DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species antibody comprising the CDRs set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 10, 26, 27, 61, 25, and 34 in the reply filed on September 5, 2025 is acknowledged. All claims read on the elected species – all claims are examined herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. However, CN 202010208900.00 is not a certified English translation. Therefore, the claims are examined with the filing date of PCT/CN 2021/081993, March 2, 2021.
Claim Objections
Claims 3(i), 4, 5, 6, 7, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite an antibody region, for example a CDR, “comprising in” a SEQ ID NO. This appears to be a typographical error. Examiner suggests deleting the word “in” from between “comprising” and “SEQ ID NO”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US 2023/0416386 A1; Effectively Filed: November 19, 2020; Published: December 28, 2023) as evidenced by the instant Specification.
Regarding claim 3, Liang et al. teaches an OX40 antibody comprising the CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 10, 26, 27, 61, 25, and 34, respectively; see claim 1. Regarding claims 4 and 5, Liang et al. teaches the antibody comprising the VH and VL of SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 8 which are 100% to instant SEQ ID NOs: 72 and 84 respectively; see claim 2. Regarding claims 6, 7, and 18, Liang et al. teaches the antibody comprising the heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 9 and 10 which are 100% to instant SEQ ID NOs: 86 and 87, respectively, and comprise instant SEQ ID NOs: 90 and 91; see claim 2. Regarding claim 8, the antibody taught by Liang et al. comprises identical VH and VL regions to that of “Antibody M” and the instant Specification evidences that a KD of less than or equal to 5nM is an inherent property of “Antibody M” ; see Tables 3 and 11.
Regarding claims 9-11, 19, and 20, Liang et al. teaches that the antibody has a fucosylation level or fucose content of 0-10% or is expressed in a CHO cell having a Fut8, or alpha-(1,6))-fucosyltransferase gene knock out; see claims 4-5 and paragraph 0017.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Liang et al. teaches a polynucleotide sequence encoding the antibody and a cell comprising one or more polynucleotides encoding the antibody; see Example 1 and Table 2.
Regarding claim 14, Liang et al. teaches the antibody as a pharmaceutical composition; see paragraph 0048. Regarding claims 15 and 16, Liang et al. teaches administering the antibody to treat cancer; see claims 1 and 6. Regarding claim 17, Liang et al. teaches that the antibody may be combined with a second therapeutic agent for the treatment of cancer; see paragraph 0045.
Thus, Liang et al. (US 2023/0416386 A1) anticipates instant claims 1-20.
Claims 3-8 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (WO 2021/238932 A1; Effectively Filed: May 26, 2020; Published: December 2, 2021) as evidenced by the instant Specification.
Regarding claim 3, Huang et al. teaches an OX40 antibody comprising the heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 73 and 74; see page 38 of the Chinese document. SEQ ID NO: 73 comprises instant SEQ ID NOs: 10, 26, and 27 at residues 31-35, 50-66, and 99-111, respectively. SEQ ID NO: 74 comprises instant SEQ ID NOs: 61, 25, and 34 at residues 24-34, 50-56, and 89-97, respectively. Regarding claims 4 and 5, the OX40 antibody comprising the heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 73 and 74 comprises the VH and VL of instant SEQ ID NOs: 72 and 84 at residues 1-122 and 1-107, respectively. Regarding claims 6, 7, and 18, the OX40 antibody comprising the heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 73 and 74 comprises the heavy and light constant regions of instant SEQ ID NOs: 90 and 91 at residues 123-422 and 108-214, respectively. Regarding claim 8, the antibody taught by Huang et al. comprises identical VH and VL regions to that of “Antibody M” and the instant Specification evidences that a KD of less than or equal to 5nM is an inherent property of “Antibody M” ; see Tables 3 and 11.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Huang et al. teaches a polynucleotide sequence encoding the antibody and a cell comprising one or more polynucleotides encoding the antibody; see Example 6.
