DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 20 to be more clear, examiner withdraws rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to modify Yoo in view of Nook because such a modification “would require a substantial reconstruction and redesign of the elements show in [Yoo] as well as a change in the basic principle under which the [Yoo] construction was designed to operate” siting MPEP § 2143.01(VI). Further arguing that “it would not have been obvious to modify Yoo in view of Nook, because Yoo is nonanalogous art to the claimed invention”. The present invention comprises a device for charging a 12V car battery external to the vehicle, this would function as charging a generic 12V battery through a charging means.
As detailed by the applicant, Yoo is intended for use in charging mobile devices and would not be analogous to charging a generic battery component. Examiner concedes that the combination of Yoo modified by Nook would not have been analogous art to the claimed invention. However, the battery jump starting device 10 as taught by Nook would be comparable art for charging a 12V car battery. As shown in FIGs 1 and 4, the battery jump starting device 10 has a positive cam-lock 24a and a negative cam-lock 24b, which are removably or detachably connecting to a positive battery clamp 60. In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner has used new prior art detailed herein.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 30 September 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13-14, 17-18, 20-21, and 30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14, 17-21, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US 20200127479 A1) modified by Teggatz et al (US 20130175982 A1)
Regarding claim 13, Johnson teaches a charge adapter for charging a vehicle battery, the charge adapter comprising: a support; (¶0052 “FIGS. 1-3… The body 115 has a top cover 112 and a base 114. The body 115 comprises a female connector portion 116 on one side 131. In this arrangement, the connector portion 116 defines a recessed portion of the body 115”)
a rectifier which is secured to the support and which is configured to generate a rectified charging current based on the alternating charging current; (¶0076 “FIG. 5B, a rectifier 515 is positioned between the alternator terminal 502 and the starter terminal 506… The rectifier 515 allows current flow from the alternator 52 to the capacitor 520, allowing the capacitor 520 to be charged while preventing or reducing current flow from the capacitor 520 to terminal 502 and battery 510”; car alternators produce alternating current, whereas capacitors store DC current. The rectifier 515 positioned between alternator 52 and capacitor 520 would necessarily rectify an alternating charging current to charge capacitor 520)
a plus contact secured to the support and a minus contact secured to the support, (¶0052 “FIGs 1-3… The body 115 comprises a female connector portion 116 on one side 131. In this arrangement, the connector portion 116 defines a recessed portion of the body 115. The body 115 further includes a female electrical connector 118 on the same side 131”, ¶0079 “the energy storage device 100 will include a positive device terminal (such as terminal 502) and a negative device terminal (such as terminal 504)”)
wherein the plus contact and the minus contact are configured to be plugged onto a plus pole and a minus pole of a vehicle battery, respectively (¶0069 “ the energy storage device 100 can be electrically connected to one or more vehicle loads”)
and lines which are configured to conduct the rectified charging current to the plus contact and the minus contact (¶0076 “FIG. 5B, a rectifier 515 is positioned between the alternator terminal 502 and the starter terminal 506”).
Johnson does not teach a charge adapter for charging a vehicle battery, the charge adapter comprising: a charging coil which is secured to the support and is configured to generate an alternating charging current in response to a magnetic charging field; a plus contact secured to the support and a minus contact secured to the support wherein the plus contact and the minus contact are configured to be plugged onto a plus pole and a minus pole of a vehicle battery, respectively.
Teggatz teaches a charge adapter for charging a battery (¶0022 “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a preferred embodiment of rechargeable energy storage apparatus 20 in which a coil 22 and electronic circuitry 24 for wireless charging are included, preferably integrated with the housing 25”),
the charge adapter comprising: a charging coil which is secured to the support and is configured to generate an alternating charging current in response to a magnetic charging field (¶0022 “wireless power transfer mechanism used in association with the rechargeable energy storage apparatus may utilize wireless inductive coupling, capacitive coupling, or RF coupling, without departure from the invention”).
Teggatz teaches a rechargeable energy storage apparatus 20, which supports positive and negative terminals for a generic-use battery external to a device. It is a natural extension of the technology to extend the concepts to all battery types, including a 12V battery. Johnson teaches a battery charging device which charges a standard 12V vehicle battery external from the vehicle. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charge adapter for charging a battery as taught by Johnson to further comprise a charging coil which is secured to the support and is configured to generate an alternating charging current in response to a magnetic charging field; a plus contact secured to the support and a minus contact secured to the support wherein the plus contact and the minus contact are configured to be plugged onto a plus pole and a minus pole of a vehicle battery, as taught by Teggatz for the purpose of efficient and precise charging of a vehicle battery while being stored.
