Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 06/24/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 4-17 and 20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the specification and the abstract have overcome each and every objection to the specification and the abstract previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/26/2025.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome each and every rejection to the claims under 35 USC § 112 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/26/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 06/24/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 10-11, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et. al (US 20210195600 A1, hereafter Khoshnevisan).
Regarding Claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses:
A method (Figs.1-19) comprising:
receiving, from a base station (105), downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0209] At 905, the UE 115 receives DCI from base station 105. [0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.), based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition according to a plurality of monitoring locations (MLs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) ([0004] Various aspects of the described techniques relate to support of repetition of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) information in fifth generation (5G) systems. [0170] … The wireless communications system 200 may also support repetition of other physical channels, such as PDCCH to further improve the reliability of the various types of communication (e.g., control information, data) in the wireless communications system 200. For example, by supporting PDCCH repetition, the UE 115 may experience an increase in efficiency of blind decoding of one or multiple PDCCH candidates in one or multiple search space sets. In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets. For example, the UE 115 may be configured to determine and combine different PDCCH candidates between one or multiple search space sets, and perform blind decoding of a combined PDCCH candidate. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured to decode the combined PDCCH candidate in addition to individual PDCCH candidates, thereby providing increased flexibility for control information and improving the reliability of PDCCH.; See also [0120], [0196]-[0199]);
receiving the PDSCH from the base station ([0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.); and
transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information related to the PDSCH on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource ([0163] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. [0203] According to another option, when a combined PDCCH candidate corresponds to the decoded DCI, the PUCCH resource determination may be a function of both start a CCE index and both numbers of CCEs corresponding to both CORESETs 815, in addition to the PRI value included in DCI. Thus, using these options, a UE 115 and base station 105 may identify PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK transmission.),
wherein the PUCCH resource is determined based on information for a control channel element (CCE) (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p)) related to a PDCCH candidate (PDCCH candidate) in a specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) among the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) and a PUCCH resource indicator (PUCCH resource indicator (PRI)) indicated by the DCI ([0200] In some examples. a UE 115 determines PUCCH resources based on a downlink DCI. In Rel. 15, the DCI may include a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) with three bits. The three bits may signal up to eight possibilities for PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set. However, the first PUCCH resource set (out of the four sets) can contain up to 32 PUCCH resources: In this case, PRI alone may not determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-A transmission. Instead, the PUCCH resources may be a function of PRI, a number of control channel elements (CCEs) of the CORESET where the DCI is received, and an index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET. The following formula may be used for determining the PUCCH resource set: [0201] Thus, the PUCCH resources may be determined as a function of the PRI(e.g., Δ.sub.PRI), the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p). [0202] When a combined PDCCH candidate is detected/identified (e.g., according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2) and the detected DCI schedules the PDSCH, then a UE 115 may identify the PUCCH resources according to various options. These options may be similar to those discussed with respect to the TCI state/QCL assumption determination. According to one option, the start CCE and number of CCEs for PUCCH determination may be identified according to a CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule. According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources.), and
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) are configured based on control resource sets (CORESETs) and search space sets (SSs) and the specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) is determined based on a CORESET having a lowest CORESET ID (the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID) or a SS having a lowest SS ID (the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID) (See Fig9.8, [0201]-[0202], [0353]-[0355]).
Regarding claim 4, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the information for the CCE (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p)) is a total number of CCEs (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p)) (See Fig.8, [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 5, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the information for the CCE (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p)) is a first CCE index in the specific ML (the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p)) (See Fig.8, [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 6, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) is associated with different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs) and/or different transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states ([0199] In cases when a combined PDCCH candidate is detected across two CORESETs i 815-a and j 815-j (corresponding to multiple search space sets), the DCI that schedules the PDSCH does not include the TCI field, and CORESET i≠j, then both TCI states/QCL assumptions of CORESET i 815-a and j 815-j may be assumed for the PDSCH. That is, the PDSCH may be multi-TCI state with multiple SDM, FDM, and TDM schemes.; See also [0172], [0187], [0189], [0197], [0198]).
Regarding claim 10, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in a same time resource in a time domain (Fig.8, 810) ([0196] … The resource diagram 800 may include a subframe 805 with a set of slots including slot 810. The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domain and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs). In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b . Each CORESET 815 may correspond to a set of search space sets, which may be used for various scheduling determinations when a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate, as described with respect to FIGS. 2 through 7.) and are configured in different frequency resources in a frequency domain (first BWP, second BWP), and wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in a frequency resource (CBW) of a specific CORESET (CORESET 815, CORESET i 815-a, CORESET j 815-b).
