Detailed Action
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 08/25/25 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, indefiniteness
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 36, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this
Office action:
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 13, 35 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 106719652A).
Huang et al. discloses herbicide containing compounds for controlling weed in soybean field, see title. The compound taught is di-methyl fumarate in 50-60 parts in abstract and claims 2-3.
The above compound reads on the oxaloacetate compound of formula (III) wherein R1 and R2 are methyl, R3 and R4 are hydrogen (see instant claim 13 which is same as the claimed compound). Huang teaches that the object of the present invention to provide a kind of soybean in field herbicide, it has herbicidal effect good, the strong advantage of penetrating power, see content of the invention of the translation. Additional herbicides are disclosed in claims 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 18-20, 22, 29-30, 32, 36 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 106719652A) in view of Coleman et al. (US PG Pub. 2007/0249699 A1) and Gorbunov et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0119193A1).
Huang et al. does not teach the amount of oxaloacetate compound applied to the plant fertilizer.
Coleman et al. discloses a method of controlling plant growth, said method comprising applying to a plant a herbicidal composition comprising an organic acid, or salt thereof, wherein said plant is a grass (see claims 25, 26). The reference discloses that the organic acid can be fumaric acid or oxaloacetic acid), see claim 3. Coleman et al. is applied at a rate ranging from about 0.10 to about 1000 pounds per acre (see claim 33). Coleman et al. discloses that the compositions are particularly suited for spot killing of unwanted weeds about a home or farm (see paragraph [0103)). Coleman et al. discloses an agricultural field such as a field of strawberries (a crop of cultivated plant) (see paragraph [0048]). Coleman et al. discloses that the compositions can be used to kill/desiccate a variety of grasses, broadleaves, and crop plants, wherein grasses killed or desiccated include fall panicum, prickly side, johnsongrass, ryegrass, horseweed, or goosegrass (see claims 27, 29; paragraph [0080)]). Coleman et al. discloses that the fungicide composition can be combined with an herbicide composition, a desiccant composition, or an insecticide composition (see paragraph [0035]). Coleman et al. discloses the herbicidal composition comprising an emulsifier and an additive selected from the group consisting of an adjuvant a diluent, and a combination thereof (see claim 25). Coleman et al. discloses that the composition can be provided either as a liquid concentrate or a ready-to-use formulation, and the ready-to-use formulation can be a clear, aqueous solution, a suspension, or an emulsion (see paragraph [0022]).
Gorbunov teaches herbicide at a dose of 175.0 g/ha (see paragraph [0110]). Gorbunov et al. discloses composition for regulating plant growth, see title. The reference teaches oxaloacetate compound, see [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified or optimized by a person skilled in the art without the exercise of inventive skill considering that the composition of Coleman et al. is applied at a rate ranging from about 0.10 to about 1000 pounds per acre (see claim 33) and the amount of herbicide can be easily modified or optimized through repeated experimentation conducted by a person skilled in the art, without the exercise of inventive skill, considering herbicide at a dose of 175.0 g/ha in Gorbunov et al. (see paragraph [0110]). The amount of herbicide can be simply controlled and applied by routine experimental means in accordance with experimental conditions by a person skilled in the art considering that the active ingredient content corresponds to a 50-60 parts by Huang et al. Coleman et al. discloses the herbicidal composition comprising an organic acid, or salt thereof (see claim 25) and modifying a type of salt form is merely a matter of design option when general technical knowledge in the relevant field of the art is used. Regarding an effective herbicidal amount, can be easily modified or optimized by a person skilled in the art without the exercise of inventive skill and no unexpected effects or properties are indicated in the application. The amount of oxaloacetate compound can be modified or optimized by a person skilled in the art without the exercise of inventive skill considering that the composition of Coleman et al. is applied at a rate ranging from about 0.10 to about 1000 pounds per acre (see claim 33). Regarding mixing the oxaloacetate compound to the fertilizer and applying the fertilizer to the herbicidal composition, it would be within the scope of the customary practice followed by a person skilled in the art and no unexpected effects or properties are indicated in the application.
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the rejections made above necessitated by claim amendments.
Action is final
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SNIGDHA MAEWALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612