DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 12/30/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-8 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma et al. (Pub. No. US 20220246979 A1) in view of Ohsawa et al. (Pub. No. US 20190312302 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Onuma teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (see Fig. 1, [0036], further see [0042] describes the electrolytic solution as a liquid electrolyte, and see [0075] the electrolytic solution is non-aqueous electrolytic solution), comprising: a positive electrode (11, Fig. 2, [0042]), a negative electrode (12, Fig. 2, [0042]), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (see [0042], electrolytic solution is a liquid electrolyte, and see [0075] the electrolytic solution is non-aqueous electrolytic solution), wherein the negative electrode (12, Fig. 2, [0042]) includes a negative electrode material mixture (12B, Fig. 2, see [0052]) containing a negative electrode active material (see [0052]) capable of electrochemically absorbing (insertable, see [0052]) and releasing (extractable, see [0052]) lithium ions (see [0052]), and carbon nanotubes (see [0061]), the negative electrode active material (see [0052]) includes a silicon-containing material (see [0053]) and a content of the carbon nanotubes (see [0061]) in the negative electrode material mixture (12B, Fig. 2, see [0052]) is 0.005 mass% or more and 0.05 mass% or less (see [0069] 0.01 wt % to 0.03 wt %), but Onuma fails to teach in the embodiment of Fig. 1 that the negative electrode active material contains a carbonaceous material.
However, Onuma teaches in a different embodiment wherein the negative electrode active material (see [0052]) contains a carbonaceous material (see [0056]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Onuma to add the carbon containing material to the negative electrode active material as taught by Onuma (see [0056]) for reducing expansion or contraction of the negative electrode active material layer while charging and discharging (see [0060]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art. And Onuma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0233]).
Onuma fails to teach wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a first component, wherein the first component is at least one cyclic ester selected from the group consisting of a cyclic sulfite ester and an alkene sultone.
However, Ohsawa teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte (electrolyte solution, see [0072], see [0075-0079] where the electrolyte solution is non-aqueous) includes a first component (additive, see [0083]), wherein the first component (additive, see [0083]) is at least one cyclic ester (ethylene sulfite, see [0084] wherein the additive is a SEI-film forming additive, and wherein the SEI-film forming additive is ethylene sulfite) selected from the group consisting of a cyclic sulfite ester (ethylene sulfite, see [0084]) and an alkene sultone, wherein a content of the first component (additive, see [0083]) in the non-aqueous electrolyte (electrolyte solution, see [0072], see [0075-0079] where the electrolyte solution is non-aqueous) is 5 mass% or less (0.1% to 5 mass%, see [0085]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Onuma to add an SEI-film forming additive of ethylene sulfite to the electrolytic solution in a range of 0.1% to 5% by mass as taught by Ohsawa to promote SEI film formation (see [0084] of Ohsawa). Further Onuma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0233] of Onuma).
Regarding claim 2, Onuma in view of Ohsawa teaches wherein a proportion of the silicon-containing material (see [0053]) occupying the negative electrode active material (see [0052]) is 4 mass% or more (see Table 1-3 on Page 17, the mass percent of Silicon when mixed with a carbon material is 4 mass% or more).
Regarding claim 3, Onuma in view of Ohsawa teaches wherein the cyclic ester (ethylene sulfite, see [0084] wherein the additive is a SEI-film forming additive, and wherein the SEI-film forming additive is ethylene sulfite, see Ohsawa, see modification above) is at least one selected from the group consisting of C2-4 alkylene sulfite (ethylene sulfite, see [0084] of Ohsawa, see modification above) and C3-5 alkene sultone.
Regarding claim 4, Onuma in view of Ohsawa teaches wherein a content of the first component (additive, see [0083] of Ohsawa, see modification above) in the non-aqueous electrolyte (see [0042], electrolytic solution is a liquid electrolyte, and see [0075] the electrolytic solution is non-aqueous electrolytic solution) is 5 mass% or less (0.1% to 5 mass%, see [0085] of Ohsawa, see modifications above).
Regarding claim 5, Onuma in view of Ohsawa teaches wherein the carbon nanotubes (see [0061]) include single-walled carbon nanotubes (see [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Onuma in view of Ohsawa teaches wherein a ratio of the single-walled carbon nanotubes (see [0061]) occupying the carbon nanotubes (see [0061]) is 90% or more (see [0061], single-walled carbon nanotubes make up 100% of the carbon nanotubes).
Regarding claim 7, Onuma in view of Ohsawa teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte (see [0042], electrolytic solution is a liquid electrolyte, and see [0075] the electrolytic solution is non-aqueous electrolytic solution) further includes a chain carboxylic acid ester (see [0076]).
5. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0246979) view of Ohsawa et al. (Pub. No. US 20190312302 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kitada et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0288322).
Regarding claim 8, Onuma in view of Ohsawa fails to teach wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte contains at least methyl acetate as the chain carboxylic acid ester.
However, Kitada teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolytic solution, see [0287]) contains at least methyl acetate (methyl acetate, see [0289]) as the chain carboxylic acid ester (chain carboxylate ester, see [0289]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Onuma in view of Ohsawa to substitute the chain carboxylic acid ester as taught by Onuma in view of Chen for methyl acetate as taught by Kitada as an art effective equivalent for the benefit of making it easier for lithium ions to move which sufficiently suppresses the precipitation of lithium metal (see [0290] of Kitada). Further Onuma in view of Ohsawa teaches that modifications can be made (see [0233] of Onuma).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of reference applied to the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723