DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 1/7/2026. Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are pending, claim 6 has been cancelled by the applicant. A non-final action on the merits of claims 1-8 is as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/7/2026 has been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (hereinafter ‘Ueda’, JP 2015093167A) in view of Goldberg et al. (hereinafter ‘Goldberg’, RU 2668200 C2) and in further view of Kumar et al. (hereinafter ‘Kumar’, US 20190022400 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ueda discloses a biological sensor that is to be affixed to a living body and is for acquiring a biological signal ([Abstract]: biological sensor to collect biological data), the biological sensor comprising:
a cover member (covering body 5 in Fig. 1); and
a sticking layer comprising (adhesive member 2 in Fig. 1):
a porous substrate (adhesive member 2 in Fig. 1) having a porous structure ([Page 4 of Translation]: moisture permeability may be imparted by forming the double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive body 2 in a porous shape having a plurality of fine pores of several microns; as seen in Fig. 1, the double-sided adhesive layer 2 has a thickness which means there is an interior porous substrate with adhesive on either side),
an adhesive on a side of the living body ([Abstract]: the adhesive body is double sided – thus there is adhesive on the side of the living body), the porous substrate being disposed on the cover member on a side of the living body (layer 2 is on the bottom of the cover; [Page 2]: adhesive body 2 is adhered to a living body),
wherein a moisture permeability is within a range from 65 g/m2-day to 4000 g/m2-day ([Page 4]: the moisture permeability of the biosensor is preferably 1800 g/m2·day).
an electrode affixed to the adhesive layer (electrode 4 in Fig. 1; [Abstract]: the electrode part is arranged on the side of the double-sided adhesive body facing the skin);
a sensor body (detection unit 3 and wires 6 – the claim does not provide any particular structure to the sensing body and based on the instant application, it includes a variety of components as seen in Fig. 2 of the instant application) that is connected to the electrode (detection unit 3 is connected to the electrodes 4 by wire 6 as seen in Fig. 1) and acquires biological information ([Page 2 of translation]: the detection unit 3 is a device that acquires a biological signal transmitted through the electrode unit 4 as biological data); and
wherein the cover member includes a concave portion formed in a recessed shape on a side of the living body (cover includes a space within which the sensor body sits as seen in Fig. 1; the concave portion is the indentation portion where the sensor body 3 resides),
wherein the porous substrate has a first through hole (holes through which wires 6 connect to the electrodes as seen in Fig. 1 – a through hole is inherent because the wires penetrate through the sticking layer and do not go around as seen in Fig. 2), and
wherein the concave portion and the first through hole form a storage space for storing the sensor body (the concave portion houses the detection unit 3 and the through holes house the wire portions as seen in Ueda Fig. 1).
However, Ueda does not disclose the sticking layer comprises a porous substrate on which a first adhesive layer is laminated nor the specific permeability of the sticking layer within a range from 65 g/m2-day to 4000 g/m2-day.
Goldberg teaches a carrier system for a medical device to be attached to the body ([Abstract]). Goldberg further teaches a layered structure as seen in Fig. 4 in which a first adhesive layer 34 is laminated to a base layer 30 on which a second adhesive layer 38 is disposed for mounting the housing 20 as seen in Fig. 4. Furthermore, Goldberg teaches that the base layer be made of a microporous substrate to impart vapor permeability ([Page 8 of translation]). In order to improve long term wear and stable adhesion to the skin, the adhesive is made from an acrylate with a vapor permeability exceeding 400 g/m^2-day ([Page 4 of translation]). Furthermore, both Ueda and Goldberg discuss the importance of maintaining a skin contacting layer that is flexible and porous (Ueda [Pages 2, 4-5 of translation] and Goldberg [Pages 7-8 of translation]). It would be of routine skill in the art to combine the laminated sticking layer of Goldberg with the adhesive layer of Ueda such that Ueda comprises a sticking layer that is laminated with adhesive layers on the top and bottom because it would maintain functionality and would lead to the expected outcome of creating a laminated layer with a moisture permeability of 400 g/m^2-day. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the laminated sticking layer of Goldberg with the adhesive member of Ueda such that the adhesive member of Ueda comprises a porous substrate with adhesive laminated on both side to both ensure that the overall sensor achieved the desired permeability and the device could be worn for long periods of time while maintaining stability. This would further result in the electrode being affixed to the first adhesive layer since it is affixed to the underside adhesive as described in Ueda. Furthermore, the claim does not describe how the electrode is affixed to the adhesive layer and the sides of the electrode are connected to the sides of the adhesive layer as seen in Fig. 1 of Ueda since the electrode fills the electrode recess completely, thus touching/affixing to the walls on the skin-contacting portion forming the first adhesive layer.
