DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A (figures 1, 5 and 6) in the reply filed on 2/17/26 is acknowledged. Claims 13 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The traversal is on the grounds that the shared special technical features are not taught by the prior art. This is not found persuasive because (as explained in the requirement for election) the prior art of record renders the shared features obvious. The applicant presents arguments on two points:
The applicant argues that “Gasper's system is designed to generate lift or downward force depending on actuator position; it does not disclose configuring the aft body to yield zero or negative net force across the full speed range” (page 4). The examiner responds that the limitation in question is that “the net force component exerted onto the vessel from the aft body in the direction of travel of the vessel is zero or negative.” As pointed out in the previous office action, Gasper teaches that the aft body can be set to a neutral position (column 7, line 65- column 8, line 29). In this neutral position, there are no forces exerted on the vessel.
The applicant next argues that neither van Ossanen nor Gasper teach that “the leading edge distance is at least 0.9 times the trailing edge distance,” which means that the aft body is either oriented slightly upward, level, or pointed down. As can be seen in the figures, van Oossanen teaches that the body is oriented downward, while Gasper teaches that the body can be positioned anywhere from tilted up to tilted down as desired. As such, the argument is unpersuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 18, 23 are photographs, which are not proper black and white line drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 28 recites “an angel defined as the angel.” This should be –an angle defined as the angle--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-12, 15-18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gasper US 10,179,628.
Regarding claim 1, Grasper teaches a vessel for floating in a body of water comprising:
a longitudinal hull 104 with an aft hull section comprising a separation line defined as a line extending in a transverse direction of the hull at which a water flow originally flowing along the hull is separated from the aft hull section above a minimum forward propulsion of the vessel and wherein the separation line further is defined by the aft hull section having an abrupt change of direction in a longitudinal vertical plane of the hull,
an aft body 116 arranged at a distance from the aft hull section at a location between the water surface and 110% of a draft of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at a lightweight waterline, forming a passage between the aft body and the separation line,
wherein the aft body comprises:
a maximum width measured in a horizontal plane in the transverse direction of the hull,
a leading edge 122,
a trailing edge 124 and
a chord line defined by a straight line in a longitudinal vertical plane of the hull extending from the leading edge to the trailing edge,
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1- Gasper Figure 7)]
a leading edge distance defined by the smaller of:
a minimum distance measured in a longitudinal vertical plane of the hull between the leading edge and the aft hull section and
a minimum distance measured in said longitudinal vertical plane of the hull between two parallel lines, wherein the first line is a tangent line of the aft hull section immediately in front of the separation line and the second line is intersecting the leading edge,
a trailing edge distance defined by the minimum distance in said longitudinal vertical plane of the hull between the trailing edge and a water surface, and
an angle defined as the angle between the first line and the water surface measured in said longitudinal vertical plane of the hull, wherein, when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at a draft at least deeper than minimum operational draft of the hull:
the aft body and the aft hull section is configured so that the leading edge distance is at least 0.9 times the trailing edge distance,
the angle is less than 20 degrees,
the separation line is located at or above the water surface,
the leading edge is situated less than 10% of the length of the cord line aft of the separation line,
the cord line is orientated parallel with the water surface or with a positive angle relative to the water surface and
the aft body and the aft hull section is configured such that, during forward propulsion of the vessel, the net force component exerted onto the vessel from the aft body in the direction of travel of the vessel is zero or negative in the full speed range the vessel is operating in (column 7, line 65- column 8, line 29).
Please note that if applicant disagrees with any of the dimensional limitations, then it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the hull and aft body of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Likewise, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body and or the separation point/line higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that at least a part of the aft body 116 is located in front of the separation line (see figure 13). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 3, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper does not explicitly teach that the leading edge is situated at least half the length of the chord line in front of the separation line, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 3. Gasper also teaches that the top surface 126 of the aft body 116 and the aft hull section is designed such that the minimum distance in a longitudinal vertical plane between said top surface and the aft hull section in front of the separation line remains constant or near constant (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the aft body 116 is designed to give a positive lifting force during forward propulsion of the vessel (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the aft body is designed such that, during forward propulsion of the vessel, the direction of a resulting water flow immediately downstream of the trailing edge due to a water flow passing a top surface 126 of the aft body 116 and a water flow passing an underside 128 of the aft body, is orientated parallel or near parallel to the water surface (when in the neutral position, shown in figure 7).