Regarding claim 11, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein a bandwidth part (BWP) and/or the frequency resource (CBW) of a specific CORESET (CORESET 815) is divided into a plurality of frequency resource units (first BWP, second BWP) (The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domain and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs)), and wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in a frequency resource (CBW) of a specific CORESET (CORESET 815, CORESET i 815-a, CORESET j 815-b), as a plurality of frequency resource units (first BWP, second BWP) are corresponded to the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j).
Regarding claim 17, Khoshnevisan discloses:
An apparatus (UE 115) comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal (Figs.10-14, transceiver, transmitter, receiver); and
at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (Figs.10-14, communication manager, procossor), wherein the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a base station (105), downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0209] At 905, the UE 115 receives DCI from base station 105. [0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.), based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition according to a plurality of monitoring locations (MLs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) ([0004] Various aspects of the described techniques relate to support of repetition of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) information in fifth generation (5G) systems. [0170] … The wireless communications system 200 may also support repetition of other physical channels, such as PDCCH to further improve the reliability of the various types of communication (e.g., control information, data) in the wireless communications system 200. For example, by supporting PDCCH repetition, the UE 115 may experience an increase in efficiency of blind decoding of one or multiple PDCCH candidates in one or multiple search space sets. In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets. For example, the UE 115 may be configured to determine and combine different PDCCH candidates between one or multiple search space sets, and perform blind decoding of a combined PDCCH candidate. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured to decode the combined PDCCH candidate in addition to individual PDCCH candidates, thereby providing increased flexibility for control information and improving the reliability of PDCCH.; See also [0120], [0196]-[0199]);
receive the PDSCH from the base station ([0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.); and
transmit, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information related to the PDSCH on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource ([0163] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. [0203] According to another option, when a combined PDCCH candidate corresponds to the decoded DCI, the PUCCH resource determination may be a function of both start a CCE index and both numbers of CCEs corresponding to both CORESETs 815, in addition to the PRI value included in DCI. Thus, using these options, a UE 115 and base station 105 may identify PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK transmission.),
wherein the PUCCH resource is determined based on information for a control channel element (CCE) (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p)) related to a PDCCH candidate (PDCCH candidate) in a specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) among the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) and a PUCCH resource indicator (PUCCH resource indicator (PRI)) indicated by the DCI ([0200] In some examples. a UE 115 determines PUCCH resources based on a downlink DCI. In Rel. 15, the DCI may include a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) with three bits. The three bits may signal up to eight possibilities for PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set. However, the first PUCCH resource set (out of the four sets) can contain up to 32 PUCCH resources: In this case, PRI alone may not determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-A transmission. Instead, the PUCCH resources may be a function of PRI, a number of control channel elements (CCEs) of the CORESET where the DCI is received, and an index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET. The following formula may be used for determining the PUCCH resource set: [0201] Thus, the PUCCH resources may be determined as a function of the PRI(e.g., Δ.sub.PRI), the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p). [0202] When a combined PDCCH candidate is detected/identified (e.g., according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2) and the detected DCI schedules the PDSCH, then a UE 115 may identify the PUCCH resources according to various options. These options may be similar to those discussed with respect to the TCI state/QCL assumption determination. According to one option, the start CCE and number of CCEs for PUCCH determination may be identified according to a CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule. According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources.), and
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) are configured based on control resource sets (CORESETs) and search space sets (SSs) and the specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) is determined based on a CORESET having a lowest CORESET ID (the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID) or a SS having a lowest SS ID (the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID) (See Fig.8, [0201]-[0202], [0353]-[0355]).