Regarding claim 14, Huang et al. teaches the antibody as a pharmaceutical composition; see page 22 of the English translation. Regarding claims 15 and 16, Huang et al. teaches administering the antibody to treat cancer; see pages 22 and 23. Regarding claim 17, Huang et al. teaches that the antibody may be combined with a second therapeutic agent for the treatment of cancer; see pages 46-47 of the English translation.
Thus, Huang et al. (WO 2021/238932 A1) anticipates instant claims 1-8 and 12-18.
Claims 3-8 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (WO 2022/007807 A1; Effectively Filed: July 7, 2020; Published: January 13, 2022) as evidenced by the instant Specification.
Regarding claim 3, Liang et al. teaches an OX40 antibody comprising the heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 53 and 54; see pages 36-37 of the Chinese document. SEQ ID NO: 53 comprises instant SEQ ID NOs: 10, 26, and 27 at residues 31-35, 50-66, and 99-111, respectively. SEQ ID NO: 54 comprises instant SEQ ID NOs: 61, 25, and 34 at residues 24-34, 50-56, and 89-97, respectively. Regarding claims 4 and 5, the OX40 antibody comprising the heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 53 and 54 comprises the VH and VL of instant SEQ ID NOs: 72 and 84 at residues 1-122 and 1-107, respectively. Regarding claims 6, 7, and 18, the OX40 antibody comprising the heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 53 and 54 comprises the heavy and light constant regions of instant SEQ ID NOs: 90 and 91 at residues 123-422 and 108-214, respectively. Regarding claim 8, the antibody taught by Liang et al. comprises identical VH and VL regions to that of “Antibody M” and the instant Specification evidences that a KD of less than or equal to 5nM is an inherent property of “Antibody M”; see Tables 3 and 11.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Liang et al. teaches a polynucleotide sequence encoding the antibody and a cell comprising one or more polynucleotides encoding the antibody; see Example 6.
Regarding claim 14, Liang et al. teaches the antibody as a pharmaceutical composition; see page 21 of the English translation. Regarding claims 15 and 16, Liang et al. teaches administering the antibody to treat cancer; see pages 22 and 23. Regarding claim 17, Liang et al. teaches that the antibody may be combined with a second therapeutic agent for the treatment of cancer; see pages 45-46 of the English translation.
Thus, Liang et al. (WO 2022/007807 A1) anticipates instant claims 1-8 and 12-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO 2021/238932 A1; Effectively Filed: May 26, 2020; Published: December 2, 2021) in view of Cai et al. (US 2016/0347849 A1; Published: December 1, 2016) and Harding et al. (US 2018/0171023 A1; Published: June 21, 2018).
The teachings of Huang et al. as related to claims 3-8 and 12-18, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Claims 9-11, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (WO 2022/007807 A1; Effectively Filed: July 7, 2020; Published: January 13, 2022) in view of Cai et al. (US 2016/0347849 A1; Published: December 1, 2016) and Harding et al. (US 2018/0171023 A1; Published: June 21, 2018).
The teachings of Liang et al. as related to claims 3-8 and 12-18, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
The following analysis applies to the rejections over Huang et al. (WO 2021/238932 A1) or Liang et al. (WO 2022/007807 A1) in view of Harding et al.
Huang et al. (WO 2021/238932 A1) or Liang et al. (WO 2022/007807 A1) do not teach an OX40 antibody having 0% or less than 10% fucose content or produced in a CHO cell with a Fut8 knock out.
Cai et al. teaches OX40 antibodies produced in CHO cells lacking Fut8 such that the resulting antibodies are “low fucose antibodies”; see paragraph 0458.
While Cai et al. teaches producing “low fucose” OX40 antibodies, the reference does not teach antibodies having 0% or 10% fucose content.
Harding et al. teaches that OX40 antibodies “lacking fucose” (i.e. having 0% fucose content) have enhanced ADCC activity at low doses.
