DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 14-17, 19-22 and 24 are currently pending. Claims 9 and 10 have been amended by Applicants’ amendment filed 09-04-2026. No claims have been added or canceled by Applicants’ amendment filed 09-04-2026.
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, claims 9-12 and 14-16, directed to a method for studying or identifying a biologically active agent that binds to a membrane protein; and Applicant’s election of Species without traverse as follows:
Species (A): wherein the structure of the amphiphilic coating such as encompassed by claims 1, 9 and 17 comprises chitosan and the hydrophilic chemical structure at the surface of the non-porous solid support (See; pg. 10, lines 12-13 of the as-filed Specification, wherein the coating is an amino-polysaccharide, and the hydrophilic chemical structure is chitosan) (claim 9);
Species (B): further comprising at least one hydroxyl group (claim 2);
Species (C): wherein the lipophilic group comprises an alkyl chain of 4-20 carbon atoms (claim 6);
Species (D): wherein the solid support comprises a linker between the coating on the surface of the solid support and an amino group (claim 10);
Species (E): further comprising a droplet that covers a predetermined discrete spotting zone (claim 20), in the reply filed December 5, 2025 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 1-8, 17 and 19-22 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 15 and 16 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The claims will be examined insofar as they read on the elected species.
Therefore, claims 9-12, 14 and 24 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The present application filed September 22, 2022, is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of
International Application No. PCT/EP2021/057520, filed March 24, 2021, which claims the benefit of German Patent Application DE 10-2020-108-373.4, filed March 26, 2020.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on March 26, 2020 including the certified copy of the German Patent Application 10-2020-108-373.4 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicants’ amendment and arguments filed September 4, 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below are herein withdrawn.
Maintained Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claim 9 is maintained, and claims 10-12, 14 and 24 are newly rejected, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the following properties” such as recited in claim 9, lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the following” in the claim.
Claim 9 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “polar aprotic solvent”, and “droplet of the polar aprotic solvent” such as recited in claim 9, lines 8, 10-11 and 15 because claim 9 is directed to a product, such that claim 9 is not directed to a method of making or using the product. The non-porous solid support is not recited to comprise, or be in the presence of, a “polar aprotic solvent” and/or a “droplet of a polar aprotic solvent” and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 9 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the surface” such as recited in claim 9, line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the surface” in the claim because claim 9, line 1 recites the term “a planar surface”. The Examiner suggests that Applicant amend the claim to recite, for example, “on the planar surface of the non-porous support”.
Claims 9 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “exhibits, after hydrolysis of at least one lipophilic group” in line 13 because it is unclear whether the amphiphilic coating recited in claim 9, lines 3-5 is completely or partially hydrolyzed. Additionally, it is noted that the characteristic recited is not present unless at least one lipophilic group is hydrolyzed and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 10 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the hydrophilic chemical structure” such as recited in claim 10, lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the hydrophilic chemical structure” in the claim because claim 9 recites the term “a cross-linked hydrogel hydrophilic chemical structure”. The Examiner suggests that Applicant amend the claim to recite, for example, “the cross-linked hydrogel hydrophilic chemical structure”.
Claim 10 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “includes at least one hydroxyl group” such as recited in claim 10, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “at least one hydroxyl group” in the claim because claim 9, line 4, recites the term “hydroxyl groups”. Moreover, it is unclear whether the “at least one hydroxyl group” included in claim 10 is referring to the “hydroxyl groups” coupled to at least one lipophilic group as recited in claim 9, lines 4-5, or whether the “at least one hydroxyl group” refers to some other, different hydroxyl groups and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 10 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the solid support” such as recited in claim 10, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the solid support” in the claim because claim 9, line 1 recites the term “a non-porous solid support”.
Claims 11, 12, 14 and 24 are indefinite insofar as they ultimately depend from instant claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim 9 is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/102(a2) as being anticipated by Niemczyk et al. (hereinafter “Niemczyk”) (Carbohydrate Polymers, 2019, 225(115263), 1-11 (of record); and Supplementary Information, 2019, 225(115263), 1-10).
