DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2019/0025137 (“Samuilov”) in view of JP2004101369 (“Moriyama”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2015/0233856 (“Ayres”).
Claim 1
Samuilov discloses a hygrometer comprising: a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (CNT sensor 10), wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has a direct current (DC) proton conductivity that varies over a decreasing temperature range (paragraph [0106], Fig. 14), and wherein a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a dew point temperature (Fig. 14).
Samuilov discloses using DC current but does not appear to explicitly disclose it has proton conductivity.
Moriyama discloses a moisture detecting apparatus including using proton conductivity (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated proton conductivity, as disclosed by Moriyama, into the device of Samuilov, for the purpose of identifying a dew condensation state (Moriyama, paragraph [0006]).
Samuilov in view of Moriyana does not appear to explicitly disclose a direct current voltage source configured to supply a current at a fixed rate to the condensation sensor; and a detector configured to measure conductance of the condensation sensor after water absorption from a gas stream.
Ayres discloses a similar CNT sensing system including a constant current source with the DC current provided to the CNT sensor (paragraph [0107]) and voltage detector 25 measuring conductance (paragraph [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated controlled current and detection of conductance, as disclosed by Ayres, into the device of Samuilov in view of Moriyama, such that a direct current voltage source configured to supply a current at a fixed rate to the condensation sensor; and a detector configured to measure conductance of the condensation sensor after water absorption from a gas stream, for the purpose of providing a controlled temperature scan to detect humidity change (Ayres, paragraph [0108]).
Claim 2
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein the maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity is further indicative of a maximum rate of water molecules adsorption and their dissociation on a surface of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, varied slopes).
Claim 3
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a transition to an icing condition, if the dew point temperature is greater than 0 °C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, dew point 3.5 °C transition to ice).
Claim 4
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a frost point, if the dew point temperature is less than 0 °C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, frost point -18 °C transition).
Claim 5
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the hygrometer of Claim 1, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has chemical groups containing oxygen and is electronically insulating (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 6
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the hygrometer of Claim 5, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material is composed of graphene oxide, a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer, or an ionomer of a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide)
Claim 8
Samuilov discloses a system comprising: a hygrometer comprising a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (CNT sensor, paragraph [0021]), wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has a direct current (DC) proton conductivity that varies over a decreasing temperature range (Fig. 14), a signal conditioner (conditioner 30, Fig. 14); and a processor configured to monitor the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range (processor 35, Fig. 14).
Samuilov discloses using DC current but does not appear to explicitly disclose it has proton conductivity.
Moriyama discloses a moisture detecting apparatus including using proton conductivity (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated proton conductivity, as disclosed by Moriyama, into the device of Samuilov, for the purpose of identifying a dew condensation state (Moriyama, paragraph [0006]).
Samuilov in view of Moriyama does not appear to explicitly disclose determine a dew point by identifying a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range.
Ayres discloses a similar CNT sensing system including a dew point determination with increasing scan rate (paragraph [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated determining dew point, as disclosed by Ayres, into the device of Samuilov in view of Moriyama, such to determine a dew point by identifying a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range, for the purpose of providing a controlled temperature scan to detect humidity change (Ayres, paragraph [0108]).
Claim 9
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein the maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity is further indicative of a maximum rate of water molecules adsorption and their dissociation on a surface of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, varied slopes).
Claim 10
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a transition to an icing condition, if the dew point temperature is greater than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, dew point 3.5 °C transition to ice).
Claim 11
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a frost point, if the dew point temperature is less than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, frost point -18 °C transition).
Claim 12
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has chemical groups containing oxygen and is electronically insulating (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 13
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the system of Claim 12, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material is composed of graphene oxide, a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer, or an ionomer of a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 14
Samuilov discloses a method of determining dew point, the method comprising: contacting a condensation sensor having an outer surface composed of a moisture sensitive hydrophilic material with moisture (CNT sensor, paragraph [0021], Figs. 2 and 14); and measuring a change in direct current (DC) proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material across the condensation sensor and over a decreasing temperature range (paragraphs [0106-0107]),
Samuilov discloses using DC current but does not appear to explicitly disclose it has proton conductivity.
Moriyama discloses a moisture detecting apparatus including using proton conductivity (paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated proton conductivity, as disclosed by Moriyama, into the device of Samuilov, for the purpose of identifying a dew condensation state (Moriyama, paragraph [0006]).
Samuilov in view of Moriyama does not appear to explicitly disclose determining a dew point temperature by identifying a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity over the decreasing temperature.
Ayres discloses a similar CNT sensing system including a dew point determination with increasing scan rate (paragraph [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated determining dew point, as disclosed by Ayres, into the device of Samuilov in view of Moriyama, such to determine a dew point by identifying a maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range, for the purpose of providing a controlled temperature scan to detect humidity change (Ayres, paragraph [0108]).
Claim 15
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the maximum rate of increase in the DC proton conductivity is further indicative of a maximum rate of water molecules adsorption and their dissociation on a surface of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, varied slopes).
Claim 16
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a transition to an icing condition, if the dew point temperature is greater than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, dew point 3.5 °C transition to ice).
Claim 17
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein a maximum in the DC proton conductivity of the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material over the decreasing temperature range is indicative of a frost point, if the dew point temperature is less than 0°C (Samuilov, paragraph [0019], Fig. 14, frost point -18 °C transition).
Claim 18
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material has chemical groups containing oxygen and is electronically insulating (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 19
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the method of Claim 18, wherein the moisture sensitive hydrophilic material is composed of graphene oxide, a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer, or an ionomer of a sulfonated tetrafluoroethylene based fluoropolymer-copolymer (Samuilov, paragraph [0021], graphene oxide).
Claim 20
Samuilov in view of Moriyama, further in view of Ayres, discloses the method of Claim 19, wherein the graphene oxide is formed utilizing a filtering method of a water suspension of graphene oxide nanoparticles (Samuilov, paragraphs [0185-0187]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853