DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 01/30/2026.
Claims 1 and 10-11 have been amended.
Claims 4-5 and 13-26 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are directed to a method (i.e., a process), claims 10 and 12 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine) and claim 11 is directed to non-transitory computer readable medium (i.e., a manufacture). Accordingly, claims 1-3 and 6-12 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A - Prong One:
An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Representative independent claim 10 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea. Note that independent claim 10 is the system claim, while claim 1 covers a method claim and claim 12 covers the matching terminal device.
Specifically, independent claim 10 recites:
A central management server for managing respiratory infections using a memory, a processor, and one or more programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor, wherein
when the one or more programs are executed by one or more processors, the one or more programs comprises instructions to perform a method comprising the following step:
receiving, by the central management server, a request for a respiratory infection test from a client's mobile terminal, wherein the request includes a health status information of a client;
receiving, by the central management server, location information about the client from the mobile terminal, and generating movement information by using accumulated location information of the client, wherein the movement information is a movement path using the accumulated location information;
requesting, by the central management server, the respiratory infection test for the client to a terminal of a test agency wherein the requesting includes the health status information, and the test agency is selected based on the location information from a plurality of test agencies;
receiving, by the central management server, a test result of the respiratory infection of the client from the terminal of the test agency; and
generating, by the central management server, the respiratory infection management information using the movement information and the test result, wherein the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information on a movement path of at least one of the plurality of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute: (a) “certain methods of organizing human activity” because a client requesting for a respiratory infection test from a location-based test agency and generating the results of the test result of the respiratory infection is diagnosing a patient, administering a healthcare service and managing the movement information along a movement path of the clients is liken a contact tracer, which all are managing human behavior/interactions between people. The foregoing underlined limitations also relate to claims 1 and 11 (similarly to claim 10).
Accordingly, the claim describes at least one abstract idea.
In relation to claims 2-3, these claims merely recite presenting data, such as: claim 2 - providing the respiratory infection management information to a mobile terminal of at least one other client wherein the provided respiratory infection management information is displayed on the digital map of the other client's mobile terminal, and claim 3 - the respiratory infection management information is provided to the mobile terminal and wherein the provided respiratory infection management information is displayed on the digital map of the mobile terminal. Claims 6-8, merely recite specific kinds of input data, such as: claim 6 - the location information is real-time location information of the mobile terminal, claim 7 - the respiratory infection test request comprises information input through an application installed in the mobile terminal, and claim 8 - the information comprises questionnaire information on the respiratory infection. Claims 9 and 12, merely recite specific kinds of input data, such as: claim 9 - the test result of the respiratory infection is determined as positive, requesting, by the central management server, a treatment for the respiratory infection of the client to a terminal of a treatment agency; and receiving, by the central management server, treatment information for the treatment from the terminal of the treatment agency and claim 12- through a communication network and installed with an application that performs the function of a mobile terminal in each step of performing a method of managing respiratory infections.
Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The limitations of claim 10 (similar claims 1 and 11), as drafted is a system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a certain method of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a central manager server, a memory, a processor, a computing device, one or more programs stored in the memory, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, a mobile terminal management system, a terminal, a mobile terminal, and a client’s mobile terminal, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed as a certain method of organizing human activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation within a health care environment but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the central manager server, memory, processor, computing device, one or more programs stored in the memory, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, mobile terminal management system, terminal, mobile terminal, and client’s mobile terminal are recited at high levels of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of receiving data/inputs, determining and providing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using the generic computer components.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvements in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or us the above-noted implement/use to above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (see 2019 PEG and MPEP §2106.05). Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer component provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B, in representative independent claim 10 (similar claims 1 and 11), regarding the additional limitations of the central manager server, memory, processor, computing device, one or more programs stored in the memory, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, mobile terminal management system, terminal, mobile terminal, and client’s mobile terminal, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer to perform the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Thus, representative independent claim 10 and analogous independent claims 1 and 11 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The dependent claims no not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reason discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-3 and 6-12 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiono (US 2013/0138451 A1) in view of Gupta (US 2020/0294680 A1) further in view of Chapman Bates (US 2016/0132652 A1).