Regarding claim 9, Niemczyk teaches multifunctional and biofunctional coatings for medical devices are an attractive strategy towards tailoring the interactions of the device with the body, thereby influencing the host response, and the susceptibility to microbial colonization, such that the development of a coating process to yield amphiphilic, lubricious coatings, resistant to bacterial colonization, based on chitosan is described (interpreting medical devices as planar surfaces, claim 9) (Abstract, lines 1-4). Niemczyk teaches that the chitosan-fatty acid derivatives were obtained by simultaneous N,O-acylation of chitosan with either linoleic, α-linolenic, or dilinoleic acid, wherein chemical characterization of new materials was carried out using 1H NMR, FTIR, and XPS (interpreted as chitosan hydrogels comprising N,O-acylation with lipophilic fatty acids, claim 9) (Abstract, lines 4-6). Niemczyk teaches in Figure S1, a PET-DLA substrate samples: A – flat disc, and B – probe for tribiological tests (interpreting a flat disc as planar surface, claim 9) (pg. 3, Figure S1). Niemczyk teaches that surface properties of coated polyester samples were studied using SEM and contact angle measurements, which indicated that the incorporation of hydrophobic constituents into chitosan macromolecules led to a decrease of both surface roughness and water contact angle, wherein tribological testing demonstrated that these new coatings decrease the coefficient of friction due to the self-organization of fatty acid (from 0.53 for the neat chitosan to 0.35 for chitosan-fatty acid derivative) (interpreted as a water contact angle, claim 9) (Abstract, lines 6-11). Niemczyk teaches developing a coating procedure for covalently bonding amphiphilic chitosan-fatty acid derivatives (CHFA) to poly(aliphatic/aromatic ester) substrate, a biomedically-relevant class of polymers (interpreted as an amphiphilic coating, claim 9) (pg. 2, col 1, first full paragraph, lines 12-15). Niemczyk teaches that chitosan-fatty acid derivatives (CHFA) were obtained by chemical modification of chitosan (CH), wherein fatty acids such as ALA, LA, or DLA and EDC coupling agent were dissolved in methanol and stirred, and to this was added a 1 wt% chitosan solution in acetic acid and methanol (interpreted N,O acylation of chitosan with fatty acids, claim 9) (pg. 2, col 1, last partial paragraph). Niemczyk teaches that Figure 1 illustrates possible chemical structures of CHFA, wherein R refers to the fatty acid moieties (pg. 4, Figure 1). Figure 1 is shown below:
Niemczyk teaches that CHFA-coatings on PET-DLA substrate were applied via a 3-step dip-coating procedure: (1) PET-DLA samples were treated with argon plasma in order to enrich the PET-DLA substrate surface with functional groups, yielding hydrophilic character of the surface and improving surface wetting with the film-forming solution, wherein the plasma activation process involved: (a) providing argon into the chamber (2 min), (b) activating plasma at pressure of 0.25 bar (30 min), and (c) flushing the chamber with pure oxygen (2 min); (2) the newly formed peroxide and carboxylic groups on the PET-DLA substrate were activated using the carbodiimide coupling agent, EDC, by immersing of the plasma-treated samples in an aqueous EDC solution (5 g/L) at room temperature for 3 h; and (3) the samples were dipped into the CHFA coating solution for 24 h, to allow covalent bonds to form between carboxylic groups of the substrate and the amino and/or hydroxyl groups of the coating material (interpreted as forming a crosslinked chitosan hydrogel substituted with fatty acids; and providing an amphiphilic coating on a non-porous solid support, claim 9) (pg. 2, col 2, last full paragraph). Niemczyk teaches that the change in the static water contact angle of the PET-DLA substrate following each step of the activation and CHFA dip-coating procedure (an example for CHLA) (interpreted as encompassing low wettability, claim 9) (pg. 6, col 1, Figure 4). Figure 4 is shown blow:
Niemczyk teaches that in order to further examine the interactions of the obtained CHFA coatings with water, dynamic water contact angle measurements were performed including dynamic advancing contact angle measurements (interpreted as dynamic contact angle; and coating a solid support comprising a planar surface, claim 9) (pg. 8, col 1, first full paragraph).
Niemczyk meets all the limitations of the claims and, therefore, anticipates the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive (in part). Applicants essentially assert that: (a) Niemczyk does not teach the specific characteristics recited in claim 9 and the instant Application, including contact angles in polar aprotic solvent, hydrolytic switchability, etc.; Niemczyk and the instant claims have divergent physical mechanisms; Niemczyk teaches static contact angle drops and not dynamic contact angle drops; and Niemczyk does not teach that the fatty acid chains are hydrolysable to increase surface wettability (Applicant Remarks, pg. 9, Anticipation through pg. 11).
