Requirement
Requirement — Overview
The applicant is required to submit copies of non-patent literature and relevant technical information as set forth below.
Basis for Requirement
35 U.S.C. § 131 provides:
The Director shall cause an examination to be made of the application and the alleged new invention; and if on such examination it appears that the applicant is entitled to a patent under the law, the Director shall issue a patent therefor.
37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a) provides:
In the course of examining or treating a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 or 371 (including a reissue application), in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding, the examiner or other Office employee may require the submission, from individuals identified under § 1.56(c), or any assignee, of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat the matter, for example:
….
(iii) Related information: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign), by any of the inventors, that relates to the claimed invention.
(iv) Information used to draft application: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used to draft the application.
(v) Information used in invention process: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used in the invention process, such as by designing around or providing a solution to accomplish an invention result.
…
(viii) Technical information known to applicant. Technical information known to applicant concerning the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or concerning the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Background
The applicant has stated in a publicly available European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI) record that Application No. WO2021KR03758, which is a parent of the application 17/913,965 (“the Application”), “may be or may become ESSENTIAL in relation to at least the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the attached IPR Information Statement Annex.”1
Necessity for this Requirement.
This Requirement is issued pursuant to the Director’s duty and authority to examine patent applications. See 35 U.S.C. § 131; 37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a). The ETSI record indicates the applicant likely possesses information relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) that is necessary for a more complete understanding of the invention and its context. See MPEP § 704.11. Such information may include non-patent literature and technical materials (e.g., contribution papers or Tdocs) authored, generated, or submitted by the applicant or others that form the basis of, or resulted from, the claimed invention.
Applicant is Required to Submit:
Copies of any non-patent literature relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which satisfies any of the following criteria:
Authored by any of the inventors and related to the claimed invention,
Used to draft the present application, or
Used in the invention process (for example, used to design around prior art or to provide a solution that enabled the claimed invention); and
Any technical information known to the applicant relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which concerns the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Instructions to Applicant
A complete reply to this Requirement is a reply to each enumerated requirement for information giving either the information required or a statement that the information required to be submitted is unknown and/or is not readily available to the applicant. There is no requirement for the applicant to show that the required information was not, in fact, readily attainable, but the applicant is required to make a good faith attempt to obtain the information and to make a reasonable inquiry once the information is requested. See MPEP § 704.12(b).
This Requirement is subject to the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.134, 1.135 and 1.136 and is accorded the same period for reply as the action on the merits sent with this Requirement. See MPEP § 704.13 (third paragraph). EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136 (a).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-17 and 20 remain pending in the application. Applicant amended claims 1, 6-7, 9-12, 17, and 20, of which, claims 1, 17 and 20 are independent claims. Claims 2-3, 18-19 and 21 were previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 5/18/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 20, Applicant argues that “Khoshnevisan also fails to disclose selecting a specific ML for determining a PUCCH resource based on whether the ML has the same TCI state as the TCI state of the single CORESET.” Remarks at 7 (emphasis added). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not require that the “specific ML” itself have the same TC state as the single COREST. Rather, the claims require only that the “specific ML corresponds to an ML having a same TCI state as a TCI state of the single CORESET.” This recited ”correspondence” is not limited to the “specific ML” itself being “an ML having a same TCI state.” Accordingly, Applicant’s argument, which is not supported by the claim language, is unpersuasive.
Claim Interpretation
The term “partition,” as recited in claims 1, 9, 11, 17, and 20, is interpreted to mean “divide,” because the term “partition” in the present amendment replaces the term “divide” previously recited in claims 9 and 11, and the original disclosure, including the paragraphs cited by Applicant in the Remarks, does not disclose the term “partition.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention is inoperative and therefore lacks utility. The claim recites, on the one hand, “wherein a size of each frequency resource of the plurality of MLs is configured to be equal to the frequency resource of the single CORESET,” and, on the other hand, “wherein, based on the plurality of MLs being configured by [] partitioning a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET),” as set forth in claim 1. These limitations are inconsistent and cannot be satisfied simultaneously. If the plurality of MLs are configured by partitioning a frequency resource of a single CORESET, then the size of each frequency resource of the plurality of MLs would necessarily be smaller than the frequency resource of the single CORESET. Accordingly, the claimed invention is inoperative and lacks utility.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention is inoperative and therefore lacks utility. The claims recite, on the one hand, “wherein the plurality of MLs are configured in the frequency resource of the single CORESET,” and, on the other hand, “wherein, based on the plurality of MLs being configured by repeating [] a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET),” as set forth in claim 1. These limitations are inconsistent and cannot be satisfied simultaneously. If the plurality of MLs are configured by repeating a frequency resource of a single CORESET, then the plurality of MLs would necessarily be larger than the frequency resource of the single CORESET and would not fit within the frequency resource of the single CORESET. Accordingly, the claimed invention is inoperative and lacks utility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 10-11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a credible asserted utility or a well established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention. See MPEP 2107.01, II.