However, the Ueda/Goldberg combination is silent to the sticking layer as a whole exhibiting a shear stress of 5x10^4 N/m^2 to 65x10^4 N/m^2 when the sticking layer is deformed in a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the sticking layer by 5% to 15% of a length of the sticking layer in a longitudinal direction.
As the claim is written, the shear stress is of the sticking layer as a whole. Fig. 7 of the instant application shows the shear stress between the layers of the sticking layer. Therefore, the shear stress is interpreted as the shear stress between the adhesive layer and the porous substrate.
Both Ueda and Goldberg disclose that the adhesive layer is formed from a pressure-sensitive acrylic adhesive and the adhesive force can be adjusted based on the utilization time of the biosensor (Ueda [Page 2], Goldberg [Page 6]). Additionally, Ueda states that the stretchability and flexibility should be excellent in order to maintain contact with the body ([Page 2]) and Goldberg states the porous substrate layer requires a balance between elasticity while maintaining a degree of rigidity (Goldberg [Page 8]). The instant application states that the adhesive layer can additionally be formed from an acrylic-based pressure-sensitive adhesive ([0040]) and provides an example of an adhesive that is known in the art in paragraph [0098]. Furthermore, Goldberg teaches that the material of the porous substrate can be foamed polyurethane, polyolefin, acrylic polymer, polyvinyl chloride, or polyester ([Page 8]). These are the same materials of the instant application for the porous substrate ([0035] of instant application). Because the material of the adhesive layer and the porous substrate of the instant application and those of the Ueda/Goldberg combination are the same, it would be of routine skill in the art to modify the thickness, amount, or surface area to alter the shear stress to the desired range because Ueda and Goldberg disclose modifying the strength of the adhesive layer and porous substrate to modify the flexibility, effectively modifying the shear stress of the sticking layer. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sticking layer of the Ueda/Goldberg combination such that the shear stress was from 5x10^4 N/m^2 to 65x10^4 N/m^2 when the sticking layer is deformed in a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the sticking layer by 5% to 15% of a length of the sticking layer in a longitudinal direction, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
While the through hole that forms the storage space for the wire of the sensor body faces upward, which is toward the concave portion, it is not disposed directly below the concave opening in Ueda.
Ueda discloses a prior art embodiment in Fig. 9 that contains three electrodes 102 with three corresponding through holes as shown by the dashed line through the layer 101. The embodiment shown in Fig. 9 has an electrode and wiring through-hole placed directly under the detection unit 103. Combining a third electrode directly under the detection unit 3 in Fig. 1 of Ueda would require a through-hole directly under the detection unit for a wire connection. This would in turn result in the through hole and concave portion forming the storage area for the sensing body since the sensing body includes the detection unit 3 and the wires 6. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a third electrode and wire under the detection unit as shown in Fig. 9, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
However, the Ueda/Goldberg combination does not disclose a second substrate on which the sensor body is mounted.
Kumar teaches a wearable defibrillator device that includes a plurality of ECG electrodes adapted for long-term wear ([Abstract]). Kumar further teaches a vapor permeable layer 122 with a welded a border layer 120 ([0118]). The housings, which contain the controllers and memory are disposed on top of the vapor permeable layer as seen in Figs. 3A and 3B. The vapor permeable layer allows for vapor transport away from the skin [0078] and the border layer prevents water from entering the patient engagement section of the device ([0118]). Because the layer 122 is disposed above the first adhesive layer 128 and supports the control units, it teaches the claim language of the instant application. Additionally, because the support layer is moisture permeable, functionality of the moisture permeable property is maintained when combined with the Ueda/Goldberg combination. Therefore, it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the substrate comprising the vapor permeable layer 122 with the welded border 120 between the detection device 3 and the adhesive layer 2 of the Ueda/Goldberg combination in order to provide a barrier around the adhesive/skin interface to improve long-term ware.