Regarding (a), as an initial matter, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant’s assertion that Niemczyk does not teach the specific characteristics recited in claim 9 and the instant Application, including contact angles in polar aprotic solvent, hydrolytic switchability, etc.; Niemczyk and the instant claims have divergent physical mechanisms; Niemczyk teaches static contact angle drops and not dynamic contact angle drops; and Niemczyk does not teach that the fatty acid chains are hydrolysable to increase surface wettability, is not found persuasive. Moreover, MPEP 2112.01(I) states:
where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (underline added).
MPEP 2112.01(II) indicates:
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty") (underline added).
Applicant is respectfully reminded that the claims must particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. As an initial matter, instant claim 9 does not recite the presence of the coating in a droplet of aprotic solvent, hydrolysis of the coating, DMSO, a process comprising tilting the support, synthesis cycles, droplet movement, etc. Moreover, MPEP 2112.01(II) clearly states that:
"products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”; and
“if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present” (underline and italics added).
Thus, any non-porous solid support comprising a planar surface coated with an amphiphilic coating as recited in claim 9, will have identical properties. Niemczyk teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 9. Thus, the amphiphilic coatings taught by Niemczyk have the same properties as recited in instant claim 9. The claim remains rejected.
New Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for
the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 9-12, 14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niemczyk et al. (hereinafter “Niemczyk”) (Carbohydrate Polymers, 2019, 225(115263), 1-11 (of record); and Supplementary Information, 2019, 225(115263), 1-10) in view of Sundberg et al. (hereinafter “Sundberg”) (US Patent No. 5624711, issued April 29, 1997).
The teachings of Niemczyk as applied to claim 9 is described supra.
Regarding claim 10, Sundberg teaches that methods providing means to control the functional site density on a solid support, wherein some of the derivatized supports are polymer coated or glycan-coated; as well as, other methods for regenerating the surface of a used ligand array are also provided (interpreted as coating a solid support, claim 9) (Abstract). Sundberg teaches sets of monomers for the synthesis of polypeptides, wherein each of the sets of monomers can include protected members which are modified after synthesis for the preparation of molecules containing sequences of monomers including amino acids or other polymers such as polysaccharides, phospholipids, and peptides having either a-, b- or g-amino acids, heteropolymers in which a known drug is covalently bound to any of the above, polynucleotides, polyesters, polyamides, etc. (interpreted as polysaccharides; amphiphilic coatings; and protected amino acids, claim 10) (col 5, lines 3-13). Sundberg teaches that Figure 1 illustrates the "doped process" of derivatizing a solid support such as a glass slide is cleaned and derivatized with an aminoalkylsilane to provide a surface of amine functional groups, such that treatment of this derivatized substrate with a mixture of linking molecules (e.g., NVOC-aminocaproic acid) and diluent molecules (e.g., protected amino acids) provides a surface having synthesis initiation sites at a preselected density, wherein the density of synthesis initiation sites will depend on the particular ratio of linking molecules to diluent molecules used (interpreting a glass slide as a planar surface having an amino group for subsequent array synthesis; NVOC-aminocaproic acid as a lipophilic group; interpreting diluent molecules as amino acid linkers including protected amino acid linkers having the structure (aa)n; and interpreting amino acids and alkyl silyl groups as comprising hydrophilic structure, lipophilic group, and a hydroxyl, claims 9 and 10) (col 11, lines 7-19; and Figure 1). Sundberg teaches that groups which are suitable for attachment to a linking molecule or diluent molecule include amine, hydroxyl, thiol, carboxylic acid, ester, amide, epoxide, isocyanate and isothiocyanate, wherein the derivatization reagents can have a protecting group attached to the reactive site on the distal or terminal end of the derivatization reagent (opposite the solid substrate), wherein derivatization reagents include aminoalkyltrialkoxysilanes, amino-alkyltrichlorosilanes, hydroxyalkyltrialkoxysilanes, hydroxyalkyltrichlorosilanes, carboxyalkyltrialkoxy-silanes, polyethylene-glycols, epoxyalkyltrialkoxysilanes, and combinations thereof (interpreted as producing an amphiphilic coating comprising at least one hydrophilic structure; at least one lipophilic group; and including at least one hydroxyl group; and a linker between the coating and an amino group, claims 9 and 10) (col 11, lines 7-19). Sundberg teaches that the linking molecule contributes to the net hydrophobic or hydrophilic nature of the surface including a hydrocarbon chain, such as --(CH2)n--, the effect is to decrease wettability, wherein linking molecules including polyoxyethylene (-(CH2CH2O)n-), or polyamide