Claims 1, 4-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 4-17 and 20, Applicant asserts that support for the amendments “can at least be found in paragraphs [0203], [0219]–[0220], and [0264]–[0265] of the specification.” However, the cited portions of the specification do not reasonably convey possession of the limitations “the plurality of MLs being configured by [] partitioning a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET),” much less “based on the plurality of MLs being configured by repeating or partitioning a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET), the specific ML corresponds to an ML having a same transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state as a TCI state of the single CORESET,” as recited in claims 1, 17, and 20.
Paragraph [0203] appears to relate to the feature that “the specific ML corresponds to an ML having a same transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state as a TCI state of the single CORESET.” Paragraphs [0219]–[0220] and [0264]–[0265] appear to relate to “the plurality of MLs being configured by repeating a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET).” However, none of the disclosure describes “the plurality of MLs being configured by [] partitioning a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET)”. Furthermore, these separate disclosures do not describe the claimed relationship required by the phrase “based on,” namely that, based on the plurality of MLs being configured by repeating or partitioning the frequency resource of a single CORESET, the specific ML corresponds to an ML having the same TCI state as the TCI state of the single CORESET.
Accordingly, the cited portions of the specification, whether considered individually or collectively, do not provide adequate written description support for the claimed “based on” relationship or for “the plurality of MLs being configured by [] partitioning a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET)”. Therefore, the specification does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that Applicant was in possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.
Regarding Claim 7, the original disclosure does not support “wherein a size of each frequency resource of the plurality of MLs is configured to be equal to the frequency resource of the single CORESET,” and “wherein, based on the plurality of MLs being configured by [] partitioning a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET).” Applicant asserts that support for the amendments “can at least be found in paragraphs [0203], [0219]–[0220], and [0264]–[0265] of the specification.” However, the cited portions of the specification do not reasonably convey possession of the limitation.
Regarding Claims 10-11, the original disclosure does not support “wherein the plurality of MLs are configured in the frequency resource of the single CORESET,” and “wherein, based on the plurality of MLs being configured by repeating [] a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET).” Applicant asserts that support for the amendments “can at least be found in paragraphs [0203], [0219]–[0220], and [0264]–[0265] of the specification.” However, the cited portions of the specification do not reasonably convey possession of the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 10-11, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et. al (US 20210195600 A1, hereafter Khoshnevisan).
Regarding Claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses:
A method (Figs.1-19) comprising:
receiving, from a base station (105), downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0209] At 905, the UE 115 receives DCI from base station 105. [0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.), based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition according to a plurality of monitoring locations (MLs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to selected CORESET(s)) ([0004] Various aspects of the described techniques relate to support of repetition of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) information in fifth generation (5G) systems. [0170] … The wireless communications system 200 may also support repetition of other physical channels, such as PDCCH to further improve the reliability of the various types of communication (e.g., control information, data) in the wireless communications system 200. For example, by supporting PDCCH repetition, the UE 115 may experience an increase in efficiency of blind decoding of one or multiple PDCCH candidates in one or multiple search space sets. In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets. For example, the UE 115 may be configured to determine and combine different PDCCH candidates between one or multiple search space sets, and perform blind decoding of a combined PDCCH candidate. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured to decode the combined PDCCH candidate in addition to individual PDCCH candidates, thereby providing increased flexibility for control information and improving the reliability of PDCCH.; See also [0120], [0196]-[0199]);
receiving the PDSCH from the base station ([0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.); and
transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information related to the PDSCH on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource ([0163] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. [0203] According to another option, when a combined PDCCH candidate corresponds to the decoded DCI, the PUCCH resource determination may be a function of both start a CCE index and both numbers of CCEs corresponding to both CORESETs 815, in addition to the PRI value included in DCI. Thus, using these options, a UE 115 and base station 105 may identify PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK transmission.),
