DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 27 February 2026.
Claims 8 and 10-11 are presented for examination.
Claims 8 and 10-11 are amended.
Claims 1-7 and 9 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8 and 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gheorghiu et al (US 2020/0052869 A1), hereinafter Gheorghiu, in view of Yu et al (US 2020/0052844 A1), hereinafter Yu.
Regarding Claim 8, Gheorghiu discloses a terminal (see Figure 7 and paragraph 178; a terminal/device 705 that is an example of a UE 115) comprising:
a receiver (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 178-179; a receiver/receiver 710) that receives downlink control information from a network (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 124, 160-161 and 170; that receives/(UE 115-b receives) downlink control information/(control information/message 500) from a network/base station 105 transmits); and
a processor (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 178; a/a processor/processor) that applies a state of transmission configuration indication indicated by the downlink control information to a plurality of component carriers (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 124 and 157-161; that applies/apply a state of transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) indicated/indication by the downlink control information/(control information/message 500) to a plurality of component carriers/each component carrier (CC) in a CC group or CCs), based on a configuration of a higher layer (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraph 55, 96 and 163; based on a configuration of a higher layer/radio resource control (RRC) and physical (PHY) layer signaling),
wherein the processor (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 178; wherein the/a processor/processor) does not assume that the state of the transmission configuration indication is configured for a plurality of component carriers in a band (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 157 and 159-161; does not assume/(the base station explicitly indicates that the management information included in the configuration message is intended for a particular CC group by setting a value in CC group indicator field 505) that the state of the transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) is configured/(configuration message) for a plurality of component carriers/(each component carrier (CC) in a CC group or CCs) in a band/frequency band), and
wherein the processor (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 178; wherein the/a processor/processor) applies the state of the transmission configuration indication to the plurality of component carriers within same frequency band (see Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 166-168 and 170; applies/apply the state of the transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) to the plurality of component carriers within same frequency band/base station 105-b assigns all of the CCs in a single frequency band to a CC group).
Although Gheorghiu discloses a terminal as set forth above,
Gheorghiu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel”.
However, Yu discloses a terminal (see Figure 2 and paragraph 24; a terminal/wireless device 211), comprising:
wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel (see Figure 3 and Figure 5, step 512-516, and paragraphs 27 and 33; wherein the transmission configuration indication/TCI corresponds to a transmission configuration state/(TCI state) defining a quasi-co-location relationship/QCLed for demodulation/(demodulation reference signal (DMRS)) of a downlink channel/PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel” as taught by Yu in the system of Gheorghiu to provide a method of default Quasi-Co-Location (QCL) assumption for Physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception in NR network (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Yu).
Regarding Claim 10, Gheorghiu discloses a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising:
a step of receiving downlink control information from a network (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 124, 160-161 and 170; a step of receiving/(UE 115-b receives) downlink control information/(control information/message 500) from a network/base station 105 transmits); and
a step of applying a state of transmission configuration indication indicated by the downlink control information to a plurality of component carriers (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 124 and 157-161; a step of applying/apply a state of transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) indicated/indication by the downlink control information/(control information/message 500) to a plurality of component carriers/each component carrier (CC) in a CC group or CCs), based on a configuration of a higher layer (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraph 55, 96 and 163; based on a configuration of a higher layer/radio resource control (RRC) and physical (PHY) layer signaling),
wherein in the step of applying, it is not assumed that the state of the transmission configuration indication is configured for a plurality of component carriers in a band (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 157, 159-161, 166-168 and 170; it is not assumed/(the base station explicitly indicates that the management information included in the configuration message is intended for a particular CC group by setting a value in CC group indicator field 505) that the state of the transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) is configured/(configuration message) for a plurality of component carriers/(each component carrier (CC) in a CC group or CCs) in a band/frequency band), and
wherein the step of applying, the state of the transmission configuration indication is applied to the plurality of component carriers within same frequency band (see Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 166-168 and 170; wherein the applying/apply, the state of the transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) is applied/apply to the plurality of component carriers within same frequency band/base station 105-b assigns all of the CCs in a single frequency band to a CC group).
