Remarks
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 15-17, and 31-36 are pending.
Claims 13, 15, 17, and 31-36 have been withdrawn by Applicant.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 12, and 16 are rejected below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s allegations on page 15 of the response, it is noted that the rejection does not reject a role with a communication type. Rather, the rejection rejects role with “source”, “destination”, and the like.
With respect to Applicant’s allegations on pages 15-16 of the response, the Examiner appreciates Applicant’s discussion of the communication types in Tie1 and notes that the instant application also includes 8 communication types (e.g., paragraphs 14-21 of the specification), just like Tie1. The Examiner thanks Applicant for bringing this to light.
Applicant then appears to continue arguing on pages 16-20 that a communication type is different from a role. No response can be provided to this argument since, as noted above, the rejection did not reject a role with a communication type. Rather, the rejection rejects role with “source”, “destination”, and the like.
With respect to Applicant’s allegations on pages 20-21, Tie1 certainly discloses determining a role by determining if the node’s ID is equal to an ID in the ID four-tuple, for example, in Tie1’s disclosure of the nodes determining whether they are source or destination using the four-tuple.
With respect to Applicant’s allegations on pages 22-23 regarding Tie1, Applicant appears to be arguing against each of Tie1’s claims and it is unclear just how any of this is relevant to the current rejections. Applicant appears to be arguing Tie1’s claims with respect to the entire instant application, which is the reverse of how a rejection works (e.g., a rejection works by rejecting the instant application’s claims with the entirety of a reference).
Applicant then argues Tie1 and appears to take on Tie2’s claim 8 on pages 23-24. The Examiner is unsure what relevance claim 8 of Tie2 has to do with the rejection at hand. Here is a copy of the previous rejection of claims 1, 2, 5, and 6:
Regarding Claim 1,
Tie2 discloses an inter-node privacy communication method, wherein communication path roles of inter-node privacy communication comprise a communication source node, a first switch device of communication path, a middle switch device of communication path, a last switch device of communication path, and a communication destination node, any network node in a network establishes a key with an opposite end network node and takes a node identity of the opposite end network node as index to store the key, and the privacy communication method is further configured for a transmission node and comprises:
Determining a communication path role of the transmission node in current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; any processing, such as determining routes and keys based on four-tuples of identifiers, where the device may be a source, and encrypting packets, for example);
The performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication comprises (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; as above and below, for example):
Based on that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node, obtaining a key for encryption according to node identities in an identity quadruple, encrypting a data packet and transmitting the encrypted data packet (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining routes and keys based on four-tuples of identifiers, where the device may be a source, and encrypting packets, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined according to a node identity of the transmission node, and the identity quadruple is determined according to inter node switching path information (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example).
Regarding Claim 2,
Tie2 discloses that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined by determining whether a node identity of the communication source node in the identity quadruple in the current inter node privacy communication is equal to the node identity of the transmission node to obtain a first determination result, and determining that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node in a case that the first determination result is yes (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; source node with IDSource in four-tuple, for example).
Regarding Claim 5,
Tie2 discloses an inter node privacy communication method, wherein communication path roles of inter node privacy communication comprise a communication source node, a first switch device of communication path, a middle switch device of communication path, a last switch device of communication path, and a communication destination node, any network node in a network establishes a key with an opposite end network node and takes a node identity of the opposite end network node as index to store the key, and the privacy communication method is configured for a reception node and comprises:
Determining a communication path role of the reception node in current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; any processing, such as above with destination decrypting, for example);
The performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication comprises (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; as above and below, for example):
Based on that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node, obtaining a key for decryption according to node identities in an identity quadruple, and receiving a data packet and decrypting the received data packet (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; as above with destination decrypting, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined according to a node identity of the reception node, and the identity quadruple is determined according to inter node switching path information (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example).
Regarding Claim 6,
Tie2 discloses that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined by determining whether a node identity of the communication destination node in the identity quadruple in the current inter node privacy communication is equal to the node identity of the reception node to obtain a first determination, and determining that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node in a case that the first determination result is yes (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; destination node with IDDestination in four-tuple, for example).