Regarding claim 20, Khoshnevisan discloses
A method (Figs.1-19) comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal (115), downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0209] At 905, the UE 115 receives DCI from base station 105. [0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.), based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetition according to a plurality of monitoring locations (MLs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) ([0004] Various aspects of the described techniques relate to support of repetition of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) information in fifth generation (5G) systems. [0170] … The wireless communications system 200 may also support repetition of other physical channels, such as PDCCH to further improve the reliability of the various types of communication (e.g., control information, data) in the wireless communications system 200. For example, by supporting PDCCH repetition, the UE 115 may experience an increase in efficiency of blind decoding of one or multiple PDCCH candidates in one or multiple search space sets. In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets. For example, the UE 115 may be configured to determine and combine different PDCCH candidates between one or multiple search space sets, and perform blind decoding of a combined PDCCH candidate. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured to decode the combined PDCCH candidate in addition to individual PDCCH candidates, thereby providing increased flexibility for control information and improving the reliability of PDCCH.; See also [0120], [0196]-[0199]);
transmitting the PDSCH to the terminal ([0213] At 930, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate based at least in part on identifying that the downlink control information corresponds to the combined physical downlink control channel candidate. In some cases, the UE 115 and the base station 105 communicate over PDSCH, PUSCH, and/or PUCCH resources that are identified based on identifying that the DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate and using various techniques as described herein.); and
receiving, from the terminal, HARQ-ACK information related to the PDSCH on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource ([0163] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. [0203] According to another option, when a combined PDCCH candidate corresponds to the decoded DCI, the PUCCH resource determination may be a function of both start a CCE index and both numbers of CCEs corresponding to both CORESETs 815, in addition to the PRI value included in DCI. Thus, using these options, a UE 115 and base station 105 may identify PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK transmission.),
wherein the PUCCH resource is based on information for a control channel element (CCE) (the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p)) related to a PDCCH candidate (PDCCH candidate) in a specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) among the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) and a PUCCH resource indicator (PUCCH resource indicator (PRI)) indicated by the DCI ([0200] In some examples. a UE 115 determines PUCCH resources based on a downlink DCI. In Rel. 15, the DCI may include a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) with three bits. The three bits may signal up to eight possibilities for PUCCH resources within a PUCCH resource set. However, the first PUCCH resource set (out of the four sets) can contain up to 32 PUCCH resources: In this case, PRI alone may not determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-A transmission. Instead, the PUCCH resources may be a function of PRI, a number of control channel elements (CCEs) of the CORESET where the DCI is received, and an index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET. The following formula may be used for determining the PUCCH resource set: [0201] Thus, the PUCCH resources may be determined as a function of the PRI(e.g., Δ.sub.PRI), the number of CCEs of the CORESET where the DCI is received (e.g., N.sub.CCE,p), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception in the CORESET (e.g., n.sub.CCE,p). [0202] When a combined PDCCH candidate is detected/identified (e.g., according to the techniques described with respect to FIG. 2) and the detected DCI schedules the PDSCH, then a UE 115 may identify the PUCCH resources according to various options. These options may be similar to those discussed with respect to the TCI state/QCL assumption determination. According to one option, the start CCE and number of CCEs for PUCCH determination may be identified according to a CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule. According to a first CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources. According to a second CORESET selection rule, the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID may be used for determining the start CCE and the number of CCEs for identifying PUCCH resources.), and
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) are configured based on control resource sets (CORESETs) and search space sets (SSs) and the specific ML (time and/or frequency domain locations of the search space set corresponding to the CORESET selected in accordance with a CORESET selection rule, e.g., a search space set corresponding to the CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID, or the search space set with the lowest search space set ID corresponding to a CORESET) is based on a CORESET having a lowest CORESET ID (the CORESET 815 with the lowest or highest CORESET ID) or a SS having a lowest SS ID (the CORESET 815 corresponding to the search space set with the lowest or highest search space set ID) (See Fig.8, [0201]-[0202], [0353]-[0355]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Kim et al. (US 20210037505 A1, hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in the same time resource in a time domain (Fig.8, 810) ([0196] … The resource diagram 800 may include a subframe 805 with a set of slots including slot 810. The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domain and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs). In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b . Each CORESET 815 may correspond to a set of search space sets, which may be used for various scheduling determinations when a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate, as described with respect to FIGS. 2 through 7.) and are configured in different frequency resources in a frequency domain (first BWP, second BWP), and wherein each frequency resource of the plurality of MLs is a frequency resource of a specific CORESET ([0196] … In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b .).
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein a size of said each frequency resource is configured to be equal.
However, Kim discloses:
wherein a size of each frequency resource is configured to be equal ([0133] FIG. 14 illustrates embodiments of simultaneously activating multiple bandwidth parts; [0142] the numerology of BWPs and the BWP sizes are same; [0144] the size of BWPs are same but the numerology is different; [0146] the starting location of the BWPs and size of BWPs is same).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each frequency resource of Khoshnevisan to be configured as taught by Kim, in order to simultaneously activate multiple bandwidth parts with the equal size (Kim, [0133]).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Kim, and in further view of Tooher et al. (US 20210007101 A1, hereafter Tooher).
Regarding claim 8, Khoshnevisan discloses:
a frequency domain of the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) is a BWP (first BWP, second BWP) (See, e.g., Fig.8, [0196]).
Khoshnevisan and Kim do not explicitly disclose: wherein a location in the BWP is configured based on an offset value from a pre-determined reference.