Regarding claim 7, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that at least a part of the trailing edge 124 is located deeper than 35% of the draft when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at the operational draft (see figure 3). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 8, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper does not explicitly teach that the length of the chord line is at least equal to the draft of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at the operational draft. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the chord line to at least match the draft or be of whatever size was desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Likewise, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the aft body and hull draft of whatever relative sizes were desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Regarding claim 9, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the aft body 116 constitutes an integrated part of the vessel (as they are connected).
Regarding claim 10, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the aft hull section 104 located downstream the separation line is situated over the water surface during forward propulsion of the vessel.
Regarding claim 11, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the hull comprises a transom 104 located at or above the water surface when the vessel is laying still and floating in a body of water at the operational draft.
Regarding claim 12, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the aft body 116 is designed and positioned such that a part of a water flow flowing over a top surface 126 of the aft body is lifted above the water surface during forward propulsion of the vessel.
Regarding claim 15, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the aft body 116 and the aft hull section (are) configured so that the draft of the hull during forward propulsion of the vessel will be at least 80% of the draft of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in the body of water. Note that this will be true of some speeds, particularly those below planing speed.
Regarding claim 16, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the leading edge 122 is parallel with the water surface when the vessel is floating motionless in the body of water at the operational draft (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 17, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper does not teach that the vessel is a multi-hull vessel, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize multiple hulls for better balance or weight distribution, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the hull in separate sections in order to simplify manufacturing or increase damage tolerance, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 18, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the maximum width of the aft body 116 measured in a horizontal plane in the transverse direction of the hull is at least 50% of the maximum width of the hull measured at the water surface in the transverse direction of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in the body of water at the operational draft (see figure 15). Alternatively, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the aft body and hull widths of whatever relative sizes were desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Regarding claim 20, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper does not explicitly teach that the length of the chord line is at least 5% of the length between perpendiculars of the vessel. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the chord line to be 5% of the hull length or of whatever size was desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Likewise, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the aft body and hull of whatever relative sizes were desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Regarding claim 21, Gasper discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Gasper also teaches that the vessel has a planing hull (abstract).
Claims 1-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van Oossanen US 7,617,793 in view of Gasper US 10,179,628.
Regarding claim 1, van Oossanen teaches a vessel for floating in a body of water comprising:
a longitudinal hull 12 with an aft hull section comprising a separation line defined as a line extending in a transverse direction of the hull at which a water flow originally flowing along the hull is separated from the aft hull section above a minimum forward propulsion of the vessel and wherein the separation line further is defined by the aft hull section having an abrupt change of direction in a longitudinal vertical plane of the hull,
an aft body 17 arranged at a distance from the aft hull section at a location between the water surface 8 and 110% of a draft of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at a lightweight waterline, forming a passage between the aft body and the separation line,
wherein the aft body comprises:
a maximum width measured in a horizontal plane in the transverse direction of the hull,
a leading edge 17A,
a trailing edge 17B and
a chord line defined by a straight line in a longitudinal vertical plane of the hull extending from the leading edge to the trailing edge,
a leading edge distance defined by the smaller of:
a minimum distance measured in a longitudinal vertical plane of the hull between the leading edge and the aft hull section and
a minimum distance measured in said longitudinal vertical plane of the hull between two parallel lines, wherein the first line is a tangent line of the aft hull section immediately in front of the separation line and the second line is intersecting the leading edge,
a trailing edge distance defined by the minimum distance in said longitudinal vertical plane of the hull between the trailing edge and a water surface, and
an angle defined as the angle between the first line and the water surface measured in said longitudinal vertical plane of the hull, wherein, when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at a draft at least deeper than minimum operational draft of the hull:
the aft body and the aft hull section is configured so that the leading edge distance is at least 0.9 times the trailing edge distance,
the angle is less than 20 degrees,
the separation line is located at or above the water surface,
the leading edge is situated less than 10% of the length of the cord line aft of the separation line, and
the cord line is orientated parallel with the water surface or with a positive angle relative to the water surface.