wherein the PUCCH resource is determined based on information for a control channel element (CCE) (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p)) related to a PDCCH candidate (PDCCH candidate) in a specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) among the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) and a PUCCH resource indicator (PUCCH resource indicator (PRI)) indicated by the DCI ([0200] In some examples. a UE 115 determines PUCCH resources based on a downlink DCI. In Rel. 15, the DCI may include a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) with three bits. The three bits may signal up to eight possibilities for PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set. However, the first PUCCH resource set (out of the four sets) can contain up to 32 PUCCH resources: In this case, PRI alone may not determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-A transmission. Instead, the PUCCH resources may be a function of PRI, a number of control channel elements (CCEs) of the CORESET where the DCI is received, and an index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET. The following formula may be used for determining the PUCCH resource set: [0201] Thus, the PUCCH resources may be determined as a function of the PRI(e.g., ΔPRI), the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p). [0202] When a combined PDCCH candidate is detected/identified (e.g., according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2) and the detected DCI schedules the PDSCH, then a UE 115 may identify the PUCCH resources according to various options. These options may be similar to those discussed with respect to the TCI state/QCL assumption determination. According to one option, the start CCE and number of CCEs for PUCCH determination may be identified according to a CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule. According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources.; See Fig.8, [0198], [0202], [0205], [0353]-[0355]), and
wherein based on the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to selected CORESET(s); CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b) being configured by repeating (unselected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b is repetition of selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b) or partitioning (CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate is partitioned into multiple CORESETs 815) a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET) (the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b; CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate), the specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) corresponds to an ML having a same transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state as a TCI state (the TCI state of the CORESET i/j if CORESET i=j; the TCI state of the selected CORESET if CORESET i≠j) of the single CORESET (the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b; CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate) ([0198] When a UE 115 determines that a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate (according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2), the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission may refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate. More particularly, when a combined PDCCH candidate is detected across two CORESETs i 815-a and j 815-b (corresponding to one or multiple search space sets) and the DCI that schedules the PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH 715 of FIG. 7) does not include the TCI field, a UE 115 may determine whether the two CORESETs 815 are the same (e.g., whether i=j). If the CORESETs are the same (as illustrated in FIG. 8), then the same rule as Rel. 15 may apply (e.g., the TCI state of the CORESET i/j may be used). As such, the TCI state/QCL assumption is determined in accordance with CORSET i/j. If, however, CORESET i≠j (the CORESETs 815 are not the same), then, according to one option, the TCI state and/or QCL assumption of the PDSCH may be determined from the TCI state/QCL assumption of one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b based on a CORESET selection rule. According to these rules, the TCI state/QCL assumption may be determined in accordance with the selected CORESET According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining TCI state and/or QCL assumption for the PDSCH. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. According to a third CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set that starts or ends earlier or later in the time domain may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. Thus, the third CORESET selection rule may consider the resources of the search space sets including various PDCCH candidates. Any one of these rules or any combination of the rules may be used for CORSET selection.; See also Fig.8, [0201]-[0202], [0205], [0353]-[0355]).
Regarding claim 4, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the information for the CCE (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p)) is a total number of CCEs (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p)) (See Fig.8, [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 5, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the information for the CCE (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p)) is a first CCE index in the specific ML (the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p)) (See Fig.8, [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 6, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) is associated with different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs) and/or different TCI states ([0199] In cases when a combined PDCCH candidate is detected across two CORESETs i 815-a and j 815-j (corresponding to multiple search space sets), the DCI that schedules the PDSCH does not include the TCI field, and CORESET i≠j, then both TCI states/QCL assumptions of CORESET i 815-a and j 815-j may be assumed for the PDSCH. That is, the PDSCH may be multi-TCI state with multiple SDM, FDM, and TDM schemes.; See also [0172], [0187], [0189], [0197], [0198]).
Regarding claim 10, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to multiple CORESETs 815, Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in a same time resource in a time domain (Fig.8, 810) ([0196] … The resource diagram 800 may include a subframe 805 with a set of slots including slot 810. The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domain and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs). In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b . Each CORESET 815 may correspond to a set of search space sets, which may be used for various scheduling determinations when a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate, as described with respect to FIGS. 2 through 7. [0198] When a UE 115 determines that a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate (according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2), the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission may refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate.) and are configured in different frequency resources in a frequency domain (first BWP, second BWP), and wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to multiple CORESETs 815, Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in the frequency resource of the single CORESET (CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate).