As can be seen, Tie2’s claim 8 is not the primary focus of these rejections. Thus, Applicant’s allegations regarding Tie2’s claim 8 appear misplaced. Moreover, Applicant’s allegations in the paragraph spanning pages 23-24 do not appear to be claimed (e.g., functional determining logic such as which node in the communication path shall perform the function of the source node and which node shall perform the function of the first switch device, specific implementation details such as the storage manner of the used keys and how key lookup shall be performed). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., functional determining logic such as which node in the communication path shall perform the function of the source node and which node shall perform the function of the first switch device, specific implementation details such as the storage manner of the used keys and how key lookup shall be performed) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As shown above, Tie2 discloses the claimed subject matter, as it exists in claims 1 and 5 (previously 1, 2, 5, and 6).
With respect to Applicant’s allegations regarding one single communication path structure near the top of page 24, Applicant fails to identify anywhere where any specific claim requires more than 1 communication path structure. Moreover, it is clear from Tie2 that there are communications involving a source station, first switch, middle switch, final switch, and destination station. Figure 1 shows this clearly, for example. Moreover, as noted in the instant application (e.g., paragraph 21), the switches are actually optional in the instant application.
With respect to Applicant’s allegations on pages 24-25 regarding Tie2, Applicant appears to be arguing against each of Tie2’s claims and it is unclear just how any of this is relevant to the current rejections. Applicant appears to be arguing Tie2’s claims with respect to the entire instant application, which is the reverse of how a rejection works (e.g., a rejection works by rejecting the instant application’s claims with the entirety of a reference).
Applicant then cites claim language on page 25, alleging that “None of Tie1 and Tie2 disclose” the subject matter added to claim 1. To the contrary, Tie1 discloses this in Tie1’s disclosure of source node with IDSource in four-tuple, for example and Tie2 discloses this in Tie2’s disclosure of source node with IDSource in four-tuple, for example.
Claim Interpretation
Any processors in the claims have been construed as being limited to physical processors that are statutory.
The claims include language, such as “in response to determining…” and “in a case that…”. However, this is optional/conditional language and is not required by the claim. This is clear from claim 13, for example, which includes this same language for mutually exclusive limitations each using this language for mutually exclusive reasons. For example, claim 13 states “directly receiving the data packet in response to determining the communication path role … is the middle switch device” and “obtaining the key for decryption … in response to determining that the communication path role … is the last switch device”. Thus, this phrase is equivalent to “when” and includes conditional, optional language, none of which needs to be performed. Therefore, the claims do not include much subject matter whatsoever. For example, claim 1 requires only the first 2 limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tie1 (U.S. Patent 8,966,257).
Regarding Claim 1,
Tie1 discloses an inter-node privacy communication method, wherein communication path roles of inter-node privacy communication comprise a communication source node, a first switch device of communication path, a middle switch device of communication path, a last switch device of communication path, and a communication destination node, any network node in a network establishes a key with an opposite end network node and takes a node identity of the opposite end network node as index to store the key, and the privacy communication method is further configured for a transmission node and comprises:
Determining a communication path role of the transmission node in current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; any processing, such as determining routes and keys based on four-tuples of identifiers, where the device may be a source, and encrypting packets, for example);
The performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication comprises (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; as above and below, for example):
In response to determining that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node, obtaining a key for encryption according to node identities in an identity quadruple, encrypting a data packet and transmitting the encrypted data packet (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; determining routes and keys based on four-tuples of identifiers, where the device may be a source, and encrypting packets, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined according to a node identity of the transmission node, and the identity quadruple is determined according to inter node switching path information (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined by determining whether a node identity of the communication source node in the identity quadruple in the current inter node privacy communication is equal to the node identity of the transmission node to obtain a first determination result, and determining that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node in a case that the first determination result is yes (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; source node with IDSource in four-tuple, for example).
Regarding Claim 3,
Tie1 discloses that obtaining the key for encryption according to the node identities in the identity quadruple comprises sequentially determining, in a sequence of the communication destination node, the last switch device and the first switch device or a sequence of the communication destination node, the first switch device, and the last switch device in the identity quadruple, whether the transmission node stores a key taking a node identity of the communication destination node, the last switch device or the first switch deice in the identity quadruple as index in a case that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; checking four-tuple to see who the source, first switch, last switch, destination are, and determining key to use for encryption based on such, for example).