Van Oossanen does not teach that the aft body and the aft hull section is configured such that, during forward propulsion of the vessel, the net force component exerted onto the vessel from the aft body in the direction of travel of the vessel is zero or negative in the full speed range the vessel is operating in. Gasper teaches a vessel for floating in a body of water comprising a longitudinal hull 104 with an aft hull section, and an aft body 116 arranged at a distance from the aft hull section, wherein the aft body and the aft hull section is configured such that, during forward propulsion of the vessel, the net force component exerted onto the vessel from the aft body in the direction of travel of the vessel is zero or negative in the full speed range the vessel is operating in (column 7, line 65- column 8, line 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vessel of van Oossanen with the ability to position the aft body in a neutral position as taught by Grasper in order to eliminate the effect of the foil when desired.
Please note that if applicant disagrees with any of the dimensional limitations, then it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the hull and aft body of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Likewise, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body and or the separation point/line higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that at least a part of the aft body 17 is located in front of the separation line (see figure 4A). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Figure 2- van Oossanen Figure 4A
Regarding claim 3, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen does not explicitly teach that the leading edge is situated at least half the length of the chord line in front of the separation line, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 3. Van Oossanen also teaches that the top surface of the aft body 17 and the aft hull section is designed such that the minimum distance in a longitudinal vertical plane between said top surface and the aft hull section in front of the separation line remains constant or near constant (see figure 4A).
Regarding claim 5, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the aft body 17 is designed to give a positive lifting force during forward propulsion of the vessel. In this case, van Oossanen teaches that the lift is upward (and forward), though the angle can be adjustable (column 8, lines 37-44). As modified by Gasper, the body can be set to any tilt, including one with an upward but not forward lift.
Regarding claim 6, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the aft body is designed such that, during forward propulsion of the vessel, the direction of a resulting water flow immediately downstream of the trailing edge due to a water flow passing a top surface of the aft body 17 and a water flow passing an underside of the aft body, is orientated parallel or near parallel to the water surface (when adjusted to the neutral position, as taught by Gasper).
Regarding claim 7, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that at least a part of the trailing edge 17b is located deeper than 35% of the draft when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at the operational draft (see figures 2-8). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the aft body higher/lower/forward/back in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 8, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen does not explicitly teach that the length of the chord line is at least equal to the draft of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in a body of water at the operational draft. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the chord line to at least match the draft or be of whatever size was desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Likewise, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the aft body and hull draft of whatever relative sizes were desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Regarding claim 9, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the aft body 17 constitutes an integrated part of the vessel (as they are connected).
Regarding claim 10, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the aft hull section 15 located downstream the separation line is situated over the water surface during forward propulsion of the vessel.
Regarding claim 11, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the hull comprises a transom 15 located at or above the water surface when the vessel is laying still and floating in a body of water at the operational draft.
Regarding claim 12, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the aft body 17 is designed and positioned such that a part of a water flow flowing over a top surface of the aft body is lifted above the water surface during forward propulsion of the vessel (at least in some positions- see figures 5B and 6).
Regarding claim 14, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the hull is a displacement hull (abstract).
Regarding claim 15, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the aft body 17 and the aft hull section (are) configured so that the draft of the hull during forward propulsion of the vessel will be at least 80% of the draft of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in the body of water. Note that this will be true of some speeds, particularly low speeds.
Regarding claim 16, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the leading edge 17a is parallel with the water surface when the vessel is floating motionless in the body of water at the operational draft (see figures 3B and 5A).
Regarding claim 17, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the vessel 12 is a multi-hull 41, 41’ vessel. In an alternative interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize multiple hulls for better balance or weight distribution, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the hull in separate sections in order to simplify manufacturing or increase damage tolerance, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 18, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen also teaches that the maximum width of the aft body 17 measured in a horizontal plane in the transverse direction of the hull is at least 50% of the maximum width of the hull measured at the water surface in the transverse direction of the hull when the vessel is floating motionless in the body of water at the operational draft (see figures 3B and 5A). Alternatively, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the aft body and hull widths of whatever relative sizes were desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Regarding claim 20, van Oossanen and Gasper teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Van Oossanen does not explicitly teach that the length of the chord line is at least 5% of the length between perpendiculars of the vessel. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the chord line to be 5% of the hull length or of whatever size was desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Likewise, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the aft body and hull of whatever relative sizes were desired in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics or form factor, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stanford US 4,915,048 teaches a hull with an aft body that produces a downward force.
Finkl US 5,315,951 teaches a hull with an adjustable aft body, including a neutral position.
Moen US 10,414,464 teaches the fore body referenced in the current application.
Van Oossanen US 9,862,458 teaches an adjustable aft body.
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615