Regarding claim 11, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein a bandwidth part (BWP) and/or the frequency resource of the single CORESET (CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate) is partitioned into a plurality of frequency resource units (first BWP, second BWP; frequency resource of each of multiple CORESETs 815) (The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domain and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs); [0198] When a UE 115 determines that a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate (according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2), the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission may refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate.), and wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in the frequency resource of the single CORESET (CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate), as a plurality of frequency resource units (first BWP, second BWP) are corresponded to the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j).
Regarding claim 17, Khoshnevisan discloses:
An apparatus (UE 115) comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (Figs.10-14, transceiver, transmitter, receiver); and
at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (Figs.10-14, communication manager, procossor), wherein the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a base station (105), downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0209] At 905, the UE 115 receives DCI from base station 105. [0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.), based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition according to a plurality of monitoring locations (MLs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to selected CORESET(s)) ([0004] Various aspects of the described techniques relate to support of repetition of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) information in fifth generation (5G) systems. [0170] … The wireless communications system 200 may also support repetition of other physical channels, such as PDCCH to further improve the reliability of the various types of communication (e.g., control information, data) in the wireless communications system 200. For example, by supporting PDCCH repetition, the UE 115 may experience an increase in efficiency of blind decoding of one or multiple PDCCH candidates in one or multiple search space sets. In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets. For example, the UE 115 may be configured to determine and combine different PDCCH candidates between one or multiple search space sets, and perform blind decoding of a combined PDCCH candidate. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured to decode the combined PDCCH candidate in addition to individual PDCCH candidates, thereby providing increased flexibility for control information and improving the reliability of PDCCH.; See also [0120], [0196]-[0199]);
receive the PDSCH from the base station ([0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.); and
transmit, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information related to the PDSCH on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource ([0163] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. [0203] According to another option, when a combined PDCCH candidate corresponds to the decoded DCI, the PUCCH resource determination may be a function of both start a CCE index and both numbers of CCEs corresponding to both CORESETs 815, in addition to the PRI value included in DCI. Thus, using these options, a UE 115 and base station 105 may identify PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK transmission.),
wherein the PUCCH resource is determined based on information for a control channel element (CCE) (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p)) related to a PDCCH candidate (PDCCH candidate) in a specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) among the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) and a PUCCH resource indicator (PUCCH resource indicator (PRI)) indicated by the DCI ([0200] In some examples. a UE 115 determines PUCCH resources based on a downlink DCI. In Rel. 15, the DCI may include a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) with three bits. The three bits may signal up to eight possibilities for PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set. However, the first PUCCH resource set (out of the four sets) can contain up to 32 PUCCH resources: In this case, PRI alone may not determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-A transmission. Instead, the PUCCH resources may be a function of PRI, a number of control channel elements (CCEs) of the CORESET where the DCI is received, and an index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET. The following formula may be used for determining the PUCCH resource set: [0201] Thus, the PUCCH resources may be determined as a function of the PRI(e.g., ΔPRI), the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p). [0202] When a combined PDCCH candidate is detected/identified (e.g., according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2) and the detected DCI schedules the PDSCH, then a UE 115 may identify the PUCCH resources according to various options. These options may be similar to those discussed with respect to the TCI state/QCL assumption determination. According to one option, the start CCE and number of CCEs for PUCCH determination may be identified according to a CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule. According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources.; See Fig.8, [0198], [0202], [0205], [0353]-[0355]), and
wherein based on the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) being configured by repeating (unselected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b is repetition of selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b) or partitioning (CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate is partitioned into multiple CORESETs 815) a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET) (the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b; CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate) , the specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) corresponds to an ML having a same transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state as a TCI state (the TCI state of the CORESET i/j if CORESET i=j; the TCI state of the selected CORESET if CORESET i≠j) of the single CORESET (the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b; CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate) ([0198] When a UE 115 determines that a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate (according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2), the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission may refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate. More particularly, when a combined PDCCH candidate is detected across two CORESETs i 815-a and j 815-b (corresponding to one or multiple search space sets) and the DCI that schedules the PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH 715 of FIG. 7) does not include the TCI field, a UE 115 may determine whether the two CORESETs 815 are the same (e.g., whether i=j). If the CORESETs are the same (as illustrated in FIG. 8), then the same rule as Rel. 15 may apply (e.g., the TCI state of the CORESET i/j may be used). As such, the TCI state/QCL assumption is determined in accordance with CORSET i/j. If, however, CORESET i≠j (the CORESETs 815 are not the same), then, according to one option, the TCI state and/or QCL assumption of the PDSCH may be determined from the TCI state/QCL assumption of one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b based on a CORESET selection rule. According to these rules, the TCI state/QCL assumption may be determined in accordance with the selected CORESET According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining TCI state and/or QCL assumption for the PDSCH. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. According to a third CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set that starts or ends earlier or later in the time domain may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. Thus, the third CORESET selection rule may consider the resources of the search space sets including various PDCCH candidates. Any one of these rules or any combination of the rules may be used for CORSET selection.; See also Fig.8, [0201]-[0202], [0205], [0353]-[0355]).
