DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 104-110 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 91-103 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al. ‘906 in view of Gharpurey et al. ‘262.
There is disclosed Jacobson a coffee bean roaster comprising: a resonant cavity 128 (para. 0091); a heating unit, including a microwave oscillator 114 and a beam-steerer (phase shifter, para. 0108); sensing unit (para. 0138); and a control unit (para. 0137); wherein the control unit is configured to control the microwave oscillator and the beam-steerer (microwave intensity and direction control, para. 0137).
Gharpurey discloses that it is old and well known to make use of sensors 240 and a control unit 120 to control a microwave oscillator 322A, 322B and beam-steerer (phase shifter) 230, wherein the control unit is configured to control the microwave oscillator and beam-steerer in order to regulate the spatial position of microwaves according to data received from the sensing unit.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the control and sensing units of Jacobson with the control and sensing units disclosed in Gharpurey, in order to provide control of the microwave intensity and direction in direct response to sensed temperature data within a heating chamber.
In regards to claim 92 Gharpurey discloses that the microwave oscillator is of the solid-state type.
In regards to claims 94 and 95 paragraph 0108 of Jacobson describes the phase-shifter (beam steerer) as being rotatable and capable of reflecting a wave. Thus, it appears that the beam-steerer can be characterized as a deflector and powered by a motor or the equivalent thereof for movement and positioning.
In regards to claim 96, paragraph 0091 of Jacobson discloses that both antennas and a waveguide are connected to the microwave oscillator.
In regards to claim 97, Gharpurey discloses that the sensing unit 240 is a thermal sensor.
In regards to claim 98, paragraphs 0137 and 0138 of Jacobson disclose that a microphone is provided to detect sounds produced by the beans during a roasting cycle.
In regards to claims 99 and 100, paragraphs 0137 and 0138 of Jacobson describe data received from the sensory unit and how it is used to regulate the heating unit according to target points.
In regards to claims 101 and 102, Jacobson discloses the use of a blower 150 to generate a flow of air as well as a heating chart with desired temperature ranges.
In regards to claim 103, Jacobson discloses use of the roaster with a grinder (fig. 8) and coffee brewer (para. 0158).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art reference to Leindecker is cited for its disclosure of controllable beam steerer and sensor unit.
/REGINALD ALEXANDER/
Examiner
Art Unit 3761