Regarding claim 14, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein the charge adapter is configured as a pluggable attachment, which is pluggable onto a cover of a vehicle battery. (Johnson ¶0069 “the energy storage device 100 can be electrically connected to one or more vehicle loads”)
Regarding claim 17, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein the support is configured as a plate. (Teggatz ¶0052 “FIGS. 1-3… The body 115 has a top cover 112 and a base 114. The body 115 comprises a female connector portion 116 on one side 131. In this arrangement, the connector portion 116 defines a recessed portion of the body 115”)
Regarding claim 18, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 17. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein the plate is a rigid plate. (Teggatz ¶0052 “FIGS. 1-3… The body 115 has a top cover 112 and a base 114. The body 115 comprises a female connector portion 116 on one side 131. In this arrangement, the connector portion 116 defines a recessed portion of the body 115”)
Regarding claim 19, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein: the plus contact and/or the minus contact is arranged displaceably on the support; (Johnson ¶0054 “FIG 1… joining the modules 110, 120 involves placing the side 131 of the battery 110 adjacent the side 132 of the capacitor 120. The two bodies 115, 125 are pushed together so that the male connector portion 126 of the capacitor 120 is received by the female connector portion 116 of the battery 110”, ¶0067 “FIG. 5A, the circuit diagram includes circuitry 505. The circuitry 505 includes two external terminals 502, 504. Terminal 502 represents a positive terminal while terminal 504 represents a negative or ground terminal (indicated at 50)”)
and/or the plus contact and/or the minus contact is arranged on the support such that a spacing between the plus contact and the minus contact is variable; and/or the plus contact and/or the minus contact is arranged displaceably on the support via a rail. (Teggatz ¶0052 “FIGS. 1-3… The body 115 has a top cover 112 and a base 114. The body 115 comprises a female connector portion 116 on one side 131. In this arrangement, the connector portion 116 defines a recessed portion of the body 115”)
Regarding claim 20, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz does not teach a charge adapter wherein: the charging coil comprises a flat coil; and/or the charging coil is arranged on the support such that an inductive charging device which is configured to generate the magnetic charging field can be laid on the support to charge the vehicle battery; and/or the charging coil is arranged on the support such that a coupling factor between a coil of an inductive charging device and the charging coil is at a maximum when the inductive charging device is laid on the support.
Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein: the charging coil comprises a flat coil; (¶0022 “FIG 2… coil, e.g., 22, may be serpentine and/or wrapped around the housing 25 in a cylindrical, semi-cylindrical, "taco-like" or "enchilada-like" configuration, or may be coiled around the long axis of the housing 25 or may be disc or other planar shape” with emphasis added)
and/or the charging coil is arranged on the support such that an inductive charging device which is configured to generate the magnetic charging field can be laid on the support to charge the vehicle battery; (¶0023 “ A coil 39, or coils within the housing 32 may also be used for wireless power and/or wireless data transfer”)
and/or the charging coil is arranged on the support such that a coupling factor between a coil of an inductive charging device and the charging coil is at a maximum when the inductive charging device is laid on the support. (¶0023 “ A coil 39, or coils within the housing 32 may also be used for wireless power and/or wireless data transfer”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the charge adapter as taught by as modified by Teggatz wherein: the charging coil comprises a flat coil as taught by Teggatz for the purpose of minimizing the physical profile of the charging coil allowing for more compact storage.
Regarding claim 21. Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 20. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein the charging coil consists of the flat coil. (¶0022 “FIG 2… coil, e.g., 22, may be serpentine and/or wrapped around the housing 25 in a cylindrical, semi-cylindrical, "taco-like" or "enchilada-like" configuration, or may be coiled around the long axis of the housing 25 or may be disc or other planar shape” with emphasis added)
Regarding claim 25, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter further comprising a communication unit which is configured to transmit data relating to the vehicle battery and/or relating to a charging process of the vehicle battery via a communication link (Johnson ¶0083 “energy storage device 100 may further include a micro-controller… Using a transceiver, the micro-controller then sends the signals to a computer (which may be a network server or may be an application running on a portable communications device”).