Regarding claim 20, Khoshnevisan discloses
A method (Figs.1-19) comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal (115), downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0209] At 905, the UE 115 receives DCI from base station 105. [0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.), based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition according to a plurality of monitoring locations (MLs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to selected CORESET(s)) ([0004] Various aspects of the described techniques relate to support of repetition of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) information in fifth generation (5G) systems. [0170] … The wireless communications system 200 may also support repetition of other physical channels, such as PDCCH to further improve the reliability of the various types of communication (e.g., control information, data) in the wireless communications system 200. For example, by supporting PDCCH repetition, the UE 115 may experience an increase in efficiency of blind decoding of one or multiple PDCCH candidates in one or multiple search space sets. In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets. For example, the UE 115 may be configured to determine and combine different PDCCH candidates between one or multiple search space sets, and perform blind decoding of a combined PDCCH candidate. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured to decode the combined PDCCH candidate in addition to individual PDCCH candidates, thereby providing increased flexibility for control information and improving the reliability of PDCCH.; See also [0120], [0196]-[0199]);
transmitting the PDSCH to the terminal ([0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.); and
receiving, from the terminal, HARQ-ACK information related to the PDSCH on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource ([0163] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. [0203] According to another option, when a combined PDCCH candidate corresponds to the decoded DCI, the PUCCH resource determination may be a function of both start a CCE index and both numbers of CCEs corresponding to both CORESETs 815, in addition to the PRI value included in DCI. Thus, using these options, a UE 115 and base station 105 may identify PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK transmission.),
wherein the PUCCH resource is based on information for a control channel element (CCE) (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p)) related to a PDCCH candidate (PDCCH candidate) in a specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) among the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) and a PUCCH resource indicator (PUCCH resource indicator (PRI)) indicated by the DCI ([0200] In some examples. a UE 115 determines PUCCH resources based on a downlink DCI. In Rel. 15, the DCI may include a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) with three bits. The three bits may signal up to eight possibilities for PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set. However, the first PUCCH resource set (out of the four sets) can contain up to 32 PUCCH resources: In this case, PRI alone may not determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-A transmission. Instead, the PUCCH resources may be a function of PRI, a number of control channel elements (CCEs) of the CORESET where the DCI is received, and an index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET. The following formula may be used for determining the PUCCH resource set: [0201] Thus, the PUCCH resources may be determined as a function of the PRI(e.g., ΔPRI), the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., NCCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., nCCE,p). [0202] When a combined PDCCH candidate is detected/identified (e.g., according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2) and the detected DCI schedules the PDSCH, then a UE 115 may identify the PUCCH resources according to various options. These options may be similar to those discussed with respect to the TCI state/QCL assumption determination. According to one option, the start CCE and number of CCEs for PUCCH determination may be identified according to a CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule. According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources.), and
wherein based on the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to selected CORESET(s); CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b) being configured by repeating (unselected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b is repetition of selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b) or partitioning (CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate is partitioned into multiple CORESETs 815) a frequency resource of a single control resource set (CORESET) (the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b; CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate), the specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) corresponds to an ML having a same transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state as a TCI state (the TCI state of the CORESET i/j if CORESET i=j; the TCI state of the selected CORESET if CORESET i≠j) of the single CORESET (the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b; CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission that refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate) ([0198] When a UE 115 determines that a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate (according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2), the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission may refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate. More particularly, when a combined PDCCH candidate is detected across two CORESETs i 815-a and j 815-b (corresponding to one or multiple search space sets) and the DCI that schedules the PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH 715 of FIG. 7) does not include the TCI field, a UE 115 may determine whether the two CORESETs 815 are the same (e.g., whether i=j). If the CORESETs are the same (as illustrated in FIG. 8), then the same rule as Rel. 15 may apply (e.g., the TCI state of the CORESET i/j may be used). As such, the TCI state/QCL assumption is determined in accordance with CORSET i/j. If, however, CORESET i≠j (the CORESETs 815 are not the same), then, according to one option, the TCI state and/or QCL assumption of the PDSCH may be determined from the TCI state/QCL assumption of one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b based on a CORESET selection rule. According to these rules, the TCI state/QCL assumption may be determined in accordance with the selected CORESET According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining TCI state and/or QCL assumption for the PDSCH. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. According to a third CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set that starts or ends earlier or later in the time domain may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. Thus, the third CORESET selection rule may consider the resources of the search space sets including various PDCCH candidates. Any one of these rules or any combination of the rules may be used for CORSET selection.; See also Fig.8, [0201]-[0202], [0205], [0353]-[0355]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Gong et al. (US 20200154467 A1, hereafter Gong).