Given that Harding et al. teaches that OX40 antibodies lacking fucose have enhanced ADCC activity and that Cai et al. teaches that such OX40 antibodies can be produced on CHO cell with Fut8 knocked out, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to produce OX40 antibodies lacking fucose (i.e. 0% fucose content – which is less than 10% fucose) by expression in CHO cells deficient for Fut8. One would be motivated to make such an OX40 antibody for the enhanced ADCC activity at low doses.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 3-9, 11, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/037,401 (reference application) and as evidenced by the instant Specification. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claim 3, copending claim 1 teaches an OX40 antibody comprising the CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 1-6, which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 10, 26, 27, 61, 25, and 34, respectively. Regarding instant claims 4 and 5, copending claim 2 teaches an OX40 antibody comprising a VH and VL of SEQ ID NOs: 7 an 8 which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 72 and 84. Regarding instant claims 6, 7, and 18, copending claim 3 teaches an OX40 antibody comprising heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 9 and 10 which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 86 and 87 and comprise SEQ ID NOs: 90 and 91 at residues 123-452 and 108-214, respectively. Regarding claim 8, the antibody taught by Liang et al. comprises identical VH and VL regions to that of “Antibody M” and the instant Specification evidences that a KD of less than or equal to 5nM is an inherent property of “Antibody M”; see Tables 3 and 11.
Regarding instant claims 9, 11, and 19, copending claim 4 teaches an OX40 antibody with 0-10% fucose content.
Regarding instant claims 15 and 16, copending claims 1 and 6 teach a method of treating cancer comprising administering the OX40 antibody.
Thus, copending claims 1-4 and 6 read on instant claims 1-9, 11, 15, 16, 18, and 19 in an anticipatory manner.
Claims 10 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/037,401 in view of Cai et al. (US 2016/0347849 A1; Published: December 1, 2016).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The teachings of claims 1-4 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/037,401 as related to claim 3-9, 11, 15, 16, 18, and 19, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Copending claim 5 teaches producing the OX40 antibody in a cell deficient in Fut8, but does not teach CHO cells.
Cai et al. teaches OX40 antibodies produced in CHO cells lacking Fut8 such that the resulting antibodies are “low fucose antibodies”; see paragraph 0458.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use CHO cell lacking Fut8 to produce the low fucose OX40 antibodies taught by the copending claims. Because Cai et al. teach OX40 cells with low fucose content resulting from expression in CHO cells lacking Fut8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success making the low fucose OX40 antibody taught by the copending claims.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 12-14 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/037,401 in view of over Tsun et al. (WO 2018/177220 A1; Published: October 4, 2018).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The teachings of claims 1-4 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/037,401 as related to claim 3-9, 11, 15, 16, 18, and 19, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Tsun et al. teaches a polynucleotide encoding the OX40 antibody and a cell comprising said polynucleotide; see Example 1.
Regarding claim 14, Tsun et al. teaches the OX40 antibody as a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; see page 40 of the English translation.
Regarding claim 17, Tsun et al. teaches the OX40 antibody may be administered with a second therapeutic agent; see page 16 of the English translation.