Regarding claim 26, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 25. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein the communication link is a wire-free communication link. (Johnson ¶0083 “energy storage device 100 may further include a micro-controller… Using a transceiver, the micro-controller then sends the signals to a computer (which may be a network server or may be an application running on a portable communications device”, transceivers are well known in the art to be wireless communication devices)
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson as modified by Teggatz and further in view of Reed et al (US 20080309287 A1)
Regarding claim 15, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein the support is configured as a film. (¶0024 "one folding- portion 64 as shown in FIGS. 2, 3, 4, and 5, or may be formed with only the primary-portion 62", as depicted in FIG 5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charge adaptor, as taught by Johnson as modified by Teggatz, wherein the film is an adhesive film, as further taught by Reed, for the purpose of minimizing the adaptor's physical size and allowing flexibility for different shapes of battery.
Regarding claim 16, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 15. Johnson as modified by Teggatz does not teach a charge adapter wherein the film is an adhesive film.
Reed teaches a charge adapter wherein the film is an adhesive film. (¶0024 "one folding- portion 64 as shown in FIGS. 2, 3, 4, and 5, or may be formed with only the primary-portion 62", as depicted in FIG 5)
Reed does not explicitly disclose the folding-portion 64 being an adhesive film; however, it would be obvious to do so for the purpose of securing the flex circuit in place during use. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charge adaptor, as taught by Johnson as modified by Teggatz and Reed, wherein the film is an adhesive film, for the purpose of securing the flex circuit during wireless charging.
Claim(s) 22-24 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson as modified by Teggatz and further in view of Riemer et al (US 20180123176 A1)
Regarding claim 22, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter further comprising: a control unit (Johnson ¶0083 “energy storage device 100 may further include a micro-controller”)
which is configured to: determine data relating to the charging current, relating to a battery voltage and/or relating to a temperature of the vehicle battery; (Johnson ¶0083 “the energy storage device 100 may comprise a sensor. The sensor senses the internal resistance of the battery 110. This enables a user to determine the condition of the battery 110”)
Johnson as modified by Teggatz has a sensor and a microcontroller, which contain the structures necessary to measure data relating to the vehicle battery. Johnson as modified by Teggatz does not teach a charge adapter further comprising: a display; and a control unit which is configured to: determine data relating to the charging current, relating to a battery voltage and/or relating to a temperature of the vehicle battery; and output the data via the display.
Riemer teaches a charge adapter further comprising: a display (display 806);
and a control unit (processor 802) which is configured to: determine data relating to the charging current, relating to a battery voltage and/or relating to a temperature of the vehicle battery; (¶0084 "battery characteristic data may comprise at least one of an electrical capacity; a voltage; an impedance, a temperature, a current; an age, a charge/discharge cycle count, and a coulomb count")
and output the data via the display. (¶0083 "the processor 802 may cause the reusable battery indicator 740 to determine battery characteristic data; and to send the battery characteristic data to a user interface, such as a display 806 on the computing device 800")
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charge adaptor, as taught by Johnson as modified by Teggatz, wherein the control unit is configured to determine data relating to a temperature of the vehicle battery and output the data via the display, as taught by Riemer, for the purpose of showing the state of charge and state of health of the device being charged.
Regarding claim 23, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz does not teach a charge adapter further comprising a charging controller which is configured to adjust the charging current and/or a charging voltage during a charging process of the vehicle battery.
Riemer teaches a charge adapter further comprising a charging controller which is configured to adjust the charging current and/or a charging voltage during a charging process of the vehicle battery. (¶0083 “computing device 800 includes a processor 802 and a memory 804. The memory 804 may store processor executable instructions that, when executed by the processor 802, cause the processor 802 to detect a wireless communication signal from the reusable battery indicator 740… the processor 802 may cause the reusable battery indicator 740 to determine battery characteristic data; and to send the battery characteristic data to a user interface, such as a display 806 on the computing device 800”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charge adaptor, as taught by Johnson as modified by Teggatz, further comprising a charging controller which is configured to adjust the charging current and/or a charging voltage during a charging process of the vehicle battery as taught by Riemer for the purpose of safely charging the battery by preventing overcurrent and overcharging.
Regarding claim 24, Johnson as modified by Teggatz and Riemer teaches the charge adapter according to claim 23. Johnson as modified by Teggatz further teaches a charge adapter wherein the charging controller is configured to control the charging current and/or a charging voltage during a charging process of the vehicle battery. (Riemer ¶0083 “computing device 800 includes a processor 802 and a memory 804. The memory 804 may store processor executable instructions that, when executed by the processor 802, cause the processor 802 to detect a wireless communication signal from the reusable battery indicator 740… the processor 802 may cause the reusable battery indicator 740 to determine battery characteristic data; and to send the battery characteristic data to a user interface, such as a display 806 on the computing device 800”)
Regarding claim 27, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz does not teach a charge adapter further comprising a control unit which is configured to: determine spacing information relating to a set spacing between the plus contact and the minus contact; and control a charging process of the vehicle battery to which the charge adapter is secured, depending on the spacing information.
