Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10,36-47,49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (US 20210105104 A1) hereinafter as Cao in view of Chervyakov et al (US 11924808 B2) hereinafter as Chervyakov.
Regarding claim(s) 1,36-37,49, Cao discloses a method for sidelink communications performed by a user equipment (UE) (See Fig(s). 5 with sidelink UEs 504a, 504b) , comprising:
receiving first configuration information for a partial sensing window (See Fig(s). 1A, 3, See ¶ 62, 110, a sensing UE determines a resource selection window, and then selects the resources within the resource selection window);
determining a resource selection window based on the first configuration information for the partial sensing window (See ¶ 80, the UE collects all the sensing information during a sensing window and selects a resource among all candidate resources within a resource selection window based on the sensing results for its own transmission. The sensing window usually is defined a certain time window before the resource (re)selection triggers.).
Cao fails to disclose - receiving second configuration information for a resource re-evaluation sensing window, the second configuration information indicating a size of the resource re-evaluation sensing window for a resource re-evaluation procedure;
determining the resource re-evaluation sensing window based on the first configuration information for the partial sensing window and the second configuration information for the resource re-evaluation sensing window, wherein the resource re-evaluation sensing window is before a first resource selected or re- selected in the resource selection window;
and performing a resource re-evaluation procedure during the resource re-evaluation sensing window.
Chervyakov discloses - receiving second configuration information for a resource re-evaluation sensing window (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ abstract, 89, a diagram 200 of sensing and resource selection windows including resource re-evaluation and re-selection windows….. See ¶ claim 1, the first configuration information identifying a sensing window, and the second configuration information identifying a resource selection window, wherein a boundary of the resource selection window is based on the priority information; determine during the sensing window, a set of candidate single-slot resources from a resource pool.);
determining the resource re-evaluation sensing window based on the first configuration information for the partial sensing window and the second configuration information for the resource re-evaluation sensing window (See ¶ 38-42,89, a sensing window is defined by time interval [n−T0, n−Tproc,0), where T0 is (pre-)configured,…re-evaluation is triggered per sidelink resources that need to be selected for a given size See ¶ 116),
wherein the resource re-evaluation sensing window is before a first resource selected or reselected in the resource selection window (See ¶ 75, the maximum number of re-evaluation attempts may be configured. In this case, the number of re-evaluation attempts can be configured per transmission priority.) and
performing a resource re-evaluation procedure during the resource re-evaluation sensing window (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 89).
Resource re-evaluation involves a UE checking if the currently assigned resources are still suitable due to factors like interference, congestion, or other UEs needing the same resources.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hoang within Cao, to ensure if the currently assigned resources are still suitable for the UE due to factors like interference, congestion, or other UEs needing the same resources.
Further with regards to claims 37 and 49, Cao discloses (mirrored method of claim 1 ) base station transmission for signaling comprising frequency resources configurations (See ¶ 14, receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) from a base station, a signaling comprising indication of one or more time-frequency resources …..and the base station is configured to perform the method as described within Cao See ¶ 18).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Cao discloses performing a resource selection procedure or a resource re-selection procedure (See ¶ 10, a UE that may use sidelink control information (SCI) sent over a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) by another UE, or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) measurements; and a selection procedure that uses results of the sensing procedure to determine resources for SL transmission); and performing the resource re-evaluation procedure after finishing the resource selection procedure or the resource re-selection procedure (See ¶ 75).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 38, 41,43,44, Cao discloses performing a resource selection procedure or a resource re-selection procedure during the resource re-evaluation sensing window, to select or re-select a resource (See ¶ 75, The LTE V2X is mainly targeting periodic traffic, and every UE performs semi-persistent periodic transmission, for which the reservation can be considered as a long-term reservation or reserving an infinite or an a priori unknown number of resources because the transmitting UE (Tx UE) will use the periodic resource until a resource reselection is triggered).
Regarding claim(s) 4, 39, 45, Cao discloses wherein the resource selected by the resource selection procedure or the resource re-selected by the resource re- selection procedure is based on the partial sensing window (See Fig(s). 1-2, See ¶ 62, a sensing UE determines a resource selection window, and then selects the resources within the resource selection window).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 40, 46, Chervyakov discloses wherein the second configuration information for the resource re-evaluation sensing window includes at least one of a first time offset or a size of the resource re-evaluation sensing window (See ¶ 116, the maximum number of re-evaluation attempts is preconfigured. In some aspects, the maximum number of re-evaluation attempts is pre-configured per each priority value. In some aspects, when resource (re)-selection is triggered at time instance n, the UE determines number M of sidelink resources to be selected out of the set of candidate resources CS(n) of size M.sub.CS.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 9, 42, 47, Chervyakov discloses wherein the resource re-evaluation procedure ends earlier than an end time of the resource re-evaluation sensing window by a processing time offset (See ¶ 40, The resource selection window starts at time instance (n+T1), T1≥0 and ends at time instance (n+T2) Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 10, Chervyakov discloses wherein the resource re-evaluation procedure starts from a starting time of the resource re-evaluation sensing window (See ¶ 40, The resource selection window starts at time instance (n+T1), T1≥0 and ends at time instance (n+T2) Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 9-10,36-47,49 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicants amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411