Regarding claim 2, the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination discloses the invention of claim 1 substantially as described above. The combination further discloses a second adhesive layer is disposed on a surface on the sticking layer on a side of the cover member (Ueda [Page 4 of Translation]: double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive body 2; this means that the adhesive layer 2 has adhesive on both sides, creating an adhesive layer on the cover member side of layer 2; Goldberg [Page 6] and Fig. 4 shows adhesive layer 38).
Regarding claim 4, the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination discloses the invention of claim 1 substantially as described above. The combination further teaches a moisture permeability of the porous substrate is within a range from 100 g/m^2-day to 5000 g/m^2-day (Goldberg [Page 4 of translation]: the vapor permeability of the base and/or adhesive layer preferably exceeds 400 g/m^2-day).
Regarding claim 5, the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 and described above. Ueda further discloses that the adhesive layer is formed from an acrylic adhesive ([Page 2]) and the adhesive layer and cover have flexibility ([Page 2 and Page 3]).
However, Ueda is silent to the biological sensor exhibits a shear stress between the biological sensor and the living body of from 5x10^4 N/m^2 to 25x10^4 N/m^2 when 25% to 35% of an entire length of the biological sensor in the longitudinal direction is deformed parallel to a contact surface with the living body.
Ueda does disclose that the adhesive layer is formed from a pressure-sensitive acrylic adhesive and the adhesive force can be adjusted based on the utilization time of the biosensor ([Page 2]). Additionally, Ueda states that the stretchability and flexibility should be excellent in order to maintain contact with the body ([Page 2-3]). The instant application states that the adhesive layer can additionally be formed from an acrylic-based pressure-sensitive adhesive ([0040]) and provides an example of an adhesive that is known in the art in paragraph [0098]. Because the material of the adhesive layer and that of Ueda are the same and the shear stress is interpreted as the shear stress between the device and the skin which is reliant upon the adhesive strength of the adhesive, it would be of routine skill in the art to modify the thickness, amount, or surface area of the adhesive to alter the shear stress to the desired range because Ueda discloses modifying the strength of the adhesive layer to increase or decrease utilization time which is effectively modifying the shear stress of the layer to increase or decrease adherence. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the adhesive layer of Ueda such that the biological sensor exhibits a shear stress of from 5x10^4 N/m^2 to 25x10^4 N/m^2 when 25% to 35% of an entire length of the biological sensor in the longitudinal direction is deformed parallel to a contact surface with the living body, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 as described above. The combination further teaches the device comprising: a third adhesive layer provided on the second substrate on a side of the living body (Kumar [0118]: the border layer 120 can also include an adhesive), wherein the third adhesive layer and the first adhesive layer form a sticking surface to be affixed to the living body (Kumar [0118]: the border layer 120 can adhere the patient engagement substrate to the skin of the patient).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination as applied to claim 1 and described above in further view of Elolampi et al. (hereinafter ‘Elolampi’, US 20170223846 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 and described above. Ueda further discloses that the cover member 5 can be made of a variety of materials such as polyurethane resin, polyethylene resin, polypropylene resin, polyvinyl chloride resin, polyamide resin, ethylene / vinyl acetate copolymer resin, polyester resin, polyvinyl alcohol resin, and polyacrylate resin that allows for flexibility ([Page 3 of Translation]).
While these materials are known in the art to have a hardness that can fall within the claimed range, Ueda is silent to the hardness of the cover.
Elolampi teaches a flexible encapsulation housing for conformal electronic systems such as sensors configured to measure physiological parameters of a person or animal ([0030]-[0032]). Elolampi further teaches that the housing can be made from a soft, flexible material such as polyimide (PI), a polyethylene terephthalate (PET), a silicone, or a polyurethane, plastics (including a thermoplastic, a thermoset plastic, or a biodegradable plastic), elastomers (including a thermoplastic elastomer, a thermoset elastomer, or a biodegradable elastomer), and fabrics (including a natural fabric or a synthetic fabric), such as but not limited to acrylates, acetal polymers, cellulosic polymers, fluoropolymers, nylons, polyacrylonitrile polymers, polyamide-imide polymers, polyacrylates, polybenzimidazole, polybutylene, polycarbonate, polyesters, polyetherimide, polyethylene, polyethylene copolymers and modified polyethylenes, polyketones, poly(methyl methacrylate, polymethylpentene, polyphenylene oxides and polyphenylene sulfides, polyphthalamide, polypropylene, polyurethanes, styrenic resins, sulphone based resins, vinyl-based resins, or any combinations of these materials ([0047]). The material of the encapsulation housing facilitates the modulation of stress or strain due to stretching, bending, compression, torsion, or other deformation ([0052]). Elolampi further specifies the Shore A Hardness of the encapsulation layer to be from about 10A to about 60A or higher for favorable mechanical properties ([0053]). Because the claimed range overlaps substantially with the range taught by Elolampi, a prima facie case of obviousness exists as both the Elolampi and the instant application disclose a hardness that allows for flexibility and reduced stress. Therefore, because Elolampi teaches the some of the same housing materials as Ueda, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the hardness of the housing of Ueda falls within the claimed range to ensure the desired mechanical properties which would aid in reducing stress on the electronic components.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination as applied to claim 1 and described above in further view of Sano et al. (hereinafter ‘Sano’, CN 103945759 A).
