation layer (111) covers an inner wall of the emitting block hole;
wherein the partition structure comprises a first partition layer (641 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “first insulating dam 641”) and a second partition layer (642 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “first insulating dam 642”) disposed on a side of the first partition layer (641) away from the base substrate (601 – fig. 6 – [0073] – “display substrate 601”), the first partition layer (641) is provided with a first partition hole (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘FPH’) surrounding the hole region (HA – Fig. 2 – [0038] – “hole area HA”), the second partition layer (642) is provided with a second partition hole (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘SPH’) surrounding the hole region (HA), and the second partition hole (SPH) is communicated with the first partition hole (FPH) to form a partition groove (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PG’),
form a step (Fig. 2 annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘STP’), and the step (STP) is covered by the encapsulation structure layer (111 – Fig. 2 annotated shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the step and the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of providing a layer to prevent moisture intrusion into the display.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Fang and Kim do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Moon teaches
wherein an emitting block (150 – Fig. 2 – [0034] – “protrusion 150” – this corresponds to an emitting block as 150 has layers 118 – {[0030] – “organic layer 118 can be divided into an electron injection layer EIL, an electron transport layer ETL, an emission layer EML, a hole transport layer HTL, and a hole injection layer HIL “}, - this corresponds to an emitting block as it matches the configuration of applicant’s layer 74 that is equivalent to applicatn’s layer 73 as shown in the figures}, {[0041] – “organic layer 118 can be disposed to cover the upper surface of the first protrusion 150”}, {120 – [0027] – “a second electrode 120”} on top of it).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the emitting block structure as taught by Moon into Fang and Kim.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Moon in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0006] – “a luminescent display panel having a structure capable of increasing an adhesive strength between thin film layers formed inside a display panel and improving an encapsulation capability of an encapsulation layer.” The improved adhesive strength is created by making emitting blocks in between the partitions that will prevent the entire thin film from peeling as it may peel in between the partitions but will not effect the entire film or the display.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Fang, Kim, and Moon do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Hirase teaches
wherein the second partition layer (41 – Fig. 7 – [0099] – “protrusion portion 8 only includes the photoresist layer 41”) located around the second partition hole has a protruding part (41 – Fig. 7 – [0099] – “protrusion portion 8 only includes the photoresist layer 41” – 41 clearly protrudes over the structure below – hereinafter ‘41P’) relative to a sidewall (40u – Fig. 7 – “reverse-tapered face 40u” – the face is the sidewall) of the first partition hole, and the protruding part (41P) and the sidewall (40u) of the first partition hole (9 – Fig. 3 – [0084] – “the notched portion 9”) form an inwardly recessed structure ([0056] – “the notched portion 9 includes a reverse-tapered face 40u tilted to a side facing the active area DA from the display screen toward the base member 10 – Fig. 3 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the protruding part structure as taught by Hirase into Fang, Kim, and Moon.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Hirase in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0004] – “of preventing the infiltration of foreign materials in a conventional display device, a proposal has been made that a protrusion portion be formed along the periphery (i.e., inactive portion) of the active area where the opening is formed and that the light-emitting layer be disconnected as a result of a step at the protrusion portion.”
Fang, Kim, Moon, and Hirase do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Odaka teaches
the protruding part (O2 – Fig. 5 – [0123] – “the overhang structure O.sub.2”) of the second partition layer (32 and 34 – Fig. 5 – [0123] – “the electrode layer 34 is formed to cover the second patterning layer 32”) projects from the upper opening of the first partition hole (E5 – Fig. 5 – [0123] – “trench area E.sub.5”) to form an "eave" structure (Fig. 5 shows this – an overhang is an eave structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the protruding part and eave structure as taught by Odaka into Fang, Kim, Moon, and Hirase.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Odaka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0008] – “the frame area has been required to be narrowed with a reduction in the size of the organic EL display device. However, as a width of the shielding portion of the mask is narrowed more in association with the narrowed frame of the frame area, the mask is easily deformed by a stress in forming a film of the electrode. For that reason, there is a risk that a precision in formation of the electrode pattern may be degraded due to the film formation using the mask.”
Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, and Odaka do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang-494 teaches
wherein an optical coupling layer (5 – Fig. 2 – [ 0031] – “the optical coupling layer 6 comprises a bottom contacting with the second electrode 4”) is disposed on the cathode (4 – Fig. 2 – [ 0031] – “the second electrode 4” – this is the cathode), and an optical coupling block (5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the optical coupling structure as taught by Zhang-494 into Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, and Odaka.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhang-494 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0007] – “to solve the problem of lowered light extraction efficiency caused by total reflection of light occurring inside the uniform-thickness type optical coupling layer of an OLED array substrate.”
Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, and Zhang-494 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Choi teaches
wherein an orthographic projection of an end of the structure hole (H1 – H4 – Fig. 10 annotated, see below – [0192] – “first to seventh holes H1, H2, H3, H4, H5, H6, and H7, respectively, overlapping with each other” – hereinafter ‘SH’) adjacent to the base substrate hole (TH1 – Fig. 10 annotated, see below – [0180] – “through-hole TH1”) on the base substrate (Fig. 10 annotated – [0184] – “substrate 100 and the buffer layer 111” – hereinafter “BS”) is within an orthographic projection of an end of the base substrate hole (TH1) adjacent to the structure hole (SH) on the base substrate (BS); there is a spacing between a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the structure hole (SH) adjacent to the base substrate hole (TH1) on the base substrate (BS) and a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the base substrate hole (TH1) adjacent to the structure hole (SH) on the base substrate (BS); the end of the structure hole (SH) adjacent to the substrate hole and the end of the base substrate hole (TH1) adjacent to the structure hole (SH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the hole structure as taught by Choi into Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, and Zhang-494.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Choi in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0008] – “In order to add various functions to display apparatuses, various suitable electronic components, for example, such as cameras and/or sensors, may be arranged in display areas of the display apparatuses.”
Regarding claim 2, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. Fang further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the
inner wall (IW) of the base substrate hole further (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘BH’) comprises an encapsulation material segment covered by the encapsulation material layer (800), wherein the encapsulation material segment is located on a side of the base substrate material (600) segment close to the structure hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below, shows this).
Regarding claim 3, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 3 depends. Fang further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the
base substrate hole comprises (BH) a through hole penetrating through the base substrate (600 – Fig. 10 shows a through hole), or comprises a blind hole not penetrating through the base substrate.
Fang, Kim, Moon, Odaka, and Choi do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 3.
However, in an analogous art, Hirase teaches
a blind hole (45 – Fig. – [0057] – “the depression portion 45”) not penetrating through the base substrate (12 – Fig. 10 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the protruding part structure as taught by Hirase into Fang, Kim, Moon, Odaka, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Hirase in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 5 depends. Fang further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the
partition structure (SR) is disposed between the structure layer (200 - Fig. 8 shows this) and the encapsulation structure layer (800).
Regarding claim 6, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 6 depends. Fang further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein an
opening size of the base substrate hole is smaller than an opening size of the structure hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see above, shows this).
Regarding claim 7, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, and Zhang-494 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
(Previously presented) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the first encapsulation layer (635) covers the structure layer (AA – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “layer 632 may cover the active area AA”) and the partition structure (IAA – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “layer 632 may cover at least part of the inactive area IAA”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 7 from which claim 8 depends. Fang further teaches
(Original) The display substrate according to claim 7, wherein an
orthographic projection of an inner wall of the encapsulation hole on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of an inner wall of the structure hole on the base substrate are substantially overlapped (Fig. 10 annotated, see below, shows this).
Regarding claim 9, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 7 from which claim 9 depends. Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 9.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
(Previously presented) The display substrate according to claim 7, wherein
the second encapsulation layer (638) is disposed on a side of the first encapsulation layer (635) of the pixel region (AA) away from the base substrate (601), or the second encapsulation layer (638) is disposed on a side of the first encapsulation layer (635) of the pixel region (AA) and the partition region away (IAA) from the base substrate (601).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 11 depends. Fang further teaches
the base substrate material segment (BSM).
Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 11.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
(Previously presented) The display substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the third encapsulation layer (111) covers a part of an inner wall of the base substrate hole (BSH), and an encapsulation material segment covered by the third encapsulation layer (111) is formed in the base substrate hole (BSH), or the third encapsulation layer (111) does not cover the inner wall of the base substrate hole (BSH), and the inner wall of the base substrate hole is all the base substrate material segment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 13 depends. Fang further teaches
(Previously presented) The display substrate according to claim 1,
wherein the first encapsulation layer (800 – this has 3 layers) is disposed on a side of the cathode block (530) away from the base substrate (600), a cathode block hole (Fig 9 annotated, see below) is provided on the cathode block, the cathode block hole is communicated with the emitting block hole (EBH) and the encapsulation hole, and the third encapsulation layer (800 – this has 3 layers) covers an inner wall of the cathode block hole (Fig 9 annotated, see below, shows this).
Regarding claim 14, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 1 from which claim 14 depends. Fang further teaches
(Previously presented) A display apparatus, comprising the display
substrate (100 – Fig. 9 – [0028] – “substrate 100”) according to claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 15, Fang teaches:
(Currently amended) A preparation method of a display substrate
(100 – Fig. 9 – [0028] – “substrate 100”), the display substrate comprises a pixel region (AA – Fig. 9 – [0027] – “display area AA”) and a stretch hole region (HA – Fig. 9 – [0027] – “hole area HA”), the pixel region (AA) comprises at least one sub-pixel (Fig. 9 shows a pixel in region AA), and the stretch hole region (HA) comprises at least one hole region (Fig. 9 shows a hole in region HA) and a partition region (TA – Fig. 9 – [0027] – “transition area TA”) surrounding the hole region (HA); the preparation method comprises: forming a base substrate (100), a structure layer (200 – Fig. 9 – [0031] – “pixel circuit layer 200”) disposed on the base substrate (100), and an encapsulation structure layer (800 – Fig. 9 – [0064] – “packaging layer 800 may include an organic layer, an inorganic layer, or a combination thereof” – this is an encapsulation layer) disposed on the structure layer (100), wherein the partition region (TA) comprises at least a partition structure (SR – Fig. 9 annotated, see below – [0028] – “partition ring SR”), and the partition structure (SR) surrounds the hole region (HA); forming a stretch hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘STH’) in the hole region (HA), wherein the stretch hole region (HA) comprises a base substrate hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘BH’) disposed on the base substrate (600) and a structure hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘SH’) penetrating through the structure layer (200),
the base substrate hole (BH) is communicated with the structure hole, at least a portion of an inner wall of the structure hole is covered by at least one encapsulation material layer in the encapsulation structure layer, and an inner wall of the base substrate hole comprises a base substrate material segment (Fig. 10, annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘BSM’) that is not covered by the encapsulation material layer;
wherein the encapsulation structure layer comprises a first encapsulation layer and a second encapsulation layer;
wherein an encapsulation hole is provided on the first encapsulation layer of the hole region, and the encapsulation hole is communicated with the structure hole;
wherein the encapsulation structure layer further comprises a third encapsulation layer as the encapsulation material layer; the third encapsulation layer is disposed on a side of the second encapsulation layer away from the base substrate, the third encapsulation layer covers inner walls of the structure hole and the encapsulation hole, and the third encapsulation layer does not cover the base substrate material segment (BSM) of the base substrate hole;
wherein an emitting block is provided on a side of the structure layer of the hole region away from the base substrate (600), an emitting block hole (Fig. 8 annotated, see below – this corresponds to an emitting block hole as there it lack the ability to emit – hereinafter ‘EBH’) is provided on the emitting block, the emitting block hole (EBH) is communicated with the structure hole, and the third encapsulation layer covers an inner wall of the emitting block hole (EBH);
wherein the partition structure comprises a first partition layer and a second partition layer disposed on a side of the first partition layer away from the base substrate, the first partition layer is provided with a first partition hole surrounding the hole region, the second partition layer is provided with a second partition hole surrounding the hole region, and the second partition hole is communicated with the first partition hole to form a partition groove;