(-(CH2CONH)n-) chains tend to make the surface more hydrophilic (i.e., increase wettability) (interpreting polysaccharides, phospholipids, peptides and polyoxyethylene linking groups as forming an amphiphilic coating comprising at least one hydrophilic structure; at least one lipophilic group; and including at least one hydroxyl group, claims 9 and 10) (col 12, lines 47-53).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Sundberg teaches that the linking molecules used in the present invention are of sufficient length to permit any polymers synthesized thereon to interact freely with molecules exposed to the polymers, wherein the linking molecules should be 3-50 atoms long to provide sufficient exposure of ligands to their receptors, such that the linking molecules will typically be aryl acetylene, ethylene glycol oligomers containing 2-14 monomer units, diamines, diacids, amino acids, peptides, or combinations thereof (interpreted as a (poly)amino acid linker having a formula (aa)n; and encompassing 3-10 amino acids including a b-alanine having 6 repeat units, claim 11) (col 12, lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 12, Sundberg teaches sets of monomers for the synthesis of polypeptides, wherein each of the sets of monomers can include protected members which are modified after synthesis for the preparation of molecules containing sequences of monomers including amino acids or other polymers such as polysaccharides, phospholipids, and peptides having either a-, b- or g-amino acids including a,b-alanine, heteropolymers in which a known drug is covalently bound to any of the above, polynucleotides, polyesters, polyamides, etc. (interpreted as polysaccharides; amphiphilic coatings; and protected amino acids, claim 9) (col 5, lines 3-13 and 40-41). Sundberg teaches that Figure 1 illustrates the "doped process" of derivatizing a solid support such as a glass slide is cleaned and derivatized with an aminoalkylsilane to provide a surface of amine functional groups, such that treatment of this derivatized substrate with a mixture of linking molecules (e.g., NVOC-aminocaproic acid) and diluent molecules (e.g., protected amino acids) provides a surface having synthesis initiation sites at a preselected density, wherein the density of synthesis initiation sites will depend on the particular ratio of linking molecules to diluent molecules used (interpreting a glass slide as a planar surface having amino groups; and interpreting diluent molecules as amino acid linkers including protected amino acid linkers having the structure (aa)n, claims 9-11) (col 11, lines 7-19; and Figure 1). Sundberg teaches that protecting groups of the invention are selected so as to be selectively removable, wherein other suitable protecting groups include FMOC, DMT, NVOC, MeNPOC, BOC and ALLOC (interpreted as amino acids comprising protecting groups including BOC, claims 11 and 12) (col 13, lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 14, Sundberg teaches the use of O-t-Butyl serine as a diluent molecule provides a hydrophobic surface during polymer synthesis, but upon treatment with acid (cleaving the t-butyl ether), a more hydrophilic surface is produced for assays, such that after reacting the mixture of linking molecules and diluent molecules with the surface and subsequently synthesizing a desired polymer onto the functional sites on the linking group, the protecting groups on the surface-attached diluent molecules are removed to provide a more hydrophilic (i.e. "wettable") surface, wherein the diluent molecules preferably include protected glycine, protected serine, glutamic acid, or protected lysine (interpreted as encompassing protected lysine, serine, threonine, aspartic acid, and glutamic acid; and t-Bu protecting groups, claim 14) (col 13, lines 1-12).
It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the court held that, "…a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950)”. Therefore, in view of the benefits of producing a variety of derivatized supports as exemplified by Sundberg, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of producing bio-functional and/or multi-functional coatings comprising chitosan-fatty acid derivatives on a solid surface as disclosed by Niemczyk to include the methods of derivatizing polymer-coated and/or glycan-coated supports such as the utilization of protected amino acids and/or trialkoxy-silanes as linking groups as taught by Sundberg with a reasonable expectation of success in using the linking groups to produce surfaces comprising diverse polymer sequences, which can be derivatized to control functional group spacing, improve wettability; and/or minimize non-specific binding of macromolecules; and/or to produce supports comprising chitosan-based amphiphilic, lubricious coatings that are resistant to bacterial colonization having a decrease in both surface roughness and water contact angle.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, the claims are properly
rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as obvious over the art.
Conclusion
Claims 9-12, 14 and 24 are rejected.
/AMY M BUNKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684