Riemer teaches a charge adapter further comprising a control unit which is configured to: determine spacing information relating to a set spacing between the plus contact and the minus contact; (¶0047 "he first connector 44 and the second connector 46 may take virtually any physical form that allows the first connector 44 and the second connector 46 to form electrical connections with the battery cell 10 and the PCB 42")
and control a charging process of the vehicle battery to which the charge adapter is secured, depending on the spacing information. (¶0074 "The mechanical lock and key assembly 290 thus mechanically secures the reusable battery indicator 240 to the battery cell 210 at one end (i.e., at the negative battery terminal 224) while completing a negative electrical circuit between the negative terminal 280 of the PCB and the negative battery terminal 224 through the flexible wire 262 at the other end.")
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charge adapter as taught Johnson as modified by Teggatz, to determine spacing information relating to a set spacing between the plus contact and the minus contact, as taught by Riemer, for the purpose of preventing voltage buildup on one pole of the battery and causing the state of health to decline.
Claim(s) 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson as modified by Teggatz and further in view of Afzal et al (US 5635814 A1)
Regarding claim 28, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz does not teach a charge adapter wherein at least one of the lines has a fuse.
Afzal teaches a charge adapter wherein at least one of the lines has a fuse. (Col 9 line 21 "The line voltage AC1, AC2 preferably passes through a safety fuse F1, across a capacitor C1, and through an EMI filter L1.").
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charge adaptor, as taught by Johnson as modified by Teggatz, wherein at least one of the lines has a fuse, as taught by Afzal, for the purpose of preventing overcurrent damaging the battery.
Regarding claim 29, Johnson as modified by Teggatz and Afzal teaches the charge adapter according to claim 28. Johnson as modified by Teggatz and Afzal further teaches a charge adapter wherein the fuse is a fusible link. (Col 9 line 21 "The line voltage AC1, AC2 preferably passes through a safety fuse F1, across a capacitor C1, and through an EMI filter L1.").
Fusible links are well known in the art of power supplies to protect circuits from excessive current flow, Afzal Col 9 line 21 teaches "a safety fuse F1". It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the charge adaptor, as taught by Johnson as modified by Teggatz, wherein at least one of the lines has a fuse, as taught by Afzal, for the purpose of preventing overcurrent damaging the battery.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson as modified by Teggatz and further in view of Nook et al (US 20200295575 A1)
Regarding claim 30, Johnson as modified by Teggatz teaches the charge adapter according to claim 13. Johnson as modified by Teggatz does not teach a charge adapter wherein: the charge adapter is configured to charge a 12 V vehicle battery; and/or the charge adapter is configured to charge a lead battery; and/or the charge adapter is configured to charge a starter battery.
Nook teaches a charge adapter wherein: the charge adapter is configured to charge a 12 V vehicle battery; (¶0405 “ battery jump starting device 10… control switch 18 is configured so that a user can selectively rotate the control knob 18a to either a first position (12V mode) or a second position (24V mode) depending on the particular voltage system of the vehicle being jump started”)
and/or the charge adapter is configured to charge a lead battery; (¶0520 “ FIG. 67 is a functional block diagram of a rechargeable battery jump starting device… rechargeable battery jump starting device includes two (2) lithium polymer battery packs 632 (PACK A and PACK B), which store sufficient energy to jump start a vehicle engine served by one or two conventional 12 volt lead-acid or valve regulated lead-acid battery(ies)”)
and/or the charge adapter is configured to charge a starter battery. (¶0520 “lithium polymer battery packs 632 (PACK A and PACK B), which store sufficient energy to jump start a vehicle engine”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charge adapter as taught by Johnson as modified by Teggatz wherein: the charge adapter is configured to charge a 12 V vehicle battery as taught by Nook for the purpose of improving the safety of operating a battery jump start device by preventing it’s overcharge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Yamamoto et al (US 20130026984 A1) teaches a wireless charging device configured to judge whether or not the battery pack is connected to the body of a battery powered device
Elshaer et al (US 20180194236 A1) teaches a wireless charging system for an electric vehicle configured to communicate state of charge
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859