Although Gheorghiu discloses a terminal as set forth above,
Gheorghiu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel”.
However, Yu discloses a terminal (see Figure 2 and paragraph 24; a terminal/wireless device 211), comprising:
wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel (see Figure 3 and Figure 5, step 512-516, and paragraphs 27 and 33; wherein the transmission configuration indication/TCI corresponds to a transmission configuration state/(TCI state) defining a quasi-co-location relationship/QCLed for demodulation/(demodulation reference signal (DMRS)) of a downlink channel/PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel” as taught by Yu in the system of Gheorghiu to provide a method of default Quasi-Co-Location (QCL) assumption for Physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception in NR network (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Yu).
Regarding Claim 11, Gheorghiu discloses a communication system (see Figure 6 and paragraph 162; a communication system/UE 115-b and base station 105-b) comprising:
a base station (see Figures 6 and 11 and paragraph 210; a base station/device 1105 that is an example of a base station 105) and a terminal (see Figure 7 and paragraph 178; a terminal/device 705 that is an example of a UE 115), wherein the base station includes a transmitter (see Figures 6 and 11 and paragraph 210; wherein the base station/(device 1105 that is an example of a base station 105) includes a transmitter/transmitter 1120) that transmits downlink control information indicating transmission configuration indication (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 124, 160-161 and 170; that transmits/(base station 105 transmits) downlink control information/(control information/(message 500) indicating/indication transmission configuration indication/PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)), the terminal (see Figure 11 and paragraph 160; the terminal/user terminal) includes:
a receiver that receives the downlink control information; and
a processor (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 178; a/a processor/processor) that applies a state of the transmission configuration indication indicated by the downlink control information to a plurality of component carriers (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 124 and 157-161; that applies/apply a state of the transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) indicated/indication by the downlink control information/(control information/message 500) to a plurality of component carriers/each component carrier (CC) in a CC group or CCs), based on a configuration of a higher layer (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraph 55, 96 and 163; based on a configuration of a higher layer/radio resource control (RRC) and physical (PHY) layer signaling), and
the processor (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 178; the/a processor/processor) does not assume that the state of the transmission configuration indication is configured for a plurality of component carriers in a band (see Figure 5 and Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 157 and 159-161; does not assume/(the base station explicitly indicates that the management information included in the configuration message is intended for a particular CC group by setting a value in CC group indicator field 505) that the state of the transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) is configured/(configuration message) for a plurality of component carriers/(each component carrier (CC) in a CC group or CCs) in a band/frequency band),
wherein the processor (see Figure 12 and paragraphs 178; wherein the/a processor/processor) applies the state of the transmission configuration indication to the plurality of component carriers within same frequency band (see Figure 6, step 620 and paragraphs 166-168 and 170; applies/apply the state of the transmission configuration indication/(PHY layer parameters such as transmission mode (TM), scheduling delays like (e.g., K0, K1, K2, or K3 delay)) to the plurality of component carriers within same frequency band/base station 105-b assigns all of the CCs in a single frequency band to a CC group).
Although Gheorghiu discloses a terminal as set forth above,
Gheorghiu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel”.
However, Yu discloses a terminal (see Figure 2 and paragraph 24; a terminal/wireless device 211), comprising:
wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel (see Figure 3 and Figure 5, step 512-516, and paragraphs 27 and 33; wherein the transmission configuration indication/TCI corresponds to a transmission configuration state/(TCI state) defining a quasi-co-location relationship/QCLed for demodulation/(demodulation reference signal (DMRS)) of a downlink channel/PDCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the transmission configuration indication corresponds to a transmission configuration state defining a quasi-co-location relationship for demodulation of a downlink channel” as taught by Yu in the system of Gheorghiu to provide a method of default Quasi-Co-Location (QCL) assumption for Physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception in NR network (see page 1, paragraph 8 of Yu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vilapornsawai et al (US 10,701,679 B2) discloses Method and System for Enhancing Data Channel Reliability Using Multiple Transmit Receive Points. Specifically, see Figure 3A and column 15, lines 16-25 and lines 63-67 and column 16, lines 1-15.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469