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in the same time resource in a time domain (Fig.8, 810) ([0196] … The resource diagram 800 may include a subframe 805 with a set of slots including slot 810. The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domain and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs). In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b . Each CORESET 815 may correspond to a set of search space sets, which may be used for various scheduling determinations when a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate, as described with respect to FIGS. 2 through 7.) and are configured in different frequency resources in a frequency domain (first BWP, second BWP), and wherein each frequency resource of the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) is each frequency resource of a plurality of CORESETs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j), the plurality of CORESETs (CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b) including the frequency resource of the single CORESET (the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., selected one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b) ([0196] … In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b . [0198] When a UE 115 determines that a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate (according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2), the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission may refer to multiple CORESETs 815 corresponding to the combined PDCCH candidate. More particularly, when a combined PDCCH candidate is detected across two CORESETs i 815-a and j 815-b (corresponding to one or multiple search space sets) and the DCI that schedules the PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH 715 of FIG. 7) does not include the TCI field, a UE 115 may determine whether the two CORESETs 815 are the same (e.g., whether i=j). If the CORESETs are the same (as illustrated in FIG. 8), then the same rule as Rel. 15 may apply (e.g., the TCI state of the CORESET i/j may be used). As such, the TCI state/QCL assumption is determined in accordance with CORSET i/j. If, however, CORESET i≠j (the CORESETs 815 are not the same), then, according to one option, the TCI state and/or QCL assumption of the PDSCH may be determined from the TCI state/QCL assumption of one of CORESETs i 815-a or j 815-b based on a CORESET selection rule. According to these rules, the TCI state/QCL assumption may be determined in accordance with the selected CORESET According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining TCI state and/or QCL assumption for the PDSCH. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. According to a third CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set that starts or ends earlier or later in the time domain may be used for determining the TCI state and/or QCL assumption. Thus, the third CORESET selection rule may consider the resources of the search space sets including various PDCCH candidates. Any one of these rules or any combination of the rules may be used for CORSET selection.; See also Fig.8, [0201]-[0202], [0205], [0353]-[0355]).
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein said each frequency resource of the plurality of CORESETs is configured to have an equal size.
However, Gong discloses:
wherein each frequency resource of a plurality of CORESETs is configured to have an equal size ([0021] In some embodiments, different control resource sets are configured with a same one or more aggregation level and for each aggregation level of different control resource set the associated non-zero number of candidate can be same or different for same or different CORESET size. [0397] In some implementations, for different CORESETs that may be monitored by a UE, the configuration information provided to the UE for each potential CORESET may have the same aggregation level (AL) set associated with non-zero CN for each AL, i.e. {1,2,4,8,16}. For the same aggregation level, the CN can be independently configured for each CORESET. In a first example, different CORESETs with a same size (time resource and/or frequency resource) can be configured with different CN for the same aggregation level. [0399] … The CN for the different CORESETs with same size is different. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s each frequency resource of the plurality of CORESETs to be configured to have an equal size as taught by Gong, in order to apply PDCCH repetition (Khoshnevisan, [0004]; Gong [0491]-[0511]) using the plurality of CORESETs with the same aggregation level ( Khoshnevisan, [0168]; Gong, [0021], [0397], [0399]).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Kim, and in further view of Tooher et al. (US 20210007101 A1, hereafter Tooher).
Regarding claim 8, Khoshnevisan discloses:
a frequency domain of the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) is a BWP (first BWP, second BWP) (See, e.g., Fig.8, [0196]).
Khoshnevisan and Kim do not explicitly disclose: wherein a location in the BWP is configured based on an offset value from a pre-determined reference.
