DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on July 17, 2025 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 3 are amended, resulting in claims 1-6 pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 30, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito, et al. (US 2021/0074994 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5, Ito teaches a lithium secondary battery with a positive electrode sheet formed by applying a positive electrode paste onto an electrode current collector and pressing to a predetermined thickness (¶ [0076], Ln. 1-7). The positive electrode paste includes positive electrode active material particles, a conductive agent, and a first binder (¶ [0077], Ln. 1-4). Ito teaches a first example of a positive electrode paste containing LiNi1/3Co1/3Mn1/3O2 as the positive electrode active material, acetylene black as the conductive agent, and polyvinylidene fluoride as the binder (¶ [0078], Ln. 1-4). The example does not include carbon nanotubes. The polyvinylidene fluoride has a molecular weight of 600,000 and is included in a content of 1.2-2.4% by weight with respect to the positive electrode active layer, within the claimed range of 0.01-10% (¶ [0079], Ln. 1-7). The secondary battery further includes a negative electrode sheet including a negative electrode paste and negative electrode current collector (¶ [0084], Ln. 1-3). Ito teaches that a wound electrode assembly is prepared, enclosed in case, and the case is filled with a non-aqueous electrolyte solution containing LiFP6 (fluorine-containing salt), ethylene carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, and dimethyl carbonate (¶ [0087], Ln. 8-12).
Ito does not expressly teach a specific embodiment including lithium difluorophosphate in the electrolyte. Ito does teach that an additive agent, such as a fluorophosphate salt and preferably difluorophosphate, may be added to the non-aqueous electrolyte in order to improve input-output characteristics, improve cycle performance, and improve initial charge-discharge efficiency (¶ [0053], Ln. 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrolyte of the first battery taught by Ito to include lithium difluorophosphate in the electrolyte containing LiFP6, ethylene carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, and dimethyl carbonate. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an additive agent based on the teachings of Ito that an additive agent may be added to the electrolyte to improve the battery characteristics. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include lithium difluorophosphate in the electrolyte containing LiFP6, ethylene carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, and dimethyl carbonate of the first embodiment taught by Ito in order to improve input-output characteristics, improve cycle performance, and improve initial charge-discharge efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Ito teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the concentration of the additive agent should be set to 0.005 mol/L to 0.1 mol/L (¶ [0053], Ln. 13-15). In the case of lithium difluorophosphate, that results in a content of approximately 0.04-0.9% additive by weight, within the claimed range of 0.01-5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 4, Ito teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that natural graphite is used as the negative electrode active material (¶ [0085], Ln. 3-4).
Regarding claim 6, Ito teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 above and further teaches that the battery is charged to 4V (¶ [0088], Ln. 5-8).
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendment to claim 1 requiring that the positive electrode mix layer does not include carbon nanotubes, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Baek, et al. (WO 2019/164343 A1) is withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785