Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H1121565 (JP ‘565) in view of Olson et al (US 20170100692; hereinafter Olson).
As regarding claim 1, JP ‘565 discloses the claimed invention for a thermally decomposed gas purification/cooling device comprising: a gasification furnace (2) that gasifies waste to generate a thermally decomposed gas; a cyclone (3) through which the thermally decomposed gas discharged from the gasification furnace is passed to recover a dust component in the thermally decomposed gas; and a heat exchanger ([0003] and [0016]) through which the thermally decomposed gas that has passed through the cyclone is passed to be cooled.
JP ‘565 does not disclose a filtration-type dust collector and a scrubber, wherein the filtration-type dust collector and the scrubber are disposed in a post-stage of the heat exchanger. Olson teaches a filtration-type dust collector and a scrubber, wherein the filtration-type dust collector and the scrubber are disposed in a post-stage of the heat exchanger {[0082] – “…particulate separator 140 may comprise one or more fabric filters, one or more electrostatic precipitators (hereinafter “ESP”), one or more scrubbers, or other particulate removal devices as are known in the art. It should be further noted that more than one particulate separator 140 may exist, sequentially or in parallel, and that injection point 116 and 119 may be at a location upstream and/or downstream of 140 when parallel, sequential, or combinations thereof exist…”}. Both JP ‘565 and Olson are directed to a gasification system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a filtration-type dust collector and a scrubber, wherein the filtration-type dust collector and the scrubber are disposed in a post-stage of the heat exchanger as taught by Olson in order to enhance gasification system performance.
As regarding claim 2, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a temperature of the thermally decomposed gas to be supplied to the cyclone is 500oC or higher and 1,100oC or lower ([0015] – “the combustible gas generated in the gasification furnace and having a temperature of about 700 to 800oC was introduced into a cyclone 3”).
As regarding claim 3, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the thermally decomposed gas is cooled to a temperature of 30°C or higher and 300°C or lower in the heat exchanger ([0015]).
As regarding claim 4, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a reforming furnace that is disposed in a post-stage of the cyclone and reforms the thermally decomposed gas discharged from the gasification furnace. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a reforming furnace that is disposed in a post-stage of the cyclone and reforms the thermally decomposed gas discharged from the gasification furnace in order to enhance device performance, since it was known in the art as shown in JP 2009209300 (hereinafter JP ‘300; reforming furnace 4 of fig. 1).
As regarding claim 5, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a reforming furnace that is disposed in a pre-stage of the cyclone and reforms the thermally decomposed gas discharged from the gasification furnace. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a reforming furnace that is disposed in a pre-stage of the cyclone and reforms the thermally decomposed gas discharged from the gasification furnace in order to enhance device performance, since it was known in the art as shown in JP 6595073 (hereinafter JP ‘073; reforming furnace 12 and cyclone 14).
As regarding claim 6, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the dust component recovered in the cyclone is supplied to the gasification furnace. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the dust component recovered in the cyclone is supplied to the gasification furnace in order to enhance device performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Shinada et al (US 20080163548; hereinafter Shinada; [0033]).
As regarding claim 7, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a gas cooling tower which is disposed in a post-stage of the heat exchanger and through which the thermally decomposed gas cooled in the heat exchanger is passed through to be cooled by water spray. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a gas cooling tower which is disposed in a post-stage of the heat exchanger and through which the thermally decomposed gas cooled in the heat exchanger is passed through to be cooled by water spray in order to enhance device performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Kaneko (US 20190032917; [0082]).
As regarding claim 8, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the thermally decomposed gas cooled in the heat exchanger ([0003]) is passed through filtration-type dust collector.
As regarding claim 9, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the thermally decomposed gas cooled in the heat exchanger is passed through the scrubber (5).
As regarding claim 10, JP ‘565 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 discloses the claimed invention for wherein the filtration-type dust collector and the scrubber are disposed in parallel in the post-stage of the heat exchanger (Olson - [0082]).
As regarding claim 11, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a differential pressure-measuring device that measures a differential pressure between a pre-stage and a post-stage of the filtration-type dust collector. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a differential pressure-measuring device that measures a differential pressure between a pre-stage and a post-stage of the filtration-type dust collector in order to enhance device performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Chandran et al (US 20180290094; hereinafter Chandran; [0457]).
As regarding claim 12, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a concentration-measuring device that measures a concentration of at least any selected from the group consisting of a phase-transitable impurity and a solid impurity in the thermally decomposed gas discharged from the gasification furnace. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a concentration-measuring device that measures a concentration of at least any selected from the group consisting of a phase-transitable impurity and a solid impurity in the thermally decomposed gas discharged from the gasification furnace in order to enhance device performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Ishii et al (US 20170247618; hereinafter Ishii; [0048]).
As regarding claim 13, JP ‘565 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘565 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a flow path-switching portion that selectively switches a supply destination to the filtration-type dust collector or the scrubber through which the thermally decomposed gas is passed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a flow path-switching portion that selectively switches a supply destination to the filtration-type dust collector or the scrubber through which the thermally decomposed gas is passed in order to enhance device performance, since it was known in the art as shown in JP 2009209300 (hereinafter JP ‘300; switching valve 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773