Claim 1:
Shiono discloses A method comprising the following steps of managing respiratory infections through a mobile terminal management system comprising a central management server (See Abstract an infection spread prevention support server, P0073 and Fig. 1, mobile terminal includes a mobile phone.);
receiving, by the central management server, a request for a respiratory infection test from a client's mobile terminal, wherein the request includes a health status information of a client (See P0084, P0099 where a detailed examination request is acquired by the receiving unit. Also, the activity regulation information generation unit 1000 and (P0082) allows providing the health status of clients.);
receiving, by the central management server, location information about the client from the mobile terminal to generate movement information, and generating movement information by using accumulated location information of the client (See receiving position information from a mobile terminal mentioned in P0100. Also, see P0087, P0208-P0210 where the position information of the mobile terminal is updated acquired with a GPS. Also, see Fig. 14D-E, P0202-P0204 where facility entry/exit, direction and position of monitoring camera is stored in the activity regulation information database.);
requesting, by the central management server, the respiratory infection test for the client to a terminal of a test agency (See Fig. 1, P0099, requesting the examination by accessing the external DB when the examination information is acquired from the examination terminal.) wherein the requesting includes the health status information, and the test agency is selected based on the location information from a plurality of test agencies (See Fig. 7D, P0142-P0143 where the name and certification of the infectious disease serve as providing the health status of clients.);
receiving, by the central management server, a test result of the respiratory infection of the client from the terminal of the test agency (See received analysis results of the examination P0084, P0109. Also, see certification of infection determination information results in P0134.); and
generating, by the central management server, the respiratory infection management information using the movement information and the test result (Taught in P0134 as determination results. Also, see the examination terminal in P0209-P0210 where any test results can be generated.).
Although Shiono discloses a method, system and software for managing respiratory infections as mentioned above, Shiono does not explicitly teach when the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map. Gupta teaches
wherein the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of at least one of the plurality of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map (See P0006, P0044-P0046 where obtaining patient data from sources such as patient location, test kits, medical equipment, ventilators, personal protective equipment (PPE) and illustrating hot zones serve as clients applying for respiratory infection tests. Also, see Fig. 3- 4 exemplary digital maps include confirmed/positive diagnoses.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of smart pandemic and infectious disease monitoring physiological parameters before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono to include the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map as taught by Gupta for facilitating infection control and therapeutic countermeasures, such as vaccinations as mentioned in Gupta’s P0003-P0004.
Although Shiono teaches a GPS (P0087, P0202-P0204) with abilities to accumulate location information, Shiono and Gupta to not explicitly teach a movement path. Chapman Bates teaches movement on a movement path, wherein the movement information is a movement path using the accumulated location information (See a path travelled by a user in P0029, P0034
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of communicable disease tracking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono and Gupta to include a movement path using the accumulated location information as taught by Chapman Bates when evaluating movement and intersection of persons to identify a potentially infectious person, make a decision on whether to isolate a person as mentioned in Chapman Bates’s P0014.
Regarding claim 2, Shiono discloses further comprising providing the respiratory infection management information to a mobile terminal of at least one other client wherein the provided respiratory infection management information is displayed on the digital map of the other client's mobile terminal (See P0119-P0120 where movement restriction data (e.g. advice that a user not leave the house) is construed as respiratory infection management information. Also, see P0073 and Fig. 1, mobile terminal includes a mobile phone.).
Regarding claim 3, Shiono discloses wherein the respiratory infection management information is provided to the mobile terminal and wherein the provided respiratory infection management information is displayed on the digital map of the mobile terminal (See P0119-P0120 where the movement restriction information can be sent to at least the patient’s own terminal. Also, see Abstract, P0025 and P0076 where the patient/subject serve as the client.).
Regarding claim 6, Shiono discloses wherein the location information is real-time location information of the mobile terminal (Taught in P0087 as able to locate the terminal position registration with GPS construe real-time navigation abilities.).
Regarding claim 9, Shiono discloses when the test result of the respiratory infection is determined as positive, requesting, by the central management server, a treatment for the respiratory infection of the client to a terminal of a treatment agency (See request for examination or instruments in P0084, P0099, when determining the presence or degree of infection of an infectious disease in P0109. Also, see treatment support information unit in P0081-P0082.); and receiving, by the central management server, treatment information for the treatment from the terminal of the treatment agency (Taught in [P0221] the activity range of an infected patient may be regulated by activity regulation information in the outpatients' ward and the inpatients' ward (or the isolation ward and other wards), or treatment support for an inpatient of an infectious disease may be offered by treatment support information, or the life-sustaining support information may be output to an electronic chart system, a mobile terminal.).