Regarding Claim 5,
Tie1 discloses an inter node privacy communication method, wherein communication path roles of inter node privacy communication comprise a communication source node, a first switch device of communication path, a middle switch device of communication path, a last switch device of communication path, and a communication destination node, any network node in a network establishes a key with an opposite end network node and takes a node identity of the opposite end network node as index to store the key, and the privacy communication method is configured for a reception node and comprises:
Determining a communication path role of the reception node in current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 14, lines 13-30; Column 14, line 57 to Column 15, line 9; Column 16, line 4 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 14, lines 13-30; Column 14, line 57 to Column 15, line 9; Column 16, line 4 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; any processing, such as above with destination decrypting, for example);
The performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication comprises (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 14, lines 13-30; Column 14, line 57 to Column 15, line 9; Column 16, line 4 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; as above and below, for example):
In response to determining that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node, obtaining a key for decryption according to node identities in an identity quadruple, and receiving a data packet and decrypting the received data packet (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 14, lines 13-30; Column 14, line 57 to Column 15, line 9; Column 16, line 4 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; as above with destination decrypting, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined according to a node identity of the reception node, and the identity quadruple is determined according to inter node switching path information (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 14, lines 13-30; Column 14, line 57 to Column 15, line 9; Column 16, line 4 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Wherein that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined by determining whether a node identity of the communication destination node in the identity quadruple in the current inter node privacy communication is equal to the node identity of the reception node to obtain a first determination result, and determining that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node in a case that the first determination result is yes (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 15, lines 10-49; Column 15, line 56 to Column 16, line 3; Column 16, line 19 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; destination node with IDDestination in four-tuple, for example).
Regarding Claim 7,
Tie1 discloses that the obtaining the key for decryption according to the node identities in the identity quadruple comprises sequentially determining, in a sequence of the communication source node, the first switch device and the last switch device or a sequence of the communication source node, the last switch device and the first switch device in the identity quadruple, whether the reception node stores a key taking a node identity of the communication source node, the first switch device or thew last switch device in the identity quadruple as index in a case that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Column 9, line 18 to Column 11, line 28; Column 11, line 59 to Column 12, line 39; Column 14, lines 13-30; Column 14, line 57 to Column 15, line 9; Column 16, line 4 to Column 18, line 29; and associated figures; checking four-tuple to see who the source, first switch, last switch, destination are, and determining key to use for decryption based on such, for example).
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is a node claim that corresponds to method claims 1 and/or 5 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is a node claim that corresponds to method claims 3 and/or 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tie2 (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0080783).
Regarding Claim 1,
Tie2 discloses an inter-node privacy communication method, wherein communication path roles of inter-node privacy communication comprise a communication source node, a first switch device of communication path, a middle switch device of communication path, a last switch device of communication path, and a communication destination node, any network node in a network establishes a key with an opposite end network node and takes a node identity of the opposite end network node as index to store the key, and the privacy communication method is further configured for a transmission node and comprises:
Determining a communication path role of the transmission node in current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; any processing, such as determining routes and keys based on four-tuples of identifiers, where the device may be a source, and encrypting packets, for example);
The performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication comprises (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; as above and below, for example):
In response to determining that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node, obtaining a key for encryption according to node identities in an identity quadruple, encrypting a data packet and transmitting the encrypted data packet (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining routes and keys based on four-tuples of identifiers, where the device may be a source, and encrypting packets, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined according to a node identity of the transmission node, and the identity quadruple is determined according to inter node switching path information (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined by determining whether a node identity of the communication source node in the identity quadruple in the current inter node privacy communication is equal to the node identity of the transmission node to obtain a first determination result, and determining that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node in a case that the first determination result is yes (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; source node with IDSource in four-tuple, for example).