wherein the second partition layer located around the second partition hole has a protruding part relative to a sidewall of the first partition hole, and the protruding part and the sidewall of the first partition hole form an inwardly recessed structure;
wherein in the partition groove, the protruding part of the second partition layer projects from the upper opening of the first partition hole to form an "eave" structure;
wherein the display substrate (100) further comprises a light emitting structure layer, the light emitting structure layer ( 520 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “luminescent structure layer 520 “) comprises a anode (510 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “first electrode layer 510” – this is an anode), organic light emitting layer (520 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “organic luminescent layer 521”) and a cathode (530 – Fig. 5 – [0052] – “second electrode layer 530”);
wherein a cathode block (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘CB’) is disposed on a side of the emitting block (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EB’) of the hole region away (HA) from the base substrate (600); and
wherein an optical coupling layer is disposed on the cathode, and an optical coupling block is disposed on the cathode block (CB) and is disconnected at the "eave" structureand
wherein an orthographic projection of an end of the structure hole adjacent to the base substrate hole on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of an end of the base substrate hole adjacent to the structure hole on the base substrate; there is a spacing between a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the structure hole adjacent to the base substrate hole on the base substrate and a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the base substrate hole adjacent to the structure hole on the base substrate; the end of the structure hole adjacent to the substrate hole and the end of the base substrate hole adjacent to the structure hole form a step, and the step is covered by the encapsulation structure layer.
Fang does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
the structure hole (HA – Fig. 2 – [0038] – “hole area HA”), at least a portion of an inner wall (Fig. 2 annotated, see below, shows this) of the structure hole (HA) is covered by at least one encapsulation material layer (104 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 104”) in the encapsulation structure layer (112 – Fig. 2 – [0031] – “encapsulation (TFE) layer 112” – this is an encapsulation structure for around the hole area where as 632 is over the display structure), and an inner wall of the base substrate hole comprises a base substrate material segment that is not covered by the encapsulation material layer (104 – (Fig. 2 shows this)
wherein the encapsulation structure layer (112) comprises a first encapsulation layer (105 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”) and a second encapsulation layer (106 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”);
wherein an encapsulation hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EH’”) is provided on the first encapsulation layer (109) of the hole region, and the encapsulation hole (EH) is communicated with the structure hole (HA);
wherein the encapsulation structure layer (112) further comprises a third encapsulation layer (107 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”) as the encapsulation material layer (104); the third encapsulation layer (107) is disposed on a side of the second encapsulation layer (106) away from the base substrate (101 – fig. 2 – [0032] – “display substrate 101”), the third encapsulation layer (107) covers inner walls of the structure hole (HA) and the encapsulation hole (EH), and the third encapsulation layer (107),
wherein the partition structure comprises a first partition layer (641 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “first insulating dam 641”) and a second partition layer (642 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “first insulating dam 642”) disposed on a side of the first partition layer (641) away from the base substrate (601 – fig. 6 – [0073] – “display substrate 601”), the first partition layer (641) is provided with a first partition hole (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘FPH’) surrounding the hole region (HA – Fig. 2 – [0038] – “hole area HA”), the second partition layer (642) is provided with a second partition hole (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘SPH’) surrounding the hole region (HA), and the second partition hole (SPH) is communicated with the first partition hole (FPH) to form a partition groove (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PG’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of providing a layer to prevent moisture intrusion into the display.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Fang and Kim do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Moon teaches
