DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (US 20210344046 A1) and further in view Lee (US 20220216466 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuoka teaches
a nonaqueous electrolyte (abstract, [nonaqueous electrolytic solution]) comprising
a positive electrode (para. 0048, [positive electrode]), a negative electrode (para. 0048, [negative electrode]), and a nonaqueous electrolyte (para. 0048, [nonaqueous electrolyte])
wherein the positive electrode includes
a composite oxide containing lithium (para. 0063, [lithium-containing metal oxide]) and a transition metal (para. 0063, the composite oxide may include the transition metals of Ni, Mn, Co, Fe, V, Cu, Ti, Zn, Mo, or Zr),
and a conductive agent (para. 0224, [by mixing a positive electrode active material and a conductive aid and a binder as necessary]) and
an additive covering at least a portion of a surface of the composite oxide and the composite oxide (para. 0211, [it is still more preferable that a surface of the positive electrode active material is coated with at least one oxide selected from the group consisting of … Al2O3]) (para. 0173 -0174, the electrolyte includes an additive such as triallyl phosphate) (Examiner notes that the additive is made up of both the coating layer and the phosphorous compound contained in the electrolyte).
and the additive includes a metal oxide (para. 0211, Al2O3) and a phosphate compound (para. 0174, [triallyl phosphate]), and the phosphate compound has at least one intramolecular alkenyl group (para. 0174, [triallyl phosphate]).
Matsuoka does not teach that the metal oxide cover layer having a thickness of 1 nm to 5 m.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that the metal oxide cover layer having a thickness of 1 nm to 5 m (para. 0051, [the thickness of the atomic layer deposition coating layer may be 0.2 to 1 nm]) (para. 0019, the atomic layer deposition coating layer may comprise … AlOx , wherein x may be … 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made Matsuoka’s metal oxide cover layer having a thickness of 0.2 to 1nm, as taught by Lee. Lee teaches that when the thickness of the atomic layer deposition coating layer satisfies the above - described range, the resistance of the battery hardly increases and the atomic layer deposition coating layer may sufficiently function as a protective layer for the positive electrode active material layer (para. 0051).
Regarding claim 2, modified Matsuoka teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the alkenyl group includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a 2-propenyl group (Matsuoka, para. 0174, [triallyl phosphate]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Matsuoka teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the phosphate compound includes triallyl phosphate (Matsuoka, para. 0174, [triallyl phosphate]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Matsuoka teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the metal oxide includes at least one element selected from the group consisting of aluminum, (Matsuoka, para. 0019, the atomic layer deposition coating layer may comprise … AlOx , wherein x may be … 3).
Regarding claim 7, modified Matsuoka discloses the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the nonaqueous electrolyte contains the phosphate compound by 2 mass% or less relative to the entire nonaqueous electrolyte (Matsuoka, para. 0175, [the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to the present embodiment contains other optional additives, the content thereof is preferably within a range of 0.01 % by weight or more and 10 % by weight or less]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (US 20210344046 A1)and further in view Lee (US 20220216466 A1) and Hosoya (US 20050181279 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Matsuoka teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the composite oxide has a composition represented by a general formula: LiNixCoyM1-x-yO2, in the general formula, 0.3<x<1, 0< y < 0.5 and 0 < 1-x-y < 0.35 are satisfied (Matsuoka, para. 0063, [general formula 14: LipNiqCorMnsMtOu], 0< p < 1.3 , 0 < q < 1.2 , 0 ≤ s < 0.5, 0 ≤ t < 0.3, and 1.8 < u < 2.2.
Matsuoka is silent with respect to the composite oxide having a layered rock salt type crystal structure.
Hosoya teaches a lithium composite oxide having a layered rock salt type crystal structure (Hosoya, para. 0079, [a composition represented by LiNi0.4Co0.3Mn0.3O2 was identified. The powder thus obtained was confirmed to have a layered rock-salt structure]). Hosoya teaches a composition that satisfies the general formula as claimed in claim 5.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shi’s battery to use a lithium composite oxide exhibiting a rock salt type crystal structure, as taught by Hosoya, in order to obtain a lithium composite oxide with certain physical properties which are superior to those of lithium cobalt oxides without the rock-salt structure, as taught in the summary of Hosoya’s battery, para. 0004.
Regarding claim 6, Matsuoka teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 5, and further teaches
wherein the metal oxide includes Al203 (Matsuoka, para. 0211, [it is still more preferable that a surface of the positive electrode active material is coated with at least one oxide selected from the group consisting of … Al2O3]), and
at an outermost surface of the composite oxide [the composite oxide is] covered with the additive (para. 0211, [it is still more preferable that a surface of the positive electrode active material is coated with at least one oxide selected from the group consisting of … Al2O3])
and an atomic ratio of Al derived from the metal oxide relative to Ni derived from the composite oxide: Al/Ni is 2 or less
(Examiner notes that modified Matsuoka teaches the lithium composite oxide as stated in the instant (see claim 5), teaches the metal oxide as stated in the instant (see claim 6), and teaches the thickness layer in the range stated in the instant (see claim 1). Therefore, modified Matsuoka teaches the atomic ratio of Al to Ni as claimed. Paragraph 0028 of the instant specification states “when the surface of the nickel-based composite oxide represented by a general formula (2) described later is covered with Al203, at the outermost surface of the composite oxide, the atomic ratio of Al derived from the metal oxide relative to Ni derived from the composite oxide: Al/Ni is, for example, 2 or less. In this case, at the surface of the composite oxide, a thin layer of metal oxide (e.g., thickness 1 nm or more and 3 nm or less) is presumably distributed in an island form”.)
Other Pertinent References
US 20200176807 A1
US 20230343935 A1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721