However, Tooher discloses:
wherein a location in a BWP (a first Physical Resource Block (PRB) is configured based on an offset value from a pre-determined reference (a PRB offset relative to the PRB indicated by NR the higher layer parameters offsetToCarrier) ([0122] Virtual active BWP is described herein. In NR, configuring a WTRU with a set of (e.g., real, for example, in contrast to virtual) BWPs may include, for each BWP of the set of BWPs, providing the WTRU with the following parameters: (1) a subcarrier spacing, indicated by the NR higher layer parameter subcarrierSpacing, (2) a cyclic prefix indicated by the NR higher layer parameter cyclicPrefix, (3) a first Physical Resource Block (PRB) and a number of contiguous PRBs indicated by the NR higher layer parameter locationAndBandwidth, the first PRB being a PRB offset relative to the PRB indicated by NR the higher layer parameters offsetToCarrier and subcarrierSpacing, (4) an index in the set of BWPs indicated by the respective higher layer parameter bwp-Id, and (5) a set of BWP-common and BWP-dedicated parameters indicated by the NR higher layer parameters bwp-Common and bwp-Dedicated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP of Khoshnevisan and Kim so that a location is configured as taught by Tooher, in order to configure a set of BWPs (Tooher, [0122]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Tooher.
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in a same time resource in a time domain (Fig.8, 810) ([0196] … The resource diagram 800 may include a subframe 805 with a set of slots including slot 810. The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domai33n and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs). In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b . Each CORESET 815 may correspond to a set of search space sets, which may be used for various scheduling determinations when a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate, as described with respect to FIGS. 2 through 7.) and are configured in different frequency resources in a frequency domain (first BWP, second BWP), and wherein the plurality of MLs are configured among a plurality of monitoring location candidates (MLCs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j).
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein a bandwidth part (BWP) is partitioned into the plurality of MLs.
However, Tooher disclose wherein a bandwidth part (BWP) (BWP) is partitioned into a plurality of MLs (BWSBs) [0082] According to embodiments, an unlicensed frequency band may be divided in a plurality of bandwidth sub bands (BWSBs), wherein each BWSB is a subset of the unlicensed frequency band. A BWSB may be any of: (1) a NR BWP as previously described applied to an unlicensed frequency band; and (2) a sub band of a single NR BWP in the unlicensed spectrum. [0083] A BWSB (which may be interchangeably referred to as a BWP herein) may be any of a DL BWSB, or an UL BWSB. [0099] According to embodiments, in a case where a BWP is activated (e.g. by a successful acquisition of any of the DL BWP by the cell or the UL BWP by the WTRU), the WTRU may operate according to any of the following variants… In another example, the PDCCH monitoring occasions (e.g., determined according to any of periodicity and offset of the configurable schedule) of any number of search spaces may be used, and, for example, the WTRU may perform blind detection on (e.g., the applicable) PDCCH candidates.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of MLs of Khoshnevisan to be comprised in a BWP as taught by Tooher, in order to access an unlicensed spectrum using portions of a carrier's bandwidth (BW) which is applicable regardless of whether a BWSB corresponds to a NR BWP or corresponds to a sub-division of a single NR BWP (Tooher, Abstract, [0082]).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Svedma et al. (US 20230076897 A1, hereafter Svedma).
Regarding claim 12,
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein the plurality of MLs are configured in different time resources in a time domain and are configured in a same frequency region in a frequency domain.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein a plurality of MLs are configured in different time resources in a time domain (monitoring occasions in the time domain) and are configured in a same frequency region in a frequency domain (Fig.9; [0225] In yet another example, a search space set can be configured for duplication, e.g. for inclusion in a duplication set, by including one or more parameters for monitoring occasions in the time domain; [0309] For example, consider a case with a duplication set of two PDCCH candidates, for example transmitted by two different TRPs, each PDCCH carrying a DCI that schedules the same PDSCH, as illustrated in FIG. 9.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition (Svedma, Abstract, [0225]).
Regarding claim 13, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein a plurality of monitoring occasions (MOs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) configured by at least one CORESET (CORESETs) and at least one SS (multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets).
