DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response submitted October 20, 2025, has been received. The arguments therein have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that applicant’s arguments directed to “a hygrometer that includes a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a moisture sensitive hydrophilic material in which the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has a DC proton conductivity that varies over a decreasing temperature range, and wherein a maximum rate of increasing the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a dew point temperature” fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. While Applicant’s assertion that the claimed hygrometer is “three times more sensitive”, this language is not currently claimed. Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 3 of the remarks, directed to using a proton conductive solid electrolyte in measuring dew point temperature, it is noted that paragraph [0037] of the Samuilov reference discloses the cnt moisture sensor is polar and thereby hydrophilic proton conductor. Regarding applicant’s arguments on page 4, it is noted that the combination of the ‘369 reference was not made to incorporated the solid electrolyte but to reinforce the use of proton conductivity in identifying dew condensation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2019/0025137 (“Samuilov”) in view of JP2004101369 (“Moriyama”).
Claim 1
Samuilov discloses a hygrometer comprising: a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (CNT sensor 10), wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has a direct current (DC) proton conductivity that varies over a decreasing temperature range (paragraph [0106], Fig. 14), and wherein a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a dew point temperature (Fig. 14).
Samuilov discloses using DC current but does not appear to explicitly disclose it has proton conductivity.
Moriyama discloses a moisture detecting apparatus including using proton conductivity (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated proton conductivity, as disclosed by Moriyama, into the device of Samuilov, for the purpose of identifying a dew condensation state (Moriyama, paragraph [0006]).
Claim 2
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein the maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity is further indicative of a maximum rate of water molecules adsorption and their dissociation on a surface of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, varied slopes).
Claim 3
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a transition to an icing condition, if the dew point temperature is greater than 0 °C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, dew point 3.5 °C transition to ice).
Claim 4
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a frost point, if the dew point temperature is less than 0 °C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, frost point -18 °C transition).
Claim 5
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has chemical groups containing oxygen and is electronically insulating (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 6
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the hygrometer of Claim 5, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material is composed of graphene oxide (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 7
Samuilov discloses a hygrometer for detecting dew point, the hygrometer comprising: a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a graphene oxide (CNT sensor, paragraph [0021]), wherein the graphene oxide has a direct current (DC) proton conductivity that varies over a decreasing temperature range (Fig. 14), wherein a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a dew point temperature and a maximum rate of water molecules adsorption and their dissociation on a surface of the graphene oxide (Fig. 14), and wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the graphene oxide over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a transition to an icing condition, if the dew point temperature is greater than 0 °C, or a frost point, if the dew point temperature is less than 0 °C (Fig. 14, paragraphs [0019-0021]).
Samuilov discloses using DC current but does not appear to explicitly disclose it has proton conductivity.
Moriyama discloses a moisture detecting apparatus including using proton conductivity (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated proton conductivity, as disclosed by Moriyama, into the device of Samuilov, for the purpose of identifying a dew condensation state (Moriyama, paragraph [0006]).
Claim 8
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses a system comprising: a hygrometer comprising a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (CNT sensor, paragraph [0021]), wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has a direct current (DC) proton conductivity that varies over a decreasing temperature range (Fig. 14), and wherein a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a dew point temperature (Fig. 14); a signal conditioner (conditioner 30, Fig. 14); and a processor configured to monitor the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range and to identify at least the maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature range (processor 35, Fig. 14).
Samuilov discloses using DC current but does not appear to explicitly disclose it has proton conductivity.
Moriyama discloses a moisture detecting apparatus including using proton conductivity (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated proton conductivity, as disclosed by Moriyama, into the device of Samuilov, for the purpose of identifying a dew condensation state (Moriyama, paragraph [0006]).
Claim 9
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein the maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity is further indicative of a maximum rate of water molecules adsorption and their dissociation on a surface of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, varied slopes).
Claim 10
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a transition to an icing condition, if the dew point temperature is greater than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, dew point 3.5 °C transition to ice).
Claim 11
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a frost point, if the dew point temperature is less than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, frost point -18 °C transition).
Claim 12
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has chemical groups containing oxygen and is electronically insulating (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 13
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the system of Claim 12, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material is composed of graphene oxide (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 14
Samuilov discloses a method of determining dew point, the method comprising: contacting a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a moisture sensitive hydrophilic material with moisture (CNT sensor, paragraph [0021], Figs. 2 and 14); and measuring a change in direct current (DC) proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material across the condensation sensor and over a decreasing temperature range (paragraphs [0106-0107]), wherein a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a dew point temperature (Fig. 14).
Samuilov discloses using DC current but does not appear to explicitly disclose it has proton conductivity.
Moriyama discloses a moisture detecting apparatus including using proton conductivity (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated proton conductivity, as disclosed by Moriyama, into the device of Samuilov, for the purpose of identifying a dew condensation state (Moriyama, paragraph [0006]).
Claim 15
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity is further indicative of a maximum rate of water molecules adsorption and their dissociation on a surface of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, varied slopes).
Claim 16
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a transition to an icing condition, if the dew point temperature is greater than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, dew point 3.5 °C transition to ice).
Claim 17
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a frost point, if the dew point temperature is less than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, frost point -18 °C transition).
Claim 18
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has chemical groups containing oxygen and is electronically insulating (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 19
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the method of Claim 18, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material is composed of graphene oxide (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 20
Samuilov in view of Moriyama discloses the method of Claim 19, wherein the graphene oxide is formed utilizing a filtering method of a water suspension of graphene oxide nanoparticles (Samuilov, paragraphs [0185-0187]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853