Regarding Claim 3,
Tie2 discloses that obtaining the key for encryption according to the node identities in the identity quadruple comprises sequentially determining, in a sequence of the communication destination node, the last switch device and the first switch device or a sequence of the communication destination node, the first switch device, and the last switch device in the identity quadruple, whether the transmission node stores a key taking a node identity of the communication destination node, the last switch device or the first switch deice in the identity quadruple as index in a case that the communication path role of the transmission node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication source node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; checking four-tuple to see who the source, first switch, last switch, destination are, and determining key to use for encryption based on such, for example).
Regarding Claim 4,
Tie2 discloses that the node identity comprises a MAC address of the node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 27, 74, and associated figures; tuple IDs are MAC addresses, for example).
Regarding Claim 5,
Tie2 discloses an inter node privacy communication method, wherein communication path roles of inter node privacy communication comprise a communication source node, a first switch device of communication path, a middle switch device of communication path, a last switch device of communication path, and a communication destination node, any network node in a network establishes a key with an opposite end network node and takes a node identity of the opposite end network node as index to store the key, and the privacy communication method is configured for a reception node and comprises:
Determining a communication path role of the reception node in current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; any processing, such as above with destination decrypting, for example);
The performing corresponding processing according to the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication comprises (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; as above and below, for example):
In response to determining that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node, obtaining a key for decryption according to node identities in an identity quadruple, and receiving a data packet and decrypting the received data packet (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; as above with destination decrypting, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined according to a node identity of the reception node, and the identity quadruple is determined according to inter node switching path information (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; determining path four-tuple and determining what position the node is in, for example);
Wherein the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is determined by determining whether a node identity of the communication destination node in the identity quadruple in the current inter node privacy communication is equal to the node identity of the reception node to obtain a first determination result, and determining that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node in a case that the first determination result is yes (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; destination node with IDDestination in four-tuple, for example).
Regarding Claim 7,
Tie2 discloses that the obtaining the key for decryption according to the node identities in the identity quadruple comprises sequentially determining, in a sequence of the communication source node, the first switch device and the last switch device or a sequence of the communication source node, the last switch device and the first switch device in the identity quadruple, whether the reception node stores a key taking a node identity of the communication source node, the first switch device or thew last switch device in the identity quadruple as index in a case that the communication path role of the reception node in the current inter node privacy communication is the communication destination node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 66-76, 82-93, 97, 101, 102, 105-108, and associated figures; checking four-tuple to see who the source, first switch, last switch, destination are, and determining key to use for decryption based on such, for example).
Regarding Claim 8,
Tie2 discloses that the node identity comprises a MAC address of the node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 27, 74, and associated figures; tuple IDs are MAC addresses, for example).
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is a node claim that corresponds to method claims 1 and/or 5 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is a node claim that corresponds to method claims 3 and/or 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tie1 in view of Tie2.
Regarding Claim 4,
Tie1 does not appear to explicitly disclose that the node identity comprises a MAC address of the node.
Tie2, however, discloses that the node identity comprises a MAC address of the node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 27, 74, and associated figures; tuple IDs are MAC addresses, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention, which is before any effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the identification techniques of Tie2 into the communication system of Tie1 in order to allow the system to make use of MAC addresses, which are extremely well known in the art of node identification, to use an identifier that every device that communicates on the Internet has, and/or to increase security in the system. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to perform a simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e. substituting the identifier in Tie1 with the MAC address in Tie2) to obtain predictable results of identification using MAC addresses, since use of a MAC address as an identifier is extremely well known and widely prevalent.
Regarding Claim 8,
Tie1 does not appear to explicitly disclose that the node identity comprises a MAC address of the node.
Tie2, however, discloses that the node identity comprises a MAC address of the node (Exemplary Citations: for example, Paragraphs 27, 74, and associated figures; tuple IDs are MAC addresses, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention, which is before any effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the identification techniques of Tie2 into the communication system of Tie1 in order to allow the system to make use of MAC addresses, which are extremely well known in the art of node identification, to use an identifier that every device that communicates on the Internet has, and/or to increase security in the system. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to perform a simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e. substituting the identifier in Tie1 with the MAC address in Tie2) to obtain predictable results of identification using MAC addresses, since use of a MAC address as an identifier is extremely well known and widely prevalent.
Conclusion
/Jeffrey D. Popham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432