Claim 10:
Shiono discloses A central management server for managing respiratory infections using a memory, a processor, and one or more programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor, wherein when the one or more programs are executed by one or more processors, the one or more programs comprises instructions to perform a method (See computer-readable recording medium, reading the program recorded in the recording medium into a computer system in P0222-P0223, Abstract an infection spread prevention support server, P0073 and Fig. 1, mobile terminal includes a mobile phone.);
receiving, by the central management server, a request for a respiratory infection test from a client's mobile terminal, wherein the request includes a health status information of a client (See P0084, P0099 where a detailed examination request is acquired by the receiving unit. Also, the activity regulation information generation unit 1000 and (P0082) allows providing the health status of clients.);
receiving, by the central management server, location information about the client from the mobile terminal, and generating movement information by using accumulated location information of the client (See receiving position information from a mobile terminal mentioned in P0100. Also, see P0087, P0208-P0210 where the position information of the mobile terminal is updated acquired with a GPS. Also, see Fig. 14D-E, P0202-P0204 where facility entry/exit, direction and position of monitoring camera is stored in the activity regulation information database.);
requesting, by the central management server, the respiratory infection test for the client to a terminal of a test agency (See Fig. 1, P0099, requesting the examination by accessing the external DB when the examination information is acquired from the examination terminal.) wherein the requesting includes the health status information, and the test agency is selected based on the location information from a plurality of test agencies (See Fig. 7D, P0142-P0143 where the name and certification of the infectious disease serve as providing the health status of clients.);
receiving, by the central management server, a test result of the respiratory infection of the client from the terminal of the test agency (See received analysis results of the examination P0084, P0109. Also, see certification of infection determination information results in P0134.); and
generating, by the central management server, the respiratory infection management information using the movement information and the test result (Taught in P0134 as determination results. Also, see the examination terminal in P0209-P0210 where any test results can be generated.).
Although Shiono discloses a method, system and software for managing respiratory infections as mentioned above, Shiono does not explicitly teach when the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map. Gupta teaches
wherein the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of at least one of the plurality of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map (See P0006, P0044-P0046 where obtaining patient data from sources such as patient location, test kits, medical equipment, ventilators, personal protective equipment (PPE) and illustrating hot zones serve as clients applying for respiratory infection tests. Also, see Fig. 3- 4 exemplary digital maps include confirmed/positive diagnoses.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of smart pandemic and infectious disease monitoring physiological parameters before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono to include the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map as taught by Gupta for facilitating infection control and therapeutic countermeasures, such as vaccinations as mentioned in Gupta’s P0003-P0004.
Although Shiono teaches a GPS (P0087, P0202-P0204) with abilities to accumulate location information, Shiono and Gupta to not explicitly teach a movement path. Chapman Bates teaches movement on a movement path, wherein the movement information is a movement path using the accumulated location information (See a path travelled by a user in P0029, P0034
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of communicable disease tracking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono and Gupta to include a movement path using the accumulated location information as taught by Chapman Bates when evaluating movement and intersection of persons to identify a potentially infectious person, make a decision on whether to isolate a person as mentioned in Chapman Bates’s P0014.
Regarding claim 2, Shiono discloses further comprising providing the respiratory infection management information to a mobile terminal of at least one other client wherein the provided respiratory infection management information is displayed on the digital map of the other client's mobile terminal (See P0119-P0120 where movement restriction data (e.g. advice that a user not leave the house) is construed as respiratory infection management information. Also, see P0073 and Fig. 1, mobile terminal includes a mobile phone.).
Claim 11:
Shiono discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores an instruction which performs a method for managing respiratory infections by one or more processors in a computing device when executed by the one or more processors, wherein when the instruction is executed by the one or more processors, the instruction enables the computing device to perform a method comprising the following step (See computer-readable recording medium, reading the program recorded in the recording medium into a computer system in P0222-P0223, Abstract an infection spread prevention support server, P0073 and Fig. 1, mobile terminal includes a mobile phone.) comprising the following step:
receiving, by the central management server, a request for a respiratory infection test from a client's mobile terminal, wherein the request includes a health status information of a client (See P0084, P0099 where a detailed examination request is acquired by the receiving unit. Also, the activity regulation information generation unit 1000 and (P0082) allows providing the health status of clients.);
receiving, by the central management server, location information about the client from the mobile terminal to generate movement information (See receiving position information from a mobile terminal mentioned in P0100.);
requesting, by the central management server, the respiratory infection test for the client to a terminal of a test agency (See Fig. 1, P0099, requesting the examination by accessing the external DB when the examination information is acquired from the examination terminal.) wherein the requesting includes the health status information, and the test agency is selected based on the location information from a plurality of test agencies (See Fig. 7D, P0142-P0143 where the name and certification of the infectious disease serve as providing the health status of clients.);
receiving, by the central management server, a test result of the respiratory infection of the client from the terminal of the test agency (See received analysis results of the examination P0084, P0109. Also, see certification of infection determination information results in P0134.); and
generating, by the central management server, the respiratory infection management information using the movement information and the test result (Taught in P0134 as determination results.).
