DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/5/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Jiang reference is now modified by the Noboru reference. Since the arguments are only in light of the amendment, and this combination has not been previously presented or addressed, the arguments are moot. The amendment also necessitates a new USC 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “changing a drying condition of the dryer,” and the claim also recites “wherein the drying condition is set at a drying temperature range of 100 to 300 °C” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claims 2-16 depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2013/0109765 A1) in view of Noboru (JP 2006046680 A). A new machine translation is provided herewith for Noboru that has paragraph numbers and is used for citation purposes. All citations have been updated.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a method comprising: drying a feed material in a dryer prior to introduction into a gasifier (paragraph 62), producing syngas in the gasifier (paragraph 63), and performing a Fischer-Tropsch reaction on the syngas to catalytically generate organic products (paragraph 80). Jiang discloses that the feed material includes waste (paragraph 6). Jiang discloses dryer output temperature is room temperature to 260 °F (paragraph 128) which is about 20 to about 127 °C. It is the Office’s position that controlling the moisture to be within certain value necessitates measurement but Jiang does not disclose changing drying conditions based on reaching a target moisture content. Noburu—in an invention for drying and gasifying waste material—discloses measuring the moisture and adjusting the dryer capacity based on a predetermined moisture amount range (paragraph 83) or drying time to prevent excessive or insufficient removal of moisture from the waste (paragraph 106). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide moisture measurements means as needed in Jiang and a feedback means for the dryer to Jiang so as to prevent excessive or insufficient removal of moisture from the waste as suggested by Noburu.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang discloses providing the feed material (which includes waste) from a storage bin (paragraph 19).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Jiang discloses a first feed material (waste) bin as above but not a second storage means for dried material. Noburu discloses a dryer 61, a drying hopper 62, a drying hopper delivery unit 163, a dryer delivery unit 64, and a second pit delivery unit 65 (paragraph 57). Noburu discloses that the transport unit 64 for the dryer is provided with a load cell 100 serving as a weight detection unit for detecting the weight of the waste material 9a after being crushed with high moisture supplied from the drying hopper 62 toward the dryer 61. Based on the detection result given from the load cell 100, the drying hopper 62 adjusts the supply amount so that the weight of the waste supplied toward the dryer 61 becomes constant (paragraph 75). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize a secondary dryer storage to manage and control the amount of dried material supplied in Jiang as suggested by Noboru.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Jiang discloses controlling the moisture content of the feed material to be 0-30 wt% (paragraph 100). It is the Office’s position that controlling the moisture to be within certain value necessitates measurement.
Regarding claims 7-10, Jiang discloses controlling the moisture content of the feed material to be 0-30 wt% (paragraph 100). Noboru discloses a switching means 72 to switch between dried and wet material based on a predetermined moisture content (paragraph 68). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the desired moisture content of Jiang as the predetermined moisture content of Noboru.
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses that the feed material (which includes waste) is fed from the storage bin (paragraph 62).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Noboru discloses a crane for transferring the waste (paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 14, Jiang discloses a water wash apparatus 360 (paragraph 76).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and Noboru as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Conway (US 4,675,344).
Jiang discloses a Fischer-Tropsch process to create hydrocarbons but not specifically ethanol. Conway—in an invention for creating hydrocarbons from a Fischer-Tropsch process—discloses tuning the FT process to create higher order alcohols such as ethanol to tune fuel additives (column 2, lines 42-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the FT process of Jiang and Noboru to produce ethanol when such a product is desired as disclosed by Conway.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and Noboru as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Young (US 2009/0151252 A1).
Jiang discloses a Fischer-Tropsch process to create hydrocarbons but not the use of bio-catalysts. Young—in an invention for a gasification system with Fischer-Tropsch—discloses the efficacy of a bio-catalytic FT to produce ethanol. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize effective catalysts such as those disclosed in Young to produce desired products in Jiang and Noboru.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725