Regarding claim 8, the Ueda/Goldberg/Kumar combination discloses the invention substantially in claim 1 and described above. Ueda further discloses that the electrode configuration of the embodiment shown is not limiting and that a conductive adhesive can be disposed under the electrode as shown in Fig. 7.
However, the combination does not disclose the electrode comprising a through hole through which the first adhesive layer can be exposed.
Sano teaches a biological electrode sheet for detecting ECG ([Abstract]). Sano further teaches that the electrode 2 may take the form of a mesh which allows for the conductive adhesive 3 to penetrate through ([0049]). This in turn increases the contact area of the adhesive 3 and the electrode when flexibly deformed along the skin surface ([0049]). Because Ueda is not limiting to the electrode shape or disposition, and even contemplates the use of conductive adhesive below the electrode, it would be a simple combination for one skilled in the art to substitute the disk electrode of Ueda for the mesh electrode of Sano as the device would remain operable and the combination would not result in any unexpected effects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mesh electrode of Sano with the device of the Ueda/Goldberg combination such that the disk electrode is substituted for a mesh electrodes which creates a plurality of through holes through which the adhesive can penetrate to the skin, thus increasing contact between the adhesive and the skin when the skin surface is flexibly deformed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see page 4, filed 1/7/2026, with respect to the 112b rejection of claim 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The 112b rejections of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/7/2026 regarding the 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant initially argues that the cover member of Ueda does not include a concave portion formed in a recessed shape on the side of the living body. The applicant points to figure 1 of Ueda and where Ueda described the body 5 as “sheet-like.” However, Fig. 1 clearly discloses a concave recess in which the detection unit 3 resides as highlighted below. A concave recess must be formed in the cover 5 in order to house the detection unit. Page 4 of the translation of Ueda goes on to further describe how the cover 5 can have a variety of geometries, and is not a simple flat sheet. Additionally, the drawings of the instant application show the same concave structure in the cover member as the concavity of Ueda. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive because a concave recess is clearly shown in the drawings and the disclosure supports the shapes shown in the drawings.
The applicant additionally argues that Ueda does not disclose a through hole at a position facing the concave portion that forms a storage space for the sensor body. This is not persuasive. There are inherent through holes in Ueda that allow the wire, which is a part of the sensor body as described above, to connect to the electrode. In the new rejection, the electrode, through-hole, and wire are duplicated to be placed directly under the detection unit. In this case, the through-hole and concavity are in line with each other. Thus, the through-hole stores the wire 6 of the sensor body and the concavity stores the detection unit 3. The claim is not specific to the size of the through hole nor is it specific to what constitutes a “sensor body”. Since the claim is broadly written, it is broadly interpreted. Thus, because the wire must penetrate through the adhesive body 2, a through hole must be formed.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Goldberg are moot because Goldberg is not relied upon to teach the newly added claim limitation.
The rejections of claims 2, 4, 5, and 7 are maintained because the rejection to claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 3 and 8 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Elolampi and Sano were not relied upon for the rejection of claim 1. Therefore, because the rejection of claim 1 is maintained, the rejections to claims 3 and 8 are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 6 and 7 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. While Kumar was used to teach the second substrate, the application of Kumar was not challenged in the arguments. The applicant does not specifically challenge Kumar in anyway. The applicant simply states that Kumar does not attempt to make up for deficiencies. As described above, Kumar discloses a second substrate on which the sensor body is mounted. Thus, the use of Kumar for the rejection of claim 1 remains. Therefore, the rejection of claim 7 remains.
Conclusion
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/W.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3794