Given that Tsun et al. teaches an OX40 antibody and a method of treating cancer comprising administering the OX40 antibody, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the OX40 antibody taught in the copending claims as a pharmaceutical composition and to administered the OX40 antibody with a second cancer therapeutic agent. Section 2144.06 of the MPEP provides guidance as to obviousness of art recognized equivalents for the same purpose. The court has held that it is obvious to combine two elements each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. No specific teaching or suggestion is needed for combination – the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art as useful for the same purpose. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to produce a polynucleotide encoding the antibody and a cell comprising the polynucleotide in order to recombinantly produce the antibody for use in a pharmaceutical composition. One would have been motivated to make the polynucleotide encoding the antibody and a cell comprising the polynucleotide for the lower cost and speed of recombinantly producing the OX40 antibody.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 3-9, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 12 of copending Application No. 19/166,027 (reference application) and as evidenced by the instant Specification. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claim 3, copending claims 1-3 teach an OX40 antibody comprising the CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 1-6, which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 10, 26, 27, 61, 25, and 34, respectively. Regarding instant claims 4 and 5, copending claim 4 teaches an OX40 antibody comprising a VH and VL of SEQ ID NOs: 7 an 8 which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 72 and 84. Regarding instant claims 6, 7, and 18, copending claim 5 teaches an OX40 antibody comprising heavy and light chains of SEQ ID NOs: 9 and 10 which are 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 86 and 87 and comprise SEQ ID NOs: 90 and 91 at residues 123-452 and 108-214, respectively. Regarding claim 8, the antibody taught by Liang et al. comprises identical VH and VL regions to that of “Antibody M” and the instant Specification evidences that a KD of less than or equal to 5nM is an inherent property of “Antibody M”; see Tables 3 and 11.
Regarding instant claims 9, 11, and 19, copending claim 6 teaches an OX40 antibody with 0-10% fucose content or expressed in a cell with a Fut8 knockout.
Regarding instant claim 14, copending claim 12 teaches the OX40 antibody as a pharmaceutical composition. Page 10 of the Specification teaches that “pharmaceutical composition” encompasses a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Thus, copending claims 1-6 and 12 read on instant claims 1-9, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 19 in an anticipatory manner.
Claims 10, 12-13, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 12 of copending Application No. 19/166,027 in view of Cai et al. (US 2016/0347849 A1; Published: December 1, 2016).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The teachings of claims 1-6 and 12 of copending Application No. 19/166,027 as related to claim 3-9, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 19, from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Copending claim 5 teaches producing the OX40 antibody in a cell deficient in Fut8, but does not teach CHO cells. Additionally, copending claim 1 teaches treating inflammatory or immune disease comprising administering the OX40 antibody, but does not specify cancer. Finally, the copending claims do not teach a polynucleotide encoding the antibody nor a cell comprising the polynucleotide.
Regarding instant claims 10 and 20, Cai et al. teaches OX40 antibodies produced in CHO cells lacking Fut8 such that the resulting antibodies are “low fucose antibodies”; see paragraph 0458. Further, regarding instant claims 15-17, Cai et al. teaches a method of treating cancer comprising administering a OX40 antibody and further comprising administering a second caner therapeutic agent; see claims 22-25. Finally, regarding instant claims 12 and 13, Cai et al. teaches a nucleic acid encoding the OX40 antibody, a vector comprising the nucleic acid, and a cell comprising the vector; see claims 16-18.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use CHO cell lacking Fut8 to produce the low fucose OX40 antibodies taught by the copending claims. Because Cai et al. teach OX40 cells with low fucose content resulting from expression in CHO cells lacking Fut8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success making the low fucose OX40 antibody taught by the copending claims.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to produce a polynucleotide encoding the antibody and a cell comprising the polynucleotide in order to recombinantly produce the antibody for use in a pharmaceutical composition. One would have been motivated to make the polynucleotide encoding the antibody and a cell comprising the polynucleotide for the lower cost and speed of recombinantly producing the OX40 antibody.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed January 23, 2026 are acknowledged. Any rejection not repeated above is resolved by amendment.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 103 rejections over Liang et al. or Huang et al., Applicant states that a certified English translation of the priority document was provided with the response dated January 23, 2026; however, no certified English translation is found. Thus, the rejections are maintained.
Regarding the nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of 18/037,401 or 19/166,027, indeed the instant application has an earlier patent filing date. However, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections are maintained until they are the only remaining rejections; see MPEP 1490 VI.D.2.
Because rejections of record remain for the elected species, the species are not rejoined and no further search of the species recited in claims 3 and 4, beyond Applicant’s elected species comprising SEQ ID NOs: 10, 26, 27, 61, 25, and 34, are examined.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE ANN HOLTZMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682