Although Shiono discloses a method, system and software for managing respiratory infections as mentioned above, Shiono does not explicitly teach when the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map. Gupta teaches
wherein the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of at least one of the plurality of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map (See P0006, P0044-P0046 where obtaining patient data from sources such as patient location, test kits, medical equipment, ventilators, personal protective equipment (PPE) and illustrating hot zones serve as clients applying for respiratory infection tests. Also, see Fig. 3- 4 exemplary digital maps include confirmed/positive diagnoses.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of smart pandemic and infectious disease monitoring physiological parameters before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono to include the respiratory infection management information includes the movement information of clients who applied for the respiratory infection test, and the respiratory infection management information is displayed on a digital map as taught by Gupta for facilitating infection control and therapeutic countermeasures, such as vaccinations as mentioned in Gupta’s P0003-P0004.
Although Shiono teaches a GPS (P0087, P0202-P0204) with abilities to accumulate location information, Shiono and Gupta to not explicitly teach a movement path. Chapman Bates teaches movement on a movement path, wherein the movement information is a movement path using the accumulated location information (See a path travelled by a user in P0029, P0034
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of communicable disease tracking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono and Gupta to include a movement path using the accumulated location information as taught by Chapman Bates when evaluating movement and intersection of persons to identify a potentially infectious person, make a decision on whether to isolate a person as mentioned in Chapman Bates’s P0014.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiono (US 2013/0138451 A1) in view of Gupta (US 2020/0294680 A1) further in view of Chapman Bates (US 2016/0132652 A1) and Luxon (US 2018/0140252 A1).
Regarding claim 7, although Shiono, Gupta and Chapman Bates teach the method of claim 1 with a mobile device to manage the respiratory infection test request as mentioned above, Shiono, Gupta and Chapman Bates do not explicitly teach an installed app. Luxon discloses wherein the respiratory infection test request comprises information input through an application installed in the mobile terminal (See Fig. 9, Fig. 10, P0097 where airway device communicates with a controller 1002 such as a smart phone. Also, see training app mentioned in P0223, shown as Fig. 33, Fig. 34.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of monitoring physiological parameters before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono, Gupta and Chapman Bates to include an installed app as taught by Luxon to provide continuous feedback on the adequacy of the patient manipulations as mentioned in Luxon’s P0021.
Regarding claim 8, although Shiono, Gupta and Chapman Bates teach the method of claim 7 as mentioned above, Shiono, Gupta and Chapman Bates do not explicitly teach providing questionnaire information. Luxon discloses wherein the information comprises questionnaire information on the respiratory infection (See survey questions in P0216, P0227, Fig. 35 and Fig. 36 additional questions shown on display screens.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of monitoring physiological parameters before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, system and software of Shiono, Gupta and Chapman Bates to include questionnaire information as taught by Luxon to provide continuous feedback on the adequacy of the patient manipulations as mentioned in Luxon’s P0021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 10 is (A) not directed to a judicial exception, (B) representative claim 10 recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (C) representative claim 10 recites additional elements that amount to more than the judicial exception, e.g. see pgs. 6-7 of Remarks – Examiner disagrees.
The (i) generating accumulated movement information of a client using location information received from the client's mobile terminal, and (ii) displaying the generated accumulated movement information on a digital map that the Applicant is talking about are generic data processing operations. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the computer as recited is a generic computer component that performs functions. No technology is claimed or being relied upon to perform the above. For example, no GPS, machine learning, wearable devices and live interactive mapping software is used to automatically detect or determine the respiratory infection health status and movement of the clients suspected.
Applicant argues that 10 recites additional elements that amount to more than the alleged judicial exception, including receiving movement information based on accumulated location information and displaying movement information on a digital map, e.g. see pgs. 7-8 of Remarks – Examiner disagrees.
In explaining how the invention is applied in a meaningful way, Applicant merely concludes that “a user's contact with the client can be confirmed by displaying the confirmed client's movement path on a digital map. Users who have contacted the client can then be tested, thereby enabling rapid determination of infection, which prevents further transmission,” without explaining any actual computer technology, other than to indicate that the claims are not found in the prior art. The Applicant has disregarded the Subject Matter Eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 analysis for identifying a judicial exception, abstract idea and should not be mistaken for a novel and nonobvious rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are now moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner has entered a new rejection under 35 USC § 103(a) and applied new art and art already of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Wu (US 2022/0037029 A1), Akutagawa (US 2020/0279339 A1) and Thiagarajan (US 10,366,791 B1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3687 05/26/2026
/ALAAELDIN M. ELSHAER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687