DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on January 20, 2026.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-7 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, January 20, 2026), Claims 1-7 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of independent Claim 1 under 35 USC §103 (Remarks, filed on January 20, 2026, Pages 3-6) have been fully considered and it is not persuasive.
Applicant argue while Yum teaches applying certain information commonly to multiple CCs, the common information taught by Yum is limited to scheduling/control information, such as transmission period/offset and resource allocation (RA) type. Yum is completely silent with regard to bandwidth parts (BWPs) (Remarks, page 4). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Yum disclose to select P-DCI as indicated in Fig. 9 when a bandwidth of each CC corresponds to 10 MHz and all CC use the DCI format 2, see paragraph [0130], “the P-DCI may indicate the entire CCs, a scheduling target CC belonging to a CC group corresponding to the P-DCI, and at least one common field (including RA)… If a bandwidth of each CC corresponds to 10 MHz and all CC use the DCI format 2, P-DCI contents may be represented as FIG. 9”. Yum further disclose a single P-DCI is used for the entire CC group if CCs use a bandwidth of the same size in the CC subgroups using a different TM, see paragraph [0134], “if CCs use a bandwidth of the same size in the CC subgroups using a different TM and a single P-DCI is used for the entire CC group, all CCs belonging to the CC group may assume and use a specific RA type”. Thus, a single P-DCI is selected when each CC use a bandwidth of the same size.
Yum disclose P-DCI scheduling up to 16 CCs, see paragraph [0131], “maximum 16 CCs are assumed to be the scheduling target CC of the P-DCI and information on whether or not each CC is scheduled may be indicated by a bitmap”. Wherein single P-DCI is used to schedule multiple CCs.
Further, Yum disclose NRBDL and NRBUL respectively depend on a DL transmission
bandwidth and a UL transmission bandwidth, see paragraph [0061], “a slot includes a plurality of OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols in the time domain and a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain …NRBDL denotes the number of RBs in a downlink slot and NRBUL denotes the number of RBs in an uplink slot. NRBDL and NRBUL respectively depend on a DL transmission bandwidth and a UL transmission
bandwidth”, and NRBDL field is included in P-DCI, see Fig. 9 and Fig. 10. Wherein NRBDL subfield of RA field illustrate in FIG.9 and FIG. 10 is serving the similar as common bandwidth indicator, and each CC in the group sharing the same NRBDL configuration.
Applicant argue Choi teaches that bandwidth is independently configured per component carrier (CC) and that BWP may be configured within the bandwidth of a single carrier/cell. See Choi, pars. [0120] and [0127]. As such, Choi's teachings are in direct contrast to the claimed invention, requiring applying BWP commonly to multiple CCs (Remarks, page 4). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As aforementioned analysis, Yum teaches applying BWP commonly to multiple CCs with a single P-DCI.
Choi disclose applying PUSCH and PDSCH based on BWP and PRBs through RA
Information of the DCI, a Bandwidth part indicator (BPI) indicating a newly activated BWP in DCI, see paragraph [0128].
Choi further disclose BWP size is presented with the number of PRBs/RBs, and scheduling information is determined based on number of RBs. see paragraph [0145] and TABLE 4, and paragraph [0131], “When a plurality of BWPs are configured in a carrier (or cell), the band/size (e.g., number of PRBs) of each BWP may be independently configured … ”, [0144], “it may mean that the length/size of scheduling information (e.g., DCI) is determined based on the size (e.g., number of RBs) of BWP #A”, paragraph [0166], “NDLRB is the number of RBs of DL bandwidth (BW). When the RIV-based resource allocation method is used for uplink, NDLRB may be replaced with NULRB of RB number of UL BW. When BWP is configured, DL BW and UL BW may be replaced with DL BWP and UL BWP”, [0142], “RA field length required for BWP: Represents the length/size (e.g., number of bits) of the RA field used to schedule the BWP. The RA field size is determined based on the band (e.g., number of RBs) of the BWP”.
Therefor, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand to modify the single P-DCI with the feature of BPI field of a DCI, as taught by Choi.
Applicant argue that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have had no rationale to combine common scheduling information across multiple CCs and individual BWP configuration per CC to reach the claimed invention, because they teach away from each other (Remarks, Pages 4-5). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As aforementioned analysis, Yum disclose common NRBDL subfield of RA field is included in a single P-DCI for all CCs with the same size of bandwidth.