However, Tooher discloses:
wherein a location in a BWP (a first Physical Resource Block (PRB) is configured based on an offset value from a pre-determined reference (a PRB offset relative to the PRB indicated by NR the higher layer parameters offsetToCarrier) ([0122] Virtual active BWP is described herein. In NR, configuring a WTRU with a set of (e.g., real, for example, in contrast to virtual) BWPs may include, for each BWP of the set of BWPs, providing the WTRU with the following parameters: (1) a subcarrier spacing, indicated by the NR higher layer parameter subcarrierSpacing, (2) a cyclic prefix indicated by the NR higher layer parameter cyclicPrefix, (3) a first Physical Resource Block (PRB) and a number of contiguous PRBs indicated by the NR higher layer parameter locationAndBandwidth, the first PRB being a PRB offset relative to the PRB indicated by NR the higher layer parameters offsetToCarrier and subcarrierSpacing, (4) an index in the set of BWPs indicated by the respective higher layer parameter bwp-Id, and (5) a set of BWP-common and BWP-dedicated parameters indicated by the NR higher layer parameters bwp-Common and bwp-Dedicated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the BWP of Khoshnevisan and Kim so that a location is configured as taught by Tooher, in order to configure a set of BWPs (Tooher, [0122]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Tooher.
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein the plurality of MLs (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j) are configured in a same time resource in a time domain (Fig.8, 810) ([0196] … The resource diagram 800 may include a subframe 805 with a set of slots including slot 810. The slot 810 may span a carrier bandwidth (CBW) in the frequency domai33n and may include multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs). In some cases, each BWP includes a CORESET 815. As illustrated in FIG. 8, a first BWP includes CORESET i 815-a , and a second BWP includes a CORESET j 815-b . Each CORESET 815 may correspond to a set of search space sets, which may be used for various scheduling determinations when a decoded DCI corresponds to a combined PDCCH candidate, as described with respect to FIGS. 2 through 7.) and are configured in different frequency resources in a frequency domain (first BWP, second BWP), and wherein the plurality of MLs are configured among a plurality of monitoring location candidates (MLCs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s), Fig.8, time and/or frequency domain locations of i, j).
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein a bandwidth part (BWP) is divided into the plurality of MLs.
However, Tooher disclose wherein a bandwidth part (BWP) (BWP) is divided into a plurality of MLs (BWSBs) [0082] According to embodiments, an unlicensed frequency band may be divided in a plurality of bandwidth sub bands (BWSBs), wherein each BWSB is a subset of the unlicensed frequency band. A BWSB may be any of: (1) a NR BWP as previously described applied to an unlicensed frequency band; and (2) a sub band of a single NR BWP in the unlicensed spectrum. [0083] A BWSB (which may be interchangeably referred to as a BWP herein) may be any of a DL BWSB, or an UL BWSB. [0099] According to embodiments, in a case where a BWP is activated (e.g. by a successful acquisition of any of the DL BWP by the cell or the UL BWP by the WTRU), the WTRU may operate according to any of the following variants… In another example, the PDCCH monitoring occasions (e.g., determined according to any of periodicity and offset of the configurable schedule) of any number of search spaces may be used, and, for example, the WTRU may perform blind detection on (e.g., the applicable) PDCCH candidates.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of MLs of Khoshnevisan to be comprised in a BWP as taught by Tooher, in order to access an unlicensed spectrum using portions of a carrier's bandwidth (BW) which is applicable regardless of whether a BWSB corresponds to a NR BWP or corresponds to a sub-division of a single NR BWP (Tooher, Abstract, [0082]).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Svedma et al. (US 20230076897 A1, hereafter Svedma).
Regarding claim 12,
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein the plurality of MLs are configured in different time resources in a time domain and are configured in a same frequency resource in a frequency domain.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein a plurality of MLs are configured in different time resources in a time domain (monitoring occasions in the time domain) and are configured in a same frequency resource in a frequency domain (Fig.9; [0225] In yet another example, a search space set can be configured for duplication, e.g. for inclusion in a duplication set, by including one or more parameters for monitoring occasions in the time domain; [0309] For example, consider a case with a duplication set of two PDCCH candidates, for example transmitted by two different TRPs, each PDCCH carrying a DCI that schedules the same PDSCH, as illustrated in FIG. 9.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition (Svedma, Abstract, [0225]).
Regarding claim 13, Khoshnevisan discloses:
wherein a plurality of monitoring occasions (MOs) (time and/or frequency domain locations of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) configured by at least one CORESET (CORESETs) and at least one SS (multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets).
Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein a location in a time domain of the plurality of MLs is configured based on an offset value from a pre-determined reference.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein a location in a time domain of a plurality of MLs (a time domain location of multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) is configured based on an offset value (monitoring offset) from a pre-determined reference (a certain system frame number) (Fig.9; [0096] A search space set can be configured with at least the following parameters: search space set identity (e.g. searchSpaceId); an association between the search space set and a CORESET, for example by configuring a CORESET identity (e.g. controlResourceSetId); a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and monitoring offset (in reference to a certain system frame number) (e.g. monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset); a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot, indicating first symbol(s) of the CORESET within a slot (e.g. monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot); a duration, e.g. the number of slots the search space set exists (e.g. duration); a number of PDCCH candidates per control channel element (CCE) aggregation level; an indication if the type of the search space set is common (CSS) or UE-specific (USS) (e.g. searchSpaceType); or DCI formats the UE shall monitor in the search space set, among other things.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs so that a location in a time domain of the MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain (Svedma, [0099]).
Regarding claim 14,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein MOs included in a pre-determined window among a plurality of MOs configured by the at least one CORESET and the at least one SS are configured as the plurality of MLs.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein MOs (monitoring occasions in the time domain) included in a pre-determined window (between the consecutive occasions) among a plurality of MOs (multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets corresponding to CORESET(s)) configured by the at least one CORESET and the at least one SS (See [0096]) are configured as a plurality of MLs (Fig.9; [0225] In yet another example, a search space set can be configured for duplication, e.g. for inclusion in a duplication set, by including one or more parameters for monitoring occasions in the time domain… In some cases, the PDCCH resources in monitoring occasions added by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset2-r17 between two consecutive monitoring occasions defined by monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may be included in a duplication set together with the monitoring occasion immediately prior to these occasions… This can be achieved by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot=“10000001000000”. Now, the network configures additional monitoring occasions by configuring monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot2-r17=“00100000010000”, which adds monitoring occasions in symbols 2-3 and symbols 9-10. Since the monitoring occasion in symbol 2-3 is between the consecutive occasions in symbols 0-1 and symbols 7-8, the PDCCH resources in symbols 0-1 and symbols 2-3 may be included in a duplication set.; [0309] For example, consider a case with a duplication set of two PDCCH candidates, for example transmitted by two different TRPs, each PDCCH carrying a DCI that schedules the same PDSCH, as illustrated in FIG. 9.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain and improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition (Svedma, Abstract, [0099], [0225]).
Regarding claim 15,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on at least one ML among the plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal, a resource location of the at least one ML is moved in a time domain and/or a frequency domain according to a pre-determined rule.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein, based on at least one ML among a plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal (another signal (with higher priority in the specification), UL symbol), a resource location of the at least one ML is moved in a time domain and/or a frequency domain according to a pre-determined rule (one of the subsequently repeated monitoring occasions … included in a duplication set) ([0244] For example, each of the “original” monitoring occasions defined by (monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration, and monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot) may be repeated in the first available symbols (e.g. DL or DL/flexible symbols) following the monitoring occasion. In some cases, the UE repeats the monitoring occasions in the symbols immediately following the original occasion and skips a repetition if it happens to collide with another signal (with higher priority in the specification) or if it falls in an UL symbol. In various cases, PDCCH resources in the original monitoring occasion and the subsequently repeated monitoring occasions may be included in a duplication set.; hence the resource location is effectively moved to the resource location of the subsequent one of the repeated monitoring occasions included in a duplication set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain and improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition, while protecting higher priority signal and/or observing TDD pattern (Svedma, Abstract, [0099], [0225], [0244]).
Regarding claim 16,
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on at least one ML among the plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal, it is assumed that the PDCCH is not transmitted in the at least one ML.
However, Svedma discloses:
wherein, based on at least one ML among a plurality of MLs being collided with a resource allocated to another uplink or downlink signal (another signal (with higher priority in the specification), UL symbol), it is assumed that the PDCCH is not transmitted in the at least one ML ([0244] For example, each of the “original” monitoring occasions defined by (monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, duration, and monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot) may be repeated in the first available symbols (e.g. DL or DL/flexible symbols) following the monitoring occasion. In some cases, the UE repeats the monitoring occasions in the symbols immediately following the original occasion and skips a repetition if it happens to collide with another signal (with higher priority in the specification) or if it falls in an UL symbol.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan’s plurality of MLs to be configured as taught by Svedma, in order to define how the UE shall receive PDCCH in a duplication set in the time domain and improve PDCCH through time diversity and repetition, while protecting higher priority signal and/or observing TDD pattern (Svedma, Abstract, [0099], [0225], [0244]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418