DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 5-7, in the reply filed on 09/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09//25/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2022, 08/11/2023, 04/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the contents accommodated in the accommodation unit" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim preamble states that the accommodation unit is “is configured to accommodate the culture solution and the microalgae as contents”; however, this represents a hypothetical use of the accommodation unit. The claim does not contain sufficient antecedent basis for the accommodation unit actually accommodating contents during the course of the claimed method.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the culturing tank selected from among the plurality of culturing tanks" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the claim does not provide sufficient antecedent basis for a culturing tank selected from the plurality.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the outside air temperature" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the claim does not provide sufficient antecedent basis for outside air.
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reasons as the base claim upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boonaert et al. (WO2012080198A1) (machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, Boonaert et al. discloses a culture method using a culture device that cultures microalgae in a culture solution (para. 3, 46, 53),
wherein the culture device includes:
a culturing tank (first container) (para. 27) including an accommodation unit that transmits light and is configured to accommodate the culture solution and the microalgae as contents (e.g., the first container includes glass walls that transmit light and accommodate culture solution and microalgae, see para. 46, 53, 58, and 63-64, and Fig. 3); and
a water storage tank (second container) including a water storage unit which transmits light and in which stored water is stored (para. 27), the culturing tank being allowed to be installed inside the water storage unit (para. 27, 63) (Fig. 3),
the culture method comprising:
a determination step of determining an outdoor environment of an installation location in which the culture device is installed (para. 27, 36); and
a step of setting, based on a determination result of the determination step, a ratio of a content volume of contents accommodated in the accommodation unit (contents of first container) inside the water storage unit to a total volume of the content volume and a stored water volume of the stored water (inside of second container) (e.g., the prior art method comprises varying a water level within the second container based on the determination result, see para. 27, 57, 72-75, and Fig. 1, which necessarily sets the ratio or volume occupancy rate as it is also referred to in the claim; therefore, the prior art reads on the claimed volume occupancy rate adjustment step).
Regarding claim 7, Boonaert et al. discloses wherein, in the volume occupancy rate adjustment step, the volume occupancy rate is reduced (e.g., ratio of contents within the first container to a total volume of contents within the first and second containers is reduced, by adding more volume to the second container) as the outside air temperature increases (para. 27, 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boonaert et al. (WO2012080198A1) (machine translation) in view of Meiser et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0107452).
Regarding claim 6, Boonaert et al. discloses wherein the culture device includes a plurality of the culturing tanks (first containers) (para. 25) (Fig. 3).
Boonaert et al. is silent as to wherein capacities of the accommodation units of the plurality of culture tanks differ from each other, and in the volume occupancy rate adjustment step, the volume occupancy rate is set by disposing the culturing tank selected from among the plurality of culturing tanks, inside the water storage unit.
Meiser et al. discloses a culture device for culturing microalgae (Abstract, para. 116), and further discloses that the dimensions of the device can vary based on a variety of factors including “the biomass production capacity, the reactor material, the manufacturing process, the environmental conditions of the specific site, the selected photosynthetic or mixotrophic organism and other factors known in the art” (para. 77).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of culture tanks disclosed by Boonaert et al. such that capacities of the accommodation units thereof differ from each other, as the skilled artisan would understand from the teachings of Meiser et al. that an ideal device size for a particular application may vary based on a desired production capacity, environmental conditions, the particular microalgae strain being cultured, or other factors, and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to provide a variety of differently sized accommodation units to choose from for the application. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method disclosed by Boonaert et al. to comprise disposing at least one particular culturing tank selected from among the plurality of culturing tanks inside the water storage unit, in order to use one or more particular culturing tank selected for its suitability for a desired purpose. As to the limitation of wherein, in the volume occupancy rate adjustment step, the volume occupancy rate is set by disposing the culturing tank selected from among the plurality of culturing tanks inside the water storage unit, the volume occupancy rate is a ratio of a volume inside the accommodation unit and the total volume (as defined in claim 5), and therefore disposing a selected culturing tank having a particular volume would necessarily serve to set the volume occupancy rate. Therefore, the method taught by Boonaert et al. in view of Meiser et al. necessarily reads on this limitation.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vermaas et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0014683) is directed to immersing a transparent photobioreactor within a reservoir of cooling water.
Conclusion
/HOLLY KIPOUROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799