Choi disclose size/band of BWP is presented with the number of PRBs/RBs, scheduling PUSCH and PDSCH based on number of PRBs/RBs in a DCI message, a Bandwidth part indicator (BPI) indicating a newly activated BWP in a DCI message.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, understanding that “NRBDL” subfield of RA field indicated in P-DCI is serving as common bandwidth indicator. And adding BPI fields as taught by Choi into the single P-DCI, wherein applying BPI for all CCs indicated in the P-DCI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yum et al. (US 20180338318 A1, hereinafter Yum) and in view of Choi et al. (US 20210058940 A1, hereinafter Choi).
Claim 1: Yum teaches A terminal comprising: a reception unit (Fig. 16, element 23, [0175], “receiving device 20 respectively include radio frequency (RF) units 13 and 23 for transmitting and receiving radio signals carrying information, data, signals, and/or messages”) that receives downlink control information from a network (Fig. 15, element S1510, [0168], “A UE 151 may receive configuration information for transmitting primary control information including common control information for an individual Component carrier group from an eNB”);
and a control unit (Fig. 16, element 21) that schedules a plurality of component carriers using the downlink control information ([0013], “the primary control information for each of the multiple component carrier groups may include a field indicating one or more
component carriers scheduled by the primary control information”, [0109], “ In the CA using multiple CCs, it is necessary to configure DCI (downlink control information) for transmitting control information according to a CC. DCI for a CC may be transmitted to PDCCH of the CC. Or, all DCI for a CC or DCI on CCs belonging to a specific CC group may be transmitted to PDCCH of a specific CC”, Fig. 8, [0130], “the P-DCI may indicate the entire CCs, a scheduling target CC belonging to a CC group corresponding to the P-DCI, and at least one common field (including RA). In particular, scheduling/control information transmitted via the P-DCI may be commonly applied to the indicated
scheduling target CC”),
wherein the control unit applies information of a bandwidth part indicated by the downlink control information commonly to the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0130], “the P-DCI may indicate the entire CCs, a scheduling target CC belonging to a CC group corresponding to the P-DCI, and at least one common field (including RA). In particular, scheduling/control information transmitted via the P-DCI may be commonly applied to the indicated scheduling target CC … If a bandwidth of each CC corresponds to 10 MHz and all CC use the DCI format 2, P-DCI contents may be represented as FIG. 9 … the P-DCI may include a resource allocation field and a field indicating a scheduling target CC”, [0134], “if CCs use a bandwidth of the same size in the CC subgroups using a different TM and a single P-DCI is used for the entire CC group, all CCs belonging to the CC group may assume and use a specific RA type”, wherein a single P-DCI is selected when each CC use a bandwidth of the same size. [0131], “maximum 16 CCs are assumed to be the scheduling target CC of the P-DCI and information on whether or not each CC is scheduled may be indicated by a bitmap”. [0061], disclose NRBDL and NRBUL respectively depend on a DL transmission bandwidth and a UL transmission bandwidth, Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 illustrate NRBDL subfield of RA information in the P-DCI, Wherein NRBDL field is serving the similar as common bandwidth configuration).
However, Yum does not explicitly teach a bandwidth part indicated by the downlink control information.
Choi, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches teach information of a bandwidth part indicated by the downlink control information ([0128], wherein applying PUSCH and PDSCH based on BWP and PRBs through RA Information of the DCI, Choi further disclose BWP size is presented with the number of PRBs/RBs, see paragraph [0145] and TABLE 4, and paragraph [0131], “When a plurality of BWPs are configured in a carrier (or cell), the band/size (e.g., number of PRBs) of each BWP may be independently configured … ”, [0144], “it may mean that the length/size of scheduling information (e.g., DCI) is determined based on the size (e.g., number of RBs) of BWP #A, ”, [0166], “NDLRB is the number of RBs of DL bandwidth (BW). When the RIV-based resource allocation method is used for uplink, NDLRB may be replaced with NULRB of RB number of UL BW. When BWP is configured, DL BW and UL BW may be replaced with DL BWP and UL BWP”, [0142], “RA field length required for BWP: Represents the length/size (e.g., number of bits) of the RA field used to schedule the BWP. The RA field size is determined based on the band (e.g., number of RBs) of the BWP”, wherein NDLRB is serving the similar as bandwidth indicator).
Yum and Choi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify single P-DCI message of Yum and the features of adding information of a bandwidth part indicated BPI by the downlink control information as taught by Choi, for the benefit of allowing UE to know the active BWP if multiple BWPs is supported, wherein applying BPI for all CCs indicated in the P-DCI (paragraph [0128], [0142], [0144], [0166]), and understanding that “NRBDL” subfield of RA field indicated in P-DCI is serving as common bandwidth indicator.