wherein an emitting block (150 – Fig. 2 – [0034] – “protrusion 150” – this corresponds to an emitting block as 150 has layers 118 – {[0030] – “organic layer 118 can be divided into an electron injection layer EIL, an electron transport layer ETL, an emission layer EML, a hole transport layer HTL, and a hole injection layer HIL “}, - this corresponds to an emitting block as it matches the configuration of applicant’s layer 74 that is equivalent to applicatn’s layer 73 as shown in the figures}, {[0041] – “organic layer 118 can be disposed to cover the upper surface of the first protrusion 150”}, {120 – [0027] – “a second electrode 120”} on top of it).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the emitting block structure as taught by Moon into Fang and Kim.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Moon in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0006] – “a luminescent display panel having a structure capable of increasing an adhesive strength between thin film layers formed inside a display panel and improving an encapsulation capability of an encapsulation layer.” The improved adhesive strength is created by making emitting blocks in between the partitions that will prevent the entire thin film from peeling as it may peel in between the partitions but will not effect the entire film or the display.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Fang, Kim, and Moon do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Hirase teaches
wherein the second partition layer (41 – Fig. 7 – [0099] – “protrusion portion 8 only includes the photoresist layer 41”) located around the second partition hole has a protruding part (41 – Fig. 7 – [0099] – “protrusion portion 8 only includes the photoresist layer 41” – 41 clearly protrudes over the structure below – hereinafter ‘41P’) relative to a sidewall (40u – Fig. 7 – “reverse-tapered face 40u” – the face is the sidewall) of the first partition hole, and the protruding part (41P) and the sidewall (40u) of the first partition hole (9 – Fig. 3 – [0084] – “the notched portion 9”) form an inwardly recessed structure ([0056] – “the notched portion 9 includes a reverse-tapered face 40u tilted to a side facing the active area DA from the display screen toward the base member 10 – Fig. 3 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the protruding part structure as taught by Hirase into Fang, Kim, and Moon.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Hirase in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0004] – “of preventing the infiltration of foreign materials in a conventional display device, a proposal has been made that a protrusion portion be formed along the periphery (i.e., inactive portion) of the active area where the opening is formed and that the light-emitting layer be disconnected as a result of a step at the protrusion portion.”
Fang, Kim, Moon, and Hirase do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Odaka teaches
the protruding part (O2 – Fig. 5 – [0123] – “the overhang structure O.sub.2”) of the second partition layer (32 and 34 – Fig. 5 – [0123] – “the electrode layer 34 is formed to cover the second patterning layer 32”) projects from the upper opening of the first partition hole (E5 – Fig. 5 – [0123] – “trench area E.sub.5”) to form an "eave" structure (Fig. 5 shows this – an overhang is an eave structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the protruding part and eave structure as taught by Odaka into Fang, Kim, Moon, and Hirase.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Odaka in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0008] – “the frame area has been required to be narrowed with a reduction in the size of the organic EL display device. However, as a width of the shielding portion of the mask is narrowed more in association with the narrowed frame of the frame area, the mask is easily deformed by a stress in forming a film of the electrode. For that reason, there is a risk that a precision in formation of the electrode pattern may be degraded due to the film formation using the mask.”
Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, and Odaka do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang-494 teaches
wherein an optical coupling layer (5 – Fig. 2 – [ 0031] – “the optical coupling layer 6 comprises a bottom contacting with the second electrode 4”) is disposed on the cathode (4 – Fig. 2 – [ 0031] – “the second electrode 4” – this is the cathode), and an optical coupling block (5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the optical coupling structure as taught by Zhang-494 into Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, and Odaka.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhang-494 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0007] – “to solve the problem of lowered light extraction efficiency caused by total reflection of light occurring inside the uniform-thickness type optical coupling layer of an OLED array substrate.”
Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, and Zhang-494 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Choi teaches
wherein an orthographic projection of an end of the structure hole (H1 – H4 – Fig. 10 annotated, see below – [0192] – “first to seventh holes H1, H2, H3, H4, H5, H6, and H7, respectively, overlapping with each other” – hereinafter ‘SH’) adjacent to the base substrate hole (TH1 – Fig. 10 annotated, see below – [0180] – “through-hole TH1”) on the base substrate (Fig. 10 annotated – [0184] – “substrate 100 and the buffer layer 111” – hereinafter “BS”) is within an orthographic projection of an end of the base substrate hole (TH1) adjacent to the structure hole (SH) on the base substrate (BS); there is a spacing between a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the structure hole (SH) adjacent to the base substrate hole (TH1) on the base substrate (BS) and a boundary of the orthographic projection of the end of the base substrate hole (TH1) adjacent to the structure hole (SH) on the base substrate (BS); the end of the structure hole (SH) adjacent to the substrate hole and the end of the base substrate hole (TH1) adjacent to the structure hole (SH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the hole structure as taught by Choi into Fang, Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, and Zhang-494.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Choi in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0008] – “In order to add various functions to display apparatuses, various suitable electronic components, for example, such as cameras and/or sensors, may be arranged in display areas of the display apparatuses.”
Regarding claim 16, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 15 from which claim 16 depends. Fang further teaches
the base substrate material segment (BSM).
Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 16.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
(Original) The preparation method according to claim 15, wherein the inner
wall of the base substrate hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below, shows this) further comprises an encapsulation material segment covered by the encapsulation material layer, and the encapsulation material segment is located on a side of the base substrate material segment close to the structure hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 15 from which claim 17 depends. Fang further teaches
(Original) The preparation method according to claim 15, wherein the
base substrate hole comprises a through hole penetrating through the base substrate (Fig. 8 shows this), or comprises a blind hole not penetrating through the base substrate (Fig. 9 shows this).
Regarding claim 18, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 15 from which claim 18 depends. Fang further teaches
(Previously presented) The preparation method according to claim
15, wherein the forming the stretch hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘SH’) in the hole region (HA – Fig. 9 – [0027] – “hole area HA”) comprises:
forming the encapsulation structure layer (800 – Fig. 9 – [0064] –
“packaging layer 800 may include an organic layer, an inorganic layer, or a combination thereof” – this is an encapsulation layer) and a transition hole (Fig. 9 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘TH’); the encapsulation structure layer comprises the first encapsulation layer, the second encapsulation layer, and the third encapsulation layer as the encapsulation material layer that are stacked; the transition hole (TH) is located in the hole region (HA), the first encapsulation layer and the structure layer in the transition hole are removed ([0039] – “In the process of the buffer layer 600, a method known in the art, for example, dry etching or wet etching, can be used so that an opening located in the hole area HA is formed in the buffer layer 600”), and the third encapsulation layer covers an inner wall of the transition hole; and
etching the transition hole to form the stretch hole; the stretch hole comprises the transition hole and the base substrate hole disposed on the base substrate, the base substrate hole and the transition hole are communicated, and an inner wall of the base substrate hole comprises a base substrate material segment (BSM) not covered by the third encapsulation layer.
Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 18.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
the encapsulation structure layer (104) comprises the first encapsulation layer (105 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”), the second encapsulation layer (106 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”), and the third encapsulation layer (107 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”) as the encapsulation material layer (104) that are stacked,
etching the transition hole to form the stretch hole; the stretch hole comprises the transition hole and the base substrate hole disposed on the base substrate, the base substrate hole and the transition hole are communicated (Fig. 2 annotated, see below), and an inner wall of the base substrate hole comprises a base substrate material segment not covered by the third encapsulation layer (107) (Fig. 2 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 2 from which claim 20 depends. Fang further teaches
(Previously presented) The display substrate according to claim 2,
wherein the encapsulation structure layer (800 – Fig. 9 – [0064] – “packaging layer 800 may include an organic layer, an inorganic layer, or a combination thereof” – this is an encapsulation layer) comprises the first encapsulation layer (800 – Fig. 9 – [0064] – “packaging layer 800 may include an organic layer, an inorganic layer, or a combination thereof” – first layer is hereinafter ‘FL’), the first encapsulation layer (FL) covers the structure layer and the partition structure (SR – Fig. 9 annotated, see below – [0028] – “partition ring SR”), the encapsulation hole is provided on the first encapsulation layer of the hole region, and the encapsulation hole is communicated with the structure hole.
Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
the encapsulation hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below) is provided on the first encapsulation layer (105) of the hole region, and the encapsulation hole is communicated with the structure hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, Choi, and Wang et al. (US 20190207160 A1 – hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 19, Fang as modified by Kim, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi, teaches claim 18 from which claim 19 depends. Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 19.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
(Previously presented) The preparation method according to claim 18,
wherein materials of the first encapsulation layer (105 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”) and the third encapsulation layer comprise inorganic materials (107 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”), and a material of the second encapsulation layer comprises an organic material (106 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”); the forming the encapsulation structure layer and the transition hole comprises:
forming the first encapsulation layer, wherein the first encapsulation layer covers the structure layer and the partition structure;
forming the transition hole in the hole region through a patterning process, wherein the first encapsulation layer and the structure layer in the transition hole are removed;
forming the second encapsulation layer (632 – [0068] – “TFE layer 632 may include a plurality of inorganic films 633 and a plurality of organic films 634 that are alternately stacked”), wherein the second encapsulation layer (638 – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “first organic film 638”) is disposed on a side of the first encapsulation layer (635 – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “first inorganic film 635”) of the pixel region (AA – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “layer 632 may cover the active area AA”) and the partition region (IAA – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “layer 632 may cover at least part of the inactive area IAA”) away from the base substrate (Fig. 2 shows this), or, a first organic material layer in the second encapsulation layer (638 – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “first organic film 638”) is disposed on a side of the first encapsulation layer (635 – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “first inorganic film 635”) of the pixel region away from the base substrate, and a second organic material layer (639 – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “second organic film 638”) in the second encapsulation layer is disposed on a side of the first encapsulation layer of the partition region away from the base substrate; and
forming the third encapsulation layer (107 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”) as the encapsulation material layer (104 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 104”), wherein the third encapsulation layer (107) is provided on a side of the second encapsulation layer (106 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”) away from the base substrate (101 – fig. 2 – [0032] – “display substrate 101”), and the third encapsulation layer (107 – Fig. 2 – [0032] – “The first TFE, layer 104 may include a first inorganic film 105, a first organic film 106 on the first inorganic film 105, and a second inorganic film 107 on the first organic film 106”) covers the inner wall of the transition hole (Fig. 2 annotated, see below, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the encapsulation layer and partition structure as taught by Kim into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, and Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, Choi, and Kim do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 19.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches
the encapsulation structure layer (1 – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “encapsulation layer 1”) and the transition hole comprises:
forming the first encapsulation layer (1b – Fig. 6 – [0067] – “first inorganic encapsulation layer 1a”), wherein the first encapsulation layer (1b) covers ([0067] – “encapsulation layer 1b cover the crack stop slit and the sacrificial layer” – this includes the structure layer and partition structure) the structure layer (51 – Fig. 6 – [0077] – “display region 51” – this is the structure layer) and the partition structure (52 – Fig. 6 – [0077] – “non-display region 52” – this is the partition structure);
forming the transition hole in the hole region through a patterning process, wherein the first encapsulation layer and the structure layer in the transition hole are removed (S5 – Fig.7 – [0047] – “in step S5, the sacrificial layer 9 and the encapsulation layer 1 located on the sacrificial layer 9 are removed” – this forms a hole).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the encapsulation layer
formation method as taught by Wang into Fang, Moon, Hirase, Odaka, Zhang-494, Choi and Kim.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Wang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of forming the
encapsulation layers before forming the hole as a method of speeding up manufacturing
by only having to re-encapsulate the hole section as necessary to prevent moisture
intrusion into the pixel area.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 20150076476 A1 is cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including "stretch hole region, wherein the pixel region comprises at least one
sub-pixel, and the stretch hole region comprises at least one hole region and a
partition region surrounding the hole".
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897