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein a location in a time domain of the plurality of MLs is configured based on an offset value from a pre-determined reference.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein a location in a time domain of a plurality of MLs (a time domain location of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) is configured based on an offset value (monitoring offset) from a pre-determined reference (a certain system frame number) (Fig.9; [0096] A search space set can be configured with at least the following parameters: search space set identity (e.g. searchSpaceId); an association between the search space set and a CORESET, for example by configuring a CORESET identity (e.g. controlResourceSetId); a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and monitoring offset (in reference to a certain system frame number) (e.g. monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset); a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot, indicating first symbol(s) of the CORESET within a slot (e.g. monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot); a duration, e.g. the number of slots the search space set exists (e.g. duration); a number of PDCCH candidates per control channel element (CCE) aggregation level; an indication if the type of the search space set is common (CSS) or UE-specific (USS) (e.g. searchSpaceType); or DCI formats the UE shall monitor in the search space set, among other things.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs so that a location in a time domain of the MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain (Svedma, [0099]).
Regarding claim 14,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein MOs included in a pre-determined window among a plurality of MOs configured by the at least one CORESET and the at least one SS are configured as the plurality of MLs.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein MOs (monitoring occasions in the time domain) included in a pre-determined window (between the consecutive occasions) among a plurality of MOs (multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) configured by the at least one CORESET and the at least one SS (See [0096]) are configured as a plurality of MLs (Fig.9; [0225] In yet another example, a search space set can be configured for duplication, e.g. for inclusion in a duplication set, by including one or more parameters for monitoring occasions in the time domain… In some cases, the PDCCH resources in monitoring occasions added by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset2-r17 between two consecutive monitoring occasions defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may be included in a duplication set together with the monitoring occasion immediately prior to these occasions… This can be achieved by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot=“10000001000000”. Now, the network configures additional monitoring occasions by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot2-r17=“00100000010000”, which adds monitoring occasions in symbols 2-3 and symbols 9-10. Since the monitoring occasion in symbol 2-3 is between the consecutive occasions in symbols 0-1 and symbols 7-8, the PDCCH resources in symbols 0-1 and symbols 2-3 may be included in a duplication set.; [0309] For example, consider a case with a duplication set of two PDCCH candidates, for example transmitted by two different TRPs, each PDCCH carrying a DCI that schedules the same PDSCH, as illustrated in FIG. 9.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain and improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition (Svedma, Abstract, [0099], [0225]).
Regarding claim 15,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on at least one ML among the plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal, a resource location of the at least one ML is moved in a time domain and/or a frequency domain according to a pre-determined rule.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein, based on at least one ML among a plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal (another signal (with higher priority in the specification), UL symbol), a resource location of the at least one ML is moved in a time domain and/or a frequency domain according to a pre-determined rule (one of the subsequently repeated monitoring occasions … included in a duplication set) ([0244] For example, each of the “original” monitoring occasions defined by (monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration, and monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot) may be repeated in the first available symbols (e.g. DL or DL/flexible symbols) following the monitoring occasion. In some cases, the UE repeats the monitoring occasions in the symbols immediately following the original occasion and skips a repetition if it happens to collide with another signal (with higher priority in the specification) or if it falls in an UL symbol. In various cases, PDCCH resources in the original monitoring occasion and the subsequently repeated monitoring occasions may be included in a duplication set.; hence the resource location is effectively moved to the resource location of the subsequent one of the repeated monitoring occasions included in a duplication set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain and improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition, while protecting higher priority signal and/or observing TDD pattern (Svedma, Abstract, [0099], [0225], [0244]).
Regarding claim 16,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on at least one ML among the plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal, it is assumed that the PDCCH is not transmitted in the at least one ML.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein, based on at least one ML among a plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal (another signal (with higher priority in the specification), UL symbol), it is assumed that the PDCCH is not transmitted in the at least one ML ([0244] For example, each of the “original” monitoring occasions defined by (monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration, and monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot) may be repeated in the first available symbols (e.g. DL or DL/flexible symbols) following the monitoring occasion. In some cases, the UE repeats the monitoring occasions in the symbols immediately following the original occasion and skips a repetition if it happens to collide with another signal (with higher priority in the specification) or if it falls in an UL symbol.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain and improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition, while protecting higher priority signal and/or observing TDD pattern (Svedma, Abstract, [0099], [0225], [0244]).
Conclusion
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 See LG Electronics Inc’s IPR Information Statement and IPR Licensing Declaration and IPR
Information Statement Annex, ISLD-202202-046, pp.1 & 3 [online], Retrieved from the Internet<URL:http://ipr.etsi.org/IPRDetails.aspx?IPRD_ID=6517&IPRD_TYPE_ID=2&MODE=2&sessionkey=dd4f25 > (Year: 2022)