Claim 2: The combination of Yum and Choi teaches the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the control unit applies the information of the bandwidth part to a group including a plurality of the component carriers (Yum, Fig. 9, 10, [0130], “If a bandwidth of each CC
corresponds to 10 MHz and all CC use the DCI format 2, P-DCI contents may be represented as FIG. 9 … the P-DCI may include a resource allocation field and a field indicating a scheduling target CC”, [0134], “if CCs use a bandwidth of the same size in the CC subgroups using a different TM and a single P-DCI is used for the entire CC
group, all CCs belonging to the CC group may assume and use a specific RA type”.
Choi, [0125], “if cross-carrier scheduling is configured by UE-specific (or UE-group-specific or cell-specific) higher layer signaling, a CIF is enabled, and a specific CC (e.g., DL PCC) may transmit not only the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH of the DL CC A using the CIF but also the PDCCH for scheduling the PDSCH of another CC cross-carrier scheduling”, [0120], “Each CC may be adjacent or non-adjacent to one another in the frequency domain. FIG. 9B shows a case where the bandwidth of the UL CC and the bandwidth of the DL CC are the same and symmetric, but the bandwidth of each CC can be determined independently”).
Claim 3: Yum teaches the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of component carriers is adjacent to each other in the same frequency band (Fig. 5, [0100], “The entire system bandwidth (system BW) includes five component carriers (CCs) and each CC has a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz. The CC includes one or more physically contiguous subcarriers”, [0101], “one common center frequency may be used for physically contiguous CCs … if it is assumed that all CCs are physically contiguous, a center frequency A may be used.”, [0103], “a frequency band used for communication with each UE is defined in CC units. A UE A may use 100 MHz which is the bandwidth of the entire system band and perform communication using all five CCs”).
Claim 4: Yum teaches the terminal according to claim 1,wherein configuration of a higher layer regarding the bandwidth part is the same among the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 9, 10, [0134], “if CCs use a bandwidth of the same size in the CC subgroups using a different TM and a single P-DCI is used for the entire CC group, all CCs belonging to the CC group may assume and use a specific RA type”, [0130], “If a bandwidth of each CC corresponds to 10 MHz and all CC use the DCI format 2, P-DCI contents may be represented as FIG. 9 … the P-DCI may include a resource allocation field and a field indicating a scheduling target CC”).
Claim 5: Yum teaches the terminal according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of component carriers is adjacent to each other (Fig. 5, [0100], “The entire system bandwidth
(system BW) includes five component carriers (CCs) and each CC has a maximum
bandwidth of 20 MHz. The CC includes one or more physically contiguous subcarriers … the CCs may be physically contiguous or separated”, [0101], “one common center frequency may be used for physically contiguous CCs … if it is assumed that all CCs are physically contiguous, a center frequency A may be used.”).
Claim 6: The combination of Yum and Choi teaches the terminal according to claim 2, wherein configuration of a higher layer regarding the bandwidth part is the same among the plurality of component carriers (Yum, [0134], “if CCs use a bandwidth of the same size in the CC subgroups using a different TM and a single P-DCI is used for the entire CC
group, all CCs belonging to the CC group may assume and use a specific RA type”, [0130], “the P-DCI may indicate the entire CCs, a scheduling target CC belonging to a CC group corresponding to the P-DCI, and at least one common field (including RA). In particular, scheduling/control information transmitted via the P-DCI may be commonly applied to the indicated scheduling target CC”, Fig. 9, Fig.10, wherein NRBDL subfield of RA field is serving the similar as common bandwidth indicator).
Claim 7: The combination of Yum and Choi teaches the terminal according to claim 3, wherein configuration of a higher layer regarding the bandwidth part is the same among the plurality of component carriers (Yum, [0134], “if CCs use a bandwidth of the same size in the CC subgroups using a different TM and a single P-DCI is used for the entire CC group, all CCs belonging to the CC group may assume and use a specific RA type”, [0130], “the P-DCI may indicate the entire CCs, a scheduling target CC belonging to a CC group corresponding to the P-DCI, and at least one common field (including RA). In particular, scheduling/control information transmitted via the P-DCI may be commonly applied to the indicated scheduling target CC”, Fig. 9, Fig.10, wherein NRBDL subfield of RA field is serving the similar as common bandwidth indicator).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472